اكتب للبحث

أخبار الأقران

الإقصاء الذاتي ليس شيئًا

دونالد ترامب
ملاحظة إلى نانسي بيلوسي: يتجنب الرئيس دونالد ترامب عواقب 100٪ من إجراءات الإقالة التي لم تُرفع ضده. (الصورة الائتمانية: Gage Skidmore / Flickr / CC BY-SA 2.0)
(يتم تقديم جميع مقالات Peer News بواسطة قراء Citizen Truth ولا تعكس آراء CT. Peer News هي مزيج من الرأي والتعليقات والأخبار. تتم مراجعة المقالات ويجب أن تتوافق مع الإرشادات الأساسية ولكن CT لا تضمن دقة البيانات قدمت أو الحجج المقدمة. نحن فخورون لتبادل قصصك ، مشاركة لك هنا.)

بالنسبة إلى إشارات نانسي بيلوسي المتكررة إلى المساءلة الذاتية ، لا يستطيع ترامب (ولن يفعل ذلك). كما أنه لم يقم بعد بتدمير نفسه وينمو أكثر جرأة مع مرور الأيام والأسابيع.

إذا كنت تعتقد أن رئيسة مجلس النواب نانسي بيلوسي ، فالرئيس دونالد ترامب على وشك "الانتهاك الذاتي". في أي لحظة الآن. إنه قادم ، فقط تنتظر وترى.

لسوء الحظ ، بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين لا يعجبهم زعيمنا الشجاع أو لمحبي المساءلة في القيادة السياسية ، فإن هذا ليس مطالبة جديدة للسيدة بيلوسي. مرة أخرى في صيف 2017 ، وسط تراجع شعبي في معدلات الموافقة ، بيلوسي تبختر حول موضوع الديمقراطيين بدء إجراءات المساءلة، وتوقع انه سوف التهم الذاتي. مرة أخرى في شهر مايو من هذا العام ، قالت نفس الشيء تقريبًا ، مشيرة إلى اعتقادها بأن ترامب هو "أن تصبح غير قابلة للتصرف فيما يتعلق ببعض الأشياء التي يقوم بها. "

نحن في أغسطس 2019 ، بعد أكثر من عامين من تلك الملاحظات السابقة التي أدلى بها رئيس مجلس النواب ومع اقتراب الانتخابات بسرعة. ألا تعرف ذلك ، فالرئيس لم يقم بعد بإقالة نفسه. ربما لأنه لا يستطيع ذلك. لأن عزل النفس ليس شيئًا.

على المستوى الفدرالي ، لا يمكن إجراء المساءلة إلا بموافقة مجلس النواب ولا يمكن محاكمة المسؤول المعني إلا من قبل مجلس الشيوخ. وترد هذه الأحكام في المادة الأولى ، القسم 2 والمادة الأولى ، القسم 3 من دستور الولايات المتحدة ، على التوالي. فيما يتعلق بالتهم التي قد تكون سببًا للإقالة ، تنص المادة X ، القسم 4 على أنه "يجب إقالة الرئيس ونائب الرئيس وجميع الموظفين المدنيين في الولايات المتحدة من مكتب الإقالة بتهمة الخيانة العظمى وإدانتهم بتهمة الخيانة العظمى أو إدانتهم. ومع ذلك ، من الناحية العملية ، فإن المشرعين الذين يصوّتون لبدء إجراءات الإقالة قد فعلوا ذلك بشكل أكثر شيوعًا بسبب إساءة استخدام ذلك المسؤول لموقفه أو بسبب انتهاكه لثقة الجمهور.

تحظر المادة الثانية ، القسم 2 ، الرئيس من منح العفو أو تأجيل لجرائم ضد الولايات المتحدة في حالات الإقالة ، مما يعني أنه من المفترض أن ترامب لا يمكنه ببساطة العفو عن نفسه. ومع ذلك ، فإن فكرة أنه يمكن أن يتسبب في عزل نفسه ، هو استخدام القليل من المصطلحات السياسية عالية التقنية ، hogwash. ومع ذلك ، فإن أعضاء وسائل الإعلام يواصلون تضخيم مطالبة بيلوسي أو على الأقل عدم تحديها كما ينبغي أو بصراحة.

