输入搜索

中东

特朗普签署宣言承认以色列对戈兰高地的控制

特朗普总统在内塔尼亚胡的以色列博物馆。 耶路撒冷五月23,2017(图片来自美国大使馆特拉维夫,公共领域)
特朗普总统在内塔尼亚胡的以色列博物馆。 耶路撒冷五月23,2017(图片来自美国大使馆特拉维夫,公共领域)

“通过承认并合法化以色列吞并戈兰,华盛顿实际上邀请其他国际掠夺者抓住他们想要的东西。”

与长期持有的华盛顿和国际政策相反,总统唐纳德特朗普 签署了一份公告 星期一宣布美国承认以色列对戈兰高地的主权 - 在1967从叙利亚夺取的领土。

该声明是在总统发布上周四承认以色列对戈兰高地的所有权的意图之后发布的。

“在52年之后,现在是时候让美国充分认识到以色列对戈兰高地的主权,这对以色列国和地区稳定具有重要的战略和安全重要性!” 推文给了POTUS.

特朗普的声明对以色列总理本雅明内塔尼亚胡来说是一个福音,他在4月9即将举行的大选前面临贪污案的国内压力。 在回应特朗普的推文时,内塔尼亚胡感谢POTUS支持犹太州对戈兰高地的支持。

在中东之行中,国务卿迈克庞培支持特朗普努力将戈兰高地视为以色列的土地。 当被问及是否这样做是双重标准时,考虑到美国正在对俄罗斯实施吞并克里米亚的制裁 庞培回答说, “一点也不。 总统对戈兰高地的所作所为是认识到当地的现实以及保护以色列国家所必需的安全局势。 就这么简单。“

在另一次采访中,Pompeo说,在历史的这个时刻,上帝可能会帮助拯救来自伊朗的犹太人。

在耶路撒冷的采访中,基督教广播网的克里斯米切尔问庞培,“难道特朗普总统现在已经有了这样的时间,就像女王以斯帖一样,帮助拯救犹太人免受伊朗人的伤害威胁?“以斯帖是普珥节犹太节日的主要女主角,本周庆祝。

“作为基督徒,我当然相信这是可能的,”庞培说。

Pompeo补充说,当他看到“这个地方信仰的非凡历史以及我们政府为确保中东这个民主,这个犹太国家所做的工作”时,他“确信主在这里工作”。 ,遗骸。“

国际反应

特朗普支持以色列对戈兰高地的主张的决定引起了国际社会的谴责,到目前为止,没有任何其他国家会效仿的迹象。 国务卿前顾问理查德·哈斯(他目前担任有影响力的外交政策智库外交关系委员会主席)表示,他强烈不同意特朗普的声明,因为该决定违反了联合国安理会关于禁止战争吞并的决议。

联合国叙利亚问题特使Geir Pedersen回应了哈斯的声明,称联合国安理会明确表示戈兰高地属于叙利亚。

俄罗斯是叙利亚总统巴沙尔·阿萨德的坚定盟友,他表示,特朗普关于戈兰高地的言论是危险的,可能会使中东局势恶化,指责华盛顿实施双重标准,因为它对克里姆林宫实施了制裁。俄罗斯在2014吞并了克里米亚。

“这个想法并没有帮助中东解决方案的目标,反之亦然。 现在,它只是一个宣言。 让我们希望它能保持这种状态,“ 迪米特里佩斯科夫说克里姆林宫发言人

叙利亚谴责特朗普关于戈兰高地的政策。 据叙利亚外交部消息人士称,大马士革将试图用任何可用资源捕获它。

叙利亚始终坚持认为,除非犹太国家完全退出戈兰高地,否则不会与以色列达成和平协议。

特朗普戈兰声明的全球影响

特朗普的戈兰高地政策将产生多种全球影响,并可能在其他地方引发类似的承认或更多的土地争夺,例如,以色列对西岸的控制。 它可以向中国发出信息,以加强其对有争议的南中国海的影响力。

