输入搜索

亚太

自杀儿童,难民被拘留多年,澳大利亚人抗议海上拘留中心

成千上万的人游遍澳大利亚的主要城市,呼吁结束该国对寻求庇护者的近海拘留。
成千上万的人游遍澳大利亚的主要城市,呼吁结束该国对寻求庇护者的近海拘留。 (图片来自YouTube)

澳大利亚没有逃脱困扰世界其他地区的难民危机,现在有关难民被困在困境多年的新报告引发了数千人抗议。

上周在悉尼和墨尔本 - 澳大利亚最大的城市 - 经过澳大利亚人的一系列示威后,业务陷入停滞。 成千上万的澳大利亚人正在集会反对联邦政府的海外拘留中心,这些中心的1500难民多于其他儿童(其中一些人急需医疗)。

什么是离岸拘留中心?

澳大利亚境外拘留中心是加工前进入澳大利亚的寻求庇护者的岛屿。 它们位于大洋洲的两个岛屿瑙鲁和马努斯。 妇女,儿童和家庭在瑙鲁举行,而单身男子则被关押在马努斯。

对于政府来说,这些中心是等待处理难民的地方,但对于难民,人权活动家和澳大利亚的抗议者来说,他们是极度痛苦的偏远岛屿。 一些难民在岛上度过了五年以上但尚未重新安置的事实导致许多人指控澳大利亚政府侵犯人权。

澳大利亚当时的总理陆克文随后在2013公布了离岸拘留中心 安置协议 与巴布亚新几内亚。 根据该协议,任何试图乘船抵达澳大利亚的人都将被禁止进入该国,而是先被送往马努斯或瑙鲁进行处理。 马努斯是巴布亚新几内亚的一部分。

由于这项政策,自那以来已有数千人被送往拘留中心。 虽然联合国难民署,人权组织甚至澳大利亚公民都要求废除这些中心,但澳大利亚政府迄今仍保留了这项政策。

Manus海上拘留中心。 资源; Wikimedia Commons

关于侵犯人权的指控

刚刚发布的新报告揭示了一些寻求庇护者健康状况的可怕条件,引发了最近一波抗议活动。 所有隶属关系的澳大利亚公民出来迫使政府采取行动并帮助难民。

根据庇护寻求者资源中心(ASRC)8月份的2018报告称 瑙鲁的儿童创伤 - 事实,根据瑙鲁法律,大多数寻求庇护者已被确定为难民,但多年来一直生活在这些岛屿上。

ASRC确定岛上的大多数儿童都患有创伤性戒断系统(TWS),ASRC称这种系统“最常见于儿童和青少年,临床特征是戏剧性的社交退缩,严重减少或无法行走,谈话,吃,喝,自我照顾或社交。“

ASRC在瑙鲁儿童中记录的一些症状包括:

  • 自杀意念; 自杀企图,在某些情况下是多次;
  • 幻觉; 社交退缩;
  • 反复表达绝望;
  • 持续的恐惧,包括拒绝离开家;
  • 惊恐发作;
  • 平坦的影响和/或无法说话;
  • 认知/发育障碍的出现。

“人们生活在被拘留之中,没有希望,没有未来,没有什么可以生存,没有什么可以争取,没有什么值得梦想,这是犯罪; 我们政府和政府面前的行为。 我们的政客一直很恶心,“吉米巴恩斯说 据“卫报”报道.

巴恩斯是澳大利亚的摇滚偶像,并担心这个国家正在成为世界舞台上的笑话。 “我在美国的朋友们,他们都在和特朗普一起对抗自己的恶魔,但他们都看起来并说:'你的人权记录比我们的还差。' 我们应该作为一个国家退缩并说; '我们能帮你什么吗?' 不要害怕,“他补充道。

在压力之后,澳大利亚总理斯科特莫里森派出一个小组从这些中心带来一些生病的孩子。 拍摄了11张,留下了52。 “这些数字正在下降,我们将继续努力,” 莫里森在悉尼告诉记者。 “我们刚刚开始这样做,就像一个负责任和富有同情心的政府应该做的那样,”他补充说。

但即使采取了一些小步骤来改善这种状况,澳大利亚政府仍然认为离岸拘留中心是必要的,因为它们不仅阻止寻求庇护者和难民的危险海上过境,而且还阻止人口贩运。

目前在中心的1600难民,Manus持有750男子和瑙鲁控股850男女老少。 只有少数儿童被允许离开这些中心寻求医疗照顾。 难民是否会被重新安置以及这些中心是否会被完全废除还有待观察。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Australia has not escaped the refugee crisis that has plagued the rest of the world and now new reports of refugees being held in limbo for years sparked thousands to protest.

