اكتب للبحث

تحليل المميز HEALTH / SCI / TECH في التركيز على الصحة

تم حذف الآلاف من حسابات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المزيفة المؤيدة لإيران بسبب متابعة قواعد اللعبة التي تمارسها الولايات المتحدة

شخص يحمل صحيفة أخبار وهمية
(الصورة عبر Pxhere)
(الآراء والآراء المعبر عنها في هذا المقال هي آراء المؤلفين ولا تعكس آراء Citizen Truth.)

بعد أسابيع فقط من حذف حسابات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المزيفة في إسرائيل ، تم أيضًا حذف الحسابات الموالية لإيران في تطهير من الحرب التي لا تنتهي على الأخبار المزيفة.

يوم الثلاثاء ، كشفت شركة FireEye البارزة لأمن الإنترنت التفاصيل وراء تحقيقاتها في شبكة من حسابات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المزيفة المناهضة لترامب والموالية لإيران والتي انتحلت في بعض الحالات شخصية أمريكية حقيقية.

لكن في حين أن القضاء على الأخبار المزيفة أمر حيوي ، فإن الضياع بسبب الغضب من تدخل روسيا في الانتخابات الأمريكية والخسارة في الغضب بسبب الحسابات الإيرانية المزيفة ، هو حقيقة أن الولايات المتحدة تلعب نفس اللعبة.

تقرير FireEye

"بالإضافة إلى استخدام الشخصيات الأمريكية المزيفة التي تبنت المواقف السياسية التقدمية والمحافظة على حد سواء ، انتقدت بعض الروايات شخصية حفنة من المرشحين السياسيين الجمهوريين الذين خاضوا انتخابات مجلس النواب في 2018. وقد نشر الأشخاص في هذه الشبكة أيضًا مواد منشورة في وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية والإسرائيلية ، وحاولوا الضغط على الصحفيين لتغطية مواضيع محددة ، ويبدو أنهم قاموا بتنظيم مقابلات صوتية ومرئية مع أفراد من الولايات المتحدة وبريطانيا حول القضايا السياسية ". كتب FireEye في تقريرهم الصادر يوم الثلاثاء.

رداً على ذلك ، قام عملاق وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي Facebook و Twitter بحذف آلاف الحسابات الاحتيالية المرتبطة بحملات مناهضة لترامب والحملات المؤيدة لإيران.

أعلن Facebook أيضًا يوم الثلاثاء أنه بناءً على نصيحة من FireEye ، قام بإزالة حسابات 51 وصفحات 36 وسبع مجموعات من منصة الوسائط الاجتماعية بالإضافة إلى ثلاثة حسابات من خدمة Instagram الخاصة بالشركة.

في وقت سابق من شهر مايو ، قام Twitter بإزالة حسابات مزيفة من 2,800 من إيران ، كما أعلن Yoel Roth ، رئيس قسم سلامة موقع Twitter في تغريدة.

شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي وهمية واسعة النطاق

بالإضافة إلى التظاهر كسياسيين أمريكيين ، اكتشف FireEye هويات مزيفة تعمل كصحفيين أمريكيين تمكنوا من إقناع العديد من وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية الرئيسية بنشر أعمدة المدعوين ورسائل المدونة والرسائل إلى المحرر.

رصدت FireEye حسابين ينتحلان السياسيين الجمهوريين مارلا ليفنغود وجينيا بتلر. تنشر هذه الروايات رسائل مؤيدة لإيران بالإضافة إلى معلومات عامة عن السياسة الأمريكية عن طريق نسخ من الحساب الحقيقي للمشرعين.

ذكرت FireEye:

على سبيل المثال ، قام حسابlivengood_marla بانتحال شخصية Marla Livengood ، مرشح 2018 لـ 9 بكاليفورنياth مقاطعة الكونغرس ، باستخدام صورة لفنغود وراية حملة لملفها الشخصي وصور الخلفية. بدأ الحساب في Twitter في سبتمبر. 24 ، 2018 ، بأول تغريدة لها تنتشر في حساب Livengood الرسمي في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر:

الشكل 2: Tweet بواسطة الحساب المشتبه بهlivengood_marla ، بتاريخ 24 من سبتمبر ، 2018 (يسار) ؛ سقسقة من حساب Livengood التحقق ، بتاريخ 1 سبتمبر ، 2018 (يمين)

الشكل 2: Tweet بواسطة الحساب المشتبه بهlivengood_marla ، بتاريخ 24 من سبتمبر ، 2018 (يسار) ؛ سقسقة من حساب Livengood التحقق ، بتاريخ 1 سبتمبر ، 2018 (يمين) (الصورة: FireEye)

وقال سكوت وين ، أحد قادة حملة ليفنغود أخبار ان بي سي. لم نكن على علم به. يبدو أن هذا يمثل مشكلة مستمرة في الحملات ... لدينا أشخاص ينظرون إلى ما حدث في انتخابات 2016 ويحاولون تكرارها على المستوى المحلي. "

سرد تقرير FireEye أيضًا عددًا من الأفراد الذين حددهم بأنهم نشروا رسائل أو أعمدة مزيفة في العديد من وسائل الإعلام الأمريكية.

