输入搜索

同行新闻

沃尔玛在休斯敦努力实现教育私有化

(所有同行新闻文章均由公民真相的读者提交,并未反映CT的观点。同行新闻是意见,评论和新闻的混合。文章经过审查,必须符合基本准则,但CT不保证陈述的准确性提出或提出论点。我们很自豪地分享你的故事, 在这里分享你的.)

Walmart的继承人Waltons以支持学校选择而闻名; 他们在2016中承诺花钱 五年内包租$ 1十亿。 沃尔顿基金会的网站有一个 “公共包机启动补助金。”

https://www.waltonfamilyfoundation.org/grants/public-charter-startup-grants

斯图尔特沃尔顿是国家委员会的成员 教育公平的领导力(LEE),这是美国教育(TFA)的根深蒂固。 TFA拥有沃尔顿家庭基金会K-12教育计划 他们在他们的网站上公开谈论他们。

在2011中,LEE给了TFA $ 49.5百万美元的补助金 两年,然后给了他们另一个 $ 50百万美元 在2015三年。 它是2018,2015的三年赠款即将到期。

A 使用“宪章”进行简单搜索 在LEE的网站上的搜索工具中,他们及其成员对包机运动感兴趣。

L休斯顿独立学区(HISD)的受托人委员会投票通过一项政策,为区域内的包机避开 用经理人取代民主选举产生的官员 并投票决定与Teach for America续签合同。

两位受托人Anne Sung和Holly Maria Flynn Vilaseca在投票续签美国教学合同时有明显的利益冲突。 Sung弃权,但Vilaseca投了赞成票。 扰流警报: Vilaseca为Teach for America工作。

Walton家族向Vilaseca捐赠了总计$ 15,000。 请注意,在下面的屏幕截图中,这不是来自Waltons所在的基金会或任何组织 - 这直接来自Waltons。

来自Vilaseca的竞选财务报告

Vilaseca收到了LEE的$ 6,000。

Sung从LEE获得了9,500。

现在让我们来看看本地PAC如何与Waltons建立联系。

GPS行动PAC

GPS Action PAC部分由2017组成 休斯顿人为伟大的公立学校 (HGPS)有五名董事会成员。

根据GPS行动PAC 2017的财务报告,受托人Adams,Deigaard,Vilaseca和Sung各自获得了10,000。

Weekley Properties,捐赠了一个 总共$ 8,500给市长和市议会 根据2016-2017活动财务报告,他们是GPS行动PAC的捐助者。

David Weekley捐赠了$ 10K,Richard Weekley向PAC捐赠了$ 10K。

Weekleys还向琼斯捐赠了$ 5,000。

现在,这里的东西与沃尔玛的关系。

Alta Resources,LLC的首席执行官约瑟夫·格林伯格(Joseph G. Greenberg)正在上演 HGPS的董事会。 不过,他也是 休斯顿的美国教育委员会。 我们不只是在谈论为美国而教育以及他们与沃尔顿的联系吗? 格林伯格向GPS Action PAC捐赠了$ 10,000。

格林伯格还是YES Prep Schools的董事会成员,最近在3月2018, 从Walton Foundation收到$ 790,000.

知道YES Prep Schools的董事会中还有谁? 莱斯利史密斯牧师 谁是HGPS的董事会成员。

Sallyport Investments LLC总裁兼首席执行官Douglas L. Foshee也是HGPS的董事会成员。 不过,他也是行政人员 KIPP休斯顿的董事会 道格而不是道格拉斯。 Foshee捐赠了1,668作为GPS Action办公空间的实物捐赠。

沃尔顿家族被誉为其中之一 KIPP的5万美元捐赠者沃尔顿的Carrie Walton Penner正在上演 KIPP的董事会.

当然,我们已经看到KIPP在休斯顿地区的存在。

请记住,HGPS有五名董事会成员。 关注有多少人在受Waltons影响的板上运作? 三,答案是三。 五人中有三人在受Waltons影响的董事会上。

在HISD网站上,他们的报告列在他们的个人资料中,这是我收集我的初始信息,2016-2018活动财务报告,如下所示: http://www.houstonisd.org/Page/42019

但是,并非全部。 我用Google搜索了“HISD选举页面”,以便从2017选举中提取所有报告。 即使在那时,这份名单也没有Rhonda Skillern-Jones的报告: http://www.houstonisd.org/Page/162429

似乎这种对民主或道德的公然无视是不够的,HISD还有不到两周的时间投票决定哪些实体将对面临合作关系压力的十所黑人和棕色学校进行私有化。 这是踢球者:公众不知道哪些实体正在运行或董事会何时投票。

论暴风雨的丹尼尔斯和有问题的故事讲述者

标签:

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

(All Peer News articles are submitted by readers of Citizen Truth and do not reflect the views of CT. Peer News is a platform for regular people to share ideas and have their voice heard. Peer News is a mixture of opinion, commentary and news. Articles are reviewed and must meet basic guidelines but CT does not guarantee the accuracy of statements made or arguments presented. We are proud to share your stories, share yours here.)

