输入搜索

国家

玫瑰之波:Ocasio-Cortez在山体滑坡中击败克劳利

Cortez震惊了这个机构

通过纽约时报

亚历山大·奥卡西奥·科尔特斯(NY-D)得到了众多国家进步组织司法民主党和我们革命的支持,同时也得到了全新大会,MoveOn和其他团体的支持,认为她是最适合服务于纽约14th的候选人。区。

尽管现任乔·克劳利(纽约证券交易所代表)在美国众议院服务了20年; 在国会内获得大量权力,担任民主党核心小组主席。 在过去几个月内显示 野心 如果民主党重新控制众议院,有一天会成为众议院议长。

然而,科尔特斯昨晚取得的主要胜利让政治局面震惊,令人震惊的专家和记者们忽视了奥卡西奥 - 科尔特斯长期高效的草根运动。

Cortez如何获胜

国家政治分析人员试图通过减少她对种族和性别认同的胜利来尽量减少科尔特斯运动的有效性。

政治,歪曲了选举的成功 我们的革命 在这次选举周期中使用类似的谈话点来解释科尔特斯的胜利。

在现实中,强者 进步平台 亚历山大·奥卡西奥·科尔特斯(Alexandria Ocasio Cortez)继续比这个地区或她的性别的人口构成要多得多。 克劳利能够通过类似的组成基础轻松地保持他的席位近十年。

科尔特斯让她“废除ICE(移民和海关执法)”以及终止私人监狱的司法改革计划的关键部分。 科尔特斯还支持全民医保,竞选财务改革,以及将住房视为人权问题。

如果奥卡西奥 - 科尔特斯(Ocasio-Cortez)在与克劳利(Crowley)类似的第三方平台上运行,她就不太可能以如此彻底的方式击败现任者。

据接受采访 年轻土耳其人 (TYT)在她的主要胜利之后,Ocasio-Cortez称赞司法民主党组织从一开始就支持她的竞选活动。 在采访中,她还表示,她的竞选活动强调在注册截止日期之前将独立和未注册的选民登记为民主党人,以确保他们能够在初选期间投票。

她在TYT上多次露面 反叛总部 她的竞选活动期间,这是唯一一个覆盖Cortez活动的主要渠道,直到克劳利要求在竞选活动后期与Cortez进行辩论。 在克劳利6月15th的第一次电视辩论之后 驳回 亚历山大通过派代表到他当时的挑战者的计划辩论。

比赛的Emma Vigeland和Ryan Grim在Ocasio-Cortez的总部召开比赛。 在候选人对支持者表示感谢之后,艾玛能够采访科尔特斯。

我们的革命总统尼娜特纳发布了一个 声明 亚历山大奥卡西奥 - 科尔特斯获胜后不久宣布:

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez开展了一场以实质为基础的大胆活动 她为了人民的利益而奋斗,而不是企业开发商 - 全民医保,取消ICE,负担得起的住房,联邦就业保障,工薪家庭能够生活和发展的工资 - 这些都是纽约劳动人民的需求。 14th和亚历山大提出了一系列大胆的建议来满足这些需求。 我们的革命很自豪能够代表她认可和工作。

通过开放的秘密

Ocasio-Cortez处于一个主要的财务劣势,但能够充分利用资源,同时尽可能多地敲门。 她在选举前一年开始草根运动的模式可能为进步运动提供未来模式。

这是未来选举结果的标志

红玫瑰,英国工党的象征

在第二次世界大战后的时代,红玫瑰已经成为全世界社会民主党和民主社会党的象征。 英国工党,瑞典社会民主党(SAP),罗马尼亚社会民主党(PSD)和美国民主社会主义者(DSA)都是在其党徽中使用玫瑰图像的人。

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez对Joe Crowley的主要胜利,以及详细支持社会民主党政策(全民医疗保健,免学费公立大学,提高最低工资等)的全国民意调查,可能意味着即将到来的选举周期中出现“玫瑰浪潮” 。

司法民主党,进步变革运动委员会和我们的革命等团体可能会在民主党初选过程中受到更大的影响,因为他们继续在与公司机构有关的第三方民主党人中取得选举成功。

亚历山大·奥卡西奥·科尔特斯将在11月6大选中面对共和党人安东尼·帕帕斯。 Cooks Partisan Voter Index将座位评为'D + 29',使得Pappas的胜利极不可能。

如果胜利,奥卡西奥 - 科尔特斯(28)将成为有史以来当选美国众议院最年轻的女性。

相关新闻:

Politico:为什么他们对“我们的革命”的批判不是以现实为基础的

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

0评论

  1. Ex MislTech 六月27,2018

    政治=我们可以选择不会陷入亿万富翁卡特尔的人们的错觉....... https://t.co/NVJyEUxe9K

    回复
    1. 沃尔特耶茨 六月27,2018

      如果你忽视现实,这只是一种幻觉。

  2. 匿名 六月27,2018

    4.5

    回复
  3. 匿名 六月27,2018

    5

    回复
  4. 沃尔特耶茨 六月30,2018

    4.5

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Cortez Shocks The Establishment

via New York Times

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-D) had the support of numerous national progressive organizations Justice Democrats and Our Revolution, while also receiving support from Brand New Congress, MoveOn, and other groups that felt she was the candidate best suited to serve New York’s 14th District.

