اكتب للبحث

حضاره تتجه-CULTURE

لن يعتذر ترامب عن إعلان Central Park Five Ad ، بعد ثلاثين عامًا

Donald Trump Sr. at #FITN in Nashua، NH، April 2015. الصورة: مايكل فايدون
Donald Trump Sr. at #FITN in Nashua، NH، April 2015. الصورة: مايكل فايدون

"لقد اعترفوا بذنبهم. إذا نظرت إلى [المدعية العامة السابقة] ليندا فيرستين ، نظرت إلى بعض المدعين العامين ، فهم يعتقدون أن المدينة لم يكن عليها أن تسوي هذه القضية ، لذلك سنتركها عند هذا الحد. "

رفض الرئيس ترامب الاعتذار يوم الثلاثاء عن الإعلان على الصفحة كاملة الذي نشره في 1989 يدعو إلى إعدام مراهقين متهمين أطلقوا عليهم اسم سنترال بارك فايف - والذين تم العثور عليهم في نهاية المطاف بريء وتم تبرئتهم في 2002. عاود الاهتمام العام في هذه القضية الظهور بمسلسلات الأفلام الجديدة على Netflix ، "عندما يروننا".

أصبحت سلسلة الدراما الجديدة ، التي أخرجتها آفا دوفيرناي وبطولة فيليسيتي هوفمان وجوشوا جاكسون وجون ليجيزمو ، الأكثر مشاهدة سلسلة على Netflix في الولايات المتحدة كل يوم منذ عرضه الأول في مايو 31 من هذا العام. وقد ساهم في النقاش الوطني الجاري حول التنميط العرقي والعنف ، معتبرا أن المراهقين الخمسة المتهمين كانوا أشخاصًا ملونين.

يوم الثلاثاء ، يونيو 18 ، كان ترامب يتحدث مع مراسلين خارج البيت الأبيض في طريقه إلى اجتماع إعادة انتخابه في أورلاندو. سأل أبريل ريان ، الصحفي ومراسل البيت الأبيض لشبكات الإذاعة الحضرية الأمريكية ، ترامب عما إذا كان سيعتذر للرجال عن الإعلان الذي عرضه في 1989 - عندما كان مواطناً خاصاً وأحد كبار رجال العقارات في ذلك الوقت.

الإعلان الذي يديره دونالد ترامب في 1989 بخصوص قضية Central Park Five.

ترامب تهرب أي ندم.

"لماذا تجلب ذلك الآن؟ إنه وقت ممتع لإثراء ذلك. "ترامب استجاب إلى ريان. "لديك أشخاص على جانبي ذلك. اعترفوا بالذنب. إذا نظرت إلى [المدعية العامة السابقة] ليندا فيرستين ، نظرت إلى بعض المدعين العامين ، فهم يعتقدون أن المدينة لم يكن عليها أن تسوي هذه القضية ، لذلك سنتركها عند هذا الحد. "

في 1989 ، انتزع ترامب الإعلان على الصفحة كاملة في أربع صحف في مدينة نيويورك ، رداً على الاغتصاب الوحشي وضرب عداء ببطء في سنترال بارك ، قبل عشرة أيام. بعد أكثر من عقد من الزمان في 2002 ، تمت تبرئة الرجال المتهمين بأدلة الحمض النووي واعتراف رجل آخر بالجريمة.

وكشف الرجال منذ ذلك الحين أنهم تعرضوا للإكراه على الاعتراف بالجريمة. أعطت مدينة نيويورك الرجال الخمسة ، الآن في منتصف 40s ، دفع تعويضات غير مشروعة بقيمة 41 $ في 2014.

ترامب ليس هو الشخص الوحيد الذي يتأثر بالمصلحة العامة التي ظهرت من جديد في هذه القضية.

فقدت ليندا فيرستين ، محامية مقاطعة مانهاتن التي قادت المحاكمة غير المشروعة في سنترال بارك فايف ، صفقة كتابها (ككاتب رواية جريمة) بسبب رد الفعل العكسي الناتج عن بث المسلسلات. وقد استقالت أيضًا من العديد من المجالس التي كانت تجلس عليها.

