输入搜索

反战 欧洲

俄罗斯与美国未达成拯救冷战核条约的协议

在核武器系统评估计划模拟战斗任务期间,在犹他州测试和训练范围内的非武装AGM-86B空射巡航导弹在其最终目标9月22 2014上进行演习。
在核武器系统评估计划模拟战斗任务期间,在犹他州测试和训练范围内的非武装AGM-86B空射巡航导弹在其最终目标9月22 2014上进行演习。 (美国空军照片/工作人员中士Roidan Carlson)

美国和俄罗斯即将退出一项关键条约,该条约结束了冷战时期的军备竞赛,并使导弹远离欧洲。

在日内瓦两国官员会晤后,美国负责武器控制和国际安全事务的副部长安德里亚·汤普森说,莫斯科 阻止了对其最新导弹系统的检查 华盛顿认为这违反了“中程核力量条约”(INF)。

汤普森补充说,旨在拯救INF的日内瓦会谈没有取得“新的突破”,也没有迹象表明俄罗斯将遵守该协议。

正如汤普森所说,俄罗斯允许检查SSC-8核导弹的提议是不够的,并补充说俄罗斯要求它允许检查 美国的导弹系统包括无人机和东欧的导弹部署.

华盛顿给了莫斯科,直到2月2证明他们遵守INF条约,但根据汤普森的说法,俄罗斯的承诺似乎不太可能。

由前总统罗纳德·里根和前苏联领导人米哈伊尔·戈尔巴乔夫在新西兰人民解放军签署的INF条约被视为国际武器控制中最重要的协议之一。 该交易将在1987中到期。

该条约禁止陆基核弹头导弹射程为310英里和3,410英里。

随着美国护送人员的观察,苏联视察员在轰炸之前记录了潘兴II导弹一侧的数据。 根据“中程核力量条约”(INF),将销毁若干枚导弹。

随着美国护送人员的观察,苏联视察员在轰炸之前记录了潘兴II导弹一侧的数据。 根据“中程核力量条约”(INF),将销毁若干枚导弹。 1989。 (照片来自美国军方)

俄罗斯大满贯特朗普

俄罗斯指责美国总统唐纳德特朗普以莫斯科为借口退出INF。 俄罗斯外交部长谢尔盖拉夫罗夫指责华盛顿不考虑莫斯科对该条约的提议。

“我们仍然愿意努力挽救INF条约。 我希望那些对此感兴趣的欧洲国家,也许比其他任何人都更加努力,不要落后于美国的立场,不要批准北约的乖乖陈述,把所有责任归咎于俄罗斯,而忽视事实,我们正在提供并准备进一步提供,但仍将试图对华盛顿施加影响,以便它对国际社会的所有成员,首先是欧洲人,采取更负责任的立场,“ 拉夫罗夫说。

莫斯科声称,SSC-8导弹的射程可以使其符合条约,并且它可以飞行的距离远不如华盛顿所说的那么远。

俄罗斯还辩称,美国尚未提供任何具体证据证明俄罗斯违反了INF,并补充说该制度尚未在该协定所禁止的范围内进行测试, 解释 拉夫罗夫的副手谢尔盖雷巴科夫。

美国声称 他们的情报受到监控 俄罗斯飞行测试 其中SSC-8飞行超过300里程。 这一发现是在奥巴马政府结束时作出的,但由特朗普政府决定如何处理。

美国抱怨俄罗斯只愿意提供所谓的导弹“静态显示”,不能用来核实弹头的实际距离。

“美国希望看到该系统处于测试阶段,而不是在俄罗斯军方可以”控制结果“的环境中。 汤普森说.

特朗普在宣布美国打算放弃INF条约后,去年10月震惊了华盛顿的盟友。 该条约规定销毁数千枚美国和苏联的武器,根据该协议,美国的核导弹已在欧洲停留了三十年

欧洲陷入困境

与此同时,北约成员对美国导弹在欧洲的潜在扩散表示担忧,担心当世界陷入莫斯科和华盛顿之间的核军备竞赛时,情况可能会恶化为与新民主党有相似之处。

几天前,北约秘书长延斯斯托尔滕贝格表示,总部设在布鲁塞尔的组织已准备好与俄罗斯进行对话,但他补充说,如果美国退出INF,他不会对北约如何防止军备竞赛做出任何猜测。 。

“只要北约的立场坚强,我们就能与俄罗斯保持对话。 这是我从挪威的政治活动中学到的东西[Stoltenberg在2000-2001和2005-2013 - TASS担任挪威总理]。 挪威在许多地区一直与俄罗斯密切合作,但不是因为北约,“ 这位挪威外交官说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR EUROPE