The heirs of Walmart, the Waltons, are well known for supporting school choice; they committed in 2016 to spend $1 billion on charters over five years. The Walton Foundation website has a “public charter startup grant.”

https://www.waltonfamilyfoundation.org/grants/public-charter-startup-grants

Steuart Walton is on the national board of Leadership for Educational Equity(LEE), which is heavily entrenched with Teach for America (TFA). TFA has a Walton Family Foundation K-12 Education Program that they openly talk about on their website.

In 2011, LEE gave TFA a $49.5 million grant for two years, then gave them another $50 million grant in 2015 for three years. It’s 2018, and that three-year grant from 2015 is about to expire.

simple search using “charter” in the search tool on LEE’s website shows that the charter movement is of interest to them and their members.

Last week the board of trustees for the Houston Independent School District (HISD) voted on a policy to clear the way for in-district charters to avoid replacement of democratically elected officials with managers and voted to renew their contract with Teach for America.

Two trustees, Anne Sung and Holly Maria Flynn Vilaseca, had obvious conflicts of interest when voting to renew the Teach for America contract. Sung abstained her vote, but Vilaseca voted in favor. Spoiler alert: Vilaseca worked for Teach for America.

The Walton family donated a total of $15,000 to Vilaseca. Note in the screenshot below that this is not from the foundation or any of the organizations the Waltons are part of — this is directly from the Waltons.

From Vilaseca’s campaign finance report

Vilaseca received $6,000 from LEE.

Sung received $9,500 from LEE.

Now let’s take a look at a how a local PAC has some connections to the Waltons.

GPS Action PAC

The GPS Action PAC was formed in 2017 in part by Houstonians for Great Public Schools (HGPS) which has five board members.

Per a GPS Action PAC finance report from 2017, the trustees Adams, Deigaard, Vilaseca, and Sung each received $10,000.

Weekley Properties, which donated a total of $8,500 to the mayor and city council per 2016–2017 campaign finance reports, are donors for the GPS Action PAC.

David Weekley donated $10K, and Richard Weekley donated $10K to the PAC.

The Weekleys also donated $5,000 to Jones.

Now, here’s where things tie back to Wal-Mart.

Joseph G. Greenberg, Chief Executive Officer of Alta Resources, L.L.C, is on the board for HGPS. However, he is also on Houston’s Teach for America board. Weren’t we just talking about Teach for America and their ties to the Waltons? Greenberg donated $10,000 to GPS Action PAC.

Greenberg is also a board member of YES Prep Schools which recently, in March 2018, received $790,000 from the Walton Foundation.

Know who else is on the board of YES Prep Schools? Rev. Leslie Smith who is on the board of HGPS.

Douglas L. Foshee, president and chief executive officer of Sallyport Investments LLC, is also on the board for HGPS. However, he’s also on the executive board for KIPP Houston going by Doug instead of Douglas. Foshee donated $1,668 as an in-kind contribution for office space for GPS Action.

The Walton Family is honored as one of KIPP’s $5 million donors, and Carrie Walton Penner, a Walton, is on KIPP’s board.

Surely we’ve all already seen KIPP’s presence in the Houston area.

Remember, HGPS has five board members. Care to count how many of them operate on boards influenced by the Waltons? Three, the answer is three. Three out of the five are on boards that have been influenced by the Waltons.

On the HISD website, their reports are listed on their profile which is where I gathered my initial info, the 2016–2018 campaign finance reports, as seen here: http://www.houstonisd.org/Page/42019

However, that’s not all. I googled “HISD election page” to pull up all of their reports from the 2017 election. Even then, this list does not have Rhonda Skillern-Jones’ reports: http://www.houstonisd.org/Page/162429

As if this blatant disregard for democracy or ethics wasn’t enough, HISD has less than two weeks to vote on which entities will privatize the ten black and brown schools that are facing pressure for partnerships. Here’s the kicker: the public doesn’t know which entities are up for the running or when the board will vote.

 

On Stormy Daniels and Problematic Storytellers

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.