المدعي الرئيسي في قضية 1989 ، إليزابيث ليدرر ، أيضًا استقال الأسبوع الماضي من منصبها كمحاضر في كلية الحقوق بجامعة كولومبيا ، بسبب الدعاية المفاجئة الناتجة عن سلسلة Netflix الجديدة.

النظر في سلوكه العام منذ أن أصبح رئيسا ، فإنه ليس من المستغرب كيف يتفاعل ترامب مع هذا الموضوع العام جدا وفي الوقت المناسب مع سنترال بارك خمسة. لديه خياران واضحان للغاية: الاعتراف بخطأه في الحكم الذي تدعمه أدلة الحمض النووي لا أقل - إظهار قدرته على التعاطف والنمو والتواضع - أو تجنب المسؤولية عن خطأه ، من المفترض أن يبدو ثابتًا ورواقيًا ، في محاولة ل يبدو "قوي".

أي واحد من شأنه أن يعمل في الواقع لصالحه؟

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

Trump Won’t Apologize for Central Park Five Ad, Thirty Years Later

Donald Trump Sr. at #FITN in Nashua, NH, April 2015. Photo: Michael Vaedon
Donald Trump Sr. at #FITN in Nashua, NH, April 2015. Photo: Michael Vaedon

“They admitted their guilt. If you look at [former prosecutor] Linda Fairstein, you look at some of the prosecutors, they think that the city should never have settled that case, so we’ll leave it at that.”

President Trump refused to apologize on Tuesday for the full-page ad he ran in 1989 calling for the execution of accused teenagers dubbed the Central Park Five — who were eventually found innocent and exonerated in 2002. Public interest in the case has resurfaced with the new blockbuster miniseries on Netflix, “When They See Us”.

The new drama series, directed by Ava DuVernay and starring Felicity Huffman, Joshua Jackson, and John Leguizamo, has become the most watched series on Netflix in the U.S. every day since it premiered on May 31 of this year. It has contributed to the ongoing national debate on racial profiling and violence, considering all five accused teenagers were people of color.

On Tuesday, June 18, Trump was speaking with reporters outside the White House on his way to his reelection kickoff rally in Orlando. April Ryan, a journalist and White House correspondent for American Urban Radio Networks, asked Trump if he would apologize to the men for the ad he ran in 1989 — when he was a private citizen and a famous real-estate tycoon at the time.

The ad run by Donald Trump in 1989 regarding the Central Park Five case.

Trump evaded any remorse.

“Why do you bring that up now? It’s an interesting time to bring that up,” Trump responded to Ryan. “You have people on both sides of that. They admitted their guilt. If you look at [former prosecutor] Linda Fairstein, you look at some of the prosecutors, they think that the city should never have settled that case, so we’ll leave it at that.”

In 1989, Trump took out the full-page ad in four New York City newspapers, in response to the brutal rape and beating of a female jogger in Central Park, ten days prior. Over a decade later in 2002, the accused men were exonerated by DNA evidence and another man’s confession to the crime.

The men have since revealed that they were coerced by authorities into confessing to the crime. New York City gave the five men, now in their mid-40s, a $41 million wrongful-conviction payout in 2014.

Trump is not the only person to be affected by the newly resurfaced public interest in the case.

Linda Fairstein, the Manhattan district attorney who led the wrongful prosecution of the Central Park Five, lost her book deal (as a crime novelist) due to the backlash resulting from the airing of the miniseries. She has also resigned from several boards on which she used to sit.

The lead prosecutor on the 1989 case, Elizabeth Lederer, also resigned last week from her position as lecturer at Columbia Law School, due to the sudden publicity resulting from the new Netflix series.

Considering his general behavior since becoming president, it’s not surprising how Trump is reacting to this very public and timely subject with the Central Park Five. He has two very clear options: admit his error in judgment which is corroborated by DNA evidence no less — showing his capacity for compassion, growth, and humility — or avert responsibility for his error, presumably to appear consistent and stoic, in an attempt to appear “strong”.

Which one would actually work in his favor?

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.