输入搜索

分析 中东

新的关键点:伊朗希望和平,但准备拥抱战争以求生存

沙特阿拉伯指责伊朗对阿美公司发动袭击。 (YouTube屏幕截图)
沙特阿拉伯指责伊朗对阿美公司发动袭击。 (YouTube屏幕截图)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

“自从美国取消了对少量伊朗石油的豁免权以来,已经有六艘油轮在波斯湾遭到破坏或没收,在伊朗六月击落一架昂贵的美国无人机后,美国和伊朗几乎交战。”

如今,越来越多的人声称伊朗至少在上周对沙特阿拉伯的Aramco设施发动了袭击,这一袭击导致油价大幅飙升,并因此引发市场担心,市场可能在这种压力下陷入困境。海湾地区达到了新的高峰。

在美国总统唐纳德·特朗普(Donald Trump)在推特上发表评论之后 “锁定并加载” 一连串的专家和其他媒体专业人士开始讨论美利坚合众国与伊朗伊斯兰共和国之间似乎是不可避免的对抗。

政治僵局

伊朗最高领导人阿亚图拉·阿里·哈梅内伊(Ayatollah Ali Khamenei)在本周二发表评论说,该国对谈判毫无兴趣,形式或形式,只会使原本有问题的政治僵局更加复杂化……当然,还有特朗普决定再打一巴掌对政权的制裁。

无论从政治上还是经济上看,伊朗对和平的动力都很少。

在这样的风暴中,似乎许多人没有看到更大的图景。 真正的争论点与伊朗的无罪,或就此而言,所知的好战无关。我们不要忘记,也门的侯赛斯事实上, 要求 应对所有形式的石油袭击负有全部责任,但要面对面对经济崩溃的伊朗针对该地区的设计。

请允许我倒数几个月,确切地说是7月4th,当时英国决定,在美国盟军的坚持下,抓住了伊朗的一艘油轮, 恩典一世,因为其指定用于叙利亚的负担违反了欧盟对叙利亚的制裁。

尽管英国及其盟国渴望将这一举动描述为法律上合理的做法,因此对我们的国际水域进行良好的治安是必要的,但伊朗非常理解这种“侵略”是对其主权的又一次掠夺,也是西方列强强加于此的另一种尝试。他们对自己认为“不合适”的人的指责。

实际上,正是这种叙述使德黑兰在过去十年中经受了多次暴风雨的袭击。 尽管许多伊朗人可能不同意伊朗治理体系的意识形态基础,即法学家治理,但是,如果这意味着捍卫自己国家的领土完整和主权,那么绝大多数伊朗人会更愿意将这一政权推向痛苦的终点。

主权和民族主义是伊朗人确实非常重视的价值观,很少有人敢于反对它们,尤其是如果我们认为对于大多数国家来说,这些价值观实际上是美德。 毕竟,唐纳德·特朗普总统确实使它成为了他的总统言论的中心。

伊朗的抵抗经济

在惩罚性制裁下,伊朗无疑感受到了压力。 由于无法重新加入世界能源市场,与所有主要的金融论坛断绝了联系,其产品避开伊朗,令人窒息。 这并不是说伊朗不能承受压力,只是这样做会付出巨大的代价–该政权明白,这样的代价对普通伊朗人来说可能是太多了。

如果伊朗长期以来一直是所谓的“抵抗经济”(基于经济自给自足的系统)的专家,那么伊斯兰共和国将耗尽空间和氧气。 就是说,我们将很高兴记住,自1979以来,伊朗的抵抗经济使该国得以成功维持增长并减少贫困,这一壮举不容小discount。 伊朗知道并且可以在需要时发扬光大。 如果感觉到弯角,它也可能会猛冲。

如果美国打算将伊朗的石油出口量降至零,那么可能还没有完全实现-7月份的出口量同比同比下降了近80%-这是自伊拉克战争在1988结束以来的最低水平,全国各地,各界和社会各界的感受都在下降。

伊朗目前每天出口大约400,000桶石油(BPD),低于4月份2.5高峰时的近2018百万桶PDD,这导致收入严重下降。

石油收入约占伊朗国民收入的40%。

尽管华盛顿可能辩称这种压力是旨在迫使德黑兰重返谈判桌的,这一逻辑显然已被人们置若de闻,但伊朗仍在争论经济恐怖主义,此举旨在凝聚公众舆论支持其领导层,但势在必行。

尽管美国的经济紧缩对伊朗经济产生了巨大影响,据世界银行预测,今年伊朗经济将萎缩约5%,但随着暴力被认为是更好的手段,它也使最温顺的政治家们teeth之以鼻。替代缓慢但确定的经济死亡。

