输入搜索

分析 亚太 中东

沙特王子证明他仍然在亚洲有朋友,与中国,印度和巴基斯坦签订了巨额优惠

沙特王储穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼(Mohammad bin Salman)在中国和习主席停止了他的亚洲之行。 (通过公共领域的照片)
沙特王储穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼(Mohammad bin Salman)在中国和习主席停止了他的亚洲之行。 (通过公共领域的照片)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

沙特王子穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼(Mohammad bin Salman)与印度,巴基斯坦和中国签署了数十亿美元的亚洲之旅。

虽然西方可能仍然对其与沙特阿拉伯和沙特王子穆罕默德·本·萨勒曼(MBS)的关系持谨慎态度,但最近在刚刚结束的亚洲巡回赛上接受的热烈欢迎,表明东方可能已经忘记了贾马尔·卡尔佐吉。

王储的东部之旅也至少部分是公共关系的举动,以挽救他的公众形象,向西方证明他仍然在国际上享有盛名。

MBS和沙特现金在亚洲巡回赛上受到热烈欢迎

上周五,在MBS亚洲巡回演唱会结束时,年轻的王子和中国国家主席习近平同意与沙特石油公司Aramco和中国国防巨头Norinco达成协议,在中国建立炼油厂和石化厂,生产300,000桶每天和每年1.5吨乙烯。 该项目估计价值超过10亿美元,目标是在2024开始炼油厂运营。

据路透社报道,王子谈到沙特与中国的双边关系已经存在了很长时间。 MBS对与世界第二大经济体的合资企业表示高兴。 “在数百甚至数千年的时间里,双方之间的互动是友好的。 在与中国这么长时间的交往中,我们从未遇到过与中国有任何问题,“ MBS说.

习主席表示,他希望沙特阿拉伯和中国的MBS继续加强联系,以“防止极端主义思想的渗透和蔓延”。 正如中国国家电视台报道.

习近平还强调了中国与沙特阿拉伯的特殊关系,称中国是“好朋友”。

MBS向东看

这位有影响力的王子于2月17开始在巴基斯坦进行亚洲巡回演出,并在那里巩固了一项值得投资的协议 的美元20亿元 他抵达后几个小时。 巴基斯坦是王子访问的第一个国家,沙特阿拉伯认为,“巴基斯坦将在未来成为一个非常重要的国家,我们希望成为其中的一部分。”

王储继续前往巴基斯坦的邻国和竞争对手印度。 那里, 沙特阿拉伯和印度签署了协议 关于旅游,投资,基础设施,广播和住房的五项协议。 两国还签署了一项协议,组建“战略伙伴关系委员会”。沙特阿拉伯是印度的第四大贸易伙伴,也是印度的主要能源供应国。 该王国提供20印度原油的百分比。

在有争议的克什米尔地区发生自杀式炸弹袭击事件后,MBS对巴基斯坦和印度的访问是在两个邻国的紧张局势中进行的,该地区在42印度准军事人员附近丧生。 克什米尔是一个以穆斯林为主的地区,位于喜马拉雅地区,是印度和巴基斯坦之间土地纠纷的一部分。

两国 参与了三场战争来控制该地区 (1948,1965,1971) - 以及自1989以来已造成数千人死亡的冲突,正如一些权利组织声称的那样。 在访问印度期间,MBS表示愿意调解印度和巴基斯坦之间的谈判,并表示两国都有同样的问题:恐怖主义。

根据 Karen年轻亚洲美国企业研究所的分析师是沙特投资的潜在目的地,因为该国认为全球经济的未来将在亚洲。

MBS还计划访问印度尼西亚和马来西亚, 但他推迟了他的访问 几份报告证实,没有说明原因。

亚洲巡回赛没有讨论什么

也许与王子亚洲巡回赛上签署的协议一样重要的是未讨论的内容。 几个月前,由于沙特领事馆和华盛顿邮报记者Jamal Khashoggi在沙特土耳其领事馆内被谋杀,MBS和沙特阿拉伯处于破坏控制模式。

虽然沙特阿拉伯最初否认发生谋杀事件,但他们后来承认Khashoggi实际上是在沙特领事馆内被杀害和杀害。 然而,他们将谋杀归咎于“流氓演员”,而王室和MBS尤其没有命令或制裁杀戮。

虽然包括特朗普总统在内的一些人迅速接受了沙特版的流氓平民谋杀案,但许多人仍然怀疑沙特的故事情节。 纽约时报的报道将进一步损害MBS的形象,因为他们报道说,在Khashoggi被谋杀之前一年MBS威胁说,如果他没有停止对沙特阿拉伯的报道,就会在记者的脑袋里放一颗子弹。

