اكتب للبحث

تحليل الشرق الأوسط

النقطة المحورية الجديدة: إيران تريد السلام ولكنها مستعدة لاحتضان الحرب من أجل البقاء

السعودية تتهم ايران بشن هجوم ارامكو. (لقطة شاشة YouTube)
السعودية تتهم ايران بشن هجوم ارامكو. (لقطة شاشة YouTube)
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

"منذ أن ألغت الولايات المتحدة الإعفاءات حتى لو كانت واردات النفط الإيراني متواضعة ، فقد تم تخريب نصف ناقلات النفط أو الاستيلاء عليها في الخليج الفارسي ، وكادت أمريكا وإيران تخوضان الحرب بعد أن أسقطت إيران طائرة أمريكية بدون طيار باهظة الثمن في يونيو / حزيران."

مع ظهور مزاعم الآن بأن إيران ساهمت ، على الأقل جزئيًا ، في الهجوم الذي وقع الأسبوع الماضي على منشآت أرامكو السعودية - وهو الهجوم الذي أدى إلى ارتفاع كبير في أسعار النفط وبالتالي أثار مخاوف من أن الأسواق قد تتعرض لضغوط من هذا القبيل - التوترات الجيوسياسية في وصلت منطقة الخليج إلى قمة جديدة.

في أعقاب تعليقات الرئيس الأمريكي دونالد ترامب على تويتر أن كل شيء كان في الواقع "مقفل وتحميلها،" بدأت مجموعة من الخبراء وغيرهم من المتخصصين في وسائل الإعلام في مناقشة ما يبدو أنه مواجهة حتمية بين الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وجمهورية إيران الإسلامية.

مأزق سياسي

التعليقات التي أدلى بها آية الله علي خامنئي ، المرشد الأعلى لإيران يوم الثلاثاء ، بأن البلاد لم تكن بأي شكل من الأشكال أو مهتمة بالمحادثات ، أضافت فقط طبقة من التعقيد إلى مأزق سياسي خلاف ذلك ... وهذا بالطبع ، بالطبع ، قرار ترامب بالصفعة الإضافية العقوبات ضد النظام.

إن إيران ، التي كانت محصورة سياسياً واقتصادياً على حد سواء ، بقيت حافزاً ضئيلاً نحو السلام.

وسط مثل هذه العاصفة ، يبدو أن الكثيرين يفتقدون الصورة الأكبر. إن نقطة الخلاف الحقيقية لا علاقة لها ببراءة إيران ، أو فيما يتعلق بهذا الأمر ، بالعدوانية المتصورة - دعونا لا ننسى أن الحوثيين في اليمن فعلوا ، في الواقع ، مطالبة المسؤولية الكاملة عن الهجوم النفطي من خلال جميع الأدبيات بتفاصيل عظيمة - ولكن بالأحرى تصميمات إيران للمناطق في مواجهة التفكك الاقتصادي.

اسمحوا لي أن أتراجع عن عقارب الساعة لعدة أشهر ، يوليو 4th ، لأكون دقيقًا ، عندما قررت بريطانيا ، بناءً على إصرار حليفها للولايات المتحدة على الاستيلاء على إحدى ناقلات النفط الإيرانية ، غريس أنا، على أساس أن عبءها ، المخصص لسوريا ، كان يتعارض مع عقوبات الاتحاد الأوروبي على سوريا.

في الوقت الذي كانت فيه بريطانيا وحلفاؤها حريصين على وصف الخطوة بأنها سليمة من الناحية القانونية وبالتالي فهي ضرورية لحراسة مياهنا الدولية بشكل جيد ، فقد فهمت إيران تمامًا مثل هذا "العدوان" باعتباره انتقادًا آخر لسيادتها ، ومحاولة أخرى من جانب القوى الغربية لفرضها diktat على تلك التي يرون أنها "غير صالحة".

إنها في الواقع هذه الرواية التي سمحت لطهران بأن تتغلب على أكثر من بضع عواصف على مدار العقد. في حين أن العديد من الإيرانيين قد لا يتفقون مع الأسس الأيديولوجية لنظام الحكم الإيراني - حكم الفقيه - فإن الغالبية الساحقة منهم على استعداد لدعم النظام إلى النهاية المريرة إذا كان ذلك يعني الدفاع عن السلامة الإقليمية لسيادتهم.

إن السيادة والقومية هي قيم يأخذها الإيرانيون على محمل الجد ، والقليلون هم الذين يتجرأون على مواجهتها ضدهم ، خاصة إذا اعتبرنا أن هذه القيم هي في الواقع فضائل بالنسبة لمعظم الدول. لقد جعل الرئيس دونالد ترامب ، في نهاية الأمر ، قلب خطابه الرئاسي.

