输入搜索

分析 中东

特朗普突然撤军的背后令人费解的逻辑

2018,叙利亚战争期间,美国士兵在叙利亚的车队。
2018,叙利亚战争期间,美国士兵在叙利亚的车队。 (照片:Arjenis Nunez中士,公共领域)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

总体情况是,中东地区各州正面临通过自己的主动行动解决分歧和争端的压力。

众所周知,美国总统唐纳德·特朗普(Donald Trump)练习柔道。 他可能从黑带的俄罗斯同行弗拉基米尔·普京(Vladimir Putin)那里学到了一些柔道技术。 但是特朗普对土耳其总统雷杰普·埃尔多安(Recep Erdogan)所做的一切,完全是出于柔道的物理概念。

利用对手的动力是柔道柔术。 如果他向您收费,而您只是站在那儿,他就会把您打倒。 但是,只要将他拉过来,就可以简单地利用他获得的速度来对付他,这会使他投掷自己。 如果可以利用对手的动力,可以节省很多时间和精力。

埃尔多安一直威胁要入侵叙利亚,并摧毁与在土耳其接壤的北部地区被困的美军结盟的叙利亚库尔德人。 在过去的一年左右的时间里,美国一直在试图平息埃尔多安,安抚他,哄骗他,有时甚至威胁他不要向幼发拉底河以东的叙利亚北部发动入侵,那里仍有ISIS的残余地区,成千上万ISIS战斗人员中的许多人被顽固的敌人在库尔德民兵的监视下拘留在营地中。

埃尔多安的需求

星期六,埃尔多安(Erdogan)失去了冷静,并给出了时间表。 他 威胁 由于美国没有满足他的要求,即不清理土耳其和叙利亚边界沿线的“恐怖主义走廊”,也没有履行达成在叙利亚北部建立“安全区”的协议,因此他将把一切交给自己, “尽快或今天”向幼发拉底河以东发起单方面入侵。

用埃尔多安的话说:“我们已经完成了准备工作和行动计划,并给出了必要的指示。 也许是今天或明天,这是为既定的和平努力扫清道路并开始进行和平进程的时候。 我们将进行地面和空中作战。”

特朗普紧急与埃尔多安(Erdogan)进行了对话,周日晚间,白宫新闻秘书发表了一份 声明注意到土耳其决心“通过其长期计划的行动进入叙利亚北部”前进。

声明明确指出,美国“将不支持或不参与[土耳其]行动”,而在叙利亚北部的美国军事特遣队“将不再在[土耳其入侵]的直接地区。” “在美国击败领地“哈里发”之后,过去两年来,土耳其将负责该地区所有的ISIS战斗机。”

特朗普和埃尔多安达成共识的程度尚不清楚。 土耳其的读数声称埃尔多安将于11月访问特朗普。

无论如何,特朗普不希望美军陷入叙利亚的土耳其人和库尔德人之间的交火中。 在一系列推文中,他重申了这样的观点:美国没有任何业务可以继续在叙利亚进行军事活动。 王牌 啾啾:

“美国应该在多年前的30天之内在叙利亚。 我们留下来,在看不到目标的情况下越来越深入地参加战斗。 当我到达华盛顿时,ISIS在该地区肆虐。 我们迅速击败了INUM Caliphate的100%,其中包括捕获了数千名ISIS战斗机,其中大部分来自欧洲。 但是欧洲不想让他们回来,他们说你让他们留在美国! 我说:“不,我们为您提供了很大的帮助,现在您希望我们以巨额费用将其关押在美国监狱中。 他们是您的审判对象。” 他们再次说“不”,与往常一样,认为美国始终是北约,贸易,一切事物的“吸盘”。

“库尔德人与我们作战,但为此付出了大量金钱和设备。 他们数十年来一直在与土耳其作战。 我进行了将近3年的战斗,但是现在是我们摆脱这些荒谬的无尽战争的时候了,其中许多战争都是部族的,并将我们的士兵带回家。 我们将在哪里争取我们的利益,只有争取才能赢。 土耳其,欧洲,叙利亚,伊朗,伊拉克,俄罗斯和库尔德人现在将不得不弄清楚局势,以及他们想对被“包围”的被俘的ISIS战斗人员做什么。 他们都讨厌ISIS,多年来一直是敌人。 我们距离7000英里,如果它们靠近我们,将会再次摧毁ISIS!”