أحد أحدث هذه الدفاعات عن تقاعس الديمقراطيين في مجلس النواب على هذه الجبهة يأتي من جوليان زيليزر ، المحلل السياسي في سي إن إن ومؤرخ جامعة برينستون. كما يقول زيليزر ، بيلوسي "ربما كان على شيء ما" عندما أدلت بتعليقاتها حول المساءلة الذاتية في شهر أيار (مايو) ، كما يتضح من أكثر من نصف النواب الديمقراطيين الذين يدعمون بدء إجراءات الإقالة ، بما في ذلك رئيس اللجنة القضائية بمجلس النواب جيري نادلر. في الوقت الذي يعترف فيه زيليزر بأن فكرة الإقصاء الذاتي هي "سخيفة" ، إلا أنه يعزز فكرة ترامب الذاتي من خلال الإشارة إلى كل الخراء غير المسؤول ، الذي يستحق الشجب والغباء ، كما يقول الرئيس.

مثل ، على سبيل المثال ، يشير إلى أن كلينتون قد قتل جيفري إبستين. أو لمطاردة "فرقة" وإيليا كامينغز ، يطلبون منهم العودة إلى الأماكن الموبوءة بالجريمة والمليئة بالفئران التي أتوا منها. أو لدعوة المهاجرين وطالبي اللجوء القادمين عبر الحدود الجنوبية "للغزاة". إنه في المقام الأول سلوك وخطاب ترامب العلني المضطرب الذي يمنع الديمقراطيين من وضع خيار الإقالة جانباً ، حتى أكثر من محتويات تقرير مولر.

وهكذا ، في حين أن رئيسة بيلوسي بعيدة جدًا عن الالتزام بإجراءات الإقالة ، وبينما ستنتهي العملية بكل تأكيد في مجلس الشيوخ طالما أن ميتش "أنا في مجال شؤون الموظفين" يصوغ ماكونيل في خط الحزب ، ترامب هو بمثابة "أسوأ عدو له" عن طريق الحفاظ على المحادثة حية. ناهيك عن أنه قد يفعل احتمالات إعادة انتخابه ضررًا ، كما تعلم ، كونه رعشة.

إليكم الأمر ، مع ذلك ، السيد Zelizer: لقد اعترفت بالفعل ببراعة المفهوم النظري لمساءلة الذات. لماذا تغذية السرد؟ لماذا لا تُلزم بيلوسي وشركاه باتخاذ إجراء حاسم بشأن مسألة لديها غالبية من الديمقراطيين في مجلس النواب متفقون ، وهو رقم نما بشكل مطرد خلال الأسابيع والأشهر القليلة الماضية؟

يستشهد Zelizer بـ "المخاوف الحقيقية للغاية" بشأن رد الفعل العنيف في المناطق المعتدلة التي قد تؤدي إلى رفع دعاوى ضد ترامب رسميًا. إن القول بأنه لا يوجد خطر من مواصلة هذا المسار الأكثر حذراً أو تثبيت آمال الحزب على 2020 ، في الوقت نفسه ، سيكون غير دقيق. قد يشارك نفس الممثلين الديمقراطيين الذين يمثلون ما يسمى بالمقاطعات "الأرجوحة" أو "الأرجواني" شعور بيلوسي بالخوف ويرفضون الالتزام بالتصويت لصالح الإقالة ، وهو ما لن يصل بها أبدًا إلى الحد المطلوب للموافقة بالإجماع (سواء كان ذلك عن طريق الموافقة) التصميم قصة أخرى ، ولكن دعنا نعطيها فائدة الشك من أجل الجدال).