ذكرت FireEye:

لقد حددنا حتى الآن ما لا يقل عن خمسة أشخاص مشبوهين لهم رسائل أو محتوى آخر نشرته وسائل الإعلام الشرعية. نحن نفترض وجود أشخاص إضافيين ، بناءً على خيوط تحقيق أخرى.

"جون تيرنر": شخصية John Turner نشطة منذ 2015 على الأقل. ادعى تيرنر أن يكون مقره ، بشكل مختلف ، في نيويورك ، نيويورك ، سياتل ، واشنطن وواشنطن العاصمة. وصف تيرنر نفسه بأنه صحفي في ملفه الشخصي على Twitter ، رغم أنه طالب أيضًا بالعمل لدى سياتل تايمز ولكي تكون طالبًا في جامعة فيلانوفا ، تدعي أنها تحضر بين 2015 و 2020. بالإضافة إلى الرسائل المنشورة في وسائل الإعلام المختلفة ، حافظ جون تيرنر على مدونة تايمز أوف إسرائيل موقع في 2017 و 2018 وكتب مقالات ل مدونات الأخبار الطبيعية. تمت ترقية واحدة على الأقل من رسائل تيرنر في تغريدة بواسطة حساب آخر في الشبكة.

"إد سوليفان": شخصية إد سوليفان ، التي استخدمت في مناسبة واحدة على الأقل نفس الرأس التي استخدمها جون تيرنر ، وقد نشرت رسائل في مقاطعة غالفستون بولاية تكساس الأخبار اليومية، ال نيويورك ديلي نيوز، و ال لوس أنجلوس تايمز، بما في ذلك بعض الحروف المتطابقة في النص إلى تلك التي كتبها شخصيات "Jeremy Watte" (انظر أدناه) المنشورة في منفذ تكساس و Baytown صن. ادعى إد سوليفان أن موقعه هو ، بشكل مختلف ، جالفستون ونيوبورت نيوز (فرجينيا).

"ماثيو أوبرين": شخص ماثيو أوبرين ، الذي تم تهجئة اسمه أيضًا "ماثيو أوبريان" و "ماثيو أوبراين" ، ادعى في سيرته الذاتية على Twitter بأنه نيوزداي مراسل. وقد شخصيا رسائل نشرت في مقاطعة غالفستون الأخبار اليومية وأثينا ، ومقرها تكساس أثينا اليومية الاستعراض. في هاتين الخطوتين ، كانت مواقعه المزعومة هي جالفيستون وأثينا ، على التوالي ، في حين أن حساب تويتر الخاص بالشخص ،MathewObrien1 ، سرد موقعًا في نيويورك ، نيويورك. تمت ترقية رسالة واحدة على الأقل من رسائل Obrien في تغريدة بواسطة حساب آخر في الشبكة.

"جيريمي وات": رسائل موقعة من جيريمي وات شخصية قد نشرت في و Baytown صنو ال سياتل تايمز، حيث ادعى أن يكون مقره في بايتاون وسياتل ، على التوالي. تتطابق نصوص رسالتين على الأقل موقعة من جيريمي وات في النصوص التي نشرت في صحف أخرى تحت اسم إد سوليفان. تمت ترقية رسالة واحدة على الأقل من رسائله في تغريدة بواسطة حساب آخر في الشبكة.

"إيزابيل كينغسلي": زعمت شخصية إيزابيل كينجزلي في ملفها الشخصي على تويتر (IsabelleKingsly) أنها "أمريكية إيرانية" مقرها في سياتل ، واشنطن. ظهرت الرسائل الموقعة من قبل Kingsly في و Baytown صنوصحيفة نيوبورت نيوز فرجينيا المحلية صحيفة ديلي برس. في تلك الرسائل ، يتم سرد موقع Kingsly باسم Galveston و Newport News ، على التوالي. تم تخصيص صورة الملف الشخصي لحسابIsabelleKingsly Twitter والصور المنشورة الأخرى من حساب وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي لما يبدو أنه فرد حقيقي يحمل نفس الاسم الأول لإيزابيل. تمت ترقية رسالة واحدة على الأقل من خطابات Kingsly في تغريدة بواسطة حساب آخر في الشبكة.

ما هو غير معروف هو ما إذا كانت الحكومة الإيرانية متورطة على الإطلاق في مخطط الحساب المزيف. لم يشر تقرير FireEye إلى من كان العقل المدبر وراء شبكة التواصل الاجتماعي المزيفة التي انتحلت هوية الصحفيين والسياسيين الأمريكيين.

من هو FireEye؟

الرئيس الحالي لشركة FireEye هو كيفن مانديا. وفقا للسيرة الذاتية مانديا على موقع FireEye لانضم كيفن إلى FireEye كنائب رئيس أول ومدير تنفيذي في ديسمبر 2013 ، عندما استحوذ FireEye على Mandiant ، الشركة التي أسسها في 2004. قبل Mandiant ، كان Kevin هو مدير الطب الشرعي للكمبيوتر في Foundstone (استحوذت عليه McAfee Corporation) من 2000 إلى 2003 ، ومدير أمن المعلومات لـ Sytex (استحوذت عليه لاحقًا شركة Lockheed Martin) من 1998 إلى 2000. "

في منشور مدونة 2014خاطب FireEye الشائعات بأن وكالة المخابرات المركزية الأمريكية كانت متورطة في تأسيس FireEye - الشائعات التي ادعى FireEye أنها غير صحيحة. تأسست شركة FireEye من قبل Ashar Aziz في 2004 برأس مال مغامر مقدمة من Sequoia Capital.