现在四个月后,虽然美国政客和西方其他国家仍在呼吁采取一些措施让沙特阿拉伯承担责任,但MBS开始了他的亚洲之行。

在中国,MBS发现自己同意中国愿意绕过人权问题。 尽管有关中国对维吾尔穆斯林的镇压政策令人震惊的人道主义报道, MBS没有接近这个问题 相反,利雅得没有权利干预北京的国内问题。 王子补充说,沙特阿拉伯支持并尊重中国保护其安全的权利。

多年来,对维吾尔族少数民族的歧视一直是全世界关注的问题。 它始于中国开始时 限制新疆省的出生率 然后慢慢采取针对维吾尔族穆斯林的更为严厉的政策,北京声称这些政策是反恐政策。 最近的报道,包括来自联合国的报道,都声称中国正在将数百万维吾尔穆斯林视为工作营。

这是没有说的 - 卡尔佐吉的杀戮,维吾尔人的拘留,印度/巴基斯坦的紧张局势 - 让企业顺利进行。

MBS创造了黄金机会

政治专家表示,MBS的亚洲之行是向西方证明沙特阿拉伯仍然拥有主要国际盟友的绝佳机会。 新加坡S. Rajaratnam国际研究学院的研究员James M. Dorsey, 法新社告诉法新社 MBS可能想证明他不是国际贱民。

多尔西说,这是一个证明他仍然具有“国际通道并且能够发挥作用的能力......作为沙特阿拉伯国王之外的最高级代表”的问题。

另一位分析师李国​​富是政府附属智库中国国际问题研究所中东研究中心主任,他告诉法新社,亚洲国家“有一个重要的特点 - 就是我们不干涉其他国家的内政“。

MBS的亚洲之行也被视为沙特阿拉伯计划实现经济多元化并减少对石油的依赖。 要做到这一点,MBS此前曾宣布他的 视觉2030 计划旨在促进私营部门,降低失业率,使沙特阿拉伯成为工业,旅游和娱乐业的中心。

“[亚洲]访问具有地缘战略和社会经济重要性,这两方面对沙特阿拉伯愿景2030的成功非常重要,并参考了这些访问的时间安排,” Euromonitor International高级分析师Rabia Yasmeen告诉CNN。

亚洲之行是沙特阿拉伯试图在Jamal Khashoggi谋杀的“打嗝”之后回到正轨,虽然西方可能尚未准备好迎接沙特阿拉伯重返土地,但没有迹象沙特阿拉伯准备拒绝来自西方的访问。 白宫顾问兼特朗普总统的女婿贾里德库什纳已经开始了为期五天的中东之旅,其中包括停止与MBS面对面。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS ASIA/PACIFIC MIDDLE EAST

Saudi Prince Proves He Still Has Friends in Asia, Signs Mega Deals with China, India and Pakistan

Saudi crown prince Mohammad bin Salman ended his Asia tour with a stop in China and President Xi. (Photos via public domain)
Saudi crown prince Mohammad bin Salman ended his Asia tour with a stop in China and President Xi. (Photos via public domain)

Saudi prince Mohammad bin Salman inked multiple billion dollar deals on his Asia tour with India, Pakistan and China.

While the West may still be somewhat wary of its relationship with Saudi Arabia and Saudi Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS), the recent warm reception MBS received on a just-ended Asia tour suggests the East may have already forgotten Jamal Khashoggi.

The crown prince’s eastern tour is also likely at least in part a public relations move to salvage his public image and prove to the West that he is still in good graces internationally.

MBS and Saudi Cash Received Warmly on Asia Tour

Last Friday at the end of the MBS’ Asia tour, the young prince and Chinese President Xi Jinping agreed on a deal for the Saudi oil company Aramco and the Chinese defense titan Norinco to build a refinery and a petrochemical complex in China to produce 300,000 barrels per day and 1.5 tons of ethylene per year. The project is estimated to be worth more than $10 billion and has a goal of beginning refinery operations in 2024.

As Reuters reported, the prince talked about the Saudi-China bilateral ties that have existed for a long time. MBS expressed his delight over the joint venture with the world’s second-largest economy. “In the hundreds, even thousands, of years, the interactions between the sides have been friendly. Over such a long period of exchanges with China, we have never experienced any problems with China,” MBS said.

President Xi expressed his desire to MBS for Saudi Arabia and China to continue to boost ties to “prevent the infiltration and spread of extremist thinking,” as Chinese state TV reported.

Xi also stressed China’s special relationship with Saudi Arabia and called the country a “good friend.”

MBS Looks Eastward

The influential prince first began his Asia tour in Pakistan Feb. 17 where he cemented an investment agreement worth $20 billion just a few hours after his arrival. Pakistan was the first country the prince visited, saying Saudi Arabia believes, “Pakistan is going to be a very important country in the coming future, and we want to be part of that.”