بالنسبة للانتخابات الرئاسية التي تلوح في الأفق ، يبدو أن الاقتراع يملي على ترامب الخسارة لمعظم المرشحين الديمقراطيين ، رغم أننا كنا في هذا الطريق من قبل. كان من المتوقع على نطاق واسع من قبل المفكرين السياسيين هيلاري كلينتون أن تقضي يومًا في 2016. كما نعلم جميعا ، لم تفعل. هذه المرة ، جو بايدن هو الرائد في معظم الاستطلاعات واختيار المؤسسات "الآمنة" المفترض. إنه أيضًا رجل مسن أبيض في عصر كان فيه الناخبون الذين يتغيرون بسرعة غير راضين بشكل متزايد عن كيفية تمثيله (أو عدم تمثيله) في واشنطن العاصمة ، وسجله كمشرع ليس فوق الشبهات بأي طريقة ، ويبدو أنه يجعل نوعا من الذهول الذهول كل يوم.

هذا هو الرجل الذي سيحفز الناخبين الأصغر سناً على المشاركة؟ هذا هو الشخص الذي يلهم الثقة التي تعلمها من أخطائه الماضية وليس لائقًا لتولي المنصب الحالي فحسب ، بل يجب أن يدير البلاد إذا كان يفوز بشيبانج كله؟ عفوا إذا كنت لا أشعر بالأمان في التفكير في احتمالات المواجهة المباشرة بين ترامب وبايدن لمستقبل أميركا.

ينحرف السياسيون بانتظام ويصرفون ويتهربون من محاولة الحد من شعورهم بالمسؤولية الشخصية. في هذه المرحلة ، هذا أمر متوقع ، والسيدة بيلوسي ليست أعلى من لعب اللعبة ، إذا جاز التعبير ، كأحد المطلعين داخل العاصمة. بالنسبة لشخص مثل Zelizer ، وهو عضو في الصحافة الحرة ، من ناحية أخرى ، فإن عدم أخذها في مهمة بدلاً من الاستغناء عن رئيسنا رجل-طفل هو بالتأكيد تقصير في أداء الواجب. نحصل على نقاط الحديث بما فيه الكفاية. إن الحصول عليها بمجرد إعادة طرحها عند الحاجة إلى تعليق نقدي جاد ، هل مزودي الأخبار والمستهلكين على حد سواء يضرون.


في تناقض صارخ مع تهديد القيادة الديمقراطية وتقليصها وتنازلها عن "مخاطر" الإقالة من جانب الكثير من الناقدين اليوم ، أعلن ستيف فيليبس ، مؤلف ومحامي الحقوق المدنية والمنظم والقائد السياسي ، من جانب واحد ، بشكل قاطع أن "من الآمن عزل ترامب".

لماذا هو متأكد من فيليبس في هذه النقطة عندما تكون أمثال نانسي بيلوسي وجوليان زيليزر أكثر غموضًا في هذا الموضوع؟ كما يوضح فيليبس ، لديه الرياضيات بجانبه.

يرى أن الديمقراطيين يشعرون بقلق بالغ إزاء احتمالات إعادة انتخاب ممثلين في المناطق المتنازع عليها. يقول أحد الممثلين الذين استشهدوا به في مقالته إنه يعتقد "علينا أن نولي اهتمامًا شديدًا لما يحدث في 30 أو في المناطق المتأرجحة ، ما الذي يفكر به هؤلاء الناس." والفكرة هي أنه في هذه الأماكن ، فإن الجمهوريين الذين يدعمون ترامب يعارضون المساءلة. الإجراءات أو الحديث عنها يمكن أن تؤثر على النتائج النهائية.

كما يشير فيليبس ، على الرغم من أن هذا الرقم غير دقيق من القفزة. فقط مقاعد 21 التي فاز بها الديمقراطيون العام الماضي جاءت من مناطق دونالد ترامب التي تم حملها في 2016 ، وهي أقلية من المقاعد المقلوبة. ومن هناك ، يمكن إزالة المناقشة من سبع مقاطعات كانت فيها نسبة إقبال الناخبين الديمقراطيين أقل في 2018 مما كانت عليه في 2016 ، والتي فازت بقوة الإقبال وحدها. يبرز فيليبس كيف زاد عدد ناخبي هيلاري كلينتون في 2018 أكثر من الناخبين ترامب "أكثر ارتياحا للوضع السياسي الراهن الآن لأن لديهم شخصهم المفضل في البيت الأبيض". إذا كان الجمهوريون المسجلون مسؤولين إلى حد كبير عن تقليب هذه الدوائر ، كنت تتوقع أن تكون أصوات المرشحين للكونجرس الديمقراطي أعلى ، وليس أقل بالنظر إلى الإقبال القوي غير المعتاد على انتخابات التجديد النصفي.