生存意志

由于担心任何进一步的经济困难会破坏伊朗的社会政治平衡,该国正在迅速坚定其对全面冲突的决心,以避免民众起义。

换句话说,不应该将伊朗最近的好战视为政治姿态,而应将一国的生存意愿表达出来-这是对寻求灭亡的部队的自卫行动。

我们记得,伊朗对英国侵略的答案是抓住自己的一个,从而无视军事现状。

霍尔木兹海峡的进一步小规模冲突和其他蔑视行为属于自卫的同一原理。

饰演Barbra Slavin 把它 在美国保守党的讲话中:“自从美国取消了对少量伊朗石油的豁免权以来,在波斯湾已经有六艘油轮被破坏或扣押,伊朗和伊朗在伊朗袭击之后几乎发动了战争 击落 6月,一辆昂贵的美国无人机。”

华盛顿几乎不想让德黑兰顺从这种语调。

然后对沙特阿拉伯的袭击……

坦白说,伊朗的罪恶在这里无关紧要。 我们需要集中精力的既是德黑兰外交政策的推动力,又是由于美国超级新经济主义和沙特阿拉伯双曲线妄想症而形成的地区地缘政治联盟。

背靠墙牢牢地压在墙上,伊朗迟早会受到抨击……可能会在邻国遭到猛烈抨击,也许是阿联酋或沙特阿拉伯将首当其冲。

中东权力转移

值得考虑的另一点是伊朗的区域影响力及其所保持的朋友:俄罗斯和中国。

在美国与俄罗斯和中国进行权力斗争的时候,伊朗可能仅具有足够的地缘政治“汁液”,不仅可以抗拒华盛顿,而且可以展现出一种新的地区现实-由那些现在看起来像这些国家的首都所支持德黑兰作为新的地区强国,主要是黎巴嫩,叙利亚,伊拉克和也门。

当然,这使沙特阿拉伯遭受了美国不感兴趣的冷空气。 尽管特朗普承诺采取一切行动并发出警告,但他不太可能通过打破日益薄弱的金融市场来坐视命运,因为金融市场正处于广泛的经济放缓的讨论之中,只是为了兑现利雅得的求助呼吁。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
凯瑟琳沙克丹

凯瑟琳是中东地缘政治分析家和评论员,特别关注也门和海湾国家。 她曾出版过几个着名媒体,包括:赫芬顿邮报,人造卫星,公民真相,新闻电视,新东方展望,转发,MintPress,阿亚图拉哈梅尼的网站,开放民主,外交政策期刊,杜兰,美国先驱报Tribune,Katehon等等。 在英国和法国受过教育,自从2011以来,Catherine对也门的专业知识和研究已多次被联合国安理会引用。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS MIDDLE EAST

The New Pivot Point: Iran Wants Peace but is Ready to Embrace War to Survive

Saudi Arabia accuses Iran for Aramco attack. (YouTube screenshot)
Saudi Arabia accuses Iran of Aramco attack. (YouTube screenshot)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“Since the US revoked waivers for even modest imports of Iranian oil, half a dozen tankers have been sabotaged or seized in the Persian Gulf, and America and Iran nearly went to war after Iran shot down an expensive American drone in June.”

With claims now surfacing that Iran contributed, at least in part, to the attack last week on Saudi Arabia’s Aramco facilities — an attack that led to a significant spike in oil prices and consequently triggered fears that markets could tank under such strain — geopolitical tensions in the Gulf region have reached a new peak.

On the heels of U.S. President Donald Trump’s comments on Twitter that all was in fact “locked and loaded,” a flurry of experts and other media professionals began discussing what seems to be an inevitable confrontation between the United States of America and Iran’s Islamic Republic.

A Political Impasse

Comments this Tuesday by Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Iran’s Supreme Leader, that the country was in no way, shape or form interested in talks only added a layer of complication to an otherwise problematic political impasse … that and,  of course, Trump’s decision to slap additional sanctions against the regime.

Boxed in both politically and economically, Iran has been left with little incentive toward peace.

Amid such a storm, it appears many are missing the bigger picture. The real point of contention has little to do with Iran’s innocence, or for that matter, perceived belligerence – let’s not forget that the Houthis of Yemen did, in fact, claim full responsibility for the oil attack through all manners of great details – but rather Iran’s designs for the regions in the face of economic disintegration.

Allow me to roll back the clock  a few months, July 4th to be precise, when Britain decided, at the insistence of its U.S. ally to seize one of Iran’s oil tankers, the Grace I, on the basis that its load, earmarked for Syria, was in contravention of E.U. sanctions on Syria.

While Britain and its allies were keen to describe the move as legally sound and thus necessary to the good policing of our international waters, Iran very much understood such “aggression” as yet another swipe at its sovereignty, yet another attempt by western powers to impose their diktat over those they deem “unfit.”

