输入搜索

公司文化 TRENDING文化

辛克莱广播公司解雇了气象学家Joe Crain

Weatherman Joe Crain因未遵循辛克莱广播剧本而被解雇。 (图片:YouTube)
Weatherman Joe Crain因未遵循辛克莱广播剧本而被解雇。 (图片:YouTube)

“所以请记住,尽管该设施由一家公司[SBG]拥有,但它仍然在联邦通信委员会的授权下获得许可,以满足公众利益,便利和必要性。 所以你仍然有声音,保持那些卡片和信件。“

有争议的辛克莱广播集团(SBG)在2月份与芝加哥大联盟棒球大联盟(MLB)成立了一家名为Marquee Sports Network的合资公司,目前正在解雇一名为其子公司工作的气象学家。

根据其网站,SBG在全美各地运营191当地电视新闻分支机构。 “辛克莱是该国领先的本地新闻提供商,也是体育内容的制作者。 辛克莱拥有多播网络,四个无线电台和一个有线网络。“

SBG与流行气象学家Joe Crain对这种情况的处理引起了他在伊利诺伊州斯普林菲尔德社区的骚动。

发生什么事了

上周,Crain是WICS NewsChannel 20新闻在斯普林菲尔德的新闻广播多年,解决了公众对“红色代码”营销的担忧,SBG要求该电视台在其新闻广播中使用。 关于细分市场Crain说:

自从我们实施它以来,很多人对此并不满意。 社交媒体上的数千条评论,给编辑的信以及频繁拨打当地的谈话电台节目都表明了这一点。 我们已经听过你了,是的,我们意识到你对此有一些强烈而充满激情的看法。 就Code Red名称而言,我们也是如此。 我当然知道,当你听到Code Red时,你会认为,正如他们所说的那样,“粪便即将袭击粉丝。”

所以说,我们了解您的担忧,我们希望您知道我们非常认真地对待它们。 我并不认真对待自己,但我认真对待自己的工作,并对公众负责。 所以我们希望你知道,这不是我们。 这是Code Red警报的一项企业倡议,在幕后,我们中的许多人在最近几个月试图动摇它,尝试一些对观众不那么有争议的事情; 并且基于所有持续至今的社交媒体,它仍然存在争议。 所以请记住,尽管该设施由一家公司[SBG]拥有,但它仍然在联邦通信委员会的授权下获得许可,以满足公众利益,便利和必要性。 所以你仍然有声音,保持那些卡片和信件来。

你可以在下面看Crain的完整片段:

SBG发言人Michael Padovano说 机构AccuWeather 在一封电子邮件中,在6月5th播出后,Crane“已不再使用该电台”。 虽然Crain没有公开评论这种情况,但是对广播气象学家的支持却一直在增加。

Change.org 请愿 将Crain带回WICS NewsChannel 20已经开始在本文的出版物上发布并拥有770签名。

辛克莱的新闻实践

在4月2018公开抗议之后,Deadspin在美国各地发布了SBG主播的视频,阅读相同的剧本,经常推动右翼谈话要点; 以客观事实陈述为幌子。

“红色代码”计划很可能是SBG对其广播员工实​​施的类似计划的一部分。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE TRENDING-CULTURE

Sinclair Broadcasting Fires Meteorologist Joe Crain For Going Off Script

Weatherman Joe Crain Fired for not following Sinclair Broadcast script. (Photo: YouTube)
Weatherman Joe Crain Fired for not following Sinclair Broadcast script. (Photo: YouTube)

“So keep in mind, despite the fact this facility is owned by a corporation [SBG] it’s still licensed under the authority by the Federal Communications Commission to serve the public interest, convenience, and necessity. So you still have a voice, keep those cards and letters coming.”

The controversial Sinclair Broadcast Group (SBG) which formed a joint venture with the Chicago Cubs of Major League Baseball (MLB) entitled Marquee Sports Network in February is currently under examination after firing a meteorologist working for one of their affiliates.

According to its website, SBG operates 191 local television news affiliates throughout the United States. “Sinclair is the leading local news provider in the country, as well as a producer of sports content. Sinclair owns multicast networks, four radio stations and a cable network.”

SBG’s handling of the situation with popular meteorologist Joe Crain is causing an uproar in his community of Springfield, Illinois.

What Happened

Last week, Crain who was a mainstay on WICS NewsChannel 20 news broadcasts in Springfield for several years addressed public concerns over “Code Red” marketing SBG required the station to use during its news broadcasts. On the segment Crain stated:

A lot of people are not happy with this since we’ve implemented it. That’s evident by the thousands of comments on social media, letters to the editor and frequent calls to local talk-radio shows. We’ve heard you, and yes, we realize you have some strong and passionate views about it. And as far as the Code Red name goes, we get that too. I certainly do, when you hear Code Red, you think, as they say, ‘the feces is about to hit the fan.’

So that being said, we understand your concerns, and we want you to know that we take them very seriously. I don’t take myself very seriously, but I do take my job seriously and my responsibility to the public. So we want you to know, it’s not us. This is a corporate initiative the Code Red alert, and behind the scenes, many of us have tried to sway it for the last few months to try something else that’s less controversial to the viewers; and it continues to be controversial based on all the social media that continues to this day. So keep in mind, despite the fact this facility is owned by a corporation [SBG] it’s still licensed under the authority by the Federal Communications Commission to serve the public interest, convenience, and necessity. So you still have a voice, keep those cards and letters coming.

You can watch the full segment by Crain below:

Michael Padovano, a spokesperson for SBG told AccuWeather in an email that Crane, “is no longer with the station” after the on-air comments made on June 5th. While Crain has not publicly commented on the situation there has been an outpour of support for the broadcast meteorologist.

Change.org petition to bring Crain back to WICS NewsChannel 20 has begun to circulate and has over 770 signatures at the publication of this article.

Sinclair’s News Practices

In April 2018 there was public outcry after Deadspin released a video of SBG anchors across the United States reading the same script, often pushing right-wing talking points; under the guise of objective factual statements.

It’s likely the ‘Code Red’ initiative was apart of a similar program which SBG enforced on its on-air employees.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.