من بين مناطق 14 المتبقية ، يزيل Phillips ست مناطق أخرى بالكونجرس على أساس الانتصارات غير المرتبطة بالإقبال. وبعبارة أخرى ، حتى لو كنت أزيلت كل الزيادة في الإقبال وأعطتها للجمهوريين ، فإن المرشح الديمقراطي كان سيظل منتصراً على قوة عودة الناخبين هيلاري. وحتى ثمان مقاطعات ، يقوم فيليبس بعد ذلك بضرب ثلاث نقاط أخرى من عدد 21 الأصلي ، مما يؤكد على الظروف الفريدة التي من خلالها كانت العوامل الأخرى غير الناخبين من الحزب الجمهوري الساخطين حاسمة.

في GA-06 ، من المحتمل أن تغذي حملة حاكم ستاسي أبرامز التاريخية فوز لوسي مكباث النحيف (أقل من أصوات 5,000) عن طريق دفع الناس إلى صناديق الاقتراع. في NM-02 ، من المحتمل أن يعزى هامش النصر الرفيع بالمثل من Xochitl Torres Small إلى التركيبة السكانية (منطقة المؤتمرات في 2nd في نيو مكسيكو هي 55٪ من أصل إسباني / لاتيني) بالإضافة إلى أن المقعد كان مفتوحًا مع اختيار شاغل الوظيفة الحالي بعدم الترشيح لإعادة -انتخاب. أخيرًا ، في UT-04 ، قام بن مكادامز بفارق أقل (أقل من أصوات 1,000) بالانتصار على الجمهوري الأسود والمنتقد المتكرر من باراك أوباما ميا لوف. من بين الأسباب ، يرى فيليبس أن الأهمية المتناقصة لكونه منتقدًا لأوباما أسود ، والتعرف على اسم مكادامس وشعبيته ، وفكرة أن الذكور المورمون البيض يميلون إلى أن يكونوا أفضل انتخابيًا من امرأة سوداء في ولاية يوتا على أي حال. هذه هي أول دولة خلية النحل بالنسبة لك.

هذا يترك خمس مناطق - MI-08 (Elissa Slotkin) ، NY-22 (أنتوني برينديزي) ، OK-05 (Kendra Horn) ، SC-01 (Joe Cunningham) ، و VA-07 (Abigail Spanberger) - في استياء الجمهوريين قررت نتيجة الانتخابات الأخيرة. على الرغم من أنه ليس بالضرورة تقليل المساهمات المحتملة لهؤلاء المشرعين ، من الناحية العددية ، فإن التوقعات الانتخابية لخمسة من الديمقراطيين المعتدلين لا تبدو كافية لتفوق رغبة الكثير من الأميركيين وتزايد موجة المشرعين الديمقراطيين لرؤية قيادة الحزب تتقدم إلى الأمام بشأن عزله.

كل هذا قبل أن نصل إلى أوجه التشابه الغريبة للغاية بين عدم إهانة نيكسون وما قاله ترامب وما فعله وما زال يفعله ويقول إنه يحاول على ما يبدو أن يتم عزله. هذا يعني أنه حتى بدون الاعتماد على شخصيات فيليبس ، فإن سابقة تاريخية قد تجبر بيلوسي وغيره من كبار الديمقراطيين على التحرك.

إجمالاً ، ينفي فيليبس أن "فعل الشيء الصحيح" هو المسار الصحيح للعمل ليس فقط لأنه أمر أخلاقي ، ولكن لأن الناخبين أشاروا من خلال إقبالهم على أنهم يفضلون مساءلة الرئيس ، ولا سيما أولئك الهاربين الجمهوريين المسجلين من التأرجح. المناطق. حسب تعبيره ، يريدون من الكونغرس أن يحاسب هذا الرجل.

