输入搜索

分析 精选 健康/ SCI / TECH 在焦点 - 健康

数以千计的亲伊朗假社交媒体账户被删除以跟随美国剧本

拿着假新闻报纸的人
(图片来自Pxhere)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

在以色列的虚假社交媒体账户被删除几周之后,亲伊朗的账户也因为假冒新闻的永无止境的战争被清除而被取消。

周二,着名的互联网安全公司FireEye透露了他们调查虚拟反特朗普,亲伊朗社交媒体网络的细节,这些网络在某些情况下冒充真正的美国人。

但是,尽管消除虚假新闻至关重要,但由于对俄罗斯干涉美国选举以及对伊朗虚假账户的愤怒感到愤怒而失去了愤怒,事实上美国玩同样的游戏。

FireEye报告

“除了利用支持进步和保守政治立场的假美国人物角色之外,还有一些帐户冒充少数共和党政治候选人,这些候选人竞选众议院席位于2018。 此网络中的人物角色也在美国和以色列媒体上发布了材料,试图游说记者报道特定主题,并且似乎在政治问题上与美国和英国的个人进行了精心的音频和视频采访,“ FireEye在周二发布的报告中写道.

作为回应,社交媒体巨头Facebook和Twitter删除了数千个与反特朗普和亲伊朗竞选相关的欺诈账户。

Facebook周二还宣布,根据FireEye的提示,它已从其社交媒体平台以及该公司Instagram服务中的三个帐户中删除了51帐户,36页面和七个组。

5月早些时候,推特删除了来自伊朗的2,800虚假账户,Twitter的网站完整性负责人Yoel Roth在一条推文中宣布。

广泛的虚假社交媒体网络

除了冒充美国政客之外,FireEye还发现了作为美国记者的虚假身份,他们设法说服几家美国主流媒体出版客座专栏,博客文章和致编辑的信件。

FireEye发现两个冒充共和党政客Marla Livengood和Jineea Butler的账户。 这些账户通过复制立法者的真实账户来传播亲伊朗的信息以及有关美国政治的一般信息。

FireEye报道:

例如,帐户@livengood_marla冒充Marla Livengood,加州2018的9候选人th 国会区使用Livengood的照片和活动横幅为其简介和背景图片。 该帐户于9月24,2018开始发推文,其第一条推文在当月早些时候剽窃了Livengood的官方帐号:

图2:犯罪嫌疑人@livengood_marla的推文,日期为24,2018(左); Livengood经过验证的帐号推文,日期为9月1,2018(右)

图2:犯罪嫌疑人@livengood_marla的推文,日期为24,2018(左); Livengood经过验证的帐户推文,日期为1,2018(右)(照片:FireEye)

Livengood活动的领导人之一斯科特温恩说 NBC新闻。 “我们没有意识到这一点。 这似乎是竞选活动中一个持续存在的问题......我们有人正在研究2016选举中发生的事情,并试图在地方层面上复制它。“

FireEye报告还列出了一些被认定在美国各个新闻媒体上发布假信件或专栏的人。

FireEye说:

到目前为止,我们已确定至少有五个可疑人物角色,这些人物有合法新闻媒体发布的信件或其他内容。 我们推测,基于其他调查线索,存在额外的角色。

“约翰特纳”:至少2015,John Turner角色一直活跃。 特纳声称自己的总部设在纽约,纽约,西雅图,华盛顿和华盛顿特区。 特纳在自己的推特个人资料中称自己是一名记者,但他也声称两人都曾在该公司工作过 “西雅图时报” 并成为维拉诺瓦大学的学生,声称将参加2015和2020之间的比赛。 除了在各个新闻媒体上发布的信件,约翰特纳还保留了一个博客 以色列时报 2017和2018中的网站,并为其撰写文章 自然新闻博客。 Turner的至少一封信是通过网络中的另一个帐户在推文中宣传的。

