输入搜索

反战 国家 TRENDING-反战 TRENDING国

特朗普的NASA希望太空部队保卫太空商业

双桅船。 56th战斗机联队指挥官Todd Canterbury将军在访问亚利桑那州卢克空军基地,10月12,19期间向总统唐纳德·J·特朗普介绍GBU-2018炸弹的能力。 在参观了F-35A Lightning II和其他军事设备的静态展示后,特朗普在与当前国防问题(包括网络安全,隐形技术和F-35开发)的圆桌讨论会上与内阁成员,国会议员和国防工业领导人会面。 (美国空军高级飞行员Alexander Cook的照片)
双桅船。 56th战斗机联队指挥官Todd Canterbury将军在访问亚利桑那州卢克空军基地,10月12,19期间向总统唐纳德·J·特朗普介绍GBU-2018炸弹的能力。 在参观了F-35A Lightning II和其他军事设备的静态展示后,特朗普在与当前国防问题(包括网络安全,隐形技术和F-35开发)的圆桌讨论会上与内阁成员,国会议员和国防工业领导人会面。 (美国空军高级飞行员Alexander Cook的照片)

“商业就在那里。 对商业的辩护不是。“

随着21世纪的太空竞赛形成势头,关于规范外层空间经济发展的法律框架的问题将产生巨大的后果。 最先进的国家和公司可以获得巨额私人利润 分析师估计 几十年内将成为一个价值数万亿美元的产业,这是特朗普的美国宇航局希望利用的愿景。

太空力量:保护和服务空间商业

美国国家航空航天局的内部草案“国家探索运动报告“从8月起,2018争辩说美国军方需要保护外空私人贸易。

这份来自MuckRock的FOIA要求获得的文件也表达了美国宇航局希望证明美国式新自由主义资本主义优于中国国家经济模式的愿望:“面对国家支持的竞争,美国公司的创新和效率......进行测试。 当我们努力帮助他们取得成功时,他们将加强自由市场资本主义的力量而不是其他 形式 经济组织。“

As Muckrock的Matthew Gauriglia 注意到,该文件没有解释美国公民如何从外空经济发展中受益,而只是需要为私营航天公司提供军事保护。 这些文件显示美国宇航局局长Jim Bridenstine解释说:“商业就在那里。 对商业的辩护不是。“

上周,参议员特德克鲁兹在声称发展特朗普的太空部队是必要的,以防止“太空海盗”被嘲笑。 “可能是太空海盗吞噬了你的肝脏,”参议员在MSNBC的克里斯海耶斯推特上发布了这篇文章 在所有 主持人称克鲁兹的太空力量防御是“我见过的最悲伤的推文”。

FOIA发现的文件并不是特朗普政府对空间商业化兴趣的第一个例子。 获得的文件 政治 根据特朗普政府官员的说法,今年2月,2017展示了一项内部计划,旨在进行“可能是美国有史以来规模最大,最公开的私有化努力”。 早期提出的策略明确区分了“旧空间”,指的是美国航空航天局的传统承包商,如波音和洛克希德马丁,而“新空间”,包括SpaceX和Blue Origin。

代表纽特金里奇解释了政府的理由 政治:

“特朗普政府的一个很好的部分是希望更具侵略性,冒险,有竞争力的企业家空间方法。 较小但仍然强大的派系代表着波音公司和昂贵的旧承包商,他们以最低的成果吸收了资金。 没有任何由官僚主导的NASA计划可以承担风险,接受失败并创建一个与创业方法相当的学习曲线。“

巴兹奥尔德林,第二个在月球上行走的人, 说过 美国应“以令人信服的倾向吸引其他国家”,以获得其主要竞争对手中国的优势。 他的儿子安迪也 相信 市场经济可以激发人类太空探索:

“我们可以利用更多的商业市场投资,为NASA希望通过人类探索做出更好的基础。 我们必须了解这两件事之间的关系。 健全的市场经济可以成为启动火星和人类居住火星任务的真正坚实基础。“

空间商业化与空间力量的批判

外空私有化的批评者批评强调集中财富积累。 社会主义杂志 雅各宾 蔑视将新自由主义资本主义外推到太空,称之为“涓滴天文学”,并争辩说,“我们可以争取银河民主,太空经济的收益分布广泛。”雅各宾的尼克莱文认为已经极端不平等地球将被自由放任的太空发展放大,并挑战在气候危机时使用化石燃料依赖火箭的太空旅行者的人道主义野心。

雅各宾的平等主义愿景已经有了法律先例 1967外层空间条约由90国家签署,拒绝各国通过占领主张天体主权的合法权利。

该条约宣布,“外层空间的探索和利用应为所有国家的利益和利益而进行,不论其经济或科学发展程度如何,并应成为全人类的一部分”。 在最后边界拥有无限资源的情况下,人类是否会选择通过合作或竞争来发展宇宙还有待观察。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANTI WAR NATIONAL TRENDING-ANTI-WAR TRENDING-NATIONAL