Business came to a standstill last week in Sydney and Melbourne – Australia’s largest cities – following a series of demonstrations by Australians. Thousands of Australians were rallying against the federal government’s offshore detention centers, which hold more than 1500 refugees, including children (some of whom are in dire need of medical attention).

What are Offshore Detention Centers?

The Australian offshore detention centers are islands on which asylum seekers coming into Australia are held before processing. They are located on Nauru and Manus, both islands in Oceania. Women, children and families are held on Nauru while single men are held on Manus.

To the government, the centers are places to hold refugees awaiting processing, but to the refugees, human rights activists and the protestors in Australia, they are torturous remote islands with untold suffering. The fact that some of the refugees have spent more than five years on the island and are yet to be resettled has caused many to accuse the Australian government of human rights abuses.

The offshore detention centers were unveiled in 2013 by the then prime minister of Australia Kevin Rudd following a resettlement agreement with Papua New Guinea. According to the agreement, anyone trying to reach Australia by boat would be barred from entering the country and instead be sent to Manus or Nauru for processing first. Manus is part of Papua New Guinea.

As a result of the policy, thousands of people have been sent to the detention centers since. Though the United Nation Refugee Agency, human rights groups and even Australian citizens have called for the abolishment of the centers, the government of Australia has maintained the policy to date.

Manus Offshore Detention Center. Source; Wikimedia Commons

Allegations of Human Rights Abuse

New reports just released revealing the dire conditions of the health of some of the asylum seekers sparked the recent wave of protests. Australian citizens, of all affiliations, came out to force the government into action and to help the refugees.

According to an August 2018 report from the Asylum Seeker Resource Center (ASRC) called Child Trauma on Nauru-The Facts, most of the asylum seekers have been determined to be refugees under Nauruan law but still have been living on the islands for years.

ASRC determined most of the children on the island are suffering from Traumatic Withdrawal System (TWS) which ASRC says “is most commonly seen in children and young adolescents, and has the clinical features dramatic social withdrawal, with severe reduction or inability to walk, talk, eat, and drink, self-care or socialize.”

Some of the symptoms that ASRC has documented in children on Nauru include:

 

  • suicidal ideation; suicide attempts, in some cases multiple;
  • hallucinations; social withdrawal;
  • repeated expressions of hopelessness;
  • persistent fear, including refusal to leave the home;
  • panic attacks;
  • flat affect and/or inability to speak;
  • appearance of cognitive / developmental impairment.

 

“People are living in detention with no hope, with no future, nothing to live for, nothing to strive for, and nothing to dream about, it’s criminal; the behavior of our government and the government before it. Our politicians have been disgusting,” said Jimmy Barnes as reported by the Guardian.

Barnes is an Australian rock icon and was worried the country is becoming a joke on the world stage. “My friends in America, they’re all fighting their own demons with Trump, but they all look and say: ‘man your human rights record is worse than ours.’ We should stand back as a country and say; ‘how can we help?’ Not be afraid,” he added.

Following the pressure, Scott Morrison, the prime minister of Australia, sent a team to bring in some of the sick children from the centers. Eleven were taken, leaving behind about 52. “Those numbers are coming down and we will continue to work on that,” Morrison told reporters in Sydney. “We have just been getting on and doing it like a responsible and compassionate government should,” he added.

But even as small steps were taken to improve the situation, the Australian government still maintains that the offshore detention centers are necessary, as they discourage not only dangerous ocean crossings by asylum seekers and refugees, but also human trafficking.

There are 1600 refugees currently in the centers, with Manus holding 750 men and Nauru holding 850 men, women and children. Only a few children have been allowed to leave the centers in search for medical attention. It remains to be seen whether the refugees will be resettled and whether the centers will be abolished altogether.

 

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.