ذهب FireEye على:

لا تشارك FireEye أو تتلقى أي محتوى مع أي من وكالات الاستخبارات غير المتاحة لقاعدة عملائنا بأكملها. نجعلها متاحة لجميع عملائنا FireEye الاستخبارات التهديد الديناميكي، وهو حل قائم على السحابة يشارك بفاعلية معلومات التهديد التي تم إنشاؤها تلقائيًا لحماية جميع عملائنا بمجرد التعرف على تهديد في مؤسسة واحدة.

لم تكن FireEye أبدًا شركة CIA ولم نوفر مطلقًا معلومات استخبارية فريدة لأي وكالات حكومية. إن موقعنا كشركة أمنية عالمية هو أن تكون مستقلة عن أي جهة حكومية وتركز فقط على حماية عملائنا في جميع أنحاء العالم.

بعد خمس سنوات في مايو 1 ، 2019 ، ذكرت وكالة اسوشيتد برس أن FireEye قد أبرمت عقدًا مدته خمس سنوات مع القيادة السيبرانية لجيش الولايات المتحدة (ARCCYBER) "لمواكبة أعداء اليوم وتهديدات الإنترنت المتطورة".

"وفقًا لأمر مهمة دعم عمليات الفضاء الإلكتروني ، سيقدم FireEye خدمات احترافية للمساعدة في عمليات الاستخبارات المتعلقة بالتهديدات السيبرانية ، والعمليات الدفاعية عبر الإنترنت (DCO) ، والاستجابة لحوادث الفضاء الإلكتروني ، ودعم التدريب في مجال الفضاء الإلكتروني" ، كما قال تقرير الأسوشيتد برس.

الفيسبوك وتويتر عرضة لحسابات وهمية

بين يناير ومارس من هذا العام ، قام Facebook بحذف 2.2 مليار حساب مزيف ، وهو رقم قياسي جديد للشركة ، وفقًا للحساب الثالث للشركة تقرير إنفاذ معايير المجتمع. في المقابل ، حذف Facebook 1.2 مليار حساب مزيف في الربع السابق.

إحصائيات حساب مزيفة من تقرير Facebook:

    • قدّرنا أنه في كل مرة يتم فيها عرض 10,000 للأشخاص على محتوى فيسبوك ، فإن طرق عرض 11 إلى 14 تحتوي على محتوى ينتهك سياسة عري البالغين ونشاطنا الجنسي.
    • نحن نقدر في كل مرة يتم فيها عرض 10,000 للأفراد محتوى على Facebook ، وتتضمن طرق عرض 25 محتوى ينتهك سياسة العنف والمحتوى الرسومية الخاصة بنا.
    • بالنسبة للحسابات المزيفة ، قدّرنا أن 5٪ من الحسابات النشطة الشهرية مزيفة.

في مايو ويونيو من 2018 ، قام Twitter بحذف 70 مليون حساب زائف ، كما ذكرت واشنطن بوست.

في 2018 ، خوان جوزمان ، باحث في UCL ، وقال لبي بي سي أن تويتر قد أهمل مشكلة الروبوت الخاصة بهم لسنوات.

"حتى وقت قريب ، لم يظن Twitter أن برامج الروبوت كانت مشكلة على نظامه ولم تقود جهدًا قويًا للكشف عن الروبوتات."

"كان ذلك فقط بعد انتخاب Brexit و 2016 ، حيث أصبحت هذه الروبوتات مسؤولية وتويتر ، وكذلك بدأ Facebook أخذها على محمل الجد."

فيسبوك تمت إزالة الحسابات الإسرائيلية المزيفة

قبل بضعة أسابيع ، حذف Facebook مئات صفحات Instagram و Facebook المخادعة التي أنشأتها شركة إسرائيلية تستهدف إجراء الانتخابات في مختلف البلدان الأفريقية. وإجمالا ، حذف Facebook حسابات 265 Facebook و Instagram وصفحات Facebook والمجموعات والأحداث.

وفقا لبيان من الفيسبوك، حوالي 2.8 مليون حساب تابعوا واحدًا أو أكثر من هذه الصفحات ، حول 5,500 انضمت حسابات إلى واحدة من هذه المجموعات على الأقل وحوالي 920 تابعوا حسابًا واحدًا أو أكثر من حسابات Instagram هذه.

ذكر Facebook أيضًا أن شركة Archimedes Group الإسرائيلية مزيفة هويات شخصيات ومنظمات محلية ونشرت معلومات مسربة عن السياسيين. كانت الأهداف الرئيسية لمجموعات أرخميدس هي بلدان في إفريقيا مثل تونس وتوغو وأنغولا والسنغال ونيجيريا. لكن مجموعة أرخميدس تعمل أيضًا في أمريكا اللاتينية وآسيا ، وفقًا لبيان صحفي على Facebook.