Russia, US Fail To Reach Deal To Save Cold War Nuclear Treaty

An unarmed AGM-86B air-launched cruise missile maneuvers over the Utah Test and Training Range enroute to its final target Sept. 22, 2014, during a Nuclear Weapons System Evaluation Program simulated combat mission.
An unarmed AGM-86B air-launched cruise missile maneuvers over the Utah Test and Training Range enroute to its final target Sept. 22, 2014, during a Nuclear Weapons System Evaluation Program simulated combat mission. (U.S. Air Force photo/Staff Sgt. Roidan Carlson)

The US and Russia are on the verge of pulling out of a crucial treaty that ended the Cold War era arms race and kept missiles out of Europe.

After a meeting in Geneva between both countries’ officials, US Under Secretary for Weapons Control and International Security, Andrea Thompson, said that Moscow has blocked an inspection of its latest missile system which Washington considers a breach of the Intermediate-range Nuclear Forces Treaty (INF).

Thompson added that the talks in Geneva, aimed at saving the INF, did not make a “new breakthrough”  and there were no signs that Russia will comply with the pact.

Russia’s offer to allow inspection of the SSC-8 nuclear-capable missile is insufficient, as Thompson said, adding that Russia demanded that it is permitted to examine the US’ missile system including drones and the missile deployment in eastern Europe.

Washington gave Moscow until February 2 to prove their compliance with the INF treaty but Russia’s commitment seems to be unlikely according to Thompson.

The INF treaty, signed by former president Ronald Reagan and former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev in 1987, was seen as one of the most important agreements in international weapons control. The deal expires in 2021.

The treaty banned land-based nuclear-tipped missiles with a range between 310 miles and 3,410 miles.

With their American escorts watching, Soviet inspectors record data from the side of a Pershing II missile prior to its destruction. Several missiles are to be destroyed in accordance with the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty.

With their American escorts watching, Soviet inspectors record data from the side of a Pershing II missile prior to its destruction. Several missiles are to be destroyed in accordance with the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty. 1989. (Photo via US military)

Russia Slams Trump

Russia accused US President Donald Trump of using Moscow as a pretext to exit from the INF. Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov has accused Washington of not considering Moscow’s proposals to the treaty.

“We are still ready to work on saving the INF Treaty. I hope those European countries, which are interested in this, maybe more than anyone else, will also make efforts not to fall behind the US position and not to approve obediently statements in NATO, laying all the blame on Russia and ignoring the facts, which we are providing and are ready to provide further, but will still try to exert influence on Washington so that it takes a more responsible position in regard to all members of the international community, first of all Europeans,” Lavrov said.

Moscow claims that the SSC-8 missile has a range which puts it in compliance with the treaty and that the distance it can fly is not as far as Washington alleges.

Pssst, while you're here...

Russia also argues that US has yet to provide any specific evidence that Russia is in breach of the INF, adding that the system has not been tested within the range prohibited under the pact, as explained by Lavrov’s Deputy Sergey Rybakov.

The US claims their intelligence had monitored Russian flight tests in which the SSC-8 flew in excess of 300 miles. The discovery was made at the end of the Obama administration but left to the Trump administration to decide how to handle.

The US has complained that Russia is only willing to provide a so-called “static display” of the missile which cannot be used to verify the real distance of its warheads.

“The US wants to see the system in testing, not in an environment where the Russian military can “control the results,” Thompson stated.

Trump shocked Washington’s allies last October after announcing the US’ intention to leave the INF treaty. The treaty mandated the destruction of thousands of US and Soviet’s weapons, and under the pact, US nuclear missiles have stayed out of Europe for three decades

Europe Caught in the Middle

Meanwhile, members of NATO raised concern about a potential proliferation of US missiles in Europe, fearing the situation could deteriorate into a resemblance of the 1980s when the world was trapped in a nuclear arms race between Moscow and Washington.

A few days ago, NATO Secretary General Jens Stoltenberg said that the Brussels-based organization is ready to have a dialogue with Russia, but added that he would not make any speculations about how NATO could prevent an arms race should the US withdraw from the INF.

“As long as NATO’s position is strong and solid, we can maintain dialogue with Russia. This is what I learned from Norway’s political activities [Stoltenberg served as Norway’s prime minister in 2000-2001 and 2005-2013 – TASS]. Norway has always been closely cooperating with Russia in many areas, not in spite of but because of NATO,” the Norwegian diplomat said.

 

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *