اكتب للبحث

الحرب ضد الشرق الأوسط

التصعيد الأمريكي الإيراني: إيران تزيد إنتاج اليورانيوم بينما تفكر الولايات المتحدة في قصف إيران

دونالد ترامب يتحدث مع وسائل الإعلام في حظيرة في مطار ميسا غيتواي في ميسا ، أريزونا. (الصورة: غيج سكيدمور). الرئيس الإيراني ، حسن روحاني ، يعقد مؤتمرا صحفيا بعد فوزه في الانتخابات الرئاسية 2017. (تصوير: محمود حسيني)
دونالد ترامب يتحدث مع وسائل الإعلام في حظيرة في مطار ميسا غيتواي في ميسا ، أريزونا. (الصورة: غيج سكيدمور). الرئيس الإيراني ، حسن روحاني ، يعقد مؤتمرا صحفيا بعد فوزه في الانتخابات الرئاسية 2017. (تصوير: محمود حسيني)

"وفقاً للمسؤولين ، منذ يوم الجمعة ، يجري البيت الأبيض مناقشات مستمرة بين كبار القادة العسكريين وممثلي البنتاغون ومستشاري الرئيس دونالد ترامب."

تصاعدت التوترات بين الولايات المتحدة وإيران يوم الاثنين ، حيث أعلن المتحدث باسم إيران في الوكالة الذرية الإيرانية أن إيران ستخسر حد مخزون اليورانيوم المتفق عليه في اتفاق 2015 النووي في الأيام 10 القادمة ، ويقال إن الولايات المتحدة تدرس توجيه ضربة عسكرية لإيران .

"سنذهب أبعد من ذلك السقف ، ليس هذا فحسب ، بل سنزيد الإنتاج أيضًا بشكل كبير. بعد أن تجاوزنا حد 300 kg ، ستزداد أيضًا سرعة إنتاج اليورانيوم المخصب وسرعته بمعدل أقل. " بهروز كمالالفندي.

وقال المتحدث إن الطريقة الوحيدة لاحترام إيران لاتفاقية اليورانيوم هي إذا تخطت الدول الأوروبية العقوبات الأمريكية ومنحت إيران إمكانية الوصول إلى النظام المالي العالمي.

هجوم ناقلات النفط

ويأتي هذا التطوير بعد أسبوع من الهجوم على ناقلات النفط في خليج عمان الذي زاد من حدة التوتر في المنطقة. البنتاغون الصور الصادرة في يوم الاثنين ، يزعم المسؤولون أنهم يدعمون تقييمهم بأن الحرس الثوري الإيراني مسؤول عن الهجمات ، وهو ما تنفيه إيران ، لكن المملكة المتحدة والسعودية وإسرائيل تدعمهما.

وقال بيان صادر عن القيادة المركزية الأمريكية يوم الاثنين "إيران مسؤولة عن الهجوم بناءً على أدلة الفيديو والموارد والكفاءة اللازمتين لإزالة الألغام البتر غير المنفجرة بسرعة".

ومع ذلك ، أعربت اليابان وألمانيا حليفتان للولايات المتحدة عن عدم اليقين فيما يتعلق بالهجوم وطلب المزيد من الأدلة قبل اتخاذ إجراءات حاسمة ، في حين أن النقاد الآخرين يعارضون الرواية الرسمية ويعتقدون أن الهجوم قد يكون ارتكبه أحد أعداء إيران العديدين كوسيلة لتبرير الحرب.

"يجب تطبيق أقصى درجات ضبط النفس والحكمة" قال رئيسة السياسة الخارجية للاتحاد الأوروبي ، فيديريكا موغيريني.

وقال يوتاكا كاتادا ، صاحب إحدى السفن المهاجمة ، إن طاقم السفينة شاهد "جسمًا تحلقي" قبل أن يصيبه انفجار ثانٍ ، وهو ما يتناقض مع التقارير التي تفيد بأن الهجمات نفذت من قبل الألغام البطيئة الملحقة بالسفينة.

"لا أعتقد أنه كانت هناك قنبلة موقوتة أو جسم مرتبط بجانب السفينة" كتادا قال يوم الجمعة.

"السؤال الذي يطرح نفسه هو لماذا سترتكب طهران مثل هذا الهجوم لأنه يضر فقط بإيران على الساحة العالمية ويساعد أعدائها ، في حين أن الشكوك مبررة أيضًا بسبب عدم موثوقية المخابرات [الأمريكية] ،" ماكس أبرامز ، أستاذ العلوم السياسية في جامعة شمال شرق ، وقال قناة الجزيرة، بالإشارة إلى المعلومات الخاطئة التي أدت إلى غزو الولايات المتحدة للعراق.