التسمية التوضيحية: مالي: تم إجراء مسح قضائي حول مسح منجم ذهب غامض من شركة إيرباص إلى مجموعة مالي إيرباص في تحقيق قضائي بتهمة الاحتيال على منجم ذهب مالي في ودائع الميزانية العمومية ، التي دمر مساهموها. يبدو أن المشروع الاستثماري لشركة الطيران الفضائية العملاقة في هذا المنجم ، LED بالقرب من قوة مالي ، يهدف إلى مسح الأموال الخفية لتسهيل الحصول على الأسواق العسكرية في البلاد. هذا عمل جديد محرج للغاية .... (الصورة: Facebook)

التسمية التوضيحية: مالي: تم إجراء مسح قضائي حول مسح منجم ذهب غامض من شركة إيرباص إلى مجموعة مالي إيرباص في تحقيق قضائي بتهمة الاحتيال على منجم ذهب مالي في ودائع الميزانية العمومية ، التي دمر مساهموها. يبدو أن المشروع الاستثماري لشركة الطيران الفضائية العملاقة في هذا المنجم ، LED بالقرب من قوة مالي ، يهدف إلى مسح الأموال الخفية لتسهيل الحصول على الأسواق العسكرية في البلاد. هذا عمل جديد محرج للغاية .... (الصورة: Facebook)

تلعب منصات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي دورًا رئيسيًا في حث الناس على قراءة المعلومات المضللة. دراسة أجرتها جامعة نيويورك وستانفورد في 2017 وجدت أن أكثر من 40 في المئة من الزيارات إلى موقع أخبار 65 خدعة تبدأ من وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

دراسة أجراها معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا (MIT) في 2018 اكتشف أن الأخبار المزيفة تنتشر بشكل أسرع من الأخبار الحقيقية على Twitter. وجد باحثو معهد ماساتشوستس للتكنولوجيا أيضًا أن البشر كانوا وراء انتشار الأخبار المزيفة بدلاً من الروبوتات. وجدت الدراسة أن الأخبار المزيفة كانت على الأرجح 70٪ أكثر عرضة لإعادة التغريد من الأخبار الحقيقية.

"وصلت أخبار كاذبة أكثر من الناس من الحقيقة. ينتشر أعلى 1٪ من مجموعات الأخبار الخاطئة بين 1000 و 100,000 ، بينما نادراً ما تنتشر الحقيقة لأكثر من 1000 من الناس. الباطل منتشر أيضا أسرع من الحقيقة. درجة التقرير وردود الفعل العاطفية للمتلقين قد تكون مسؤولة عن الاختلافات التي لوحظت.

مخاطر التحيز في كشف الأخبار المزيفة

ومع ذلك ، نظرًا لأن شركات التكنولوجيا والأمن تعمل بشكل أوثق مع حكومة الولايات المتحدة ، كما تفعل FireEye مع ARCCYBER ، وبالنظر إلى Facebook و Twitter و Google باعتبارهما من الشركات الأمريكية ، فهناك إمكانية واضحة للتحيز الأمريكي للتأثير في اكتشاف الأخبار المزيفة والروبوتية.

في جلسة 2017 الأخيرة أمام لجنة الاستخبارات بمجلس الشيوخ ، أثيرت مسألة التحيز الأمريكي.

تم إبراز التبادل بين السناتور توم كوتون من أركنساس وشون إدجيت ، المستشار العام لتويتر في مقال كتبه المحيط الأطلسي. ضغط كوتون على إدجيت كسببين وراء قيام Twitter بقطع وصول وكالة المخابرات المركزية إلى خدمة تحليلات Twitter بينما كان لا يزال يسمح لمنفذ الوسائط الروسية بالوصول إلى RT.

تبادل كما ذكرت من قبل الأطلسي:

وتساءل كوتون: "هل ترى تعادلاً بين وكالة الاستخبارات المركزية وأجهزة الاستخبارات الروسية؟"

"نحن لا نقدم خدمتنا للمراقبة إلى أي حكومة" ، أجاب إيدجيت.

"لذلك سوف تطبق نفس السياسة على مجتمع استخباراتنا الذي ستطبقه على أجهزة استخبارات الخصم؟" سأل كوتن مرة أخرى.

ثم تحول كوتون إلى موقع ويكيليكس ، الذي عينته لجنة الاستخبارات كوكالة استخبارات معادية غير تابعة للدولة ، وسألها عن سبب تشغيلها "غير محظور" على تويتر.

"هل هو تحيز إلى جانب أمريكا ضد خصومنا؟" ، طالب القطن.

قال إدجيت: "نحاول أن نكون غير متحيزين في جميع أنحاء العالم". "كانت من الواضح أن الشركة الأمريكية ونهتم بشدة بالقضايا التي نتحدث عنها اليوم ، ولكن من حيث صلتها بـ WikiLeaks أو حسابات أخرى مثلها ، نتأكد من أنها متوافقة مع سياساتنا تماما مثل كل حساب آخر. "

شركة عالمية، لدينا لتطبيق سياساتنا أجاب إدجيت.

