输入搜索

分析 TRENDING分析

谁是真正的全球威胁? 伊朗,朝鲜,俄罗斯,中国还是美国?

美国总统特朗普(博士,俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京(图片:Kremlin.ru),中国国家主席习近平(图片来源:Kremlin.ru),伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼(图片来源:Kremlin.ru)
美国总统特朗普(博士,俄罗斯总统弗拉基米尔·普京(图片:Kremlin.ru),中国国家主席习近平(图片来源:Kremlin.ru),伊朗总统哈桑·鲁哈尼(图片来源:Kremlin.ru)
(本文中表达的观点和观点是作者的观点和观点,并未反映公民真理的观点。)

“我所看到的是很多误解,并希望来自行政和情报界的冲突。 英特尔没有显示存在的威胁。 即便如此,它也不会对美国利益构成威胁。“ - Ruben Gallego(D-Ariz。)

根据新闻周期,美国要么指中国,朝鲜,伊朗,俄罗斯,要么是拉美“三位一体的暴政“(委内瑞拉,古巴和尼加拉瓜)是对美国安全最迫切和最生存的威胁。 目前,伊朗似乎是美国威胁列表中的佼佼者,但伊朗真的是一个威胁,就像美国的威胁一样吗?

中东部队部署

唐纳德特朗普总统决定在与伊朗紧张局势升级的情况下,向中东派遣新西兰军队增兵。 特朗普说,增派部队的部署旨在保护饱受战争蹂躏的地区的美国军人。

“我们希望在中东获得保护。 我们将派遣相对较少的军队,“ 特朗普告诉记者 星期五飞往日本之前,在白宫的草坪上。

但与此同时,特朗普表示他不希望与伊朗发生战争,并认为伊朗不希望与美国发生冲突。 “现在,我认为伊朗不想打架。 我当然不认为他们想和我们一起战斗。“

1,500的额外部队包括中东地区的工程师和战斗机中队,以加强美国的防御并扩大部署600备用人员,配备爱国者导弹, 正如五角大楼新闻发布会透露的那样 在周五。 本月早些时候,华盛顿派遣亚伯拉罕·林肯号航空母舰和一些B-52喷气式轰炸机前往中东,以对抗伊朗所谓的威胁。

在访问巴基斯坦期间,伊朗外交部长穆罕默德贾瓦德扎里夫强调他反对增加美国在中东的军事动员。 伊朗“将看到特朗普的终结,但他永远不会看到伊朗的终结,” 据法尔斯通讯社援引扎里夫的话说。

扎里夫与巴基斯坦总理伊姆兰汗,巴基斯坦总理穆罕默德和巴基斯坦军方总司令贾马尔巴杰瓦举行了会谈。

美伊紧张局势:简要概述

去年,特朗普退出伊朗核协议,即美国,伊朗,俄罗斯,中国,法国,英国和德国在2015签署的联合综合行动计划(JCPOA)。 在特朗普的统治下,美国声称该协议不足以迫使伊朗停止其核计划 负责监督伊朗遵守情况的机构 维持伊朗坚持协议。 后来特朗普重新对德黑兰实施制裁。

伊朗通过暂停对该协议的若干承诺进行报复,包括有关铀浓缩的法规。 伊斯兰国家威胁要加强铀浓缩能力。 伊朗官员表示,根据JCPOA协议的规定,浓缩铀水平仍将保持在3.67%。 然而, 将铀产量增加四倍将使伊朗超过极限 允许在JCPOA中。 伊朗已将7月7定为该条约签署国签署新协议的最后期限。

大约两周前,两架沙特油轮在阿拉伯联合酋长国(阿联酋)水域遭到袭击。 利雅得谴责这次袭击,称其为“破坏”并企图破坏其石油供应。 沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋都没有提到谁是这次袭击的幕后策划者。 但华盛顿声称伊朗应该责怪沙特油轮突袭阿联酋海岸, 正如五角大楼高级官员所说。 然而,五角大楼官员再次没有提供任何证据支持他的说法,而是说结论是基于情报数据。

伊朗是否像美国政府一样危险?

