输入搜索

同行新闻

自我弹劾不是一件事

唐纳德·特朗普
南希佩洛西的注意事项:唐纳德特朗普总统将避免100%的弹劾程序对他造成的后果。 (图片来源:Gage Skidmore / Flickr / CC BY-SA 2.0)
(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

对于南希佩洛西一再提到自我弹劾,特朗普不能(也不会,不管怎样)这样做。 他还没有自我毁灭,只能在过去的几天和几周里变得更加大胆。

如果你相信众议院议长南希佩洛西,唐纳德特朗普总统即将“自我弹劾。”现在任何一分钟。 它即将到来 - 只是你拭目以待。

不幸的是,对于那些不喜欢我们无所畏惧的领导者或者是政治领导责任粉丝的人来说,这不是佩洛西女士的新主张。 回到2017的夏天,在总统支持率下降的情况下,佩洛西 对民主党开始弹劾程序的主题表示反对,预测他会自我弹劾。 同样在今年5月,她说几乎同样的事情,表明她相信特朗普是 “变得自我毁灭 就他正在做的一些事情而言。“

我们是在8月2019,比议长早些时候的言论和选举快速接近两年多。 你不知道吗 - 总统尚未弹劾自己。 也许是因为他不能。 因为自我弹劾不是一件事。

在联邦一级,弹劾只能在众议院同意的情况下进行,有关官员只能由参议院审理。 这些规定分别载于美国宪法第一条第2条和第一条第3条。 至于哪些指控可能成为弹劾的理由,第二条第4条规定,“叛国,贿​​赂或其他高犯罪和轻罪。然而,在实践中,由于该官员滥用职权或违反公众信任,立法者投票开始弹劾程序的做法更为普遍。

第二条,第2条也禁止总统在弹劾案件中对美国犯下赦免或赦免,这意味着特朗普可能不会简单地赦免自己。 尽管如此,他可以自我弹劾的想法是,使用一些技术性很强的政治术语,hogwash。 然而,媒体成员继续扩大佩洛西的主张,或者至少不要像他们可以或坦率地那样挑战。

众议院民主党在这方面不采取行动的最新举措之一来自美国有线电视新闻网政治分析家和普林斯顿大学历史学家朱利安泽泽尔。 正如泽尔泽尔所说,佩洛西 “可能已经发生了什么事” 当她在5月份就自我弹劾发表评论时,有超过一半的众议院支持起诉弹劾程序,包括众议院司法委员会主席杰里纳德勒。 虽然承认自我弹劾的概念是“愚蠢的”,但泽尔泽通过指出总统所说的所有不负责任,应受谴责和愚蠢的蠢事,支持了自我弹劾特朗普的想法。

例如,就像暗示克林顿夫人被杰弗里爱泼斯坦杀死一样。 或者是为了追捕“The Squad”和Elijah Cummings,告诉他们回到他们来自犯罪缠身,老鼠出没的地方。 或者呼吁跨越我们南部边境的移民和寻求庇护者“入侵者”。这主要是特朗普任性的公开行为和言论,使民主党人不再将弹劾选择放在一边,甚至比穆勒报告的内容更为明确。

因此,虽然议长佩洛西距离弹劾程序还有很长的路要走,虽然只要米奇“我在人事行业”,麦克康纳尔就会走向党派路线,但这一过程几乎肯定会在参议院死亡。特朗普通过保持对话的活跃,成为“他自己最大的敌人”。 更不用说他可能正在为他的连任前景做一个伤害,你知道,这是一个混蛋。

不过,泽尔泽先生说:“你已经承认了自我弹劾理论概念的愚蠢性。 为什么要提供叙述? 为什么不迫使佩洛西公司对大多数众议院民主党人达成协议的问题采取果断行动,这个数字在过去几周和几个月里稳步增长?