“埃德沙利文”:Ed Sullivan角色,至少有一次使用与John Turner相同的爆头,在德克萨斯州的加尔维斯顿县发了一封信。 每日新闻中, 纽约每日新闻,并 洛杉矶时报,包括与德克萨斯州出口公布的“Jeremy Watte”角色(见下文)撰写的一些文字相同的字母 贝敦太阳报。 埃德沙利文声称他的位置不同,加尔维斯顿和纽波特纽斯(弗吉尼亚州)。

“马修奥布莱恩”:Mathew Obrien角色,他的名字也拼写为“Matthew Obrien”和“Mathew O'Brien”,在他的Twitter生物宣称是一个 “新闻日报” 记者。 该人物已在加尔维斯顿县发表了信件 每日新闻 和总部位于德克萨斯州的雅典 雅典每日评论; 在这些信件中,他声称的地点分别是加尔维斯顿和雅典,而人物的推特账号@MathewObrien1列出了纽约纽约的位置。 Obrien的至少一封信是通过网络中的另一个帐户在推文中宣传的。

“杰里米·沃特”:由Jeremy Watte角色签名的信件已经发表于 贝敦太阳报以及 “西雅图时报”,他声称分别在贝敦镇和西雅图。 Jeremy Watte签署的至少两封信的文本与Ed Sullivan在其他报纸上发表的信件相同。 他的至少一封信件是通过网络中另一个帐户的推文推广的。

“伊莎贝尔·金斯利”:Isabelle Kingsly角色在她的推特个人资料(@IsabelleKingsly)声称自己是位于华盛顿州西雅图的“伊朗裔美国人”。 Kingsly签名的信件已经出现在 贝敦太阳报以及纽波特纽斯弗吉尼亚当地报纸 每日新闻; 在这些信中,Kingsly的位置分别被列为加尔维斯顿和纽波特新闻。 @IsabelleKingsly Twitter帐户的个人资料图片和其他张贴图片都是从一个社交媒体帐户中拨出的,这个帐户似乎是一个真正的个人,名字与伊莎贝尔相同。 Kingsly的至少一封信是通过网络中的另一个帐户在推文中提升的。

不知道的是,伊朗政府是否完全参与了虚假账户计划。 FireEye报告没有提到假冒社交媒体网络冒充美国记者和政客的幕后策划者。

谁是FireEye?

FireEye现任首席执行官是Kevin Mandia。 根据Mandia在FireEye网站上的简介“当FireEye收购他在2013创立的公司Mandiant时,Kevin于12月2004加入FireEye担任高级副总裁兼首席运营官。 在Mandiant之前,Kevin是Foundstone(被McAfee Corporation收购)从2000到2003的计算机取证总监,以及Sytex的信息安全总监(后来被Lockheed Martin收购)从1998到2000。

在2014博客文章中,FireEye解释了中央情报局参与FireEye成立的传言 - FireEye声称这些传言并非如此。 FireEye由Ashar Aziz在2004创立,由Sequoia Capital提供风险投资。

FireEye接着说:

FireEye不会与任何我们整个客户群无法使用的情报机构共享或接收任何内容。 我们向所有客户提供 FireEye动态威胁情报,基于云的解决方案,一旦在一个组织中发现威胁,就可以有效地共享自动生成的威胁情报,以保护所有客户。

FireEye从未成为CIA公司,我们从未向任何政府机构提供独特的情报。 我们作为全球安全公司的地位是独立于任何政府机构,并专注于保护我们在全球的客户。

五年后的五月1,2019, 美联社报道 FireEye与美国陆军网络司令部(ARCCYBER)订立了一份为期五年的合同,“以跟上今天的对手和不断发展的网络威胁。”

“根据网络空间运营支持任务订单,FireEye将提供专业服务,以协助网络威胁情报操作,防御性网络操作(DCO),网络空间事件响应以及网络空间运动支持和培训,”美联社报道说。