Despite incumbent Joe Crowley (NY-D) serving in the United States House of Representatives for two decades; gaining a significant amount of power within Congress, serving as the chair of the Democratic caucus. Within the past few months showed ambitions to one day become the Speaker of the House if Democrats were to regain control of the House.

However, Cortez’s resounding primary victory last night has sent shockwaves through the political landscape, shocking pundits, and journalists who ignored the long and efficient grassroots campaign of Ocasio-Cortez.

How Cortez Won

National political analysts have attempted to minimize the effectiveness of the Cortez campaign by reducing her victory to her ethnic and gender identity.

Politico, which has misrepresented the electoral success of Our Revolution during this election cycle used a similar talking point to explain the Cortez victory.

In reality, the strong progressive platform Alexandria Ocasio Cortez ran on was far more of a factor than the demographic makeup of the district or her gender. Crowley was able to easily maintain his seat for nearly a decade with a similar constituent base.

Cortez made her “abolish ICE (Immigration and Customs Enforcement)” along with ending private prisons key parts of her justice reform plan. Cortez also supports Medicare for All, campaign finance reform, and viewing housing as a human rights concern.

If Ocasio-Cortez ran on a similar Third Way platform as Crowley, it’s highly unlikely that she would have defeated the incumbent in such sweeping fashion.

According to an interview with The Young Turks (TYT) after her primary victory, Ocasio-Cortez credits the Justice Democrats organization for supporting her campaign from the very beginning. During the interview, she also stated that her campaign highlighted registering independent and unregistered voters as Democrats prior to the registration deadline to ensure they would be able to vote during the primary.

She made several appearances on TYT’s Rebel Headquarters program during her campaign, which was the only major outlet covering the Cortez campaign until Crowley asked to debate Cortez late in the campaign. After the first televised debate on June 15th, Crowley dismissed Alexandria by sending a surrogate in his place to a planned debate against his then-challenger.

Emma Vigeland and Ryan Grim of TYT were at Ocasio-Cortez’s headquarters as the race was called. Emma was able to interview Cortez after the candidate expressed her gratitude to supporters.

Our Revolution President Nina Turner released a statement soon after the Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez victory was announced:

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez ran a bold campaign built on substance. She ran in the interest of the people, not corporate developers — Medicare for All, the abolition of ICE, affordable housing, a federal jobs guarantee, wages working families can live and thrive on — these are the needs of the working people of New York’s 14th, and Alexandria presented a bold set of proposals to serve those needs. Our Revolution is proud to have endorsed and worked on her behalf.

 

via Open Secrets

Ocasio-Cortez was at a major financial disadvantage, yet was able to make the best use of resources while knocking on as many doors as possible. Her model of beginning a grassroots campaign over a year prior to the election may provide a future model for progressive campaigns.

Is This A Sign Of Future Election Results

Red rose, symbol of the British Labour Party

In the post-World War II era, the red rose has been a symbol for Social Democratic and Democratic Socialist parties around the world. The British Labour Party, Swedish Social Democratic Party (SAP), The Romanian Social Democratic Party (PSD), and the Democratic Socialists of America (DSA) are among those who use rose imagery in their party logo.

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez’s primary victory over Joe Crowley, along with national polling detailing support for Social Democratic policies (Universal Healthcare, tuition-free public college, raising of the minimum wage, etc) could signify a ‘Wave Of Roses’ in upcoming election cycles.

Groups like Justice Democrats, Progressive Change Campaign Committee, and Our Revolution are likely to become larger influences in the Democratic primary process as they continue finding electoral success against Third Way Democrats attached to the corporate establishment.

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez will face Republican Anthony Pappas on the November 6th general election. Cooks Partisan Voter Index rates the seat as ‘D+29’ making a Pappas victory highly unlikely.

If victorious, Ocasio-Cortez (28) will become the youngest woman ever elected to the United States House of Representatives.

 

Related:

Politico: Why Their Critique of ‘Our Revolution’ Isn’t Based In Reality

Comments

Join Our List

Subscribe to our mailing list and get all the news corporate media won't give you.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.