It is actually this very narrative that has allowed Tehran to weather more than a few storms over the decade. While many Iranians may not agree with the ideological foundations of Iran’s system of governance – the Governance of the Jurist – an overwhelming majority of them are more than willing to back the regime to the bitter end if it means defending their nation’s territorial integrity and sovereignty.

Sovereignty and nationalism are values Iranians take very seriously indeed and few will dare hold it against them, especially if we consider that for most nations those values are in fact virtues. President Donald Trump did, after all, made it the very center of his presidential rhetoric.

Iran’s Resistance Economy

Under punishing sanctions, Iran is undoubtedly feeling the strain. Unable to rejoin the world energy market, cut off from all main financial forums, its products shun, Iran is suffocating. This is not to say that Iran cannot withstand the pressure, only that doing so will come at a great cost – such a cost, the regime understands, may be too much to ask of regular Iranians.

If Iran has long been an adept of what it refers to as a “resistance economy,” a system based on the mastery of economic self-sufficiency, the Islamic Republic is running out of both space and oxygen. That said, it will serve us well to remember that Iran’s resistance economy allowed the country since 1979 to successfully sustain growth and reduce poverty, a feat that should not be discounted. Iran knows and can dig its heels if it needs to; it can also lash out if it feels cornered.

If the U.S. aims to drive Iran’s oil exports to zero, it may not be fully realized yet — the month of July saw exports plunge almost 80% year-on-year — their lowest levels since the Iraq-Iran War that ended in 1988, a drop which has been felt throughout the country, all sectors and social circles compounded.

Iran is now exporting approximately 400,000 barrels of oil per day (BPD), down from a peak of nearly 2.5 million BPD in April 2018, which led to a crunching fall in revenues.

Oil revenues account for about 40 percent of Iran’s national income.

While Washington may argue that such pressures are designed to force Tehran back to the negotiating table — a logic that is clearly falling on deaf ears, Iran is arguing economic terrorism, a move designed to rally public opinion behind its leadership, come what may.

Although the effect of America’s economic squeeze has been resounding on the Iranian economy, which is forecasted by the World Bank to shrink approximately 5 percent this year, it has also sharpened the teeth of the most docile of politicians as violence is being weighed as a better alternative to a slow, but sure, economic death.

A Will to Survive

With fears that any further economic hardship will tip Iran’s socio-political balance, the state is fast hardening its resolve to a full-blown conflict to avoid a popular insurrection.

In other words, Iran’s recent belligerence needs to be looked at not as political posturing but the expression of a nation’s will to survive — an act of self-defense against forces that seek its demise.

Iran’s answer to Britain’s aggression, let’s remember, was to seize one of its own, and thus defy the military status quo.

Further skirmishes in the Strait of Hormuz and other acts of defiance fall within the same rationale of self-defense.

As Barbra Slavin puts it in the American Conservative: “Since the US revoked waivers for even modest imports of Iranian oil, half a dozen tankers have been sabotaged or seized in the Persian Gulf, and America and Iran nearly went to war after Iran shot down an expensive American drone in June.”

Hardly the softening of tone Washington wanted to force Tehran to conform to.

Then the attack on Saudi Arabia …

In all truth, Iran’s guilt matters little here; what we need to concentrate on are both the drive behind Tehran’s foreign policy and the regional geopolitical alliances which are being formed as a result of America’s uber neoconism and Saudi Arabia hyperbolic paranoia.

With its back firmly pressed against the wall, Iran will sooner or later lash out … likely at its neighbors, might it be the Emirates or Saudi Arabia who will stand first in the firing line.

Shifting Power in the Middle East

Another point worth considering is Iran’s regional weight as well as the friends it keeps: Russia and China.

At such a time when the United States is engaged in a power struggle with both Russia and China, Iran may just have enough geopolitical “juice” to not only defy Washington, but manifest a new regional reality — one backed by those capitals which now look to Tehran as the new regional powerhouse, mainly Lebanon, Syria, Iraq and Yemen.

That, of course, leaves Saudi Arabia to suffer the cold air of America’s disinterest. For all his promises of actions and great warnings, President Trump is unlikely to tempt fate by shattering the ever thin ice financial markets are sitting on amid talks of a broad economic slowdown just to honor Riyadh’s calls for help.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Catherine Shakdam

Catherine is a geopolitical analyst and commentator for the Middle East with a special focus on Yemen and the Gulf countries. She has been published across several prominent media outlets including: The Huffington Post, Sputnik, Citizen Truth, Press TV, The New Eastern Outlook, RT, MintPress, Ayatollah Khameini’s website, Open Democracy, the Foreign Policy Journal, The Duran, The American Herald Tribune, Katehon, and many more. Educated in both the UK and France, Catherine’s expertise and research on Yemen have been quoted by the UN Security Council on several occasions since 2011.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.