Facebook和Twitter容易伪造账户

今年1月至3月期间,Facebook删除了2.2亿个假账户,这是该公司的第三个新账户 社区标准执行报告。 相比之下,Facebook在上一季度删除了1.2亿个假账户。

来自Facebook报告的假帐户统计数据:

    • 我们估计,每隔10,000次,人们在Facebook上观看内容,11到14观看的内容都违反了我们的成人裸体和性活动政策。
    • 我们估计人们在Facebook上查看内容的每个10,000时间,25视图包含违反我们的暴力和图形内容政策的内容。
    • 对于虚假账户,我们估计每月活跃账户的5%是假的。

在2018的5月和6月,Twitter删除了70百万个虚假账号, 正如华盛顿邮报报道的那样.

在2018,UCL的研究员Juan Guzman, 告诉BBC Twitter多年来一直忽视他们的机器人问题。

“直到最近,Twitter并不认为机器人在其平台上存在问题,并且没有引发强大的机器人检测工作。”

“只有在英国脱欧和2016大选之后,这些机器人成为了一个负债和推特,以及Facebook开始认真对待它们。”

Facebook也删除了假以色列账户

几周前,Facebook删除了一家以色列公司创建的数百个欺诈性Instagram和Facebook页面,这些公司的目标是非洲各国的选举。 Facebook总共删除了265 Facebook和Instagram帐户,Facebook页面,群组和活动。

根据Facebook的一份声明,关于2.8的一个或多个页面,关于5,500百万个帐户 至少有一个这样的群组和920人员加入了一个或多个Instagram帐户。

Facebook还表示,以色列公司阿基米德集团伪造了当地人物和组织的身份,并据称泄露了有关政客的信息。 阿基米德集团的主要目标是非洲国家,如突尼斯,多哥,安哥拉,塞内加尔和尼日利亚。 但根据Facebook的新闻稿,阿基米德集团还在拉丁美洲和亚洲开展业务。

图片说明:马里:从空客到马里空客集团的神秘金矿司法调查引用了对马里金矿资产负债表存款诈骗的司法调查,其股东已被毁。 该矿山的航空巨头投资项目,靠近马里电力的LED,似乎旨在清除隐匿资金,以促进该国军事市场的获取。 这是一项非常令人尴尬的新业务...... (图片:Facebook)

图片说明:马里:从空客到马里空客集团的神秘金矿司法调查引用了对马里金矿资产负债表存款诈骗的司法调查,其股东已被毁。 该矿山的航空巨头投资项目,靠近马里电力的LED,似乎旨在清除隐匿资金,以促进该国军事市场的获取。 这是一项非常令人尴尬的新业务...... (图片:Facebook)

社交媒体平台在推动人们阅读误导性信息方面发挥着重要作用。 纽约大学和斯坦福大学在2017进行的一项研究 发现超过40访问65恶作剧新闻网站的百分比从社交媒体开始。

马萨诸塞州理工学院(MIT)在2018开展的一项研究 发现假新闻的传播速度比推特上的真实新闻快。 麻省理工学院的研究人员还发现,人类是假新闻而不是机器人的传播。 该研究发现,假新闻是70%更有可能被重新发布而不是真实新闻。

“虚假新闻传达的人多于事实; 最新的1%的虚假新闻级联扩散到1000和100,000之间,而真相很少扩散到1000以上的人。 虚假也比真相更快地扩散。 新闻的程度和接受者的情绪反应可能是所观察到的差异的原因,“报告指出。

假新闻侦查中的偏见危险

然而,随着技术和安全公司与美国政府的密切合作,FireEye正在与ARCCYBER合作,并且考虑到Facebook,Twitter和Google都是美国公司,美国人有明显的偏见可能会将机器人和假新闻检测纳入考虑范围。

