اكتب للبحث

تحليل ASIA / PACIFIC الشرق الأوسط

الأمير السعودي يثبت أنه لا يزال لديه أصدقاء في آسيا ، ويوقع صفقات ضخمة مع الصين والهند وباكستان

أنهى ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان جولته الآسيوية مع توقف في الصين والرئيس شي. (الصور عبر المجال العام)
أنهى ولي العهد السعودي محمد بن سلمان جولته الآسيوية مع توقف في الصين والرئيس شي. (الصور عبر المجال العام)
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

وقع الأمير السعودي محمد بن سلمان صفقات بمليارات الدولارات في جولته الآسيوية مع الهند وباكستان والصين.

في حين أن الغرب ربما لا يزال حذراً إلى حد ما من علاقته مع المملكة العربية السعودية والأمير السعودي محمد بن سلمان (MBS) ، فإن الاستقبال الحار الذي تلقته MBS في جولة آسيوية انتهت للتو يشير إلى أن الشرق ربما يكون قد نسى جمال خاشقجي.

من المرجح أن تكون جولة ولي العهد الشرقية ، جزئياً على الأقل ، بمثابة خطوة في العلاقات العامة لإنقاذ صورته العامة وإثبات الغرب أنه لا يزال يتمتع بالنعمة على المستوى الدولي.

تلقى MBS والنقد السعودي بحرارة في جولة آسيا

يوم الجمعة الماضي في نهاية جولة MBS الآسيوية ، وافق الأمير الشاب والرئيس الصيني شي جين بينغ على صفقة لشركة النفط السعودية أرامكو وشركة تيانكو الدفاعية الصينية لبناء مصفاة ومجمع للبتروكيماويات في الصين لإنتاج برميل 300,000 في اليوم و 1.5 طن من الإيثيلين في السنة. تقدر قيمة المشروع بأكثر من مليار 10 وتهدف إلى بدء عمليات التكرير في 2024.

كما ذكرت رويترز ، تحدث الأمير عن العلاقات الثنائية السعودية الصينية التي كانت قائمة لفترة طويلة. أعرب MBS عن سعادته بالمشروع المشترك مع ثاني أكبر اقتصاد في العالم. في مئات بل آلاف السنين ، كانت التفاعلات بين الجانبين ودية. خلال هذه الفترة الطويلة من التبادلات مع الصين ، لم نواجه أية مشاكل مع الصين ". وقال MBS.

أعرب الرئيس شي عن رغبته في قيام MBS للمملكة العربية السعودية والصين بمواصلة تعزيز العلاقات "لمنع تسلل الفكر المتطرف وانتشاره". كما ذكرت التلفزيون الحكومي الصيني.

كما أكد شي على علاقة الصين الخاصة بالمملكة العربية السعودية ووصفها بأنها "صديقة جيدة".

تبدو MBS شرقًا

بدأ الأمير المؤثر أول جولة له في آسيا في باكستان 20 مليار دولار بعد ساعات قليلة من وصوله. كانت باكستان أول دولة زارها الأمير ، قائلة إن السعودية تعتقد أن "باكستان ستكون دولة مهمة للغاية في المستقبل القريب ، ونريد أن نكون جزءًا من ذلك".

واصل ولي العهد رحلته إلى جارته وباكستان ، الهند. هناك، المملكة العربية السعودية والهند وقعت خمس اتفاقيات حول السياحة والاستثمار والبنية التحتية والبث والإسكان. كما وقع كلاهما على اتفاق لتشكيل "مجلس شراكة إستراتيجية". والمملكة العربية السعودية هي رابع أكبر شريك تجاري للهند وكذلك مورد الطاقة الأساسي في الهند. توفر المملكة 20 في المئة من النفط الخام في الهند.

تم إجراء زيارات MBS لباكستان والهند وسط توترات بين الدولتين المجاورتين إثر حادث تفجير انتحاري في منطقة كشمير المتنازع عليها أسفر عن مقتل حوالي 42 من أفراد القوات شبه العسكرية الهندية. كشمير منطقة يغلب عليها المسلمون وتقع في منطقة الهيمالايا وجزء من النزاع على الأرض بين الهند وباكستان.

