输入搜索

国家

在ICE庇护中心报告的性侵犯

美国驻亚特兰大移民局
USCIS在亚特兰大,Georiga的办公室(由Gulbenk - 自己的工作,CC BY-SA 3.0,https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php ?curid = 23445038)

“他会告诉我,如果移民被发现,我的儿子和我将立即被驱逐出境。”

一名年轻的洪都拉斯妇女在宾夕法尼亚州的伯克家庭住宅中心遭到一名工作人员的多次性侵犯。 当时19岁的洪都拉斯妇女ED将她三岁的儿子带到ICE中心,等待她申请庇护申请。

妇女法律项目以及伙伴组织提交了一份文件 amicus curiae摘要 决定中心的工作人员是否知道虐待但未能干预的人将被追究责任。 根据案件记录,袭击者Daniel Sharkey据称在可能的驱逐下胁迫并威胁ED,而旁观者除了开玩笑外什么都没做。 ED诉夏基.

ED 告诉 “纽约时报”:“我不知道如何拒绝,因为他告诉我,我将被驱逐出境。 我在监狱里,他是一名移民官。 这就像他们命令你做某事,你必须这样做。“

ED正在起诉伯克斯县(ICE中心的代表)和工作人员未能保护她,尽管他们知道虐待。 然而,被告辩称,由于袭击者使用威胁和胁迫而不是使用武力,并且由于ED是移民被拘留者而不是囚犯,因此他们不应承担责任。

受害者继续在她身边 声明:“每当我拒绝他的要求时,他都会非常生气并羞辱我。 他会告诉我,如果移民被发现,我的儿子和我将立即被驱逐出境,这就是我服从的原因。“

另一名被拘留者,一名七岁女孩,也是一名女子 见证案件,看到Sharkey在浴室的摊位上碰到ED后,她甚至害怕甚至不能去洗手间睡觉。

起初,袭击者坚称他与被拘留者的“关系”是双方同意的。 但在承认有罪之后 机构性侵犯,夏基被判入狱六个月到23个月。 然而,据称他只服刑五个月,这比教育署在中心的时间要短。

Margaret Zhang,女性法律项目的工作人员律师和该简报的共同作者, 告诉WLP:“此案件涉及确保拘留设施及其工作人员对其手表上发生的性虐待负责。 监狱和其他拘留设施中固有的权力不平等造成了性虐待的成熟局面。 被监禁和被拘留者仍享有权利。 对于在被拘留或被监禁期间遭受性虐待的人来说,加强和澄清法律保护是绝对必要的。“

在2003,国会通过了“监狱强奸消除法”,以保护美国各地的囚犯不受性侵犯。 在2014,国土安全部采取措施实施PREA标准,以帮助保护拘留设施中的移民。 然而,拘留中心仍然发生性侵犯和其他暴力犯罪。

不幸的是,根据一些报道,像ED这样的案件并不是孤立的。 每天,被拘留的移民都有遭受性侵犯和暴力的风险。 报告都建议在移民拘留中加强保护标准和问责措施。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

你可能还喜欢

4评论

  1. 弗兰克克罗米斯 20-2018-XNUMX

    如果真的很难过。

    回复
  2. Tere Calderon 20-2018-XNUMX

    天敌

    回复
  3. 查尔斯自由 21-2018-XNUMX

    起诉性捕食者到最大。

    回复
  4. 谢丽尔耶格尔 21-2018-XNUMX

    狗屎洞国家

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Sexual Assault Reported At ICE Asylum Center

US immigration office in Atlanta
USCIS office in Atlanta, Georiga (By Gulbenk - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=23445038)

“He would tell me that if immigration ever found out, my son and I would be deported instantly.”

A young Honduran woman was repeatedly sexually assaulted by a staff member at Berks Family Residential Center in Pennsylvania. The then 19-year-old Honduran woman, E.D., brought her three-year-old son with her to the ICE center while awaiting a decision on her asylum application.

Women’s Law Project, as well as partner organizations, filed an amicus curiae brief to decide whether staff at the center who knew about the abuse but failed to intervene will be held accountable. Assailant Daniel Sharkey allegedly coerced and threatened E.D. with possible deportation while onlookers did nothing except make jokes, according to the record in the case, E.D. v. Sharkey.

E.D. told the New York Times: “I didn’t know how to refuse because he told me that I was going to be deported. I was at a jail and he was a migration officer. It’s like they order you to do something, and you have to do it.”

E.D. is suing Berks County (a representative of the center for ICE) and staff for failing to protect her although they knew about the abuse. The defendants, however, argue that since the assailant used threats and coercion rather than physical force, and because E.D. is an immigration detainee and not a prisoner, they should not be held liable.

The victim continued in her statement: “Whenever I denied his demands, he’d get very angry and humiliated me. He would tell me that if immigration ever found out, my son and I would be deported instantly, which is why I obeyed.”

Another detainee, a seven-year-old girl who was also a witness in the case, said that after seeing Sharkey touching E.D. in a bathroom stall, she was too afraid to even go to the bathroom and had trouble sleeping.

At first, the assailant insisted that his “relationship” with the detainee was consensual. But after pleading guilty to institutional sexual assault, Sharkey was sentenced to six to 23 months in prison. However, he allegedly served only five months in prison, which was shorter than the time that E.D. was at the center.

Margaret Zhang, Women’s Law Project’s staff attorney and co-author of the brief, told WLP: “This case is about making sure that detention facilities and their staff are held accountable for sexual abuse that occurs on their watch. The inherent power inequities in prisons and other detention facilities create situations that are ripe for sexual abuse. Incarcerated and detained persons still have rights. It is absolutely essential to reinforce and clarify legal protections for people who have been sexually abused while detained or incarcerated.”

In 2003, Congress passed the Prison Rape Elimination Act to protect prisoners across the U.S. against sexual assault. In 2014, the Department of Homeland Security took measures to implement PREA standards to help protect immigrants in detention facilities. Yet, sexual assault and other violent crimes are still happening in detention centers.

Unfortunately, cases like E.D.’s are not isolated, according to several reports. Every day, detained immigrants are at risk for sexual assault and violence. The reports all recommend stronger protection standards and accountability measures in immigration detention.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

You Might also Like

4 Comments

  1. Frank Cromis November 20, 2018

    Sad if true.

    Reply
  2. Tere Calderon November 20, 2018

    PREDATORS

    Reply
  3. Charles Freedom November 21, 2018

    Prosecute that sexual predator to the max.

    Reply
  4. Cheryl Yeager November 21, 2018

    Shit hole country

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.