在参议院情报委员会召开的2017晚会上,提出了美国偏见的问题。

阿肯色州参议员汤姆·科特和Twitter总法律顾问肖恩·埃杰特之间的交流在一篇文章中得到了强调。 大西洋。 棉花将Edgett推向了两个原因,因为推特已经切断了中央情报局对Twitter分析服务的访问,同时它仍然允许俄罗斯媒体直播RT访问。

大西洋报道的交流:

“你看到中央情报局和俄罗斯情报部门之间的等效性吗?”棉花问道。

“我们不向任何政府提供监控服务,”Edgett回应道。

“所以你会将同样的政策应用到我们应用于对手情报部门的情报界吗?”棉花再次问道。

然后,棉花转向维基解密,情报委员会已将其指定为非国家的敌对情报机构,并询问为什么它在Twitter上一直“不受约束”。

“美国对抗我们的对手是偏向于它吗?”棉花要求。

“我们试图在世界范围内不偏不倚,”埃格特说。 “我们 显然是一家美国公司 并且非常关心我们今天谈论的问题,但是因为它与维基解密或其他类似的帐户有关,我们确保它们符合 我们的政策 就像其他账户一样。“

“作为一个 全球公司,我们必须申请 我们的政策 始终如一,“埃杰特回答道。

当世界上最大的科技和社交媒体公司都是美国人拥有时,这对于所谓的无偏见的机器人检测过程意味着什么呢? Facebook和Twitter是否有可能更倾向于检测非美国演员或公司的虚假社交媒体账户?

美国也创造了虚假的社交媒体账户

事实上,Facebook在2018后期禁止一家美国公司在阿拉巴马州参议院选举中创建虚假的社交媒体账户。 纽约时报打破了这个故事 当它获得美国新知识公司的一份内部备忘录时,该备忘录详述了它如何“试验现在已经理解为影响2016选举的许多策略”。

“我们最近删除了由多个人管理的五个账户,用于围绕阿拉巴马州特别选举在Facebook上进行协调的不真实行为,我们的调查正在进行中,” Facebook发言人告诉Business Insider。 “我们对那些创建帐户网络的人或组织采取强硬立场,误导他人他们是谁或他们正在做什么。”

New Knowledge首席执行官Jonathon Morgan被禁止从事这项活动,但他声称阿拉巴马州的项目是为了进行研究并了解虚假宣传活动的运作方式。

“这项研究项目旨在帮助我们了解这类运动是如何运作的,”摩根告诉纽约时报。 “我们认为在真正的选举中工作是有用的,但设计它几乎没有影响。”

美国政府本身有着悠久而有据可查的历史,从几十年前开始宣传和传播假新闻。 CIA计划称为Operation Mockingbird 更现代化的努力。

2014年, 据美联社报道 在奥巴马政府期间,美国创建并资助了一个旨在破坏古巴共产党政府的古巴社交媒体网络。

ZunZuneo是一个美国资助的微博平台,类似于Twitter,针对古巴人。 (图片:WikiMedia Commons)

ZunZuneo是一个美国资助的微博平台,类似于Twitter,针对古巴人。 (图片:USAID via WikiMedia Commons)

“美国政府策划了一个”古巴推特“的创建 - 一个旨在破坏古巴共产党政府的通信网络,由秘密的空壳公司建立,并由外国银行资助,”美联社写道。

事实上,美国古巴广播办公室的2018-2019预算报告明确指出,其计划包括使用“本土”和“非品牌”古巴Facebook帐户传播政府创建的内容,而不通知古巴Facebook用户, 据迈阿密新时报报道.

