输入搜索

非洲

尼罗河之战:埃及和埃塞俄比亚在新大坝上划船

埃塞俄比亚文艺复兴大坝
埃塞俄比亚文艺复兴大坝(图片来自YouTube)

埃塞俄比亚正在修建一座威胁埃及水资源的大坝 - 这个国家预计将受到2030“绝对水资源短缺”的影响。

从源头到海洋的尼罗河地图

着名的尼罗河是埃塞俄比亚与埃及之间激烈分歧的根源,因为前者开始研究一座大坝,最终将限制流入埃及的水量。 几乎整个埃及都是沙漠,其97万人严重依赖尼罗河供水。 这些国家是否会达成对所有人有益的理解?

尼罗河自古以来一直是埃及的代名词,但由于埃塞俄比亚的建设,这种配对可能会结束。 埃塞俄比亚大文艺复兴大坝 (GERD),位于Blue Nile。

蓝色尼罗河是尼罗河的两个来源之一,它来自埃塞俄比亚的塔纳湖,也供应埃及的大部分水。 另一个来源是白尼罗河,它起源于肯尼亚,乌干达和坦桑尼亚共享的维多利亚湖。 然后两条河流在苏丹合并,流入地中海。

这个价值5亿美元的埃塞俄比亚大坝的工程始于2011,目前已完成60百分比。 一旦完工,该大坝将成为非洲同类大坝中最大的,能够产生至少6000MW的电力。 它还将有效地控制来自埃及的Blue Nile水,并将其牢牢地放在埃塞俄比亚的手中。

埃及的水资源短缺

埃及没有采取轻率建设,并公开表示反对埃塞俄比亚的计划。 这是因为尼罗河是埃及人的生命线,水资源短缺是一个严重的问题。 绝大多数埃及人居住在尼罗河沿岸,因为该国其他地区主要是沙漠。

在2016,粮食及农业组织(粮农组织)报告说 埃及的人均水量仅为637立方米 与美国的9,538立方米相比。 该组织表示,当该国的人口预计达到2030百万时,埃及将陷入120的“绝对水资源短缺”。

水资源短缺并不影响大坝的建设。

尼罗河在埃及

埃及的尼罗河(图片来自Flickr,Michael Gwyther-Jones)

尼罗河的所有权

埃及对尼罗河的控制不仅是历史性的,而且是合法的,因为诸如英国与英国的1929英国和埃及条约之间的条约,以及1959与苏丹的双边协议,这使得该国在尼罗河水域中占据了最大份额。 。 此外,统称为尼罗河水协议,这些条约每年向埃及分配至少55.5十亿立方米的水,而苏丹则分配了18.5十亿立方米。

这些条约还赋予埃及否决权,以控制整个尼罗河上的任何项目。 值得注意的是,这些条约都没有涉及尼罗河流域的其他国家。

虽然埃及依赖这些条约来控制,但其他尼罗河流域国家,包括埃塞俄比亚,认为他们不受条约规定的约束,因为它们不是条约的缔约国。 因此,埃及无法控制尼罗河上游发生的事情。

在1999,所有尼罗河流域国家都开始了谈判,他们希望能够就更公平的水资源分享达成协议。 埃及不会放弃其否决权,从而拖延谈判。 这些谈判持续了十多年,没有任何进展,直到埃塞俄比亚最终在2011开始其雄心勃勃的计划。

尼罗河之战:埃及被推倒?

在2013前埃及总统穆罕默德·穆尔西 发出警告 通过电视直播到埃塞俄比亚:“[我们不是]要求战争,但埃及的水安全根本不会受到侵犯。 埃及人的生活围绕着它......作为一个伟大的人民。 如果它减少了一滴,那么我们的血就是另类。“

其他埃及政治家呼吁对大坝采取军事行动。

当这种对抗没有奏效,大坝工程仍在进行中时,埃及改变态度,采取外交手段,在新西兰国立大学,埃及,埃塞俄比亚和苏丹的总统在喀土穆会晤,进行新的谈判。 会谈讨论了如何在不影响下游流量的情况下填补大坝,但这些谈判迄今尚未得到解决方案。

据CNN报道,犹他州韦伯州立大学经济学教授,“管理尼罗河流域”的合着者约翰·姆巴库说,埃塞俄比亚人在建造大坝达到60完成百分比的同时“提高了他们的士气, “并且”向他们表明埃及人没有人人想象的那么强大。“

大坝需要至少三年才能填满,一旦满员,这三个国家必须达成协议并开辟前进的道路以避免战争。 Mbaku说,埃及“并不像过去那样霸气”,并且埃塞俄比亚人“现在处于非常强势的地位,可以指定条款”。

如果没有达成协议,那么埃及人将比任何人计划的更早地遭受水资源短缺。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. newyouketodiet.com 9-2019-XNUMX

    我很少发表评论,但是我做了一些搜索并在这里结束战斗
    尼罗河:埃及和埃塞俄比亚在新大坝上行 - 公民真相。
    如果它没问题,我确实有几个问题要问你。
    它只是我还是似乎有些反应似乎是由脑死亡访客写的?
    😛而且,如果你在其他在线社交网站上发帖,我想保留
    你必须发布任何新鲜的东西。 你可以列出每一个
    您的社区网站,如您的Facebook页面,推特订阅源或linkedin个人资料?