وهو ما يتطلب إحضار دائرة كاملة إلى مجلس النواب لإحضاره. بالنسبة إلى إشارات نانسي بيلوسي المتكررة إلى المساءلة الذاتية ، لا يستطيع ترامب (ولن يفعل ذلك). كما أنه لم يقم بعد بتدمير نفسه ولا ينمو أكثر جرأة مع مرور الأيام والأسابيع ، دون رادع بأي طريقة مجدية ، وبالتالي حافزه على الاستمرار في الكذب وإثراء نفسه ، واعتناد الآراء القبيحة حتى الآن كزعيم للبلاد. كما يتضح من أعقاب إطلاق النار El Paso ، من الواضح أن ترامب لا يتحسن أو أكثر رئاسيًا. نوفمبر 2020 ، أي ضمانة لتكون نعمة للديمقراطيين ، لا ينبغي أن يكون الخيار الوحيد للديمقراطيين في الوقوف أمامه.

جوزيف مانجانو

قام جوزيف مانجانو بالتدوين لأكثر من 10 سنوات بأشكال مختلفة. اعتقل مرة واحدة في Xanga كمحرر وكاتب. تخرج مع درجة البكالوريوس في علم النفس من جامعة روتجرز ، وماجستير في المحاسبة من جامعة ويليام باترسون. يقيم في شمال نيوجيرسي ، ولم يضخ الغاز إلا مرة واحدة. عندما لا يكتب ، يستمتع بكونه جزءًا من الثنائي الصخري الصوتي الذي لا يلعب أبدًا أي عروض أو يشاهد الألعاب الرياضية ويطارد بوكيمون. يمكن الوصول إليه عند [البريد الإلكتروني محمي] أو على تويتر علىJFMangano.

    1

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

PEER NEWS

Self-Impeachment Is Not a Thing

Donald Trump
Note to Nancy Pelosi: President Donald Trump will avoid the consequences of 100% of the impeachment proceedings not brought against him. (Photo Credit: Gage Skidmore/Flickr/CC BY-SA 2.0)
(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

For Nancy Pelosi’s repeated references to self-impeachment, Trump can’t (and wouldn’t, anyway) do that. He also has yet to self-destruct and only grows bolder with the passing days and weeks.

If you believe Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, President Donald Trump is about to “self-impeach.” Any minute now. It’s coming—just you wait and see.

Unfortunately, for people not enamored with our fearless leader or for fans of accountability in political leadership, this is not a new claim of Ms. Pelosi’s. Back in summer of 2017, amid sagging presidential approval ratings, Pelosi demurred on the subject of Democrats starting impeachment proceedings, predicting he would self-impeach. Again in May of this year, she said virtually the same thing, indicating her belief that Trump is “becoming self-impeachable in terms of some of the things he’s doing.”

We’re in August 2019, more than two years after those earlier remarks by the Speaker and with an election fast approaching. And wouldn’t you know it—the president has yet to impeach himself. Maybe because he can’t. Because self-impeachment isn’t a thing.

At the federal level, impeachment can only be brought about with the assent of the House of Representatives and the official in question can only be tried by the Senate. These provisions are contained in Article I, Section 2 and Article I, Section 3 of the United States Constitution, respectively. As for what charges may be grounds for impeachment, Article II, Section 4 states that the “President, Vice President and all civil Officers of the United States, shall be removed from Office on Impeachment for, and Conviction of, Treason, Bribery, or other high Crimes and Misdemeanors.” In practice, however, lawmakers voting to begin impeachment proceedings have more commonly done so because of that official’s abuse of his or her position or for violating the public trust.

Article II, Section 2 also prohibits the president from granting pardons or reprieves for offenses against the U.S. in cases of impeachment, meaning Trump presumably couldn’t simply pardon himself. Still, the idea he could self-impeach is, to use a bit of highly technical political jargon, hogwash. And yet, members of the media continue to amplify Pelosi’s claim or at least don’t challenge it like they can or frankly should.