اقتصاد المقاومة الإيراني

تحت العقوبات ، إيران بلا شك تشعر بالضيق. غير قادر على الانضمام إلى سوق الطاقة العالمي ، معزولة عن جميع المنتديات المالية الرئيسية ، وتجنب منتجاتها ، إيران تختنق. هذا لا يعني أنه لا يمكن لإيران أن تتحمل الضغوط ، فقط أن القيام بذلك سيأتي بتكلفة باهظة - مثل هذه التكلفة ، كما يفهم النظام ، قد تكون أكبر من أن تطلب من الإيرانيين النظاميين.

إذا كانت إيران منذ فترة طويلة على دراية بما يطلق عليه "اقتصاد المقاومة" ، وهو نظام قائم على التمكن من الاكتفاء الذاتي الاقتصادي ، فإن الجمهورية الإسلامية تنفد من الفضاء والأكسجين. ومع ذلك ، سيكون من المفيد لنا أن نتذكر أن اقتصاد المقاومة الإيراني سمح للبلاد منذ 1979 بالحفاظ على النمو وتقليل الفقر بنجاح ، وهو إنجاز لا ينبغي خصمه. إيران تعرف وتستطيع أن تحفر الكعب إذا احتجت لذلك ؛ يمكن أن تنتقد إذا شعرت بالركوع.

إذا كانت الولايات المتحدة تهدف إلى رفع صادرات النفط الإيرانية إلى الصفر ، فقد لا يتحقق ذلك بشكل كامل - شهد شهر يوليو انخفاض الصادرات بنسبة 80٪ تقريبًا على أساس سنوي - وهي أدنى مستوياتها منذ الحرب العراقية الإيرانية التي انتهت في 1988 ، انخفاض الذي تم الشعور به في جميع أنحاء البلاد ، تضاعفت جميع القطاعات والدوائر الاجتماعية.

تقوم إيران الآن بتصدير ما يقرب من برميل 400,000 من النفط يوميًا (BPD) ، منخفضًا من الذروة التي بلغت تقريبًا 2.5 مليون برميل في اليوم في أبريل 2018 ، مما أدى إلى انخفاض حاد في الإيرادات.

تمثل عائدات النفط حوالي 40 من الدخل القومي الإيراني.

في حين أن واشنطن قد تجادل بأن مثل هذه الضغوط تهدف إلى إجبار طهران على العودة إلى طاولة المفاوضات - وهو منطق يقع بوضوح على آذان صماء ، فإن إيران تجادل الإرهاب الاقتصادي ، وهي خطوة تهدف إلى حشد الرأي العام وراء قيادتها ، وتأتي بما قد يفعل.

على الرغم من أن تأثير الضغوط الاقتصادية الأمريكية كان له تأثير كبير على الاقتصاد الإيراني ، الذي يتوقع البنك الدولي أن ينكمش بنسبة تقارب 5 في المئة هذا العام ، إلا أنه شحذ أيضًا أسنان أكثر السياسيين سهلة الانقياد حيث يتم تقييم العنف باعتباره أفضل بديل للموت الاقتصادي البطيء ، ولكن المؤكد.

إرادة للبقاء على قيد الحياة

مع المخاوف من أن أي صعوبات اقتصادية أخرى ستقلب التوازن الاجتماعي والسياسي لإيران ، فإن الدولة تعمل بسرعة على تشديد عزمها على الصراع الكامل لتجنب التمرد الشعبي.

بعبارة أخرى ، يجب النظر إلى العداء الإيراني الأخير ليس كموقف سياسي بل تعبيرًا عن إرادة الأمة للبقاء على قيد الحياة - وهو عمل دفاع عن النفس ضد القوات التي تسعى إلى زواله.

لنتذكر أن رد إيران على العدوان البريطاني كان الاستيلاء على أحدها ، وبالتالي تحدي الوضع العسكري الراهن.

تقع مناوشات أخرى في مضيق هرمز وأعمال تحد أخرى ضمن نفس الأساس المنطقي للدفاع عن النفس.

كما باربرا سلافين يقول في حزب المحافظين الأمريكيين: "بما أن الولايات المتحدة ألغت الإعفاءات حتى لو كانت واردات النفط الإيراني متواضعة ، فقد تم تخريب نصف ناقلات النفط أو الاستيلاء عليها في الخليج الفارسي ، وشهدت أمريكا وإيران الحرب تقريبًا بعد إيران إغلاق طائرة أمريكية بدون طيار باهظة الثمن في يونيو ".

بالكاد تليين لهجة تريد واشنطن لإجبار طهران على الامتثال.

ثم الهجوم على المملكة العربية السعودية ...

في كل الحقيقة ، لا يهم ذنب إيران قليلاً ؛ ما نحتاج إلى التركيز عليه هو الدافع وراء السياسة الخارجية لطهران والتحالفات الجيوسياسية الإقليمية التي يتم تشكيلها نتيجة لحقيقة المحافظين الجدد الأميركيين والجنون العظمي في المملكة العربية السعودية.

مع الضغط على ظهرها بقوة ضد الجدار ، ستنتقد إيران عاجلاً أم آجلاً ... من المحتمل على جيرانها ، هل ستكون الإمارات أو المملكة العربية السعودية هي التي ستقف أولاً في خط إطلاق النار.

تحويل القوة في الشرق الأوسط

هناك نقطة أخرى تستحق الاهتمام وهي ثقل إيران الإقليمي وكذلك الأصدقاء الذين تحتفظ بهم: روسيا والصين.

في مثل هذا الوقت الذي تنخرط فيه الولايات المتحدة في صراع على السلطة مع كل من روسيا والصين ، قد يكون لدى إيران ما يكفي من "العصير" الجيوسياسي ليس فقط لتحدي واشنطن ، بل لإظهار حقيقة إقليمية جديدة - حقيقة تدعمها تلك العواصم التي تبدو الآن إلى طهران باعتبارها القوة الإقليمية الجديدة ، وخاصة لبنان وسوريا والعراق واليمن.

هذا ، بالطبع ، يترك المملكة العربية السعودية تعاني من الهواء البارد من عدم اهتمام أمريكا. على الرغم من كل وعوده بالإجراءات والتحذيرات العظيمة ، من غير المرجح أن يغري الرئيس ترامب المصير من خلال تحطيم الأسواق المالية الجليدية الرقيقة التي ما زالت قائمة في خضم محادثات تباطؤ اقتصادي واسع لمجرد تلبية طلبات الرياض للمساعدة.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
كاترين شقدام

كاثرين هي محللة ومحللة جيوسياسية للشرق الأوسط مع تركيز خاص على اليمن ودول الخليج. وقد نشرت في العديد من وسائل الإعلام البارزة بما في ذلك: هافينغتون بوست ، سبوتنيك ، سيتيزن تروث ، برس تي في ، نيو ذي إيست آوتلوك ، آر تي ، مينتريس ، موقع آية الله خامنئي ، الديمقراطية المفتوحة ، مجلة السياسة الخارجية ، ذا دوران ، أمريكان هيرالد تريبيون ، Katehon ، وغيرها الكثير. تم تعليمه في كل من المملكة المتحدة وفرنسا ، وقد نقل مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة عن خبرات كاثرين وبحوثها في اليمن في العديد من المناسبات منذ 2011.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANALYSIS MIDDLE EAST

The New Pivot Point: Iran Wants Peace but is Ready to Embrace War to Survive

Saudi Arabia accuses Iran for Aramco attack. (YouTube screenshot)
Saudi Arabia accuses Iran of Aramco attack. (YouTube screenshot)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“Since the US revoked waivers for even modest imports of Iranian oil, half a dozen tankers have been sabotaged or seized in the Persian Gulf, and America and Iran nearly went to war after Iran shot down an expensive American drone in June.”

With claims now surfacing that Iran contributed, at least in part, to the attack last week on Saudi Arabia’s Aramco facilities — an attack that led to a significant spike in oil prices and consequently triggered fears that markets could tank under such strain — geopolitical tensions in the Gulf region have reached a new peak.

On the heels of U.S. President Donald Trump’s comments on Twitter that all was in fact “locked and loaded,” a flurry of experts and other media professionals began discussing what seems to be an inevitable confrontation between the United States of America and Iran’s Islamic Republic.

A Political Impasse

Comments this Tuesday by Ayatollah Ali Khamenei, Iran’s Supreme Leader, that the country was in no way, shape or form interested in talks only added a layer of complication to an otherwise problematic political impasse … that and,  of course, Trump’s decision to slap additional sanctions against the regime.

Boxed in both politically and economically, Iran has been left with little incentive toward peace.

Amid such a storm, it appears many are missing the bigger picture. The real point of contention has little to do with Iran’s innocence, or for that matter, perceived belligerence – let’s not forget that the Houthis of Yemen did, in fact, claim full responsibility for the oil attack through all manners of great details – but rather Iran’s designs for the regions in the face of economic disintegration.

Allow me to roll back the clock  a few months, July 4th to be precise, when Britain decided, at the insistence of its U.S. ally to seize one of Iran’s oil tankers, the Grace I, on the basis that its load, earmarked for Syria, was in contravention of E.U. sanctions on Syria.

While Britain and its allies were keen to describe the move as legally sound and thus necessary to the good policing of our international waters, Iran very much understood such “aggression” as yet another swipe at its sovereignty, yet another attempt by western powers to impose their diktat over those they deem “unfit.”