عندما تكون أكبر شركات التكنولوجيا ووسائل الإعلام الاجتماعية في العالم مملوكة لأمريكا ، فماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لعملية الكشف عن الروبوتات غير المنحازة؟ هل من الممكن أن يكون لدى Facebook و Twitter ميل أعلى للكشف عن حسابات وسائط التواصل الاجتماعي المزيفة للجهات الفاعلة أو الشركات غير الأمريكية؟

الولايات المتحدة تخلق حسابات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وهمية للغاية

لقد قام Facebook ، في الواقع ، بحظر شركة أمريكية في أواخر 2018 لإنشاء حسابات وسائط اجتماعية مزيفة حول انتخابات مجلس الشيوخ في Alabama. نيويورك تايمز حطم القصة عندما حصلت على مذكرة داخلية من الشركة الأمريكية New Knowledge التي توضح كيف "جربت العديد من التكتيكات التي يُفهم الآن أنها أثرت على انتخابات 2016".

"لقد أزلنا مؤخرًا خمسة حسابات يديرها أفراد متعددين للانخراط في سلوك غير صحيح ومنسق على Facebook حول انتخابات Alabama الخاصة ، ولا يزال تحقيقنا مستمرًا" وقال متحدث باسم Facebook Business Insider. "نحن نأخذ موقفا قويا ضد الأشخاص أو المنظمات التي تنشئ شبكات حسابات لتضليل الآخرين حول من هم أو ماذا يفعلون."

تم حظر المدير التنفيذي لـ New Knowledge ، جوناثان مورجان ، من Facebook بسبب أنشطته ، لكنه ادعى أن مشروع Alabama قد تم لإجراء الأبحاث وفهم كيفية عمل حملات التضليل.

وقال مورغان لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز: "كان الهدف من المشروع البحثي هو مساعدتنا في فهم كيفية عمل هذا النوع من الحملات". "لقد اعتقدنا أنه كان من المفيد العمل في سياق انتخابات حقيقية ، لكن تصميمها ليس له أي تأثير تقريبًا."

لدى حكومة الولايات المتحدة نفسها تاريخ طويل وموثق من الانخراط في الدعاية ونشر الأخبار المزيفة - من عقود طويلة برنامج CIA المعروف باسم Mockingbird إلى مساع أكثر حداثة.

في 2014، وكالة اسوشيتد برس ذكرت أنه خلال إدارة أوباما ، أنشأت الولايات المتحدة وتمولت شبكة إعلام اجتماعي كوبية تهدف إلى تقويض الحكومة الشيوعية في كوبا.

كانت ZunZuneo عبارة عن منصة تدوين مصغر تمولها الولايات المتحدة تشبه موقع Twitter الذي يستهدف الكوبيين. (الصورة: ويكيميديا ​​كومنز)

كانت ZunZuneo عبارة عن منصة تدوين مصغر تمولها الولايات المتحدة تشبه موقع Twitter الذي يستهدف الكوبيين. (الصورة: الوكالة الأمريكية للتنمية الدولية عبر ويكيميديا ​​كومنز)

"أسست الحكومة الأمريكية إنشاء" تويتر الكوبي "- شبكة اتصالات تهدف إلى تقويض الحكومة الشيوعية في كوبا ، التي بنيت مع شركات شل السرية وتمول من خلال البنوك الأجنبية ،" كتبت الأسوشيتد برس.

في الواقع ، ذكر تقرير ميزانية 2018-2019 لمكتب الإذاعة الكوبي الأمريكي صراحة أن خططه تشمل استخدام حسابات Facebook الكوبية "الأصلية" و "غير ذات العلامات التجارية" لنشر المحتوى الذي أنشأته الحكومة دون إعلام مستخدمي Facebook Facebook ، كما ذكرت ميامي نيو تايمز.

وذكر تقرير الميزانية:

في السنة المالية 2018 ، ينشئ OCB فرقًا رقمية على الجزيرة لإنشاء حسابات Facebook محلية لا تحمل علامات تجارية لنشر المعلومات. تزيد الصفحات الأصلية من فرص الظهور في ملفات أخبار مستخدمي Facebook الكوبيين. سيتم تكرار نفس الاستراتيجية على شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي الأخرى المفضلة.

مرة أخرى في 2011، ذكرت الجارديان أن "الجيش الأمريكي يطور برامج تتيح له التعامل سراً مع مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي باستخدام شخصيات مزيفة عبر الإنترنت للتأثير على محادثات الإنترنت ونشر الدعاية المؤيدة لأمريكا".

"منحت شركة في كاليفورنيا عقدًا مع القيادة المركزية للولايات المتحدة (Centcom) ، التي تشرف على العمليات المسلحة الأمريكية في الشرق الأوسط وآسيا الوسطى ، لتطوير ما يوصف بأنه" خدمة إدارة شخصية عبر الإنترنت "تسمح بجندي أمريكي واحد أو امرأة للسيطرة على ما يصل إلى 10 الهويات منفصلة مقرها في جميع أنحاء العالم "، وكتب الجارديان.