虽然特朗普的强硬助手,如国家安全顾问约翰博尔顿,坚称伊朗对美国国家安全构成了具体威胁,但并非所有的政治家和分析家都同意特朗普政府的评估。 一些人认为,博尔顿已经挑起特朗普采取军事行动,反对据称但无法支持的伊朗威胁。

国会议员Ruben Gallego(亚利桑那州)就是这样一位政治家,认为美国情报部门夸大了伊朗所谓的威胁,这是他根据情报文件得出的结论。

“我所看到的是很多误解,并希望来自行政和情报界的冲突。 英特尔没有显示存在的威胁。 即便如此,它也不会对美国利益构成威胁,“ 哈佛大学毕业生立法者告诉华盛顿邮报 周六通过电话。 加勒戈同时也是众议院军事委员会的成员,他将博尔顿和参议员汤姆·科克(R-Ark。)列为有关伊朗威胁的误导性信息的幕后推手。

英国将军克里斯托弗·吉卡(Christopher Ghika)也冷落了华盛顿关于伊朗在中东地区日益增长的威胁的说法 卫报报道。 “不,在伊拉克和叙利亚,伊朗支持的部队没有增加威胁,”Ghika在与五角大楼的视频会议上说。

中国,朝鲜和俄罗斯也可能存在威胁

除伊朗外,美国情报和外交政策分析人士指出,中国作为世界强国的实力日益增强,朝鲜无核化和俄罗斯干涉美国选举成为最大威胁。

自冷战结束以来,美国更多地关注恐怖主义和气候变化等问题,地缘政治咨询公司基辛格协会首席执行官Jami Miscik, 10月2018在财富最强大的女性峰会上说。 但是,俄罗斯在2016举行的美国总统大选中的角色以及与中国的贸易争端已经将美国的重点放在了美国国家安全威胁上。

Miscik建议,在核协议陷入僵局后,由于伊朗领导人越来越受欢迎,伊朗可能会成为一种威胁。

“我不认为[西方]公司在那里跑的方式是伊朗的温和派希望他们愿意的。 在国内,温和派的受欢迎程度有所下降,“Miscik补充道。

根据国家情报总监丹·科茨的说法,近距离的俄中合作可能会在间谍和网络攻击方面危及美国的国家安全。

“中国和俄罗斯构成了最大的间谍和网络攻击威胁。 自1950中期以来,中国和俄罗斯比任何时候都更加一致,并且由于他们的一些利益和威胁观念趋同,这种关系在未来一年可能会加强,“ 高士在年度报告中说 全球威胁评估 去年1月。

在谈到伊朗问题时,报告补充说,尽管华盛顿退出,伊朗仍然遵守了核协议。 特朗普表示,他的代理机构并不认为伊朗参与任何有关生产核武库所需的情报活动。

虽然情报评估认为朝鲜不可能放弃核计划,但核武器对金正恩的政权生存至关重要。 “我们继续评估朝鲜不太可能放弃其所有核武器和生产能力,即使它寻求谈判部分无核化步骤以获得关键的美国和国际让步,” 高士补充说。

特朗普与金正日会面两次(新加坡在新加坡的2018和河内去年2月),但由于两位领导人对该术语的不同解释,他们未能达成无核化协议。

美国正在成长为全球威胁

虽然美国情报机构的年度威胁评估将基地组织和伊斯兰国以及中国和俄罗斯列为美国的头号威胁,但是 皮尤研究中心 显示出将美国视为威胁的全球人口比例惊人增加。

根据22自2013以来进行的调查,2018 Pew民意调查发现,“在特朗普担任总统的第一年期间,被调查国家的45%中位数将美国的权力和影响力视为主要威胁,高于同一国家的38%在巴拉克奥巴马执政期间,2017和25中的2013和XNUMX%。“

2018皮尤民意调查是在2017 Pew民意调查之后进行的,该民意调查发现,在向38国家询问全球八大威胁之后,美国的权力和影响力被视为比中国或俄罗斯的权力和影响更大的威胁。

ISIS和气候变化被视为全球最大的威胁之一

根据皮尤的2018调查,尽管美国的负面看法越来越多,但美国仍被视为首选的全球主导力量。

图表显示,在许多国家,大多数人更喜欢美国的领导。

尽管美国的有利观点在许多国家盛行,但并非每个国家都持有这种有利的观点。

地图显示美国的有利观点在许多国家盛行

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 拉里斯托特 八月8,2019

    非常翔实!