The crown prince continued his trip to Pakistan’s neighbor and rival, India. There, Saudi Arabia and India inked five agreements on tourism, investment, infrastructure, broadcasting and housing. Both also signed a deal to form a “strategic partnership council.” Saudi Arabia is India’s fourth largest trading partner as well as India’s primary energy supplier. The kingdom supplies 20 percent of India’s crude oil.

MBS’ visits to Pakistan and India were held amid tensions involving both neighboring countries following a suicide bomb incident in the disputed Kashmir region that killed around 42 Indian paramilitary personnel. Kashmir is a predominantly Muslim area located in the Himalaya region and part of a land dispute between India and Pakistan.

Both countries were involved in three wars to control the area (1948, 1965, 1971) – and a conflict that has killed thousands of people since 1989, as several rights organizations claim. During his trip to India MBS expressed his willingness to mediate negotiations between India and Pakistan, saying that both countries share the same problem: terrorism.

According to Karen Young, an analyst at the American Enterprise Institute, Asia is a potential destination for Saudi investment since that country believes the future of the global economy will be in Asia.

MBS was scheduled to also visit Indonesia and Malaysia, but he postponed his visits without specifying the reasons, as several reports confirmed.

What Wasn’t Discussed on Asia Tour

Perhaps just as significant as the deals signed on the prince’s Asia tour, was what wasn’t discussed. Just months ago MBS’ and Saudi Arabia were in damage control mode as news broke of the murder of Saudi columnist and Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi inside the Saudi consulate in Turkey.

Although Saudi Arabia at first denied the murder took place they later admitted Khashoggi was in fact killed and killed inside the Saudi consulate. However, they blamed the murder on ‘rogue actors’ and the royal family and MBS, in particular, did not order or sanction the killing.

While some, including President Trump, were quick to accept the Saudi version of a rogue civilian murder many continued to doubt the Saudi storyline. A New York times report would further damage MBS’ image when they reported that a year prior to Khashoggi’s murder MBS had threatened to put a bullet in the journalist’s head if he did not stop his reporting on Saudi Arabia.

Now four months later, while U.S. politicians and others in the West are still calling for some means to hold Saudi Arabia accountable, MBS embarks on his Asian tour.

In China, MBS found himself agreeable to China’s willingness to skirt over human rights issues. Despite alarming humanitarian reports of China’s repressive policies towards Uighur Muslims, MBS did not approach the issue and instead said Riyadh has no right to intervene in Beijing’s domestic problems. The prince added Saudi Arabia supported and respected China’s rights to protect its security.

Discrimination against the Uighur ethnic minority has been a worldwide concern for years. It started when China began restricting birthrates in the province of Xinjiang and then slowly adopted more harsh policies directed at Uighur Muslims which Beijing has claimed are anti-terrorism policies. Recent reports, including from the U.N., have claimed that China is holding millions of Uighur Muslims in concentration like work camps.

It was what wasn’t said – the Khashoggi killing, Uighur detentions, India/Pakistan tensions – that allowed business to go on smoothly.

MBS Creates Golden Opportunity

Political experts say MBS’ Asia tour is a golden opportunity to prove to the West that Saudi Arabia still has major international allies. A researcher at S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies in Singapore, James M. Dorsey, told Agence France-Presse that MBS likely wanted to prove he is not an international pariah.

It is a matter of proving that he still has “international access and he can function… as the most senior representative of Saudi Arabia beyond the king,” Dorsey said.

Another analyst, Li Guofu, director of Middle East studies at the China Institute of International Studies, a government-affiliated think tank, told Agence France-Presse that Asian countries “have an important special characteristic — that is, we don’t interfere in the internal affairs of other countries”.

MBS’ Asia tour is also seen as part of Saudi Arabi’s plan to diversify their economy and be less reliant on oil. To do this MBS had previously announced his Vision 2030 plan which aims to boost the private sector, slash the unemployment rate, and making Saudi Arabia a hub for industrial, tourism and entertainment industries.

“[The] visit to Asia holds geo-strategic and socioeconomic importance, both aspects being very important for the success of the Saudi Vision 2030 with reference to the timings of these visits,” Euromonitor International senior analyst Rabia Yasmeen told CNN.

The Asia tour is Saudi Arabia’s attempt to get back on track after the “hiccup” of the Jamal Khashoggi murder and while the West may not yet be ready to welcome Saudi Arabia back onto its soil, there’s no sign Saudi Arabia is ready to refuse a visit from the West. White House advisor and son-in-law to President Trump, Jared Kushner, has embarked on a five-day Middle East tour which could include a stop and face to face with MBS.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *