输入搜索

公司文化

揭开新电影人性化我国法律制度犯罪

如果比尔街可以说话
如果比尔街可以说话。 (图片来自YouTube)

“所有这些被锁定的男人被错误地指责 - 有人爱他们,”莱恩说。 “现在我们必须从眼睛中看出它们并体验它对它们的作用。”

这部由着名作家詹姆斯·鲍德温(James Baldwin)着名的1974小说创作的新电影,“如果比尔街可以说话”,现在与现在一样重要,探索美国法律制度与种族之间经常令人不安的关系。

事实上,这部新电影的获奖导演巴里詹金斯(Barry Jenkins)月光),考虑更新故事并在现代设置它。 最终,他选择追随这部小说,并在早期的1970s Harlem中设置了这部电影。

它以一位名叫Fonny(Stephan James)的年轻黑人艺术家为中心,尽管缺乏证据,但他的怀孕女友Tish(KiKi Layne)及其家人因情绪混乱而被捕并被指控强奸。

詹金斯指出,Fonny面临的歧视今天也会如此真实。

“不幸的是,这些系统已经到位,已经存在了很长时间,并且它们没有改变,” 说过 Colman Domingo(“恐惧行尸走肉”)饰演Tish的父亲Joseph Rivers。

“我认为这说得非常清楚。 而且这是我们不得不经常检查,重新检查和重新审视的事情,并且永远不会被认为这不是这个国家的人,“他说。 “但我们可以变得更好,希望如果我们不能变得更好,也许它可以让我们的孩子好一点,我们对彼此的了解就越多。”

詹金斯说,这个故事不仅仅是对非洲裔美国人的系统性种族主义的起诉,而是对整个破裂的司法系统的评论。

“对于美国公民来说,一般来说,当你拥有一个旨在建立对抗力量的法律体系时,就会有起诉和辩护 - 这是关于输赢,而不是寻找真相。 这会引发腐败。 当你拥有一个私有化的监狱系统,并以商业为基础,再次启发腐败。“

“因此,我认为鲍德温先生确实有先见之明,以一种人道的方式指出这些事情,并与家庭联系在一起并与爱情联系在一起。 这首先是让我开始阅读这本书的,“詹金斯解释道。

联合主演的基基莱恩也强调了吸引她观看电影和原创小说的原因是它关注的是人物的人性。

“所有这些被锁定的男人被错误地指责 - 有人爱他们,”莱恩说。 “现在我们必须从眼睛中看出它们并体验它对它们的作用。”

在这些情况下,原着小说因黑人男性化而受到称赞,并描绘了亲人的爱与支持。 作家詹姆斯·鲍德温(James Baldwin)出生并成长于纽约哈林区的1920s,并成为一名文学偶像和社会活动家。

这部新电影已被提名为三个金球奖,最佳电影剧集,最佳女配角(里贾纳金)和最佳编剧。

如果比尔街可以说话 在12月14,2018和全国12月25上的精选影院上映。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

The Piercing New Film Humanizing the Crimes of Our Legal System

If Beale Street Could Talk
If Beale Street Could Talk. (image via YouTube)

“All these men that are being locked up [and] wrongfully accused—there are people who love [them],” Layne said. “Now we have to look them in the eye and experience what this does to them.”

The new film based on the acclaimed 1974 novel by esteemed author James Baldwin, “If Beale Street Could Talk”, is as relevant now as it was then, exploring the often troubling relationship between America’s legal system and race.

Indeed, the Oscar-winning director of the new film, Barry Jenkins (Moonlight), considered updating the story and setting it in the modern day. Ultimately, he chose to follow the novel and set the film in early 1970s Harlem.

It centers on a young black artist named Fonny (Stephan James) who is arrested and accused of rape despite a lack of evidence, putting his pregnant girlfriend, Tish (KiKi Layne), and their families through emotional turmoil.

Jenkins pointed out that the discrimination Fonny faces would ring just as true today.

“Unfortunately, it is the systems that are in place, that have been in place for a very long time, and they have not changed,” said Colman Domingo (“Fear the Walking Dead”), who played Tish’s father, Joseph Rivers.

“I think it’s saying it very clearly. And it’s something that we have to constantly examine, and reexamine and reexamine, and never get lulled into thinking that this is not who this country is,” he said. “But we can get better, hopefully, and if we can’t get better, maybe it can get a little better for our children, the more we know about each other.”

Jenkins said the story is not just an indictment of systemic racism against African-Americans but a commentary on the broken justice system as a whole.

“I think for American citizens in general, when you have a legal system that is set up to create adversarial forces—there’s a prosecution and defense—it’s about winning and losing, not about finding the truth. That invites corruption. And when you have a prison system that’s privatized and functions based on business, again that inspires corruption.”

“So I think Mr. Baldwin was really prescient about pointing out some of these things in a way that is humane, and is tied to a family and tied to love. It’s what drove me to the book in the first place,” Jenkins explained.

Co-star Kiki Layne also emphasized that what drew her to the film and the original novel was its focus on the humanity of the characters involved.

“All these men that are being locked up [and] wrongfully accused—there are people who love [them],” Layne said. “Now we have to look them in the eye and experience what this does to them.”

The original novel has been lauded for humanizing black men in these situations, and its portrayal of the love and support from their loved ones. Author James Baldwin was born and raised in Harlem, New York in the 1920s and became a literary icon as well as social activist.

The new film has been nominated for three Golden Globes, for Best Motion Picture Drama, Best Supporting Actress (Regina King), and Best Screenplay.

If Beale Street Could Talk opens in select theaters on December 14, 2018, and nationwide December 25.

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.