“最大的危险是全球和长期的危险。 通过承认并合法化以色列吞并戈兰,华盛顿实际上邀请其他国际掠夺者抓住他们想要的东西。 然后,按照这种逻辑,他们需要做的就是坚持这个领域足够长的时间,称之为“现实”,并要求其他国家通过合法化他们的土地来“认识现实”,“ 侯赛因伊比什说,总部设在华盛顿的阿拉伯海湾国家研究所的高级驻地学者。

最直接的是,许多专家认为,承认以色列对戈兰高地的主张将有助于推动内塔尼亚胡在四月9民意调查前夕的人气下降。 6月,2018,Benjamin Netanyahu的妻子Sara以及内塔尼亚胡办公室前副总干事Ezra Saidoff被指控欺诈和滥用权力。

特朗普的戈兰宣布的时机可能已经到了一个完美的时刻,让以色列人忘记了涉及连续第四个任期的内塔尼亚胡的腐败案件。

戈兰高地:简史

在赢得六日战争(1967)之后,以色列从叙利亚夺取了戈兰高地。 叙利亚试图在1973中重新夺回它,但未能这样做。 战争以休战结束,使以色列能够控制大部分领土。

在1981,以色列单方面抓住了戈兰高地,但国际社会从未承认犹太国家吞并土地的举动。

联合国安理会呼吁以色列决定对叙利亚戈兰高地的法律管辖权和行政管理无效和非法。 从那以后,联合国一直认为戈兰高地“以色列占领了”。

三年前,在巴拉克奥巴马总统任期内,华盛顿投票支持联合国安理会决议,对内塔尼亚胡关于以色列永远不会释放该领土的言论表示深切关注。

超过30的犹太人定居点位于戈兰高地,为20,000居民提供住宿。 尽管以色列否认,根据国际法,这些定居点被视为非法。

犹太定居者住在20,000叙利亚人附近,大部分来自阿拉伯德鲁兹人,他们在被吞并时没有离开戈兰高地。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Trump Signs Proclamation Recognizing Israel’s Control Over the Golan Heights

President Trump at the Israel Museum with Netanyahu. Jerusalem May 23, 2017 (photo via U.S. Embassy Tel Aviv, Public domain)
President Trump at the Israel Museum with Netanyahu. Jerusalem May 23, 2017 (photo via U.S. Embassy Tel Aviv, Public domain)

“By recognizing and legitimating Israel’s annexation of Golan, Washington is virtually inviting other international predators to seize what they want.”

In a reversal of long-held Washington and international policy, President Donald Trump signed a proclamation Monday announcing the U.S. acknowledges Israel’s sovereignty over the Golan Heights – territory seized from Syria in 1967.

The proclamation comes after the President tweeted his intention to recognize Israel’s ownership of the Golan Heights last Thursday.

“After 52 years it is time for the United States to fully recognize Israel’s Sovereignty over the Golan Heights, which is of critical strategic and security importance to the State of Israel and Regional Stability!” tweeted the POTUS.

Trump’s statement is a boon to Israel’s Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who is facing domestic pressure from a graft case ahead of an approaching election on April 9. In response to Trump’s tweet, Netanyahu thanked the POTUS for supporting the Jewish state over the Golan Heights.

While on a trip across the Middle East, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo has supported Trump’s effort to recognize the Golan Heights as Israeli land. When asked if doing so was a double standard considering the U.S. is imposing sanctions on Russia for annexing Crimea Pompeo replied, “Not at all. What the president did with the Golan Heights is recognize the reality on the ground and the security situation necessary for the protection of the Israeli state. It’s that simple.”

In another interview, Pompeo said it’s possible God raised Trump at this moment in history to help save Jewish people from Iran.

In the interview in Jerusalem, the Christian Broadcast Network’s Chris Mitchell asked Pompeo, “could it be that President Trump right now has been sort of raised for such a time as this, just like Queen Esther, to help save the Jewish people from the Iranian menace?” Esther is the main heroine of the Jewish holiday of Purim, which was celebrated this week.