预算报告指出:

在FY 2018,OCB正在岛上数字团队建立,以创建非品牌的本地Facebook帐户来传播信息。 原生页面增加了出现在古巴Facebook用户新闻节目上的机会。 同样的策略将在其他首选社交媒体网络上复制。

早在2011, 卫报报道 “美国军方正在开发软件,允许它通过使用虚假的在线角色秘密操纵社交媒体网站来影响互联网对话并传播亲美宣传。”

“加利福尼亚州的一家公司已经与美国中央司令部(Centcom)签订了合同,该司令部负责监督美国在中东和中亚的武装行动,以开发所谓的”在线角色管理服务“,允许一名美国军人“卫报”写道:“女人可以控制10在世界各地的独立身份。”

假新闻,假社交媒体账户,虚假记者都不是新手。 宣传和控制信息一直是并将永远是外交政策和战争的核心原则。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS FEATURED HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Thousands of Pro-Iran Fake Social Media Accounts Deleted for Following US Playbook

person holding a fake news newspaper
(Photo via Pxhere)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Just weeks after Israeli-based fake social media accounts were deleted, pro-Iran accounts were also taken down in a purge on the never-ending war on fake news.

On Tuesday, prominent internet security firm FireEye revealed the details behind their investigation into a network of fake anti-Trump, pro-Iran social media accounts that in some cases impersonated real Americans.

But while eliminating fake news is vital, lost in the outrage over Russia’s interference in U.S.’ elections and lost in the outrage over fake Iranian accounts, is the fact that the United States plays the same game.

The FireEye Report

“In addition to utilizing fake American personas that espoused both progressive and conservative political stances, some accounts impersonated a handful of Republican political candidates that ran for House of Representatives seats in 2018. Personas in this network have also had material published in U.S. and Israeli media outlets, attempted to lobby journalists to cover specific topics, and appear to have orchestrated audio and video interviews with U.S. and UK-based individuals on political issues,” FireEye wrote in their report released on Tuesday.

In response, social media giants Facebook and Twitter deleted thousands of fraudulent accounts associated with anti-Trump and pro-Iran campaigns.

Facebook also announced on Tuesday that based on a tip from FireEye, it had removed 51 accounts, 36 pages, and seven groups from its social media platform as well as three accounts from the company’s Instagram service.

Earlier in May, Twitter removed 2,800 fake accounts originating from Iran, as Yoel Roth, head of Twitter’s site integrity announced in a tweet.

Extensive Fake Social Media Networks

In addition to posing as American politicians, FireEye discovered fake identities acting as American journalists who managed to convince several American mainstream media outlets to publish guest columns, blog posts and letters to the editor.

FireEye spotted two accounts impersonating Republican politicians Marla Livengood and Jineea Butler. Those accounts spread pro-Iran messages as well as general information about U.S politics by copying from the lawmakers’ real account.

FireEye reported:

For example, the account @livengood_marla impersonated Marla Livengood, a 2018 candidate for California’s 9th Congressional District, using a photograph of Livengood and a campaign banner for its profile and background pictures. The account began tweeting on Sept. 24, 2018, with its first tweet plagiarizing one from Livengood’s official account earlier that month:

Figure 2: Tweet by suspect account @livengood_marla, dated Sept. 24, 2018 (left); tweet by Livengood’s verified account, dated Sept. 1, 2018 (right)

Figure 2: Tweet by suspect account @livengood_marla, dated Sept. 24, 2018 (left); tweet by Livengood’s verified account, dated Sept. 1, 2018 (right) (Photo: FireEye)

Scott Winn, one of the leaders of Livengood’s campaign, told NBC News. “We were not aware of it. This seems to be kind of an ongoing problem in campaigns … We have people that are looking at what happened in the 2016 election and trying to duplicate that on a local level.”

The FireEye report also listed a number of individuals it identified as having published fake letters or columns in various U.S. news outlets.

FireEye stated:

We have thus far identified at least five suspicious personas that have had letters or other content published by legitimate news outlets. We surmise that additional personas exist, based on other investigatory leads.