同时,RT有 库尔德人认为,美军已经从叙利亚东部的部分地区撤军。 可怕的美丽诞生了-特朗普终于从叙利亚撤军。

对特朗普撤军的反应

这一惊人的发展迫使所有主角都像无头鸡一样匆匆忙忙。 首先 克里姆林宫的反应 令人感到不安的是,这位土耳其轻率的总统现在可能成为俄罗斯的头疼。 克里姆林宫发言人德米特里·佩斯科夫(Dmitry Peskov)拒绝接受关于特朗普出乎意料的决定的讨论—“这不是我们来决定这个信号是关于什么的。”他坦率地重申了俄罗斯的立场,即“非法存在于叙利亚的所有外国部队都必须离开该国。” ”

俄罗斯的困境是可以理解的。 只要埃尔多安(Erdogan)与美国作斗争,莫斯科就可以退后一步,享受替代服务并从中受益。 但是现在特朗普把毛巾扔了,表明他已经受够了埃尔多安的发脾气。

原则上,俄罗斯应该欢迎美国撤军。 但是,如果土耳其进入叙利亚北部,它将打开潘多拉魔盒-可以肯定的是,大马士革会反对。 伊朗已经警告土耳其不要入侵,并提议与库尔德人进行调解。 库尔德民兵将抵抗土耳其军队; 大马士革可能会抓住机会发动进攻,从激进的伊斯兰团体(在土耳其的支持下)手中控制叙利亚西北部的伊德利卜。

俄罗斯可能在所有这些方面都处于令人羡慕的地位。 毫无疑问,此时土耳其入侵叙利亚将使莫斯科在外交棋盘上寻求叙利亚定居点的微妙动作无限复杂化。

同时成为仲裁人和主角,即使对于俄罗斯外交也不可能。 当然,不能排除土耳其军队可能陷入叙利亚北部的泥潭。

特朗普也肯定会在很多方面面临很多批评。 库尔德人在环城公路上有一个游说厅,人们会批评特朗普将库尔德人的盟友丢在公共汽车下,这会削弱美国作为中东可靠盟友的信誉。

五角大楼和美国情报机构内部有一个强大的部门,它通过冷战棱镜来观察叙利亚,并认为,鉴于俄罗斯在该国的军事基地,美国在叙利亚的不限成员名额的军事存在是战略上的必要。 这种观点将在批评特朗普的政治精英,智囊团和媒体之间引起共鸣。

相反,特朗普可以依靠自己的决定-他正在结束美国参与与美国利益不直接相关的中东战争。 国内舆论赞成这样的结果。

总体而言,美国从叙利亚撤军对该地区具有深远的影响。 以色列将更加依赖俄罗斯的仁慈。 俄罗斯已警告以色列不要破坏叙利亚局势。 如果土耳其人表现出顽强的抵抗力,那么叙利亚的俄罗斯-土耳其-伊朗轴心将会突然死亡。

佩斯科夫说,普京尚未与埃尔多安有任何接触。 特朗普的决定让埃尔多安完全自由地命令部队入侵叙利亚。 但是他也将进入由美国撤出在敌对领土上造成的真空状态。 北约不太可能在这场冒险冒险中支持土耳其。

实际上,土耳其处于出色的孤立状态。 它只能被焦虑所困扰,感觉就像陷入了无限的西西弗斯梦night之中。 土耳其加入沙特阿拉伯, 环城公路上的堕落天使.

从根本上讲,这些事态发展表明美国在中东的裁员正在加速。 特朗普已经非常清楚地表明,他无意与伊朗开战以保护沙特阿拉伯。 现在,他对叙利亚的决定将激起沙特人的不安,他可能很快就会对也门战争采取类似的态度。

总体情况是,各地区国家正面临通过自己的举措解决分歧和争端的压力。 这确实是一件好事。 有迹象表明,阿联酋和沙特阿拉伯正在寻求与伊朗达成某种形式的对抗。

毫无疑问,普京在周末访问沙特阿拉伯期间,将推动俄罗斯提出有关波斯湾地区集体安全架构的概念。 普京在最近的讲话中建议,俄罗斯和美国以及印度等其他国家可能是波斯湾国家之间包容性集体安全机制的“观察者”。


本文是由合作伙伴制作的 印度Punchline 周游世界,独立媒体研究所的一个项目。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
MK Bhadrakumar

MK Bhadrakumar是一名前外交官,曾在29担任印度外交官,担任过印度驻土耳其和乌兹别克斯坦大使。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 8-2019-XNUMX

    土耳其人想要库尔德人的鲜血。 伊德利布圣战分子几乎想要任何人的鲜血。 沙特阿拉伯人和阿联酋想要伊朗的鲜血(当然要让别人放)。 美国希望无限期出售武器,无论谁被杀,包括美国士兵。

    回复
  2. 拉里N斯托特 8-2019-XNUMX

    人类的历史,生命的长期宇宙学和地质事实,以及近期的气候预后都无法使人类乐观地认为人类将忍受更长的时间。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS MIDDLE EAST

The Puzzling Logic Behind Trump’s Sudden Syrian Troop Withdrawal

A convoy of U.S. soldiers in Syria during the Syrian War, December, 2018.
A convoy of U.S. soldiers in Syria during the Syrian War, December, 2018. (Photo: Sgt. Arjenis Nunez, public domain)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

The big picture is that the regional Middle Eastern states are coming under pressure to sort out their differences and disputes through their own initiatives.