One of the latest such defenses of House Democrats’ inaction on this front comes from Julian Zelizer, CNN political analyst and Princeton University historian. As Zelizer argues, Pelosi “might have been onto something” when she made her comments about self-impeachment in May, evidenced by more than half of House Dems supporting starting impeachment proceedings, including House Judiciary Committee chair Jerry Nadler. While acknowledging that the very notion of self-impeachment is “silly,” Zelizer nonetheless bolsters the idea of a self-impeaching Trump by pointing to all the irresponsible, reprehensible and stupid shit the president says.

Like, for instance, suggesting the Clintons had Jeffrey Epstein killed. Or for going after “The Squad” and Elijah Cummings, telling them to go back to the crime-ridden, rat-infested places they came from. Or for calling immigrants and asylum-seekers coming across our southern border “invaders.” It is primarily Trump’s wayward public conduct and speech which keeps Democrats from putting the impeachment option aside, even more so than the contents of the Mueller report.

Thus, while Speaker Pelosi is a long way away from committing to impeachment proceedings, and while the process will all but surely come to die in the Senate as long as Mitch “I’m in the Personnel Business” McConnell is toeing the party line, Trump is serving as “his own worst enemy” by keeping the conversation alive. Not to mention he may be doing his re-election prospects a disservice by, you know, being a jerk.

Here’s the thing, though, Mr. Zelizer: you already acknowledged the silliness of the theoretical concept of self-impeachment. Why feed the narrative? Why not compel Pelosi and Co. to take decisive action on a matter that has a majority of House Democrats in agreement, a number which has grown steadily over the past few weeks and months?

Zelizer cites the “very real fears” about a backlash in moderate districts which formally bringing impeachment proceedings against Trump could create. To say there isn’t risk for staying this more cautious course or for pinning the party’s hopes on 2020, meanwhile, would be inaccurate. Those same Democratic representatives representing so-called “swing” or “purple” districts might share Pelosi’s sense of apprehension and refuse to commit to voting in favor of impeachment, which would never get her to the desired threshold for unanimous approval (whether that is by design is another story, but let’s the give her the benefit of the doubt for argument’s sake).

As for the looming presidential election, polling would seem to dictate Trump losing to most Democratic candidates, though we’ve been down this road before. Hillary Clinton was widely predicted by the political intelligentsia to carry the day in 2016. As we all know, she didn’t. This time around, Joe Biden is the leader in most polls and the presumptive “safe” establishment pick. He’s also an old white male in an era when a rapidly-changing electorate is increasingly dissatisfied with how it is (or isn’t) represented in Washington, D.C., his record as a legislator is not above reproach by any means, and he seemingly makes some sort of mind-numbing gaffe every other day.

This is the man who will motivate younger voters to want to get involved? This is the guy who inspires confidence that he has learned from past mistakes and is fit not only to take on the incumbent, but run the country should he win the whole shebang? Pardon me if I don’t feel so secure thinking about the prospects of a heads-up showdown between Trump and Biden for America’s future.

Politicians regularly deflect, distract, and evade to try to limit their sense of personal responsibility. At this point, it’s to be expected, and Ms. Pelosi is not above playing the game, so to speak, as an entrenched D.C. insider. For someone like Zelizer, a member of the free press, on the other hand, not taking her to task in lieu of laying into our man-child president is arguably a dereliction of duty. We get enough talking points as it is. Getting them merely re-hashed when serious critical commentary is needed does the news purveyors and their consumers both a disservice.


In stark contrast to the hemming and hawing of Democratic leadership and the concession to the “dangers” of impeachment by much of today’s punditry, Steve Phillips, author, civil rights lawyer, organizer, and political leader, for one, declares emphatically that “it’s safe to impeach Trump.”

Why is Phillips so sure on this point when the likes of Nancy Pelosi and Julian Zelizer are more equivocal on the subject? As Phillips explains, he has the math on his side.

Democrats, he finds, are inordinately concerned with the re-election prospects of representatives in contested districts. One representative cited within his piece says he believes “we have pay to close attention to what’s going on in the 30 or so swing districts, what are those people thinking.” The idea is that in these locales, Trump-backing Republicans balking at impeachment proceedings or talk thereof could sway the final results.