“John Turner”: The John Turner persona has been active since at least 2015. Turner has claimed to be based, variously, in New York, NY, Seattle, WA, and Washington, DC. Turner described himself as a journalist in his Twitter profile, though has also claimed both to work at the Seattle Times and to be a student at Villanova University, claiming to be attending between 2015 and 2020. In addition to letters published in various news outlets, John Turner maintained a blog on The Times of Israel site in 2017 and 2018 and has written articles for Natural News Blogs. At least one of Turner’s letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

“Ed Sullivan”: The Ed Sullivan persona, which has on at least one occasion used the same headshot as that of John Turner, has had letters published in the Galveston County, Texas-based The Daily News, the New York Daily News, and the Los Angeles Times, including some letters identical in text to those authored by the “Jeremy Watte” persona (see below) published in the Texas-based outlet The Baytown Sun. Ed Sullivan has claimed his location to be, variously, Galveston and Newport News (Virginia).

“Mathew Obrien”: The Mathew Obrien persona, whose name has also been spelled “Matthew Obrien” and “Mathew O’Brien”, claimed in his Twitter bio to be a Newsday correspondent. The persona has had letters published in Galveston County’s The Daily News and the Athens, Texas-based Athens Daily Review; in those letters, his claimed locations were Galveston and Athens, respectively, while the persona’s Twitter account, @MathewObrien1, listed a location of New York, NY. At least one of Obrien’s letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

“Jeremy Watte”: Letters signed by the Jeremy Watte persona have been published in The Baytown Sunand the Seattle Times, where he claimed to be based in Baytown and Seattle, respectively. The texts of at least two letters signed by Jeremy Watte are identical to that in letters published in other newspapers under the name Ed Sullivan. At least one of his letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

“Isabelle Kingsly”: The Isabelle Kingsly persona claimed on her Twitter profile (@IsabelleKingsly) to be an “Iranian-American” based in Seattle, WA. Letters signed by Kingsly have appeared in The Baytown Sunand the Newport News Virginia local paper The Daily Press; in those letters, Kingsly’s location is listed as Galveston and Newport News, respectively. The @IsabelleKingsly Twitter account’s profile picture and other posted pictures were appropriated from a social media account of what appears to be a real individual with the same first name of Isabelle. At least one of Kingsly’s letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

What’s unknown is if the Iranian government was at all involved in the fake account scheme. The FireEye report did not mention who was the mastermind behind the fake social media network impersonating American journalists and politicians.

Who is FireEye?

The current CEO of FireEye is Kevin Mandia. According to Mandia’s bio on FireEye’s website, “Kevin joined FireEye as Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer in December 2013, when FireEye acquired Mandiant, the company he founded in 2004. Before Mandiant, Kevin was the Director of Computer Forensics at Foundstone (acquired by McAfee Corporation) from 2000 to 2003, and the Director of Information Security for Sytex (later acquired by Lockheed Martin) from 1998 to 2000.”

In a 2014 blog post, FireEye addressed rumors that the CIA was involved with the founding of FireEye – rumors which FireEye claimed are not true. FireEye was founded by Ashar Aziz in 2004 with venture capital provided by Sequoia Capital.

FireEye went on:

FireEye does not share or receive any content with any intelligence agencies that is not available to our entire customer base. We make available to all our customers FireEye Dynamic Threat Intelligence, a cloud-based solution that efficiently shares auto-generated threat intelligence to protect all our customers once a threat has been identified in one organization.

FireEye was never a CIA company and we’ve never provided unique intelligence to any government agencies. Our position as a global security company is to be independent of any government agencies and solely focused on protecting our customers around the world.

Five years later on May 1, 2019, the Associated Press reported that FireEye had entered into a  five-year contract with the United States Army Cyber Command (ARCCYBER) “to keep pace with today’s adversaries and evolving cyber threats.”

“Under the Cyberspace Operations Support task order, FireEye will provide professional services to assist with cyber threat intelligence operations, defensive cyber operations (DCO), cyberspace incident response, and cyberspace exercise support and training,” the Associated Press report said.

Facebook and Twitter Prone to Fake Accounts

Between January and March of this year, Facebook deleted 2.2 billion fake accounts, a new high for the company, according to the company’s third Community Standards Enforcement report. In comparison, Facebook deleted 1.2 billion fake accounts in the previous quarter.