الأحلام المشتركة "جوين داير يكتب أن الهجمات يمكن أن تكون "علامة زائفة" أنشأتها الإمارات العربية المتحدة أو المملكة العربية السعودية ، حيث أن "جميع الناقلات الست التي هوجمت أبحرت من الموانئ في المملكة العربية السعودية أو الإمارات العربية المتحدة" ، وإنشاء نوع من الألغام المعنية يكاد يكون مستحيل بمجرد أن تكون السفينة جارية.

المحللين الذين يعتقدون أن إيران وراء الهجوم يجادلون بأن هجماتها وإعلان اليورانيوم يمكن أن يكون محاولة يائسة لاستخدام نفوذها المتبقي لتأكيد قوتها على تجارة الطاقة العالمية. في حين أن إيران لم تستطع هزيمة الولايات المتحدة في الحرب ، فإن هذه الهجمات يمكن أن تكون إشارة إلى عدم رغبة إيران في الخضوع للولايات المتحدة ، وقدرتها على إلحاق أضرار جسيمة في حالة نشوب حرب شاملة.

خطة عمل 2015 المشتركة الشاملة (JCPOA) ، والتي تسمى أيضًا الصفقة النووية الإيرانية ، قيدت البرنامج النووي الإيراني في مقابل تخفيف العقوبات وإعادة دمج البلاد في الاقتصاد العالمي. انسحب الرئيس ترامب من الصفقة العام الماضي وأعاد فرض عقوبات اقتصادية قاسية دمرت الاقتصاد الإيراني.

حتى وقت قريب ، امتثلت إيران لالتزامات اليورانيوم الخاصة بالاتفاقية ، لكن البلد يلقي باللوم على فشل إدارة ترامب في احترام الاتفاق النووي الدولي كسبب لانتهاك جانبها من الصفقة.

الولايات المتحدة تفكر في ضربة إيرانية

بينما يجادل البعض بأن الصراع على نطاق واسع مع إيران أمر غير محتمل لأنه سيكون له عواقب وخيمة على حلفاء الولايات المتحدة ويسبب الدمار في المنطقة ، جيروزاليم بوست ذكرت الاثنين أن المسؤولين الأمريكيين يفكرون في توجيه ضربة تكتيكية لمنشأة نووية إيرانية.

وفقا للمسؤولين ، منذ يوم الجمعة ، يجري البيت الأبيض مناقشات مستمرة بين كبار القادة العسكريين وممثلي البنتاغون ومستشاري الرئيس دونالد ترامب. وقال المسؤولون إن العمل العسكري قيد النظر سيكون قصفًا جويًا لمنشأة إيرانية مرتبطة ببرنامجها النووي.

وقال دبلوماسي غربي: "القصف سيكون هائلاً ولكنه سيقتصر على هدف محدد" جيروزاليم بوست. كما أشار تقرير الصحيفة إلى أن المصادر ذكرت أن الرئيس ترامب لا يريد تصعيد النزاع عسكريا ، لكنه يوافق على وزير الخارجية مايك بومبو ، الذي يدعي بشكل لا لبس فيه أن هجمات الناقلة الخليجية نفذتها إيران.

وقال السفير الإيراني لدى المملكة المتحدة حامد بايدينجاد سي ان ان يوم الاثنين ، لن تتراجع إيران إذا اتخذت الولايات المتحدة عملاً عسكريًا. "لسوء الحظ ، نحن متجهون نحو المواجهة" ، قال بايدينجاد.

أعلن البنتاجون يوم الإثنين أنه سيرسل جنود إضافيين من 1000 إلى المنطقة.

"استجابة لطلب من القيادة المركزية الأمريكية للحصول على قوات إضافية ، وبناءً على مشورة رئيس هيئة الأركان المشتركة وبالتشاور مع البيت الأبيض ، سمحت لقوات إضافية تقريبًا من 1,000 لأغراض دفاعية بالتعامل مع الهواء ، وقال باتريك شاناهان القائم بأعمال وزير الدفاع بالوكالة في بيان "تهديدات بحرية وتهديدات أرضية في الشرق الأوسط" بيان.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ANTI WAR MIDDLE EAST

US-Iran Escalation: Iran Increases Uranium Production as US Mulls Bombing Iran

Donald Trump speaking with the media at a hangar at Mesa Gateway Airport in Mesa, Arizona. (Photo: Gage Skidmore). Iranian President, Hassan Rouhani holding press conference after his victory at 2017 presidential election. (Photo: Mahmoud Hosseini)
Donald Trump speaking with the media at a hangar at Mesa Gateway Airport in Mesa, Arizona. (Photo: Gage Skidmore). Iranian President, Hassan Rouhani holding press conference after his victory at 2017 presidential election. (Photo: Mahmoud Hosseini)

“According to the officials, since Friday, the White House has been holding incessant discussions involving senior military commanders, Pentagon representatives and advisers to President Donald Trump.”