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ANALYSIS TRENDING-ANALYSIS

Who is the Real Global Threat? Iran, North Korea, Russia, China or the US?

U.S. President Trump (Ph, Russian President Vladamir Putin (Photo: Kremlin.ru), Chinese President Xi Jinping (Photo: Kremlin.ru), President of Iran Hassan Rouhani (Photo: Kremlin.ru)
U.S. President Trump (Ph, Russian President Vladamir Putin (Photo: Kremlin.ru), Chinese President Xi Jinping (Photo: Kremlin.ru), President of Iran Hassan Rouhani (Photo: Kremlin.ru)
(The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.)

“What I saw was a lot of misinterpretation and wanting conflict coming from the administration and intelligence community. Intel doesn’t show existential threats. Even what it shows, it doesn’t show threats to U.S. interests.”—Ruben Gallego (D-Ariz.)

Depending on the news cycle, the United States either refers to China, North Korea, Iran, Russia or the Latin American “Troika of Tyranny” (Venezuela, Cuba and Nicaragua) as the most imminent and existential threat to U.S. security. Currently, Iran appears to be sitting at the top of the list of threats to the U.S., but is Iran really as great a threat as the U.S. makes it out to be?

Middle East Troop Deployment

President Donald Trump has decided to send around 1,500 additional troops to the Middle East amid escalating tension with Iran. Trump said the deployment of extra troops is aimed at protecting American military personnel in the war-torn region.

“We want to have protection in the Middle East. We’re going to be sending a relatively small number of troops,” Trump told reporters on the White House lawn before flying to Japan, Friday.

But at the same time, Trump says he does not expect a war with Iran and believes that Iran does not want a conflict with the U.S. either. “Right now, I don’t think Iran wants to fight. And I certainly don’t think they want to fight with us.”

The 1,500 additional troops included engineers and a fighter aircraft squadron in the Middle East to boost U.S. defense and expand the deployment of around 600 stand-by personnel equipped with Patriot missiles, as a Pentagon news briefing revealed on Friday. Earlier this month, Washington sent the USS Abraham Lincoln carrier and some B-52 jet bombers to the Middle East to counter an alleged Iranian threat.

During a visit to Pakistan, Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif stressed his objection to the increase in the U.S. military mobilization in the Middle East. Iran “will see the end of Trump, but he will never see the end of Iran,” Zarif said as Fars news agency quoted.

Zarif held talks with Pakistan’s Prime Minister Imran Khan, his Pakistani counterpart Shah Mehmood Qureshi and Pakistan’s military chief General Qamar Javed Bajwa.

US-Iran Tension: A Brief Overview

Last year, Trump exited from the Iran nuclear deal, known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), which was signed in 2015 by the U.S., Iran, Russia, China, France, the U.K. and Germany. Under Trump, the U.S. claimed that the agreement was not adequate in forcing Iran to halt its nuclear programs, though the agency responsible for monitoring Iran’s compliance maintained Iran had adhered to the agreement. Trump then later re-imposed sanctions on Tehran.

Iran retaliated by suspending several commitments in the deal, including regulations regarding uranium enrichment. The Islamic country has threatened to bolster uranium enrichment capacity. Iranian officials said the enriched uranium level will still stand at 3.67%, as stipulated in the JCPOA deal. However, increasing uranium production by fourfold will make Iran exceed the limit allowed in the JCPOA. Iran has set July 7 as a deadline for the treaty’s signatories to produce a new agreement.

Around two weeks ago, two Saudi tankers were attacked in United Arab Emirates’ (UAE) waters. Riyadh condemned the raid, calling it “sabotage” and an attempt to damage its oil supply. Both Saudi Arabia and the UAE have yet to mention who is the believed mastermind behind the attack. But Washington claimed that Iran was to blame for the Saudi tanker raid off the UAE coast, as a senior Pentagon official said. However, the Pentagon official again offered little evidence to back his claims, saying instead that the conclusions were based on intelligence data.

Is Iran as Dangerous as the U.S. Government Thinks?

While Trump’s hawkish aides, such as National Security Adviser John Bolton, insist Iran poses a concrete threat to U.S. national security, not all politicians and analysts agree with the Trump administration’s assessment. Some believe Bolton has provoked Trump into taking military action against an alleged, but unsupported Iranian threat.