Fake account statistics from Facebook’s report:

    • We estimated for every 10,000 times people viewed content on Facebook, 11 to 14 views contained content that violated our adult nudity and sexual activity policy.
    • We estimated for every 10,000 times people viewed content on Facebook, 25 views contained content that violated our violence and graphic content policy.
    • For fake accounts, we estimated that 5% of monthly active accounts are fake.

In May and June of 2018, Twitter deleted 70 million phony accounts, as the Washington Post reported.

In 2018, Juan Guzman, a researcher at UCL, told BBC that Twitter had neglected their bot problem for years.

“Until recently, Twitter did not think bots were a problem on its platform and did not lead a strong bot-detection effort.”

“It was only after Brexit and the 2016 election, where these bots became a liability and Twitter, as well as Facebook began taking them seriously.”

Facebook Removed Fake Israeli Accounts As Well

A few weeks ago, Facebook deleted hundreds of fraudulent Instagram and Facebook pages created by an Israeli company targeting elections in various African countries. Altogether, Facebook deleted 265 Facebook and Instagram accounts, Facebook Pages, Groups and events.

According to a statement from Facebook, about 2.8 million accounts followed one or more of these Pages, about 5,500 accounts joined at least one of these Groups and around 920 people followed one or more of these Instagram accounts.

Facebook also stated that the Israeli company Archimedes Group faked identities of local figures and organizations and posted allegedly leaked information about politicians. The main targets of the Archimedes Groups were countries in Africa such as Tunisia, Togo, Angola, Senegal, and Nigeria. But Archimedes group also operated in Latin America and Asia, according to Facebook’s press release.

Caption: Mali: Justice Survey on a Mysterious Gold Mine from Airbus to Mali Airbus group is quoted in a judicial investigation for scam on a Malian gold mine in balance sheet deposit, whose shareholders have been ruined. The investment project of the aerospace giant in this mine, LED by a close to Malian power, seemed intended to clear occult funds to facilitate the obtaining of military markets in the country. This is a very embarrassing new business…. (Photo: Facebook)

Caption: Mali: Justice Survey on a Mysterious Gold Mine from Airbus to Mali Airbus group is quoted in a judicial investigation for scam on a Malian gold mine in balance sheet deposit, whose shareholders have been ruined. The investment project of the aerospace giant in this mine, LED by a close to Malian power, seemed intended to clear occult funds to facilitate the obtaining of military markets in the country. This is a very embarrassing new business…. (Photo: Facebook)

Social media platforms have a major role in driving people to read misleading information. A study conducted by NYU and Stanford in 2017 found that more than 40 percent of visits to 65 hoax news website start from social media.

A study conducted by the Massachusets Institute of Technology (MIT) in 2018 discovered that fake news spreads faster than real news on Twitter. The MIT researchers also found that humans were behind the spread of fake news rather than bots. The study found that fake news was 70% more likely to be re-tweeted than real news.

“False news reached more people than the truth; the top 1% of false news cascades diffused to between 1000 and 100,000 people, whereas the truth rarely diffused to more than 1000 people. Falsehood also diffused faster than the truth. The degree of novelty and the emotional reactions of recipients may be responsible for the differences observed,” the report stated.

The Perils of Bias in Fake News Detection

However, as tech and security firms work more closely with the U.S. government, as FireEye is doing with ARCCYBER, and considering Facebook, Twitter and Google are American companies there is a clear potential for an American bias to factor into bot and fake news detection.

In a late 2017 hearing before the Senate Intelligence Committee, the issue of an American bias was raised.

An exchange between Senator Tom Cotton of Arkansas and Sean Edgett, the general counsel of Twitter was highlighted in an article by The Atlantic. Cotton pressed Edgett as two why Twitter had cut off the CIA’s access to a Twitter analytics service while it still allowed the Russian media outlet RT access.