It is actually this very narrative that has allowed Tehran to weather more than a few storms over the decade. While many Iranians may not agree with the ideological foundations of Iran’s system of governance – the Governance of the Jurist – an overwhelming majority of them are more than willing to back the regime to the bitter end if it means defending their nation’s territorial integrity and sovereignty.

Sovereignty and nationalism are values Iranians take very seriously indeed and few will dare hold it against them, especially if we consider that for most nations those values are in fact virtues. President Donald Trump did, after all, made it the very center of his presidential rhetoric.

Iran’s Resistance Economy

Under punishing sanctions, Iran is undoubtedly feeling the strain. Unable to rejoin the world energy market, cut off from all main financial forums, its products shun, Iran is suffocating. This is not to say that Iran cannot withstand the pressure, only that doing so will come at a great cost – such a cost, the regime understands, may be too much to ask of regular Iranians.

If Iran has long been an adept of what it refers to as a “resistance economy,” a system based on the mastery of economic self-sufficiency, the Islamic Republic is running out of both space and oxygen. That said, it will serve us well to remember that Iran’s resistance economy allowed the country since 1979 to successfully sustain growth and reduce poverty, a feat that should not be discounted. Iran knows and can dig its heels if it needs to; it can also lash out if it feels cornered.

If the U.S. aims to drive Iran’s oil exports to zero, it may not be fully realized yet — the month of July saw exports plunge almost 80% year-on-year — their lowest levels since the Iraq-Iran War that ended in 1988, a drop which has been felt throughout the country, all sectors and social circles compounded.

Iran is now exporting approximately 400,000 barrels of oil per day (BPD), down from a peak of nearly 2.5 million BPD in April 2018, which led to a crunching fall in revenues.

Oil revenues account for about 40 percent of Iran’s national income.

While Washington may argue that such pressures are designed to force Tehran back to the negotiating table — a logic that is clearly falling on deaf ears, Iran is arguing economic terrorism, a move designed to rally public opinion behind its leadership, come what may.

Although the effect of America’s economic squeeze has been resounding on the Iranian economy, which is forecasted by the World Bank to shrink approximately 5 percent this year, it has also sharpened the teeth of the most docile of politicians as violence is being weighed as a better alternative to a slow, but sure, economic death.

A Will to Survive

With fears that any further economic hardship will tip Iran’s socio-political balance, the state is fast hardening its resolve to a full-blown conflict to avoid a popular insurrection.

In other words, Iran’s recent belligerence needs to be looked at not as political posturing but the expression of a nation’s will to survive — an act of self-defense against forces that seek its demise.

Iran’s answer to Britain’s aggression, let’s remember, was to seize one of its own, and thus defy the military status quo.

Further skirmishes in the Strait of Hormuz and other acts of defiance fall within the same rationale of self-defense.

As Barbra Slavin puts it in the American Conservative: “Since the US revoked waivers for even modest imports of Iranian oil, half a dozen tankers have been sabotaged or seized in the Persian Gulf, and America and Iran nearly went to war after Iran shot down an expensive American drone in June.”

Hardly the softening of tone Washington wanted to force Tehran to conform to.

Then the attack on Saudi Arabia …

In all truth, Iran’s guilt matters little here; what we need to concentrate on are both the drive behind Tehran’s foreign policy and the regional geopolitical alliances which are being formed as a result of America’s uber neoconism and Saudi Arabia hyperbolic paranoia.

With its back firmly pressed against the wall, Iran will sooner or later lash out … likely at its neighbors, might it be the Emirates or Saudi Arabia who will stand first in the firing line.

Shifting Power in the Middle East

Another point worth considering is Iran’s regional weight as well as the friends it keeps: Russia and China.

At such a time when the United States is engaged in a power struggle with both Russia and China, Iran may just have enough geopolitical “juice” to not only defy Washington, but manifest a new regional reality — one backed by those capitals which now look to Tehran as the new regional powerhouse, mainly Lebanon, Syria, Iraq and Yemen.

That, of course, leaves Saudi Arabia to suffer the cold air of America’s disinterest. For all his promises of actions and great warnings, President Trump is unlikely to tempt fate by shattering the ever thin ice financial markets are sitting on amid talks of a broad economic slowdown just to honor Riyadh’s calls for help.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Catherine Shakdam

Catherine is a geopolitical analyst and commentator for the Middle East with a special focus on Yemen and the Gulf countries. She has been published across several prominent media outlets including: The Huffington Post, Sputnik, Citizen Truth, Press TV, The New Eastern Outlook, RT, MintPress, Ayatollah Khameini’s website, Open Democracy, the Foreign Policy Journal, The Duran, The American Herald Tribune, Katehon, and many more. Educated in both the UK and France, Catherine’s expertise and research on Yemen have been quoted by the UN Security Council on several occasions since 2011.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.