الأخبار المزيفة ، وحسابات التواصل الاجتماعي المزيفة ، والصحفيون المزيفون ليسوا بالأمر الجديد. إن الدعاية والسيطرة على المعلومات كانت وستظل دائمًا من المبادئ الأساسية للسياسة الخارجية والحرب.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
ياسمين رشيدي

ياسمين كاتبة وخريجة العلوم السياسية بالجامعة الوطنية بجاكرتا. وهي تغطي مجموعة متنوعة من المواضيع لحقيقة المواطن ، بما في ذلك منطقة آسيا والمحيط الهادئ ، والصراعات الدولية وقضايا حرية الصحافة. عملت ياسمين في وكالة شينخوا الإندونيسية و GeoStrategist سابقًا. تكتب من جاكرتا ، اندونيسيا.

    1

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANALYSIS FEATURED HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Thousands of Pro-Iran Fake Social Media Accounts Deleted for Following US Playbook

person holding a fake news newspaper
(Photo via Pxhere)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

Just weeks after Israeli-based fake social media accounts were deleted, pro-Iran accounts were also taken down in a purge on the never-ending war on fake news.

On Tuesday, prominent internet security firm FireEye revealed the details behind their investigation into a network of fake anti-Trump, pro-Iran social media accounts that in some cases impersonated real Americans.

But while eliminating fake news is vital, lost in the outrage over Russia’s interference in U.S.’ elections and lost in the outrage over fake Iranian accounts, is the fact that the United States plays the same game.

The FireEye Report

“In addition to utilizing fake American personas that espoused both progressive and conservative political stances, some accounts impersonated a handful of Republican political candidates that ran for House of Representatives seats in 2018. Personas in this network have also had material published in U.S. and Israeli media outlets, attempted to lobby journalists to cover specific topics, and appear to have orchestrated audio and video interviews with U.S. and UK-based individuals on political issues,” FireEye wrote in their report released on Tuesday.

In response, social media giants Facebook and Twitter deleted thousands of fraudulent accounts associated with anti-Trump and pro-Iran campaigns.

Facebook also announced on Tuesday that based on a tip from FireEye, it had removed 51 accounts, 36 pages, and seven groups from its social media platform as well as three accounts from the company’s Instagram service.

Earlier in May, Twitter removed 2,800 fake accounts originating from Iran, as Yoel Roth, head of Twitter’s site integrity announced in a tweet.

Extensive Fake Social Media Networks

In addition to posing as American politicians, FireEye discovered fake identities acting as American journalists who managed to convince several American mainstream media outlets to publish guest columns, blog posts and letters to the editor.

FireEye spotted two accounts impersonating Republican politicians Marla Livengood and Jineea Butler. Those accounts spread pro-Iran messages as well as general information about U.S politics by copying from the lawmakers’ real account.

FireEye reported:

For example, the account @livengood_marla impersonated Marla Livengood, a 2018 candidate for California’s 9th Congressional District, using a photograph of Livengood and a campaign banner for its profile and background pictures. The account began tweeting on Sept. 24, 2018, with its first tweet plagiarizing one from Livengood’s official account earlier that month:

Figure 2: Tweet by suspect account @livengood_marla, dated Sept. 24, 2018 (left); tweet by Livengood’s verified account, dated Sept. 1, 2018 (right)

Figure 2: Tweet by suspect account @livengood_marla, dated Sept. 24, 2018 (left); tweet by Livengood’s verified account, dated Sept. 1, 2018 (right) (Photo: FireEye)

Scott Winn, one of the leaders of Livengood’s campaign, told NBC News. “We were not aware of it. This seems to be kind of an ongoing problem in campaigns … We have people that are looking at what happened in the 2016 election and trying to duplicate that on a local level.”

The FireEye report also listed a number of individuals it identified as having published fake letters or columns in various U.S. news outlets.

FireEye stated:

We have thus far identified at least five suspicious personas that have had letters or other content published by legitimate news outlets. We surmise that additional personas exist, based on other investigatory leads.

“John Turner”: The John Turner persona has been active since at least 2015. Turner has claimed to be based, variously, in New York, NY, Seattle, WA, and Washington, DC. Turner described himself as a journalist in his Twitter profile, though has also claimed both to work at the Seattle Times and to be a student at Villanova University, claiming to be attending between 2015 and 2020. In addition to letters published in various news outlets, John Turner maintained a blog on The Times of Israel site in 2017 and 2018 and has written articles for Natural News Blogs. At least one of Turner’s letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

“Ed Sullivan”: The Ed Sullivan persona, which has on at least one occasion used the same headshot as that of John Turner, has had letters published in the Galveston County, Texas-based The Daily News, the New York Daily News, and the Los Angeles Times, including some letters identical in text to those authored by the “Jeremy Watte” persona (see below) published in the Texas-based outlet The Baytown Sun. Ed Sullivan has claimed his location to be, variously, Galveston and Newport News (Virginia).