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Ethiopia is building a dam that threatens Egypt’s access to water – a country that is expected to hit “absolute water scarcity” by 2030.

Map of the Nile River from source(s) to the sea

The famous Nile River is a source of intense disagreement between Ethiopia and Egypt after the former began work on a huge dam that will end up restricting the amount of water flowing into Egypt. Almost all of Egypt is desert, and its 97 million people rely heavily on the Nile for water. Will these countries come to an understanding that is beneficial to all?

The Nile River has been synonymous with Egypt since ancient times, but this pairing may come to an end because of Ethiopia’s construction of the Grand Ethiopian Renaissance Dam (GERD), which lies on the Blue Nile.

The Blue Nile is one of the two sources of the River Nile, which originates from Ethiopia’s Lake Tana, and which also supplies much of Egypt’s water. The other source is the White Nile, which originates from Lake Victoria, a lake shared by Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. The two rivers then merge in Sudan and flow into the Mediterranean Sea.

Work on the $5 billion Ethiopian dam began in 2011 and currently stands at 60 percent completion. Once complete, the dam will be the largest of its kind in Africa with a capacity of generating at least 6000MW of electricity. It will also effectively take control of the Blue Nile’s water from Egypt and place it firmly in Ethiopia’s hand.

Water Scarcity in Egypt

Egypt has not taken the construction lightly and has openly expressed resistance to Ethiopia’s plan. This is because the Nile is a lifeline for the Egyptians, for whom water scarcity is a serious problem. The vast majority of Egyptians live along the Nile since the rest of the country is largely a sandy desert.

In 2016 the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) reported that Egypt had only 637 cubic meters of water per capita compared to 9,538 cubic meters in the United States. The organization says Egypt will slide into “absolute water scarcity” by 2030 when the country’s population is projected to have hit 120 million.

This water scarcity does not factor in the construction of the dam.

The River Nile in Egypt

The Nile River in Egypt (Image via Flickr, Michael Gwyther-Jones)

Ownership of the Nile

Egypt’s grip on the Nile is not only historical, but also legal, due to treaties such as the Anglo-Egyptian Treaty of 1929 with Great Britain, and the Bilateral Agreement of 1959 with Sudan, which gave the country the lion’s share of the Nile’s waters. Also, collectively known as the Nile Water Agreements, these treaties allocated at least 55.5 billion cubic meters of water to Egypt per year while Sudan was allocated 18.5 billion cubic meters.

The treaties also gave Egypt veto power to control any projects on the entire length of the Nile. Notably, none of the treaties involved the other countries in the Nile River Basin.

While Egypt relies on these treaties to exercise control, the other Nile Basin countries, including Ethiopia, argue they are not bound to the treaties’ stipulations since they were not parties to the treaties to begin with. Egypt cannot therefore control what happens on the Nile upstream.

In 1999 all Nile River Basin countries began negotiations, which they expected to lead to an agreement on fairer sharing of the water. Egypt would not let go of its veto power, thus stalling the negotiations. These talks rolled on for more than a decade with no progress, until Ethiopia finally began its ambitious plan in 2011.

Battle for the Nile: Egypt Being Pushed Over?

In 2013 former Egyptian President Mohammed Morsi sent a warning to Ethiopia on live TV: “[We are not] calling for war, but Egypt’s water security cannot be violated at all. The lives of the Egyptians are connected around it…as one great people. If it diminishes by one drop, then our blood is the alternative.”

This address came as other Egyptian politicians called for military action on the dam.

When this confrontation didn’t work and with the dam works still in progress, Egypt, in a change of attitude, warmed up to diplomatic approaches, and in 2015 the presidents of Egypt, Ethiopia and Sudan met in Khartoum for fresh negotiations. The talks discussed how the dam would be filled without affecting downstream flow, but these negotiations have not yet borne a solution to date.

As reported by CNN, John Mbaku, a professor of economics at Weber State University in Utah and co-author of “Governing the Nile River Basin,” says the fact that the Ethiopians got away with constructing the dam up to 60 percent completion has “boosted their morale,” and “has shown them that the Egyptians are not as powerful as everyone thought.”

It will take at least three years for the dam to be filled, and once full, the three countries must come to an agreement and forge the way forward in order to avoid a war. Mbaku says Egypt is “not as domineering as it used to be,” and that the Ethiopians are “now in a very strong position to dictate terms.”

If no agreement is reached, then the Egyptians will suffer water scarcity much sooner than anyone had planned for.

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.