The exchange as reported by The Atlantic:

“Do you see an equivalency between the Central Intelligence Agency and the Russian intelligence services?” Cotton asked.

“We’re not offering our service for surveillance to any government,” Edgett responded.

“So you will apply the same policy to our intelligence community that you’d apply to an adversary’s intelligence services?” Cotton asked again.

Cotton then turned to WikiLeaks, which the Intelligence Committee has designated as a nonstate hostile intelligence agency, asking why it had been operating “uninhibited” on Twitter.

“Is it bias to side with America over our adversaries?,” Cotton demanded.

“We’re trying to be unbiased around the world,” Edgett said. “We’re obviously an American company and care deeply about the issues we’re talking about today, but as it relates to WikiLeaks or other accounts like it, we make sure they are in compliance with our policies just like every other account.”

“As a global company, we have to apply our policies consistently,” Edgett replied.

When the largest tech and social media companies in the world are American owned, what does that mean for the supposedly unbiased process of bot detection? Is it possible that Facebook and Twitter will have a higher propensity to detect fake social media accounts of non-American actors or companies?

US Creates Fake Social Media Accounts Too

Facebook, did in fact, ban an American company in late 2018 for creating fake social media accounts around the Alabama Senate election. The New York Times broke the story when it obtained an internal memo from the American firm New Knowledge which detailed how it “experimented with many of the tactics now understood to have influenced the 2016 elections.”

“We’ve recently removed five accounts run by multiple individuals for engaging in coordinated inauthentic behavior on Facebook around the Alabama special election, and our investigation is ongoing,” a Facebook spokesperson told Business Insider. “We take a strong stand against people or organizations that create networks of accounts to mislead others about who they are or what they’re doing.”

New Knowledge CEO Jonathon Morgan was banned from Facebook for the activities, but he claimed the Alabama project was done to conduct research and understand how disinformation campaigns work.

“The research project was intended to help us understand how these kind of campaigns operated,” Morgan told the New York Times. “We thought it was useful to work in the context of a real election but design it to have almost no impact.”

The United States government itself has a long and well-documented history of engaging in propaganda and the spreading of fake news – from the decades-long CIA program known as Operation Mockingbird to more modern endeavors.

In 2014, The Associated Press reported that during the Obama administration the U.S. created and funded a Cuban social media network intended to undermine Cuba’s communist government.

ZunZuneo was a U.S.-funded microblogging platform similar to Twitter that targeted Cubans. (Photo: WikiMedia Commons)

ZunZuneo was a U.S.-funded microblogging platform similar to Twitter that targeted Cubans. (Photo: USAID via WikiMedia Commons)

“The U.S. government masterminded the creation of a “Cuban Twitter” — a communications network designed to undermine the communist government in Cuba, built with secret shell companies and financed through foreign banks,” wrote The Associated Press.

In fact, a 2018-2019 budget report for the U.S. Office of Cuba Broadcasting explicitly stated that its plans included using “native” and “non-branded” Cuban Facebook accounts to spread government-created content without informing Cuban Facebook users, as Miami New Times reported.

The budget report stated:

In FY 2018, OCB is establishing on island digital teams to create non-branded local Facebook accounts to disseminate information. Native pages increase the chances of appearing on Cuban Facebook users’ newsfeeds. The same strategy will be replicated on other preferred social media networks.

Back in 2011, the Guardian reported that “the US military is developing software that will let it secretly manipulate social media sites by using fake online personas to influence internet conversations and spread pro-American propaganda.”

“A Californian corporation has been awarded a contract with United States Central Command (Centcom), which oversees US armed operations in the Middle East and Central Asia, to develop what is described as an ‘online persona management service’ that will allow one US serviceman or woman to control up to 10 separate identities based all over the world,” The Guardian wrote.

Fake news, fake social media accounts, fake journalists are not new. Propaganda and control of information has always been and will always be a central tenet of foreign policy and warfare.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.