“As a Christian, I certainly believe that’s possible,” Pompeo said.

Pompeo added that he is “confident that the Lord is at work here” when he sees the “remarkable history of the faith in this place and the work that our administration’s done to make sure that this democracy in the Middle East, that this Jewish state, remains.”

International Reaction

Trump’s decision to support Israel’s claim over the Golan Heights has drawn international condemnation and so far there are no signs any other country is going to follow suit. Richard Haass, a former advisor to the Secretary of State (he is currently chairing the influential foreign policy think tank Council on Foreign Relations), said he strongly disagreed with Trump’s announcement as the decision violates a U.N. Security Council resolution that prohibits annexation by war.

U.N. Special Envoy to Syria, Geir Pedersen, echoed Haass’ statement, saying that the U.N. Security Council clearly states that the Golan Heights belongs to Syria.

Russia, a staunch ally of Syria’s president Bashar Al-Assad, said that Trump’s statement on the Golan Heights is dangerous and it may worsen the situation in the Middle East, accusing Washington of imposing a double standard as it applied a sanction to the Kremlin after Russia annexed Crimea in 2014.

“The very idea is not helping the goals of the Middle East settlement, quite the other way round. Right now, it’s merely a declaration. Let’s hope it will stay this way,” said Dimitry Peskov, Kremlin spokesperson.

Syria condemned Trump’s policy regarding the Golan Heights. It is said that Damascus would try to capture it with any resources available, as a source in Syria’s Foreign Ministry said.

Syria always insists that there will be no peace agreements with Israel unless the Jewish nation entirely withdraws from the Golan Heights.

The Global Impact of  Trump’s Golan Statement

Trump’s Golan Heights policy will have multiple global effects and could trigger similar recognitions or more land grabs elsewhere, for example, Israel’s control over the West Bank. It could send a message to China to bolster its power over the contested South China Sea.

“The biggest danger is global and long-term. By recognizing and legitimating Israel’s annexation of Golan, Washington is virtually inviting other international predators to seize what they want. Then, by this logic, all they need to do is hold onto that territory for long enough to call it ‘reality’ and demand that other countries ‘recognize reality’ by legitimating their land grab,” said Hussein Ibish, a senior resident scholar at Washington-based the Arab Gulf States Institute.

Most immediately, many experts believe that the acknowledgment of Israel’s claim over the Golan Heights will help boost Netanyahu’s declining popularity on the eve of the April 9 poll. In June 2018, Benjamin Netanyahu’s wife, Sara, along with former deputy director general at Netanyahu’s office, Ezra Saidoff, was charged with fraud and abuse of power.

The timing of Trump’s Golan announcement might have arrived on the perfect moment to make Israelis forget about corruption cases implicating Netanyahu, who is seeking his fourth consecutive term in office.

The Golan Heights: A Brief History

Israel seized the Golan Heights from Syria after winning the Six Day War (1967). Syria tried to recapture it in 1973 but failed to do so. The war ended with a truce that enabled Israel to control the majority of the territory.

In 1981, Israel unilaterally grabbed the Golan Heights, but the international community never recognized the Jewish state’s move to annex the land.

The U.N. Security Council called Israel’s decision to claim legal jurisdiction and administration over Syria’s Golan Heights void and illegal. The U.N. has ever since considered the Golan Heights “Israeli occupied.”

Three years ago, during Barack Obama’s presidency, Washington voted to support a U.N. Security Council resolution expressing deep concern about Netanyahu’s statement that Israel would never release the territory.

More than 30 Jewish settlements are in the Golan Heights, housing 20,000 residents. Those settlements are deemed illegal according to international laws, despite Israel’s denial.

The Jewish settlers live with around  20,000 Syrians, mostly from Arab Druze, who did not leave the Golan Heights when it was annexed.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.