泽尔泽引用了“非常真实的担忧”,即在温和的地区发生反弹,这些地区正式对特朗普提起弹劾程序。 要说没有风险可以保持这种更加谨慎的做法,或者将党派的希望寄托在2020上,同时也是不准确的。 那些代表所谓的“摇摆”或“紫色”地区的民主党代表可能会分享佩洛西的忧虑感,并拒绝投票支持弹劾,这绝不会让她达到一致批准的理想门槛(无论是通过设计是另一个故事,但让我们为了论证而给予她怀疑的好处)。

至于迫在眉睫的总统选举,民意调查似乎要求特朗普输给大多数民主党候选人,尽管我们之前一直走在这条道路上。 希拉里克林顿被政治知识分子广泛预测为在2016举办这一天。 众所周知,她没有。 这一次,乔·拜登是大多数民意调查中的领导者,也是推定的“安全”选择。 在一个迅速变化的选民越来越不满意华盛顿特区如何(或没有)代表的时代,他也是一个古老的白人男性,他作为立法者的记录并不是无论如何都无可指责,他似乎每隔一天就会产生某种令人头脑麻木的失态。

这个人会激励年轻选民想参与其中吗? 这是一个鼓舞人心的人,他从过去的错误中吸取了教训并且不仅适合现任者,而且如果他赢得了整个shebang,那么他就能跑到这个国家? 请原谅我,如果我对特朗普和拜登之间为美国的未来进行单挑对决的前景感到不安全。

政治家经常偏离,分散注意力,躲避,以试图限制他们的个人责任感。 在这一点上,这是可以预料的,佩洛西女士并不高于游戏,可以说,作为一个根深蒂固的DC内幕。 另一方面,对于像自由新闻界成员Zelizer这样的人来说,不让她去完成任务而不是为了让我们的男孩总统陷入困境,可以说是失职。 我们得到了足够多的谈话要点。 当需要进行严肃的批评性评论时,让他们只是重新洗牌,新闻提供者及其消费者都会受到伤害。


与民主党领导人的包围和喋喋不休形成鲜明对比,以及对今天大部分权威人士弹劾“危险”的让步,作者,民权律师,组织者和政治领导人史蒂夫菲利普斯强调, “弹出特朗普是安全的。”

为什么菲利普斯在这一点上如此肯定当南希佩洛西和朱利安泽泽尔这样的人在这个问题上更模棱两可? 正如菲利普斯解释的那样,他掌握着数学知识。

他发现,民主党人非常关注有争议地区代表的连任前景。 在他的文章中引用的一位代表说,他认为“我们有必要关注30左右摇摆地区正在发生的事情,那些人在想什么。”这个想法是,在这些地区,特朗普支持的共和党人在弹劾中徘徊诉讼或谈话可能会影响最终结果。

正如菲利普斯指出的那样,这个数字在跳跃时是不准确的。 只有去年由Dems赢得的21座位来自唐纳德特朗普在2016中携带的地区,其中少数人是蓝色的。 从那里开始,民主党选民投票率在2018中低于2016的7个区域,仅凭投票率就赢得了胜利,可以从讨论中删除。 菲利普斯强调了希拉里克林顿选民在新西兰国立大学中的表现比特朗普选民更加满意“现在他们在白宫有他们的首选人对政治现状更满意。”如果登记的共和党人在很大程度上负责翻转这些地区,你会期望民主党国会候选人的选票要高,而不是因为中期选举的投票率异常强劲。

在那些剩余的14地区中,菲利普斯根据与投票率无关的胜利,移除了另外六个国会选区。 换句话说,即使你把所有增加的投票数量都拿走并交给了共和党人,民主党候选人仍然会因为回归希拉里选民而获胜。 菲利普斯下降到八个地区,然后再打三个我们原来的21计数,强调了除了“心怀不满”的共和党选民以外的其他因素具有决定性的独特情况。

在GA-06中,斯泰西艾布拉姆斯历史性的州长竞选活动可能通过推动人们参与投票来推动露西麦克巴斯的微弱胜利(少于5,000投票)。 在NM-02中,Xochitl Torres Small的同样薄弱的胜利可能最好地归因于人口统计学(新墨西哥州的2nd国会区是55%西班牙裔/拉丁裔)以及座位开放时,现任者选择不参加竞选-选举。 最后,在UT-04中,本·麦克亚当斯更为狭隘(不到1,000票数差异)颠覆黑人共和党人和频繁的巴拉克·奥巴马评论家米娅·洛夫。 其中之一,菲利普斯认为成为一名黑人奥巴马贬低者的重要性日渐减弱,麦克亚当斯的名字认知和受欢迎程度,以及一个白人摩门教男性在犹他州的黑人女性的选举情况往往更好。 那是你的'蜂巢状态'。