U.S. President Donald Trump is not known to practice judo. It’s possible he may have picked up a few judo techniques from his Russian counterpart Vladimir Putin, who is a Black Belt. But what Trump has just done to Turkey’s President Recep Erdogan is straight out of a physics concept in judo.

Taking advantage of the opponent’s momentum is a smart judo technique. If he charges at you and you just stand there, he’ll knock you over. But the velocity he’s gaining can be simply used against him by pulling him over, which will cause him to throw himself. You can save yourself a lot of time and energy if you can take advantage of your opponent’s momentum.

Erdogan has been vociferously threatening to invade Syria and decimate the Syrian Kurds aligned with the U.S. military who are ensconced in the northern regions bordering Turkey. In the past year or so, the U.S. has been trying in turn to pacify Erdogan, appease him, cajole him and at times even threaten him not to launch an incursion into northern Syria east of the Euphrates where residual pockets of ISIS still exist and thousands of ISIS fighters are interned in camps under the watch of the Kurdish militia, their implacable foe.

Erdogan’s Demand

On Saturday, Erdogan lost his cool and gave a timeline. He threatened that since the U.S. hasn’t accommodated his demands to clean up the “terrorist corridor” along Turkey’s border with Syria nor to fulfill the agreement to set up a “safe zone” in northern Syria, he is going to take matters in his hands and launch a unilateral invasion east of the Euphrates “as soon as today or tomorrow.”

In Erdogan’s words, “We have completed our preparations and action plan, the necessary instructions were given. It is maybe today or tomorrow the time to clear the way for peace efforts which is set and the process for them was started. We will carry out a ground and air operation.”

Trump urgently spoke to Erdogan, and late on Sunday, the White House Press Secretary issued a statement, taking note of Turkey’s determination to move forward “with its long-planned operation into Northern Syria.”

The statement made it clear that the U.S. “will not support or be involved in the [Turkish] operation,” and the U.S. military contingent in northern Syria “will no longer be in the immediate area [of Turkish incursion].” It added that “Turkey will now be responsible for all ISIS fighters in the area captured over the past two years in the wake of the defeat of the territorial ‘Caliphate’ by the United States.”

How far Trump and Erdogan reached an understanding remains unclear. The Turkish readout claimed that Erdogan will visit Trump in November.

At any rate, Trump doesn’t want the U.S. troops to get caught in a crossfire between the Turks and the Kurds in Syria. In a series of tweets, he reverted to the refrain that the U.S. had no business to remain militarily engaged in Syria. Trump tweeted:

“The United States was supposed to be in Syria for 30 days, that was many years ago. We stayed and got deeper and deeper into battle with no aim in sight. When I arrived in Washington, ISIS was running rampant in the area. We quickly defeated 100% of the ISIS Caliphate, including capturing thousands of ISIS fighters, mostly from Europe. But Europe did not want them back, they said you keep them USA! I said ‘NO, we did you a great favor and now you want us to hold them in U.S. prisons at tremendous cost. They are yours for trials.’ They again said ‘NO,’ thinking, as usual, that the U.S. is always the ‘sucker,’ on NATO, on Trade, on everything.

“The Kurds fought with us, but were paid massive amounts of money and equipment to do so. They have been fighting Turkey for decades. I held off this fight for almost 3 years, but it is time for us to get out of these ridiculous Endless Wars, many of them tribal, and bring our soldiers home. WE WILL FIGHT WHERE IT IS TO OUR BENEFIT, AND ONLY FIGHT TO WIN. Turkey, Europe, Syria, Iran, Iraq, Russia and the Kurds will now have to figure the situation out, and what they want to do with the captured ISIS fighters in their ‘neighborhood.’ They all hate ISIS, have been enemies for years. We are 7000 miles away and will crush ISIS again if they come anywhere near us!”

Meanwhile, RT has cited Kurdish sources to the effect that the U.S. military pullout from parts of eastern Syria is already underway. A terrible beauty is born—Trump is finally having his way on troop withdrawal from Syria.