As Phillips points out, though, this number is inaccurate from the jump. Only 21 seats won by Dems last year came from districts Donald Trump carried in 2016, a minority of those flipped blue. From there, seven districts in which Democratic voter turnout was lower in 2018 than in 2016, won on the strength of turnout alone, can be removed from the discussion. Phillips highlights how significantly more Hillary Clinton voters came out in 2018 than did Trump voters “more satisfied with the political status quo now that they had their preferred person in the White House.” If registered Republicans were responsible in large part for flipping those districts, you would expect votes for Democratic congressional candidates to be higher, not lower given the unusually robust turnout for midterm elections.

Of those remaining 14 districts, Phillips removes another six congressional districts on the basis of wins unrelated to turnout. In other words, even if you took away of all the increase in turnout and gave it to Republicans, the Democratic candidate still would’ve been victorious on the strength of returning Hillary voters. Down to eight districts, Phillips then strikes three more of our original 21-count, underscoring unique circumstances by which factors other than “disaffected” GOP voters were decisive.

In GA-06, Stacey Abrams’ historic gubernatorial campaign likely fueled Lucy McBath’s slender victory (fewer than 5,000 votes) by driving people to the polls. In NM-02, Xochitl Torres Small’s similarly thin margin of victory can probably be best attributed to demographics (New Mexico’s 2nd congressional district is 55% Hispanic/Latino) as well as that the seat was open with the incumbent opting not to run for re-election. Finally, in UT-04, Ben McAdams yet more narrowly (less than 1,000 votes difference) upended black Republican and frequent Barack Obama critic Mia Love. Among the reasons why, Phillips considers the waning importance of being a black Obama detractor, McAdams’s name recognition and popularity, and the idea that, well, a white Mormon male would tend to fare better electorally than a black woman in Utah anyway. That’s the ol’ Beehive State for you.

That leaves five districts—MI-08 (Elissa Slotkin), NY-22 (Anthony Brindisi), OK-05 (Kendra Horn), SC-01 (Joe Cunningham), and VA-07 (Abigail Spanberger)—in which disaffected Republicans decided the outcome of the last election. While not necessarily to minimize these lawmakers’ potential contributions, numerically speaking, the electoral prospects of five moderate Democrats does not seem sufficient to outweigh the desire of many Americans and a rising tide of Democratic lawmakers to see party leadership move forward on impeachment.

All this before we get to the too-eerie parallels between Nixonian impropriety and what Trump has said and done and continues to do and say to apparently try to get himself impeached. This is to say that even without relying on Phillips’s figures, historical precedent might also compel Pelosi and other high-ranking Democrats to act.

In all, Phillips avers that “doing the right thing” is the right course of action not merely because it is a moral imperative, but because voters have signified through their turnout that they favor holding the president accountable, notably those registered Republican defectors from swing districts. As he puts it, they want Congress to hold this man accountable.

Which, to bring us full circle, requires the House to impeach. For Nancy Pelosi’s repeated references to self-impeachment, Trump can’t (and wouldn’t, anyway) do that. He also has yet to self-destruct and only grows bolder with the passing days and weeks, unchecked in any meaningful way and therefore incentivized to continue to lie, enrich himself, and espouse yet uglier views as the leader of the country. As the aftermath of the El Paso shooting demonstrates, Trump clearly isn’t getting better or more presidential. November 2020, no guarantee to be a boon for Democrats, shouldn’t be the Dems’ only option in standing up to him.

Joseph Mangano

Joseph Mangano has been blogging for over 10 years in various forms. He once interned for Xanga as an editor and writer. He graduated with a BA in Psychology from Rutgers University, and an MBA in Accounting from William Paterson University. He resides in northern New Jersey, and has only once pumped his own gas. When not writing, he enjoys being part of an acoustic rock duo that never actually plays any shows, watching sports, and chasing Pokémon. He can be reached at [email protected] or on Twitter at @JFMangano.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.