这留下了五个区 - MI-08(Elissa Slotkin),NY-22(Anthony Brindisi),OK-05(Kendra Horn),SC-01(Joe Cunningham)和VA-07(Abigail Spanberger) - 其中心怀不满的共和党人决定了上次选举的结果。 虽然不一定要尽量减少这些立法者的潜在贡献,但从数字上讲,五个温和的民主党人的选举前景似乎不足以超过许多美国人的愿望和民主党立法者的上升趋势,看到党派领导层在弹劾方面取得进展。

所有这一切之前,我们得到了尼克松人的不正当行为与特朗普所说和所做的事情之间的太怪异的相似之处,并继续这样做,并表示显然试图让自己被弹劾。 这就是说,即使不依赖菲利普斯的数字,历史先例也可能迫使佩洛西和其他高级民主党人采取行动。

总而言之,菲利普斯认为“做正确的事”是正确的行动方针,不仅仅因为这是一种道德要求,而且因为选民们通过他们的投票率表明他们赞成让总统负起责任,特别是那些登记的共和党叛逃者。区。 正如他所说,他们希望国会对这个人负责。

为了给我们带来完整的循环,要求众议院弹劾。 对于南希佩洛西一再提到自我弹劾,特朗普不能(也不会,不管怎样)这样做。 他还没有自我毁灭,只是在过去的几天和几周里变得更加大胆,以任何有意义的方式不受限制,因此激励他们继续撒谎,充实自己,并支持作为国家领导者的更丑陋的观点。 随着埃尔帕索射击的后果表明,特朗普显然没有变得更好或更多的总统。 十一月2020,不能保证成为民主党的福音,不应该是Dems唯一能够对付他的选择。

约瑟夫曼加诺

约瑟夫·曼加诺(Joseph Mangano)多年来以各种形式撰写了超过10年的博客。 他曾作为编辑和作家为Xanga实习。 他毕业于罗格斯大学,获得心理学学士学位,威廉帕特森大学获得会计学MBA学位。 他居住在新泽西州北部,只有一次抽自己的汽油。 如果不写作,他喜欢成为一个从未真正播放任何节目,观看体育和追逐神奇宝贝的声学摇滚二人组合。 他可以到达 [EMAIL PROTECTED] 或者在Twitter上@JFMangano。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

Self-Impeachment Is Not a Thing

Donald Trump
Note to Nancy Pelosi: President Donald Trump will avoid the consequences of 100% of the impeachment proceedings not brought against him. (Photo Credit: Gage Skidmore/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

For Nancy Pelosi’s repeated references to self-impeachment, Trump can’t (and wouldn’t, anyway) do that. He also has yet to self-destruct and only grows bolder with the passing days and weeks.

If you believe Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, President Donald Trump is about to “self-impeach.” Any minute now. It’s coming—just you wait and see.

Unfortunately, for people not enamored with our fearless leader or for fans of accountability in political leadership, this is not a new claim of Ms. Pelosi’s. Back in summer of 2017, amid sagging presidential approval ratings, Pelosi demurred on the subject of Democrats starting impeachment proceedings, predicting he would self-impeach. Again in May of this year, she said virtually the same thing, indicating her belief that Trump is “becoming self-impeachable in terms of some of the things he’s doing.”

We’re in August 2019, more than two years after those earlier remarks by the Speaker and with an election fast approaching. And wouldn’t you know it—the president has yet to impeach himself. Maybe because he can’t. Because self-impeachment isn’t a thing.

At the federal level, impeachment can only be brought about with the assent of the House of Representatives and the official in question can only be tried by the Senate. These provisions are contained in Article I, Section 2 and Article I, Section 3 of the United States Constitution, respectively. As for what charges may be grounds for impeachment, Article II, Section 4 states that the “President, Vice President and all civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.” In practice, however, lawmakers voting to begin impeachment proceedings have more commonly done so because of that official’s abuse of his or her position or for violating the public trust.