Trump’s NASA Wants Space Force to Defend Space Commerce

Brig. Gen. Todd Canterbury, 56th Fighter Wing commander briefs President Donald J. Trump about the capabilities of the GBU-12 bomb during his visit to Luke Air Force Base, Ariz., Oct. 19, 2018. After touring a static display of the F-35A Lightning II and other military equipment, Trump met with cabinet members, congressmen, and defense industry leaders in a roundtable discussion on current defense issues including cybersecurity, stealth technology, and F-35 development. (U.S. Air Force photo by Senior Airman Alexander Cook)
Brig. Gen. Todd Canterbury, 56th Fighter Wing commander briefs President Donald J. Trump about the capabilities of the GBU-12 bomb during his visit to Luke Air Force Base, Ariz., Oct. 19, 2018. After touring a static display of the F-35A Lightning II and other military equipment, Trump met with cabinet members, congressmen, and defense industry leaders in a roundtable discussion on current defense issues including cybersecurity, stealth technology, and F-35 development. (U.S. Air Force photo by Senior Airman Alexander Cook)

“The commerce is there. The defense of that commerce is not.”

As the 21st-century space race builds momentum, questions regarding the legal framework regulating economic development in outer space hold enormous consequences. The most advanced nations and corporations could reap massive private profits in what analysts estimate will be a multi-trillion dollar industry within decades, a vision Trump’s NASA hopes to capitalize on.

Space Force: To Protect and Serve Space Commerce

An internal draft of NASA’s “National Exploration Campaign Report” from August 2018 argues for the need of U.S. military to protect private commerce in outer space.

The document, obtained by a FOIA request from MuckRock, also expressed NASA’s desire to prove US-style neoliberal capitalism superior to the state-driven economic model of China: “Faced with state-backed competition, the innovation and efficiency of … U.S. companies will be tested. As we work to help enable their success, they will strengthen the power of free market capitalism over other forms of economic organization.”

As Muckrock’s Matthew Gauriglia notes, the document doesn’t explain how American citizens could benefit from outer space economic development, but only the need for providing military protection to private space corporations. The documents show NASA administrator Jim Bridenstine explaining, “The commerce is there. The defense of that commerce is not.”

Last week, Sen. Ted Cruz was mocked after he claimed developing Trump’s Space Force was necessary to protect from ‘space pirates’. “May space pirates devour your liver,” the senator tweeted to MSNBC’s Chris Hayes, after the All In host called Cruz’ Space Force defense the “saddest tweet I’ve ever seen.”

The FOIA-uncovered documents are not the first example of the Trump administration’s interest in space commercialization. Documents obtained by Politico in February 2017 showed an internal plan to conduct what “may be the biggest and most public privatization effort America has ever conducted,” according to Trump administration officials. The early proposed strategy made a clear distinction between “Old Space,” referring to NASA’s traditional contractors like Boeing and Lockheed Martin, versus “New Space,” consisting of SpaceX and Blue Origin.

Representative Newt Gingrich explained the administration’s rationale to Politico:

“A good part of the Trump administration would like a lot more aggressive, risk-taking, competitive entrepreneurial approach to space. A smaller but still powerful faction represents Boeing and the expensive old contractors who have soaked up money with minimum results. No NASA program dominated by bureaucrats could take the risks, accept the failures and create a learning curve comparable to an entrepreneurial approach.”

Buzz Aldrin, the second person to walk on the moon, said the U.S. should “attract other nations with compelling inclinations,” to gain the edge on China, its main competitor. His son Andy also believes market economics could invigorate human space exploration:

“We can leverage more investment in commercial markets to provide a better foundation for what NASA would like to do with human exploration. We have to understand what the relationship between those two things can be. Sound market economics can be a real strong foundation to launching a mission to Mars and human habitation to Mars.”

Criticism of Space Commercialization and Space Force

Detractors of outer-space privatization criticize the emphasis on concentrated wealth accumulation. The socialist magazine Jacobin scorns the extrapolation of neoliberal capitalism to space, calling it “trickle down astronomics,” and arguing, “we could fight for a galactic democracy, where the proceeds of the space economy are distributed widely.” Jacobin’s Nick Levine argues the already-extreme inequality on Earth would be amplified by laissez-faire space development, and challenges the humanitarian ambitions of space travelers who use fossil fuel dependent rockets at a time of climate crisis.

There is already legal precedent for Jacobin’s egalitarian vision, as the Outer Space Treaty of 1967, signed by over 90 countries, rejects the legal right of nations to claim sovereignty of celestial bodies through occupation.

“The exploration and use of outer space shall be carried out for the benefit and in the interests of all countries, irrespective of their degree of economic or scientific development, and shall be the province of all mankind,” the treaty declares. With boundless resources available in the final frontier, it remains to be seen if humankind will choose to develop the cosmos with cooperation or competition.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.