“Mathew Obrien”: The Mathew Obrien persona, whose name has also been spelled “Matthew Obrien” and “Mathew O’Brien”, claimed in his Twitter bio to be a Newsday correspondent. The persona has had letters published in Galveston County’s The Daily News and the Athens, Texas-based Athens Daily Review; in those letters, his claimed locations were Galveston and Athens, respectively, while the persona’s Twitter account, @MathewObrien1, listed a location of New York, NY. At least one of Obrien’s letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

“Jeremy Watte”: Letters signed by the Jeremy Watte persona have been published in The Baytown Sunand the Seattle Times, where he claimed to be based in Baytown and Seattle, respectively. The texts of at least two letters signed by Jeremy Watte are identical to that in letters published in other newspapers under the name Ed Sullivan. At least one of his letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

“Isabelle Kingsly”: The Isabelle Kingsly persona claimed on her Twitter profile (@IsabelleKingsly) to be an “Iranian-American” based in Seattle, WA. Letters signed by Kingsly have appeared in The Baytown Sunand the Newport News Virginia local paper The Daily Press; in those letters, Kingsly’s location is listed as Galveston and Newport News, respectively. The @IsabelleKingsly Twitter account’s profile picture and other posted pictures were appropriated from a social media account of what appears to be a real individual with the same first name of Isabelle. At least one of Kingsly’s letters was promoted in a tweet by another account in the network.

What’s unknown is if the Iranian government was at all involved in the fake account scheme. The FireEye report did not mention who was the mastermind behind the fake social media network impersonating American journalists and politicians.

Who is FireEye?

The current CEO of FireEye is Kevin Mandia. According to Mandia’s bio on FireEye’s website, “Kevin joined FireEye as Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer in December 2013, when FireEye acquired Mandiant, the company he founded in 2004. Before Mandiant, Kevin was the Director of Computer Forensics at Foundstone (acquired by McAfee Corporation) from 2000 to 2003, and the Director of Information Security for Sytex (later acquired by Lockheed Martin) from 1998 to 2000.”

In a 2014 blog post, FireEye addressed rumors that the CIA was involved with the founding of FireEye – rumors which FireEye claimed are not true. FireEye was founded by Ashar Aziz in 2004 with venture capital provided by Sequoia Capital.

FireEye went on:

FireEye does not share or receive any content with any intelligence agencies that is not available to our entire customer base. We make available to all our customers FireEye Dynamic Threat Intelligence, a cloud-based solution that efficiently shares auto-generated threat intelligence to protect all our customers once a threat has been identified in one organization.

FireEye was never a CIA company and we’ve never provided unique intelligence to any government agencies. Our position as a global security company is to be independent of any government agencies and solely focused on protecting our customers around the world.

Five years later on May 1, 2019, the Associated Press reported that FireEye had entered into a  five-year contract with the United States Army Cyber Command (ARCCYBER) “to keep pace with today’s adversaries and evolving cyber threats.”

“Under the Cyberspace Operations Support task order, FireEye will provide professional services to assist with cyber threat intelligence operations, defensive cyber operations (DCO), cyberspace incident response, and cyberspace exercise support and training,” the Associated Press report said.

Facebook and Twitter Prone to Fake Accounts

Between January and March of this year, Facebook deleted 2.2 billion fake accounts, a new high for the company, according to the company’s third Community Standards Enforcement report. In comparison, Facebook deleted 1.2 billion fake accounts in the previous quarter.

Fake account statistics from Facebook’s report:

    • We estimated for every 10,000 times people viewed content on Facebook, 11 to 14 views contained content that violated our adult nudity and sexual activity policy.
    • We estimated for every 10,000 times people viewed content on Facebook, 25 views contained content that violated our violence and graphic content policy.
    • For fake accounts, we estimated that 5% of monthly active accounts are fake.

In May and June of 2018, Twitter deleted 70 million phony accounts, as the Washington Post reported.

In 2018, Juan Guzman, a researcher at UCL, told BBC that Twitter had neglected their bot problem for years.

“Until recently, Twitter did not think bots were a problem on its platform and did not lead a strong bot-detection effort.”

“It was only after Brexit and the 2016 election, where these bots became a liability and Twitter, as well as Facebook began taking them seriously.”

Facebook Removed Fake Israeli Accounts As Well

A few weeks ago, Facebook deleted hundreds of fraudulent Instagram and Facebook pages created by an Israeli company targeting elections in various African countries. Altogether, Facebook deleted 265 Facebook and Instagram accounts, Facebook Pages, Groups and events.

According to a statement from Facebook, about 2.8 million accounts followed one or more of these Pages, about 5,500 accounts joined at least one of these Groups and around 920 people followed one or more of these Instagram accounts.

Facebook also stated that the Israeli company Archimedes Group faked identities of local figures and organizations and posted allegedly leaked information about politicians. The main targets of the Archimedes Groups were countries in Africa such as Tunisia, Togo, Angola, Senegal, and Nigeria. But Archimedes group also operated in Latin America and Asia, according to Facebook’s press release.

Caption: Mali: Justice Survey on a Mysterious Gold Mine from Airbus to Mali Airbus group is quoted in a judicial investigation for scam on a Malian gold mine in balance sheet deposit, whose shareholders have been ruined. The investment project of the aerospace giant in this mine, LED by a close to Malian power, seemed intended to clear occult funds to facilitate the obtaining of military markets in the country. This is a very embarrassing new business…. (Photo: Facebook)

Caption: Mali: Justice Survey on a Mysterious Gold Mine from Airbus to Mali Airbus group is quoted in a judicial investigation for scam on a Malian gold mine in balance sheet deposit, whose shareholders have been ruined. The investment project of the aerospace giant in this mine, LED by a close to Malian power, seemed intended to clear occult funds to facilitate the obtaining of military markets in the country. This is a very embarrassing new business…. (Photo: Facebook)

Social media platforms have a major role in driving people to read misleading information. A study conducted by NYU and Stanford in 2017 found that more than 40 percent of visits to 65 hoax news website start from social media.

