输入搜索

亚太

特朗普周日以更高的关税击中中国

唐纳德·J·特朗普总统和习近平主席 7月8,2017(照片:Shealah Craighead)
唐纳德·J·特朗普总统和习近平主席 7月8,2017(照片:Shealah Craighead)

“在这个阶段很难看到如何达成交易或至少达成一笔好交易。”

中国进口超过10亿美元的新关税于周日生效,这是世界两大经济体之间地缘政治权力斗争的急剧升级。

特朗普周五告诉记者说:“他们正在进行中。”他补充说,9月份与中国贸易谈判代表的即将面对面的谈判仍在“截至目前”。

特朗普说:“我们将赢得这场战斗。”

关税因扰乱全球经济而受到广泛批评。 批评者担心他们可能导致美国陷入衰退。

“经济扩张并非死于自然原因,”美国商会首席执行官托马斯·多诺霍(Thomas J. Donohue)在一份专栏文章中写道。 “华盛顿邮报”。 “他们经常因为失误和政策错误而死亡。 而我们的领导人现在可能犯的最大错误 - 让我们的经济面临更大的经济衰退风险 - 将引发进一步的不确定性。“

美国商会是该国最大的商业游说团体。 一个贸易集团联盟同样要求推迟关税,认为它们将影响即将到来的假日季节。 虽然特朗普没有说出任何具体的业务,但他似乎在一份贬低的推文中回应了主要行业团体的请求:

特朗普周五发布推文说:“经营不善和弱势公司正巧妙地将这些小额关税归咎于管理不善。” “谁能真的责怪他们这样做? 借口!”

分析师认为,不太可能在不久的将来达成一项决议。

“在这个阶段很难看到如何达成协议或至少达成一笔好交易,”资本经济的高级中国经济学家Julian Evans-Pritchard告诉他们 英国广播公司。 “自5月谈判破裂以来,双方的立场变得更加强硬,并且还出现了其他并发症,即华为禁令和香港抗议活动,这使得缩小差距变得更加困难。”

周日生效的15%关税套餐包括鞋类,服装和其他商品。 一群鞋类公司,包括Nike和Converse, 给特朗普写了一封信 周三要求他取消关税,并称他们“也意味着这些大规模的税收增加在数百万美国人在节日期间购买鞋子时”。

中国对美国产品征收了约XXUMX亿的关税,并计划增加这些产品,而特朗普已发誓将10月110st的现有关税从250%提高到25%30亿。 特朗普政府还计划在12月1上对15%的中国商品征收300%的税,包括笔记本电脑,玩具和手机。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Trump Hits China With More Tariffs On Sunday

President Donald J. Trump and President Xi Jinping | July 8, 2017 (Photo: Shealah Craighead)
President Donald J. Trump and President Xi Jinping | July 8, 2017 (Photo: Shealah Craighead)

“It’s difficult at this stage to see how there can be a deal or at least a good deal.”

New tariffs on more than $110 billion in Chinese imports took effect Sunday, a sharp escalation in a geopolitical power struggle between the world’s two largest economies.

“They’re on,” Trump told reporters on Friday, adding that upcoming face-to-face talks with Chinese trade negotiators in September are still happening “as of now.”

“We’re going to win the fight,” Trump said.

The tariffs have been widely criticized for disrupting the global economy. Critics fear they could lead the United States into recession.

“Economic expansions do not die of natural causes,” wrote Thomas J. Donohue, the chief executive of the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, in an op-ed for the Washington Post. “They often die because of missteps and policy mistakes. And the biggest mistake our leaders could make right now — putting our economy at greater risk of a downturn — is to stoke further uncertainty.”

The U.S. Chamber of Commerce is the largest business lobby in the country. A coalition of trade groups similarly pleaded to postpone the tariffs, arguing they will impact the coming holiday season. While Trump did not name any specific businesses, he seemed to respond to the pleas from major industry groups in a disparaging tweet:

“Badly run and weak companies are smartly blaming these small Tariffs instead of themselves for bad management,” Trump tweeted Friday. “And who can really blame them for doing that? Excuses!”

Analysts believe a resolution in the near future is unlikely.

“It’s difficult at this stage to see how there can be a deal or at least a good deal,” Julian Evans-Pritchard, senior China economist at Capital Economics, told BBC. “Since talks broke down back in May, the position of both sides has hardened and there have been other complications, namely the Huawei ban and Hong Kong protests, which have made it even more difficult to bridge the gap.”

The 15% tariff set that went into effect on Sunday covers footwear, clothes, and other goods. A group of footwear companies, including Nike and Converse, sent a letter to Trump on Wednesday asking him to cancel the tariffs, arguing they “will also mean these massive tax increases hit tens of millions of Americans when they purchase shoes during the holiday season”.

China has tariffs on $110 billion in US products and plans to increase them, while Trump has vowed to raise rates on $250 billion in existing tariffs from 25% to 30% on October 1st. The Trump administration also plans to impose 15% levies on $300 billion more in Chinese goods on December 15, including laptops, toys and phones.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.