输入搜索

反战

研究发现政府中的女性人数减少腐败

女性政治腐败较少

A 新研究发表经济行为与组织学报 揭示了政府中女性人数较多的国家腐败事件发生率较低。 该研究由弗吉尼亚理工大学理学院教授兼经济学系主任Sudipta Sarangi领导。 该研究由纽约锡拉丘兹Le Moyne学院金融学助理教授Chandan Kumar Jha共同撰写。

研究人员在125国家开展了大量数据,发现地方和国家级政府中更多的女性与政府的透明度相关联。 这些数据对欧洲地方选举尤为重要。 相反,在男性主导权力地位的国家,政府腐败现象更为普遍。

妇女的问题自然不那么腐败

Sarangi认为,研究的重要性在于它研究了女性在政治中代表性不足的影响。 为此,它分析了赋予妇女权力,担任领导职务的角色以及妇女在政府中的代表权的重要性。 这项权衡女性政府与腐败之间关系的研究发现,女性自然不如男性腐败,只有个别例外。

由于女性的性质,研究人员表示,女性在政府中的腐败程度往往较低,因为她们的经济政策最重要的是针对家庭福利和健康问题。 该研究的作者进一步指出,女性政策制定者几乎没有机会进行“腐败”,因为他们为男性选择不同的政策。 大量先前的研究表明,女政治家选择的政策与妇女,儿童和家庭的福利关系更为密切。“

妇女与腐败作斗争

该研究还考察了在劳动力,文职职位和企业界担任决策责任的女性。 该研究发现,“妇女在这些职业中的存在与腐败没有显着关联,这表明正是妇女能够对腐败产生影响的政策制定作用”,正如Sarangi解释的那样。

该研究表明,这可能是反腐败的机会,迫使妇女担任政策制定职位。 然而,作者提醒说,这项研究并不意味着每个女性本身都不那么腐败。 妇女在健康和社会福利方面的利益往往会减少腐败。

“以前的研究表明,女性在政府中的存在与更好的教育和健康结果有关,”Sarangi说。 “众所周知,腐败不利于经济增长和人民福祉。”

这项研究是在新一轮女性竞选公职之后进行的,其中许多女性都认为这是对2016选举特朗普的回应。

在即将于11月举行的美国大选中,78女性将竞选国会和州长职位, 华盛顿邮报最近写道。 根据该研究,女性占参议院的比例不到25%,而众议院成员中只有19百分比是女性。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 达斯汀邓普顿 六月30,2018

    那么我们如何解释Debbie Wasserman Shultz,Hillary Clinton,Donna Brazile和Maxine Waters? 日... https://t.co/q0ePOPrtj0

    回复
    1. 沃尔特耶茨 六月30,2018

      虽然我觉得这项研究不够全面,但这种反应相当蹩脚。

      女性可能同样腐败,深入研究需要控制一系列问题并详细说明他们所定义的腐败。

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR

Study Finds More Women in Government Equals Less Corruption

women less corrupt in politics

A new study published in the Journal of Economic Behavior & Organization reveals that countries with more women in government experience lesser incidences of corruption. The research was led by Sudipta Sarangi, professor and head of the Department of Economics of the Virginia Tech College of Science. The study was co-authored by Chandan Kumar Jha, an assistant professor of finance in Le Moyne College in Syracuse, New York.

The researchers ran extensive data on over 125 countries, finding that greater numbers of women at local and national levels of government is linked to transparency in government. The data was especially profound for local elections in Europe. Conversely, government corruption is more prevalent in countries where men dominate positions of power.

Women’s Issues Are Naturally Less Corrupt 

According to Sarangi, the importance of the study lies in the fact that it examines the effects of women being underrepresented in politics. To this end, it analyzes the importance of women empowerment, roles in leadership positions, and women representation in government. The study which weighs the relationship between women in government and corruption found that women are naturally less corrupt than men, granted there are individual exceptions.

Due to the nature of women, the researchers say women tend to be less corrupt in government because their economic policies target family welfare and health issues more than anything else. The authors of the study further states women policymakers leave little chances for “corruption because they choose different policies for men. An extensive body of prior research shows women politicians choose policies that are more closely related to the welfare of women, children, and family.”

Women Fight Corruption 

The study also looked at women with decision-making responsibilities in labor forces, clerical positions, and the corporate world. The study found “that women’s presence in these occupations is not significantly associated with corruption, suggesting that it is the policymaking role through which women are able to have an impact on corruption,” as Sarangi explained.

The study suggested that it is perhaps the chance to fight corruption that compels women into policy-making positions. The authors, however, cautioned that the study does not mean every woman is inherently less corrupt. It is women’s interests in health and social welfare that tend to result in less corruption.

“Previous research has established that a greater presence of women in government is associated with better education and health outcomes,” Sarangi said. “It is well-known that corruption is bad for economic growth and well-being of people.”

The study comes on the heels of a new wave of women running for office which many attribute as a response to the election of Trump in 2016.

In the upcoming U.S. election in November, 78 women will be contesting for positions in Congress and state governorship positions, the Washington Post wrote recently. Women occupy less than 25 percent of the Senate and only 19 percent of House of Representative members are women according to the study.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Dustin Templeton June 30, 2018

    Then how do we explain Debbie Wasserman Shultz, Hillary Clinton, Donna Brazile and Maxine Waters? Th… https://t.co/q0ePOPrtj0

    Reply
    1. Walter Yeates June 30, 2018

      While I don’t feel this study is comprehensive enough, this response is fairly lame.

      Women can be just as corrupt and an in-depth study needs to control for a number of issues and detail what they define as corruption.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.