A study conducted by the Massachusets Institute of Technology (MIT) in 2018 discovered that fake news spreads faster than real news on Twitter. The MIT researchers also found that humans were behind the spread of fake news rather than bots. The study found that fake news was 70% more likely to be re-tweeted than real news.

“False news reached more people than the truth; the top 1% of false news cascades diffused to between 1000 and 100,000 people, whereas the truth rarely diffused to more than 1000 people. Falsehood also diffused faster than the truth. The degree of novelty and the emotional reactions of recipients may be responsible for the differences observed,” the report stated.

The Perils of Bias in Fake News Detection

However, as tech and security firms work more closely with the U.S. government, as FireEye is doing with ARCCYBER, and considering Facebook, Twitter and Google are American companies there is a clear potential for an American bias to factor into bot and fake news detection.

In a late 2017 hearing before the Senate Intelligence Committee, the issue of an American bias was raised.

An exchange between Senator Tom Cotton of Arkansas and Sean Edgett, the general counsel of Twitter was highlighted in an article by The Atlantic. Cotton pressed Edgett as two why Twitter had cut off the CIA’s access to a Twitter analytics service while it still allowed the Russian media outlet RT access.

The exchange as reported by The Atlantic:

“Do you see an equivalency between the Central Intelligence Agency and the Russian intelligence services?” Cotton asked.

“We’re not offering our service for surveillance to any government,” Edgett responded.

“So you will apply the same policy to our intelligence community that you’d apply to an adversary’s intelligence services?” Cotton asked again.

Cotton then turned to WikiLeaks, which the Intelligence Committee has designated as a nonstate hostile intelligence agency, asking why it had been operating “uninhibited” on Twitter.

“Is it bias to side with America over our adversaries?,” Cotton demanded.

“We’re trying to be unbiased around the world,” Edgett said. “We’re obviously an American company and care deeply about the issues we’re talking about today, but as it relates to WikiLeaks or other accounts like it, we make sure they are in compliance with our policies just like every other account.”

“As a global company, we have to apply our policies consistently,” Edgett replied.

When the largest tech and social media companies in the world are American owned, what does that mean for the supposedly unbiased process of bot detection? Is it possible that Facebook and Twitter will have a higher propensity to detect fake social media accounts of non-American actors or companies?

US Creates Fake Social Media Accounts Too

Facebook, did in fact, ban an American company in late 2018 for creating fake social media accounts around the Alabama Senate election. The New York Times broke the story when it obtained an internal memo from the American firm New Knowledge which detailed how it “experimented with many of the tactics now understood to have influenced the 2016 elections.”

“We’ve recently removed five accounts run by multiple individuals for engaging in coordinated inauthentic behavior on Facebook around the Alabama special election, and our investigation is ongoing,” a Facebook spokesperson told Business Insider. “We take a strong stand against people or organizations that create networks of accounts to mislead others about who they are or what they’re doing.”

New Knowledge CEO Jonathon Morgan was banned from Facebook for the activities, but he claimed the Alabama project was done to conduct research and understand how disinformation campaigns work.

“The research project was intended to help us understand how these kind of campaigns operated,” Morgan told the New York Times. “We thought it was useful to work in the context of a real election but design it to have almost no impact.”

The United States government itself has a long and well-documented history of engaging in propaganda and the spreading of fake news – from the decades-long CIA program known as Operation Mockingbird to more modern endeavors.

In 2014, The Associated Press reported that during the Obama administration the U.S. created and funded a Cuban social media network intended to undermine Cuba’s communist government.

ZunZuneo was a U.S.-funded microblogging platform similar to Twitter that targeted Cubans. (Photo: WikiMedia Commons)

ZunZuneo was a U.S.-funded microblogging platform similar to Twitter that targeted Cubans. (Photo: USAID via WikiMedia Commons)

“The U.S. government masterminded the creation of a “Cuban Twitter” — a communications network designed to undermine the communist government in Cuba, built with secret shell companies and financed through foreign banks,” wrote The Associated Press.

In fact, a 2018-2019 budget report for the U.S. Office of Cuba Broadcasting explicitly stated that its plans included using “native” and “non-branded” Cuban Facebook accounts to spread government-created content without informing Cuban Facebook users, as Miami New Times reported.

The budget report stated:

In FY 2018, OCB is establishing on island digital teams to create non-branded local Facebook accounts to disseminate information. Native pages increase the chances of appearing on Cuban Facebook users’ newsfeeds. The same strategy will be replicated on other preferred social media networks.

Back in 2011, the Guardian reported that “the US military is developing software that will let it secretly manipulate social media sites by using fake online personas to influence internet conversations and spread pro-American propaganda.”

“A Californian corporation has been awarded a contract with United States Central Command (Centcom), which oversees US armed operations in the Middle East and Central Asia, to develop what is described as an ‘online persona management service’ that will allow one US serviceman or woman to control up to 10 separate identities based all over the world,” The Guardian wrote.

Fake news, fake social media accounts, fake journalists are not new. Propaganda and control of information has always been and will always be a central tenet of foreign policy and warfare.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.