Reaction to Trump Troop Withdrawal

The stunning development compels all protagonists to scurry like headless chickens. The first reaction from the Kremlin betrays a sense of unease that the mercurial Turkish president may now become Russia’s headache. The Kremlin spokesmen Dmitry Peskov refused to be drawn into a discussion on Trump’s unexpected decision—“it’s not for us to decide what this signal is about.” He blandly repeated Russia’s position that “all foreign troops illegally present in Syria must leave the country.”

Russia’s predicament is understandable. So long as Erdogan was grappling with the U.S., Moscow could stand back and take vicarious pleasure and take advantage of it. But now Trump has thrown in the towel, signaling he’s had enough of Erdogan’s tantrums.

In principle, Russia should welcome the U.S. withdrawal. But if Turkey moves into northern Syria, it will open a Pandora’s box—to be sure, Damascus will object; Iran has already warned Turkey against an invasion and offered to mediate with the Kurds; the Kurdish militia will resist the Turkish military; Damascus may seize the opportunity to launch an offensive to take control of Idlib in northwestern Syria from the hands of radical Islamist groups (which are supported by Turkey).

Russia may find itself in the unenviable position of being the broker on all these fronts. No doubt, a Turkish invasion of Syria at this point will infinitely complicate Moscow’s delicate moves on the diplomatic chessboard in search of a Syrian settlement.

To be an arbiter and a protagonist at the same time is an impossible situation even for Russian diplomacy. Of course, it cannot be ruled out that the Turkish military may get bogged down in a quagmire in northern Syria.

Trump is also sure to face a lot of criticism on several scores. The Kurds have a lobby in the Beltway, and there is going to be criticism that Trump is throwing the Kurdish allies under the bus and that will erode the U.S. credibility as a dependable ally in the Middle East.

A powerful section within the Pentagon and the U.S. intelligence establishment sees Syria through the Cold War prism and believes that an open-ended American military presence in Syria is a strategic imperative, given the Russian military bases in that country. This viewpoint will have resonance among the political elite, think tanks and the media who are critical of Trump.

On the contrary, Trump can bank on the optics of his decision—that he is ending U.S. involvement in a Middle Eastern war that doesn’t concern American interests directly. The domestic opinion favors such an outcome.

In overall terms, the U.S. withdrawal from Syria has profound implications for the region. Israel will be even more dependent on Russian benevolence. Russia has cautioned Israel against destabilizing the Syrian situation. If Turks prove recalcitrant, the Russian-Turkish-Iranian axis in Syria will meet sudden death.

Peskov said Putin has not yet had any contact with Erdogan. Trump’s decision leaves Erdogan utterly free to order the troops to invade Syria. But he will also be moving into the vacuum created by the U.S. withdrawal in hostile territories. It’s unlikely that NATO will stand by Turkey in this risky adventure.

In fact, Turkey stands in splendid isolation. It cannot but be gripped with angst—feeling like trapped in an infinite Sisyphean nightmare. Turkey joins Saudi Arabia as a fallen angel in the Beltway.

Fundamentally, these developments signify that the U.S. retrenchment in the Middle East is accelerating. Trump has made it abundantly clear that he has no intention of going to war with Iran for safeguarding Saudi Arabia. Now, his decision on Syria will trigger disquiet in the Saudi mind that he may take a similar approach to the war in Yemen at some point very soon.

The big picture is that the regional states are coming under pressure to sort out their differences and disputes through own initiatives. Which indeed is a good thing to happen. There are signs that the UAE and Saudi Arabia are seeking a modus vivendi with Iran.

Most certainly, during his visit to Saudi Arabia over the weekend, Putin is going to push for the Russian concept regarding a collective security architecture in the Persian Gulf region. In recent remarks, Putin suggested that Russia and the U.S. along with some others such as India could be “observers” in an inclusive collective security mechanism amongst the Persian Gulf states.


This article was produced in partnership by Indian Punchline and Globetrotter, a project of the Independent Media Institute.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
M.K. Bhadrakumar

M.K. Bhadrakumar is a former diplomat who served for more than 29 years as an Indian Foreign Service officer with postings including India’s ambassador to Turkey and Uzbekistan.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout October 8, 2019

    The Turks want Kurdish blood. The Idlib jihadists want just about anybody’s blood. The Saudis and UAE want Iranian blood (let by someone else, of course). The USA wants arms sales ad infinitum, no matter who gets killed, including U.S. soldiers.

    Reply
  2. Larry N Stout October 8, 2019

    Neither human history, nor the long-term cosmological and geological facts of life, nor the near-term climatological prognosis provide for any optimism that the human species will endure for much longer.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.