输入搜索

国家

学生债务打破新纪录,近期毕业生更加努力奋斗

(图片来源)
(图片来源)

随着学生债务达到新的创纪录高位,数据还显示,最近的学生毕业生比过去的毕业生更难以偿还债务。

数量惊人的美国学生贷款债务人在进入劳动力市场几年后无法偿还贷款。 这一人口中越来越多的人将学生债务带入老年,许多人甚至在没有完全偿还债务的情况下死亡。 彭博的学生贷款证券化数据 美国联邦政府教育部确保的大部分美国学生贷款债务总额目前处于11月1.465的创纪录的2018万亿美元。

金融分析师表示,如果经济衰退严重,债务状况可能会对政府造成过重负担。 国际金融研究所的保罗德拉瓜迪亚警告布隆伯格经济衰退的潜在风险。

“超过90%的学生贷款由美国教育部担保,这意味着如果经济衰退导致青年失业率上升并引发大规模违约,这种或有负债可能会对美国政府预算造成负担,”Della Guardia说。

当上一次经济衰退在2009六月结束时,学生贷款额度为675十亿美元,但目前的债务水平现在是该数额的两倍。

2012给出的贷款违约率创下新高。 2012的贷款违约率高于经济衰退以来的任何其他年份。 这意味着,与在2012之前和之后获得贷款的其他人相比,在2012获得贷款的借款人发现偿还起来要困难得多,而不是说他们有相同的还款期限。 根据美国教育部的数据,这些学生贷款遭受了美国历史上第二高的违约率。

大多数2012借款人现在已经过24到33年龄,并且几乎已经解决了他们的职业生涯。 由于这类借款人在失业率居高不下时进入劳动力市场,因此很多人都很难找到工作或找到理想的职业,这就增加了违约的风险。

相当一部分学生贷款借款人成为负债累累的主要违约者。 美国教育部表示,超过2.7百万借款人的债务超过100,000,其中700,000几乎超过200,000。

进一步的调查显示,25到34的人在489第三季度的欠款高达2018亿,这个数字低于530年度至35年度借款人所欠的49亿。 从2018 9月编制的官方数据中可以明显看出,1.8万名贷款人现在已经过62及以上年龄,这意味着他们正在承担他们的债务负担。 这些1.8万人的欠款总额为62.5十亿美元,而50到61年龄的人则欠下213.6十亿美元。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Student Debt Breaks New Record, Recent Graduates Struggling Even More

(Image via Pixabay)
(Image via Pixabay)

As student debt hits new record-setting highs, data also reveals recent student graduates are struggling even more than past graduates to repay their debts.

A staggering number of US student loan debtors can’t repay their loans years after entering the labor market. A growing portion of this population is carrying its student debt into old age, and many even die without fully discharging their debts. Bloomberg’s student loan securitization data revealed total US student loan debt, most of which the federal government Department of Education secures, is now at a record-setting $1.465 trillion as of November 2018.

Financial analysts say the debt profile may become excessively burdensome to the government if a recession hits hard. Paul Della Guardia, of the Institute of International Finance, warned Bloomberg of the potential risks of a recession.

“Over 90% of student loans are guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Education, meaning that if a recession causes a rise in youth unemployment and triggers mass defaults, this contingent liability could prove burdensome for the U.S. government budget,” said Della Guardia.

When the last recession came to an end in June 2009, the student loan profile was $675 billion, but the current debt level is now double that amount.

The rate of default hit new highs with loans given in 2012. The rate of default for loans given in 2012 is higher than than any other year since the recession. What this means is that borrowers who secured loans in 2012 find it much more difficult to repay compared to others who got their loans before and after 2012, not minding that they have the same repayment period allotted to them all. Those student loans have suffered the second highest default rate in US history, according to the U.S Department of Education.

Most of the 2012 borrowers are now aged 24 to 33 years and just about settling down to their careers. Since this class of borrowers entered the labor market when unemployment was high, getting employed or finding a desired career proved difficult to many of them, raising the risks of defaults.

A sizable portion of student loan borrowers became major defaulters with their debt burdens. The US Department of Education said more than 2.7 million borrowers have debts exceeding $100,000 with nearly 700,000 of them owing more than $200,000.

Further investigations reveal that people aged 25 to 34 owe as much as $489 billion by the third quarter of 2018, an amount less than the $530 billion owed by borrowers aged 35 to 49 years. Also apparent from official data compiled in September 2018, is that about 1.8 million loan takers are now aged 62 and above, meaning they are taking their debt burden into their old age. These 1.8 million people owe a total of $62.5 billion, while those aged 50 to 61 years at the moment owe a combined $213.6 billion.

 

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.