输入搜索

公司文化 TRENDING文化

三十年后特朗普不会为中央公园五大广告道歉

唐纳德特朗普在新罕布什尔州纳舒厄的#FITN,4月2015。 照片:Michael Vaedon
唐纳德特朗普在新罕布什尔州纳舒厄的#FITN,4月2015。 照片:Michael Vaedon

“他们承认了自己有罪。 如果你看看[前检察官]琳达·费尔斯坦,你看一些检察官,他们认为这个城市永远不应该解决这个问题,所以我们会留下它。“

特朗普总统周二拒绝道歉,因为他在1989中播放的整版广告要求处决被称为中央公园五的被指控青少年 - 他们最终在2002被发现是无辜和无罪的。 公众对此案的兴趣重新浮现在Netflix上的新剧集“当他们看到我们”时。

由Ava DuVernay执导并由Felicity Huffman,Joshua Jackson和John Leguizamo主演的新剧集已成为 最受瞩目的 自今年5月31首播以来,Netflix每天都在美国推出。 它为正在进行的关于种族貌相和暴力的全国辩论做出了贡献,考虑到所有五名被指控的青少年都是有色人种。

在6月18星期二,特朗普在奥兰多举行的连任开球集会的路上与白宫以外的记者交谈。 美国城市无线电网络的记者兼白宫记者April Ryan问特朗普,他是否会为他在1989中竞选的广告道歉 - 当时他是一名私人公民和一位着名的房地产大亨。

唐纳德特朗普在1989关于中央公园五案的广告。

特朗普回避任何悔恨。

“你为什么现在提起这件事? 这是一个有趣的时间,特朗普 回应 到瑞恩 “你们两边都有人。 他们承认了自己有罪。 如果你看看[前检察官]琳达·费尔斯坦,你看一些检察官,他们认为这个城市永远不应该解决这个问题,所以我们会留下它。“

在1989,特朗普在纽约市的四家报纸上发布了整版广告,以回应十天前在中央公园遭到残酷强奸和殴打女性慢跑者的事件。 十多年后,在2002,被告人被DNA证据和另一名男子对罪行的认罪所证实无罪。

此后,这些人透露他们被当局强迫承认犯罪。 纽约市给40中期的五名男子带来了41的2014万元非法定罪赔偿金。

特朗普并不是唯一受到新案件公众利益影响的人。

领导不正当起诉中央公园五号的曼哈顿地区检察官琳达·费尔斯坦(Linda Fairstein)因迷你剧的播出而引起的反对,失去了她的书籍协议(作为一名犯罪小说家)。 她还辞去了她曾经坐过的几个董事会。

1989案件的首席检察官Elizabeth Lederer也是 辞职 由于新Netflix系列的突然宣传,上周她在哥伦比亚大学法学院担任讲师。

考虑到自从担任总统以来他的一般行为,特朗普如何对中央公园五号这个非常公开和及时的主题作出反应并不奇怪。 他有两个非常明确的选择:承认他在判断上的错误,这证明了DNA证据不少 - 显示出他的同情,成长和谦卑的能力 - 或者避免对他的错误负责,可能是为了表现出一致和坚忍,显得“强壮”。

哪一个实际上对他有利?

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Trump Won’t Apologize for Central Park Five Ad, Thirty Years Later

Donald Trump Sr. at #FITN in Nashua, NH, April 2015. Photo: Michael Vaedon
Donald Trump Sr. at #FITN in Nashua, NH, April 2015. Photo: Michael Vaedon

“They admitted their guilt. If you look at [former prosecutor] Linda Fairstein, you look at some of the prosecutors, they think that the city should never have settled that case, so we’ll leave it at that.”

President Trump refused to apologize on Tuesday for the full-page ad he ran in 1989 calling for the execution of accused teenagers dubbed the Central Park Five — who were eventually found innocent and exonerated in 2002. Public interest in the case has resurfaced with the new blockbuster miniseries on Netflix, “When They See Us”.

The new drama series, directed by Ava DuVernay and starring Felicity Huffman, Joshua Jackson, and John Leguizamo, has become the most watched series on Netflix in the U.S. every day since it premiered on May 31 of this year. It has contributed to the ongoing national debate on racial profiling and violence, considering all five accused teenagers were people of color.

On Tuesday, June 18, Trump was speaking with reporters outside the White House on his way to his reelection kickoff rally in Orlando. April Ryan, a journalist and White House correspondent for American Urban Radio Networks, asked Trump if he would apologize to the men for the ad he ran in 1989 — when he was a private citizen and a famous real-estate tycoon at the time.

The ad run by Donald Trump in 1989 regarding the Central Park Five case.

Trump evaded any remorse.

“Why do you bring that up now? It’s an interesting time to bring that up,” Trump responded to Ryan. “You have people on both sides of that. They admitted their guilt. If you look at [former prosecutor] Linda Fairstein, you look at some of the prosecutors, they think that the city should never have settled that case, so we’ll leave it at that.”

In 1989, Trump took out the full-page ad in four New York City newspapers, in response to the brutal rape and beating of a female jogger in Central Park, ten days prior. Over a decade later in 2002, the accused men were exonerated by DNA evidence and another man’s confession to the crime.

The men have since revealed that they were coerced by authorities into confessing to the crime. New York City gave the five men, now in their mid-40s, a $41 million wrongful-conviction payout in 2014.

Trump is not the only person to be affected by the newly resurfaced public interest in the case.

Linda Fairstein, the Manhattan district attorney who led the wrongful prosecution of the Central Park Five, lost her book deal (as a crime novelist) due to the backlash resulting from the airing of the miniseries. She has also resigned from several boards on which she used to sit.

The lead prosecutor on the 1989 case, Elizabeth Lederer, also resigned last week from her position as lecturer at Columbia Law School, due to the sudden publicity resulting from the new Netflix series.

Considering his general behavior since becoming president, it’s not surprising how Trump is reacting to this very public and timely subject with the Central Park Five. He has two very clear options: admit his error in judgment which is corroborated by DNA evidence no less — showing his capacity for compassion, growth, and humility — or avert responsibility for his error, presumably to appear consistent and stoic, in an attempt to appear “strong”.

Which one would actually work in his favor?

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.