Congressman Ruben Gallego (D.-Ariz.) is one such politician that believes U.S. intelligence has exaggerated Iran’s so-called threat, a conclusion based on intelligence documents he read.

“What I saw was a lot of misinterpretation and wanting conflict coming from the administration and intelligence community. Intel doesn’t show existential threats. Even what it shows, it doesn’t show threats to U.S. interests,” the Harvard graduate lawmaker told the Washington Post by phone, on Saturday. Gallego, who is also a member of the House Armed Services Committee, cited Bolton and Senator Tom Cotton (R-Ark.) as among those behind the misleading information about the Iranian threat.

Top British General Christopher Ghika also snubbed Washington’s claims about Iran’s growing threat in the Middle East, as The Guardian reported. “No, there’s been no increased threat from Iranian-backed forces in Iraq and Syria,” said Ghika in a video conference with the Pentagon.

China, North Korea and Russia Also Possible Threats 

In addition to Iran, U.S. intelligence and foreign policy analysts point to China’s growing strength as a world power, the failed denuclearization of North Korea and Russia’s interference in U.S. elections as top threats.

The U.S. has focused more on issues such as terrorism and climate change since the end of the Cold War, Jami Miscik, CEO of geopolitical consulting firm Kissinger Associates, said at Fortune’s Most Powerful Women Summit in October 2018. But, Russia’s role in the U.S. presidential election in 2016 and the trade dispute with China have shifted the U.S. focus by bumping both countries further up the list of U.S. national security threats.

Iran could become more of a threat due to the rising popularity of more extreme Iranian leaders after the nuclear deal faced a stalemate, Miscik suggested.

“I don’t think [Western] companies ran in there the way moderates in Iran hoped they would. Domestically, the moderates have declined in popularity,” Miscik added.

According to the Director of National Intelligence Dan Coats, a closer Russia-China cooperation could endanger the U.S. national security in terms of espionage and cyber attacks.

“China and Russia pose the greatest espionage and cyber attack threats. China and Russia are more aligned than at any point since the mid-1950s, and the relationship is likely to strengthen in the coming year as some of their interests and threat perceptions converge,” said Coats in the annual report Worldwide Threat Assessment last January.

Speaking on Iran, the report added that Iran still complied with the nuclear deal despite Washington’s withdrawal. Coats stated that his agency did not believe that Iran was engaged in any activities the intelligence judged necessary to produce nuclear arsenals, an assessment Trump snubbed.

While the intelligence assessment saw it as impossible for North Korea to give up its nuclear program, as nuclear weapons are vital to Kim Jong-Un’s regime survival. “We continue to assess that North Korea is unlikely to give up all of its nuclear weapons and production capabilities, even as it seeks to negotiate partial denuclearization steps to obtain key U.S. and international concessions,” Coats added.

Trump and Kim met twice (in Singapore in 2018 and in Hanoi last February), but they failed to reach an agreement on denuclearization due to both leaders’ different interpretation of that term.

US as Growing Global Threat

While the U.S. intelligence agencies’ annual threat assessment listed Al-Qaeda and ISIS, as well as China and Russia, as the U.S.’s number one threat, research conducted by the Pew Research Center shows an alarming increase in the percentage of the global population that sees the U.S. as a threat.

Based on surveys conducted in 22 nations since 2013, a 2018 Pew poll found that “a median of 45% across the surveyed nations see U.S. power and influence as a major threat, up from 38% in the same countries during Trump’s first year as president in 2017 and 25% in 2013, during the administration of Barack Obama.”

The 2018 Pew poll followed a 2017 Pew poll which found that after asking 38 countries about eight global threats United States power and influence was seen as a greater threat than Chinese or Russian power and influence.

ISIS and climate change seen as among top threats around the world

 

Despite the growing negative view of the United States, the U.S. was still seen as the preferred leading global power, according to Pew’s 2018 poll.

Chart showing that in many countries, large majorities prefer U.S. leadership.

And while favorable views of the U.S. prevailed in many countries, not every country held such favorable views.

Map showing that favorable views of U.S. prevail in many countries

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout August 8, 2019

    Very informative!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.