Article II, Section 2 also prohibits the president from granting pardons or reprieves for offenses against the U.S. in cases of impeachment, meaning Trump presumably couldn’t simply pardon himself. Still, the idea he could self-impeach is, to use a bit of highly technical political jargon, hogwash. And yet, members of the media continue to amplify Pelosi’s claim or at least don’t challenge it like they can or frankly should.

One of the latest such defenses of House Democrats’ inaction on this front comes from Julian Zelizer, CNN political analyst and Princeton University historian. As Zelizer argues, Pelosi “might have been onto something” when she made her comments about self-impeachment in May, evidenced by more than half of House Dems supporting starting impeachment proceedings, including House Judiciary Committee chair Jerry Nadler. While acknowledging that the very notion of self-impeachment is “silly,” Zelizer nonetheless bolsters the idea of a self-impeaching Trump by pointing to all the irresponsible, reprehensible and stupid shit the president says.

Like, for instance, suggesting the Clintons had Jeffrey Epstein killed. Or for going after “The Squad” and Elijah Cummings, telling them to go back to the crime-ridden, rat-infested places they came from. Or for calling immigrants and asylum-seekers coming across our southern border “invaders.” It is primarily Trump’s wayward public conduct and speech which keeps Democrats from putting the impeachment option aside, even more so than the contents of the Mueller report.

Thus, while Speaker Pelosi is a long way away from committing to impeachment proceedings, and while the process will all but surely come to die in the Senate as long as Mitch “I’m in the Personnel Business” McConnell is toeing the party line, Trump is serving as “his own worst enemy” by keeping the conversation alive. Not to mention he may be doing his re-election prospects a disservice by, you know, being a jerk.

Here’s the thing, though, Mr. Zelizer: you already acknowledged the silliness of the theoretical concept of self-impeachment. Why feed the narrative? Why not compel Pelosi and Co. to take decisive action on a matter that has a majority of House Democrats in agreement, a number which has grown steadily over the past few weeks and months?

Zelizer cites the “very real fears” about a backlash in moderate districts which formally bringing impeachment proceedings against Trump could create. To say there isn’t risk for staying this more cautious course or for pinning the party’s hopes on 2020, meanwhile, would be inaccurate. Those same Democratic representatives representing so-called “swing” or “purple” districts might share Pelosi’s sense of apprehension and refuse to commit to voting in favor of impeachment, which would never get her to the desired threshold for unanimous approval (whether that is by design is another story, but let’s the give her the benefit of the doubt for argument’s sake).

As for the looming presidential election, polling would seem to dictate Trump losing to most Democratic candidates, though we’ve been down this road before. Hillary Clinton was widely predicted by the political intelligentsia to carry the day in 2016. As we all know, she didn’t. This time around, Joe Biden is the leader in most polls and the presumptive “safe” establishment pick. He’s also an old white male in an era when a rapidly-changing electorate is increasingly dissatisfied with how it is (or isn’t) represented in Washington, D.C., his record as a legislator is not above reproach by any means, and he seemingly makes some sort of mind-numbing gaffe every other day.

This is the man who will motivate younger voters to want to get involved? This is the guy who inspires confidence that he has learned from past mistakes and is fit not only to take on the incumbent, but run the country should he win the whole shebang? Pardon me if I don’t feel so secure thinking about the prospects of a heads-up showdown between Trump and Biden for America’s future.

Politicians regularly deflect, distract, and evade to try to limit their sense of personal responsibility. At this point, it’s to be expected, and Ms. Pelosi is not above playing the game, so to speak, as an entrenched D.C. insider. For someone like Zelizer, a member of the free press, on the other hand, not taking her to task in lieu of laying into our man-child president is arguably a dereliction of duty. We get enough talking points as it is. Getting them merely re-hashed when serious critical commentary is needed does the news purveyors and their consumers both a disservice.


In stark contrast to the hemming and hawing of Democratic leadership and the concession to the “dangers” of impeachment by much of today’s punditry, Steve Phillips, author, civil rights lawyer, organizer, and political leader, for one, declares emphatically that “it’s safe to impeach Trump.”

Why is Phillips so sure on this point when the likes of Nancy Pelosi and Julian Zelizer are more equivocal on the subject? As Phillips explains, he has the math on his side.