كلا البلدين شاركوا في ثلاث حروب للسيطرة على المنطقة (1948 ، 1965 ، 1971) - وصراع أسفر عن مقتل الآلاف من الأشخاص منذ 1989 ، كما تدعي عدة منظمات حقوقية. خلال رحلته إلى الهند ، أعربت MBS عن استعدادها للتوسط في مفاوضات بين الهند وباكستان ، قائلة إن البلدين يشتركان في نفس المشكلة: الإرهاب.

بالنسبة الى كارين يونغالمحلل بمعهد أمريكان إنتربرايز ، تعتبر آسيا وجهة محتملة للاستثمار السعودي لأن ذلك البلد يعتقد أن مستقبل الاقتصاد العالمي سيكون في آسيا.

كان من المقرر أن تزور MBS إندونيسيا وماليزيا ، لكنه أرجأ زياراته دون تحديد الأسباب ، كما أكدت عدة تقارير.

ما لم يناقش في جولة آسيا

ربما بنفس أهمية الصفقات الموقعة في جولة الأمير في آسيا ، لم يكن ما نوقش. قبل أشهر فقط ، كانت MBS والمملكة العربية السعودية في وضع السيطرة على الأضرار حيث اندلعت أنباء عن مقتل الكاتب السعودي وصحفي الواشنطن بوست جمال خاشقجي داخل القنصلية السعودية في تركيا.

على الرغم من أن المملكة العربية السعودية نفت في البداية ارتكاب جريمة القتل ، إلا أنها اعترفت لاحقًا أن خاشقجي قد قُتل وقتل داخل القنصلية السعودية. ومع ذلك ، فقد ألقوا باللوم على القتل على "الجهات الفاعلة المارقة" ، ولم تأمر العائلة المالكة و MBS ، على وجه الخصوص ، بالقتل.

في حين أن البعض ، بمن فيهم الرئيس ترامب ، سارعوا بقبول النسخة السعودية من جريمة قتل مدنية مارقة ، ظل الكثيرون يشكون في القصة السعودية. من شأن تقرير نشرته صحيفة نيويورك تايمز أن يضر بشكل أكبر صورة MBS عندما أبلغوا أنه قبل عام من مقتل خاشقجي ، هددت MBS بوضع رصاصة في رأس الصحفي إذا لم يتوقف عن نشر تقاريره عن المملكة العربية السعودية.

الآن بعد أربعة أشهر ، بينما لا يزال السياسيون الأمريكيون وغيرهم في الغرب يطالبون ببعض الوسائل لمحاسبة المملكة العربية السعودية ، تشرع MBS في جولته الآسيوية.

في الصين ، وجد MBS نفسه موافقًا على استعداد الصين للتغلب على قضايا حقوق الإنسان. على الرغم من التقارير الإنسانية المقلقة عن سياسات الصين القمعية تجاه مسلمي اليوغور ، لم MBS لا تقترب من هذه القضية وقالت بدلاً من ذلك أن الرياض لا يحق لها التدخل في مشاكل بكين الداخلية. وأضاف الأمير أن المملكة العربية السعودية تدعم وتحترم حقوق الصين في حماية أمنها.

ظل التمييز ضد الأقلية العرقية في الإيغور مصدر قلق عالمي منذ سنوات. لقد بدأت عندما بدأت الصين تقييد الولادات في مقاطعة شينجيانغ ثم تبنت ببطء سياسات أكثر قسوة موجهة إلى المسلمين الأويغوريين الذين ادعت بكين أنها سياسات لمكافحة الإرهاب. زعمت التقارير الأخيرة ، بما في ذلك من الأمم المتحدة ، أن الصين تحتجز ملايين المسلمين الأويغوريين في معسكرات مثل معسكرات العمل.

لم يكن ما قيل - قتل خاشقجي ، واحتجاز اليوغور ، والتوترات بين الهند وباكستان - هو الذي سمح للأعمال التجارية بسلاسة.

MBS يخلق فرصة ذهبية

يقول خبراء سياسيون إن جولة MBS الآسيوية هي فرصة ذهبية لإثبات للغرب أن المملكة العربية السعودية ما زال لديها حلفاء دوليون رئيسيون. باحث في كلية S. Rajaratnam للدراسات الدولية في سنغافورة ، جيمس م. دورسي ، لوكالة فرانس برس من المرجح أن MBS أراد أن يثبت أنه ليس منبوذاً دولياً.

وقال دورسي إن الأمر يتعلق بإثبات أنه لا يزال يتمتع "بوصول دولي ويمكنه أن يعمل ... باعتباره أكبر ممثل للمملكة العربية السعودية وراء الملك".