Tensions between the United States and Iran escalated on Monday, as Iran’s spokesman for the country’s atomic agency announced Iran will break the uranium stockpile limit agreed upon in the 2015 nuclear deal in the next 10 days and the U.S. is reportedly weighing a military strike on Iran.

“We will go further from that ceiling, not only that but we will also increase production drastically. After we pass the limit of 300 kg, the pace and the speed of enriched uranium production at the lower rate will also increase,” said Iran’s Atomic Energy Organization spokesman Behrouz Kamalvandi.

The spokesman said the only way Iran will honor its uranium agreement is if European nations override U.S. sanctions and give Iran access to the global financial system.

Oil Tankers Attacked

The development comes a week after an attack on oil tankers in the Gulf of Oman spiked tensions in the region. The Pentagon released photos on Monday that officials claim support their assessment that the Iranian Revolutionary Guard is responsible for the attacks, a claim Iran denies but is backed by the UK, Saudi Arabia, and Israel.

“Iran is responsible for the attack based on video evidence and the resources and proficiency needed to quickly remove the unexploded limpet mine,” said a statement by U.S. Central Command on Monday.

However, U.S. allies Japan and Germany expressed uncertainty regarding the attack and demand more evidence before taking conclusive action, while other critics dispute the official narrative and believe the attack could have been perpetrated by one of Iran’s numerous enemies as a means to justify war.

“The maximum restraint and wisdom should be applied,” said E.U. foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini.

Yutaka Katada, the owner of one of the attacked ships, said the vessel’s crew saw a “flying object” before being hit by a second blast, contradicting reports that the attacks were carried out by limpet mines attached to the ship.

“I do not think there was a time bomb or an object attached to the side of the ship,” Katada said on Friday.

“The question arises as to why Tehran would commit such an attack because it only harms Iran on the world stage and helps its enemies, while skepticism is also warranted due to the unreliability of [US] intelligence,” Max Abrahms, professor of political science at Northeastern University, told Al Jazeera, referencing the false information that led to the US’ 2003 invasion of Iraq.

Common Dreams’ Gwynne Dyer writes the attacks could be a ‘false flag’ set up by the UAE or Saudi Arabia, as “all six tankers that have been attacked sailed from ports in Saudi Arabia or the UAE,” and setting up the type of mines in question is almost impossible once a ship is underway.

Analysts who believe Iran is behind the attack argue its attacks and uranium announcement could be a desperate attempt to use its remaining leverage to assert power over the global energy trade. While Iran could not defeat the U.S. in war, the attacks could be a signal of Iran’s unwillingness to submit to the U.S., and its capacity to inflict severe damage in the event of all-out war.

The 2015 Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), also called the Iran nuclear deal, restricted Iran’s nuclear program in exchange for eased sanctions and the country’s reintegration into the global economy. President Trump withdrew from the deal last year and reimposed harsh economic sanctions that have devastated Iran’s economy.

Until recently Iran has complied with the agreement’s uranium commitments, but the country blames the Trump administration’s failure to honor the international nuclear deal as its reason for violating its side of the bargain.

US Considering an Iran Strike

While some argue full-scale conflict with Iran is unlikely because it would have devastating consequences on U.S. allies and wreak havoc on the region, the Jerusalem Post reported Monday that U.S. officials are considering a tactical strike on an Iranian nuclear facility.

“According to the officials, since Friday, the White House has been holding incessant discussions involving senior military commanders, Pentagon representatives and advisers to President Donald Trump. The military action under consideration would be an aerial bombardment of an Iranian facility linked to its nuclear program, the officials further claimed.

“The bombing will be massive but will be limited to a specific target,” said a Western diplomat, according to the Jerusalem Post. The Post’s report also noted that sources said President Trump did not want to escalate the conflict militarily, but is conceding to Secretary of State Mike Pompeo, who claims unequivocally that the Gulf tanker attacks were executed by Iran.

The Iranian ambassador to the United Kingdom Hamid Baeidinejad told CNN on Monday Iran will not back down if the U.S. takes military action. “Unfortunately we are headed towards confrontation,” said Baeidinejad.

The Pentagon announced on Monday it would send 1000 additional soldiers to the region.

“In response to a request from the U.S. Central Command for additional forces, and with the advice of the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff and in consultation with the White House, I have authorized approximately 1,000 additional troops for defensive purposes to address air, naval, and ground-based threats in the Middle East,” acting Defense Secretary Patrick Shanahan said in a statement.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.