Democrats, he finds, are inordinately concerned with the re-election prospects of representatives in contested districts. One representative cited within his piece says he believes “we have pay to close attention to what’s going on in the 30 or so swing districts, what are those people thinking.” The idea is that in these locales, Trump-backing Republicans balking at impeachment proceedings or talk thereof could sway the final results.

As Phillips points out, though, this number is inaccurate from the jump. Only 21 seats won by Dems last year came from districts Donald Trump carried in 2016, a minority of those flipped blue. From there, seven districts in which Democratic voter turnout was lower in 2018 than in 2016, won on the strength of turnout alone, can be removed from the discussion. Phillips highlights how significantly more Hillary Clinton voters came out in 2018 than did Trump voters “more satisfied with the political status quo now that they had their preferred person in the White House.” If registered Republicans were responsible in large part for flipping those districts, you would expect votes for Democratic congressional candidates to be higher, not lower given the unusually robust turnout for midterm elections.

Of those remaining 14 districts, Phillips removes another six congressional districts on the basis of wins unrelated to turnout. In other words, even if you took away of all the increase in turnout and gave it to Republicans, the Democratic candidate still would’ve been victorious on the strength of returning Hillary voters. Down to eight districts, Phillips then strikes three more of our original 21-count, underscoring unique circumstances by which factors other than “disaffected” GOP voters were decisive.

In GA-06, Stacey Abrams’ historic gubernatorial campaign likely fueled Lucy McBath’s slender victory (fewer than 5,000 votes) by driving people to the polls. In NM-02, Xochitl Torres Small’s similarly thin margin of victory can probably be best attributed to demographics (New Mexico’s 2nd congressional district is 55% Hispanic/Latino) as well as that the seat was open with the incumbent opting not to run for re-election. Finally, in UT-04, Ben McAdams yet more narrowly (less than 1,000 votes difference) upended black Republican and frequent Barack Obama critic Mia Love. Among the reasons why, Phillips considers the waning importance of being a black Obama detractor, McAdams’s name recognition and popularity, and the idea that, well, a white Mormon male would tend to fare better electorally than a black woman in Utah anyway. That’s the ol’ Beehive State for you.

That leaves five districts—MI-08 (Elissa Slotkin), NY-22 (Anthony Brindisi), OK-05 (Kendra Horn), SC-01 (Joe Cunningham), and VA-07 (Abigail Spanberger)—in which disaffected Republicans decided the outcome of the last election. While not necessarily to minimize these lawmakers’ potential contributions, numerically speaking, the electoral prospects of five moderate Democrats does not seem sufficient to outweigh the desire of many Americans and a rising tide of Democratic lawmakers to see party leadership move forward on impeachment.

All this before we get to the too-eerie parallels between Nixonian impropriety and what Trump has said and done and continues to do and say to apparently try to get himself impeached. This is to say that even without relying on Phillips’s figures, historical precedent might also compel Pelosi and other high-ranking Democrats to act.

In all, Phillips avers that “doing the right thing” is the right course of action not merely because it is a moral imperative, but because voters have signified through their turnout that they favor holding the president accountable, notably those registered Republican defectors from swing districts. As he puts it, they want Congress to hold this man accountable.

Which, to bring us full circle, requires the House to impeach. For Nancy Pelosi’s repeated references to self-impeachment, Trump can’t (and wouldn’t, anyway) do that. He also has yet to self-destruct and only grows bolder with the passing days and weeks, unchecked in any meaningful way and therefore incentivized to continue to lie, enrich himself, and espouse yet uglier views as the leader of the country. As the aftermath of the El Paso shooting demonstrates, Trump clearly isn’t getting better or more presidential. November 2020, no guarantee to be a boon for Democrats, shouldn’t be the Dems’ only option in standing up to him.

Joseph Mangano

Joseph Mangano has been blogging for over 10 years in various forms. He once interned for Xanga as an editor and writer. He graduated with a BA in Psychology from Rutgers University, and an MBA in Accounting from William Paterson University. He resides in northern New Jersey, and has only once pumped his own gas. When not writing, he enjoys being part of an acoustic rock duo that never actually plays any shows, watching sports, and chasing Pokémon. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter at @JFMangano.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.