وقال محلل آخر ، لي جووفو ، مدير دراسات الشرق الأوسط في المعهد الصيني للدراسات الدولية ، وهو مركز أبحاث تابع للحكومة ، لوكالة فرانس برس إن الدول الآسيوية "لها خاصية خاصة مهمة - وهي أننا لا نتدخل في الشؤون الداخلية للبلدان الأخرى ".

تعتبر جولة MBS الآسيوية جزءًا من خطة Saudi Arabia لتنويع اقتصادهم والاعتماد على النفط. للقيام بذلك MBS قد أعلن سابقا له رؤية 2030 الخطة التي تهدف إلى تعزيز القطاع الخاص ، وخفض معدل البطالة ، وجعل المملكة العربية السعودية مركزا للصناعات الصناعية والسياحية والترفيهية.

"تتمتع الزيارة إلى آسيا بأهمية جغرافية استراتيجية واجتماعية اقتصادية ، حيث أن كلا الجانبين مهم للغاية لنجاح الرؤية السعودية 2030 مع الإشارة إلى توقيت هذه الزيارات ،" ربيعة ياسمين كبيرة المحللين في يورومونيتور الدولية لشبكة سي إن إن.

جولة آسيا هي محاولة المملكة العربية السعودية للعودة إلى المسار الصحيح بعد "الفواق" لمقتل جمال خاشقجي ، وبينما قد لا يكون الغرب مستعدًا بعد للترحيب بالمملكة العربية السعودية مرة أخرى على أراضيها ، لا توجد علامة على أن المملكة العربية السعودية مستعدة لرفض زيارة من الغرب. شرع مستشار البيت الأبيض وصهر الرئيس ترامب ، جاريد كوشنر ، في جولة مدتها خمسة أيام في الشرق الأوسط يمكن أن تشمل وقفًا وجهاً لوجه مع MBS.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANALYSIS ASIA/PACIFIC MIDDLE EAST

Saudi Prince Proves He Still Has Friends in Asia, Signs Mega Deals with China, India and Pakistan

Saudi crown prince Mohammad bin Salman ended his Asia tour with a stop in China and President Xi. (Photos via public domain)
Saudi crown prince Mohammad bin Salman ended his Asia tour with a stop in China and President Xi. (Photos via public domain)

Saudi prince Mohammad bin Salman inked multiple billion dollar deals on his Asia tour with India, Pakistan and China.

While the West may still be somewhat wary of its relationship with Saudi Arabia and Saudi Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS), the recent warm reception MBS received on a just-ended Asia tour suggests the East may have already forgotten Jamal Khashoggi.

The crown prince’s eastern tour is also likely at least in part a public relations move to salvage his public image and prove to the West that he is still in good graces internationally.

MBS and Saudi Cash Received Warmly on Asia Tour

Last Friday at the end of the MBS’ Asia tour, the young prince and Chinese President Xi Jinping agreed on a deal for the Saudi oil company Aramco and the Chinese defense titan Norinco to build a refinery and a petrochemical complex in China to produce 300,000 barrels per day and 1.5 tons of ethylene per year. The project is estimated to be worth more than $10 billion and has a goal of beginning refinery operations in 2024.

As Reuters reported, the prince talked about the Saudi-China bilateral ties that have existed for a long time. MBS expressed his delight over the joint venture with the world’s second-largest economy. “In the hundreds, even thousands, of years, the interactions between the sides have been friendly. Over such a long period of exchanges with China, we have never experienced any problems with China,” MBS said.

President Xi expressed his desire to MBS for Saudi Arabia and China to continue to boost ties to “prevent the infiltration and spread of extremist thinking,” as Chinese state TV reported.

Xi also stressed China’s special relationship with Saudi Arabia and called the country a “good friend.”

MBS Looks Eastward

The influential prince first began his Asia tour in Pakistan Feb. 17 where he cemented an investment agreement worth $20 billion just a few hours after his arrival. Pakistan was the first country the prince visited, saying Saudi Arabia believes, “Pakistan is going to be a very important country in the coming future, and we want to be part of that.”

The crown prince continued his trip to Pakistan’s neighbor and rival, India. There, Saudi Arabia and India inked five agreements on tourism, investment, infrastructure, broadcasting and housing. Both also signed a deal to form a “strategic partnership council.” Saudi Arabia is India’s fourth largest trading partner as well as India’s primary energy supplier. The kingdom supplies 20 percent of India’s crude oil.

MBS’ visits to Pakistan and India were held amid tensions involving both neighboring countries following a suicide bomb incident in the disputed Kashmir region that killed around 42 Indian paramilitary personnel. Kashmir is a predominantly Muslim area located in the Himalaya region and part of a land dispute between India and Pakistan.

Both countries were involved in three wars to control the area (1948, 1965, 1971) – and a conflict that has killed thousands of people since 1989, as several rights organizations claim. During his trip to India MBS expressed his willingness to mediate negotiations between India and Pakistan, saying that both countries share the same problem: terrorism.

According to Karen Young, an analyst at the American Enterprise Institute, Asia is a potential destination for Saudi investment since that country believes the future of the global economy will be in Asia.

MBS was scheduled to also visit Indonesia and Malaysia, but he postponed his visits without specifying the reasons, as several reports confirmed.

What Wasn’t Discussed on Asia Tour

Perhaps just as significant as the deals signed on the prince’s Asia tour, was what wasn’t discussed. Just months ago MBS’ and Saudi Arabia were in damage control mode as news broke of the murder of Saudi columnist and Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi inside the Saudi consulate in Turkey.

Although Saudi Arabia at first denied the murder took place they later admitted Khashoggi was in fact killed and killed inside the Saudi consulate. However, they blamed the murder on ‘rogue actors’ and the royal family and MBS, in particular, did not order or sanction the killing.

While some, including President Trump, were quick to accept the Saudi version of a rogue civilian murder many continued to doubt the Saudi storyline. A New York times report would further damage MBS’ image when they reported that a year prior to Khashoggi’s murder MBS had threatened to put a bullet in the journalist’s head if he did not stop his reporting on Saudi Arabia.

Now four months later, while U.S. politicians and others in the West are still calling for some means to hold Saudi Arabia accountable, MBS embarks on his Asian tour.

In China, MBS found himself agreeable to China’s willingness to skirt over human rights issues. Despite alarming humanitarian reports of China’s repressive policies towards Uighur Muslims, MBS did not approach the issue and instead said Riyadh has no right to intervene in Beijing’s domestic problems. The prince added Saudi Arabia supported and respected China’s rights to protect its security.

Discrimination against the Uighur ethnic minority has been a worldwide concern for years. It started when China began restricting birthrates in the province of Xinjiang and then slowly adopted more harsh policies directed at Uighur Muslims which Beijing has claimed are anti-terrorism policies. Recent reports, including from the U.N., have claimed that China is holding millions of Uighur Muslims in concentration like work camps.

It was what wasn’t said – the Khashoggi killing, Uighur detentions, India/Pakistan tensions – that allowed business to go on smoothly.

MBS Creates Golden Opportunity

Political experts say MBS’ Asia tour is a golden opportunity to prove to the West that Saudi Arabia still has major international allies. A researcher at S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies in Singapore, James M. Dorsey, told Agence France-Presse that MBS likely wanted to prove he is not an international pariah.

It is a matter of proving that he still has “international access and he can function… as the most senior representative of Saudi Arabia beyond the king,” Dorsey said.

Another analyst, Li Guofu, director of Middle East studies at the China Institute of International Studies, a government-affiliated think tank, told Agence France-Presse that Asian countries “have an important special characteristic — that is, we don’t interfere in the internal affairs of other countries”.

MBS’ Asia tour is also seen as part of Saudi Arabi’s plan to diversify their economy and be less reliant on oil. To do this MBS had previously announced his Vision 2030 plan which aims to boost the private sector, slash the unemployment rate, and making Saudi Arabia a hub for industrial, tourism and entertainment industries.

“[The] visit to Asia holds geo-strategic and socioeconomic importance, both aspects being very important for the success of the Saudi Vision 2030 with reference to the timings of these visits,” Euromonitor International senior analyst Rabia Yasmeen told CNN.

The Asia tour is Saudi Arabia’s attempt to get back on track after the “hiccup” of the Jamal Khashoggi murder and while the West may not yet be ready to welcome Saudi Arabia back onto its soil, there’s no sign Saudi Arabia is ready to refuse a visit from the West. White House advisor and son-in-law to President Trump, Jared Kushner, has embarked on a five-day Middle East tour which could include a stop and face to face with MBS.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *