输入搜索

国家

特朗普的16十亿农场援助是否足以抵消美中贸易战?

凯特·爱德华兹(Kate Edwards)一直在爱荷华州约翰逊县(Johnson County)的一个7英亩的蔬菜农场管理Wild Woods Farm七年全职工作。 与这些辣椒一起,她种植了30种类的150种类的蔬菜。 (美国农业部照片:Preston Keres)
凯特·爱德华兹(Kate Edwards)一直在爱荷华州约翰逊县(Johnson County)的一个7英亩的蔬菜农场管理Wild Woods Farm七年全职工作。 与这些辣椒一起,她种植了30种类的150种类的蔬菜。 (美国农业部照片:Preston Keres)

“它会弥补损失吗? 没有。但是,为了让很多农民能够生存,这足以让他们生存下来。“

特朗普总统宣布了一项16亿美元的农业援助计划,以补偿美国周四与中国发生的贸易战造成的损失。 批评者担心财政援助不足以帮助陷入困境的农业工人,因为去年的16亿美元一揽子计划未能阻止破产并减轻美国农民的困境。

美中贸易战

在特朗普总统对25亿美元的中国商品征收250关税后,北京对大豆等美国农产品征收关税。 在贸易战开始之前,农民一直在苦苦挣扎,遭受历史性洪水,债务和商品价格下跌的困扰。 农业部长Sonny Perdue 发言 在特朗普宣布之前,承认贸易战给美国农民带来的困难,同时赞扬了总统的回应。

“我们所有人都希望重新签署或签署公平贸易协议,”Perdue说。 “我不记得总统更关心农民的福祉。 我们正在努力评估贸易损失,这个方案确保农民不会首当其冲。“

新的一揽子计划与去年的12十亿美元的财政援助不同,后者被批评为不同的作物提供不成比例的税率,例如每蒲式耳大豆的援助数额为1.65,而每蒲式耳的玉米仅为1美分。 相反,无论作物如何,这个包都将以取决于英亩的固定费率分配。

“这对农民的支持将由财政部从中国特朗普获得的数十亿美元支付 说过。 但是,尽管总统声称,中国并不支付美国对其进口产品征收的关税,进口商也会这样做,而且这些产品会以更高的产品价格转嫁给消费者。

“它会弥补损失吗? 没有。但是,为了让很多农民能够生存,这足以让他们生存下去,“生猪农民和全国猪肉生产者委员会前主席兰迪斯普龙克告诉他们。 “华盛顿邮报”.

美国农民感到沮丧

谈到与 Vox的AlexiaFernándezCampbell明尼苏达州的猪肉和大豆农民Shayne Isane说:“美国农民的耐心已经非常薄弱。 如果能够达成贸易协议,那么这一切都是值得的,但如果不尽快解决,对美国农民来说将是灾难性的。 人们没有意识到,一旦你失去了一个市场,就很难找回它。“

参议员Tammy Baldwin(D-Wis。)就是其中之一 最尖锐的批评者 特朗普的贸易战,声称它导致了她在威斯康星州乳制品行业破产的1500。 参议员鲍德温在给特朗普总统的一封信中表达了愤怒,他问为什么向司法部调查的一家巴西公司的子公司支付了100万美元的农业援助资金。

“允许纳税人资金支持外国农业公司,特别是 腐败的外国公司当时威斯康星州和全国各地的农民正在遭受苦难 你的贸易战引起的痛苦 我发誓要你解释你是如何允许这种情况发生的,“鲍德温在周四给特朗普的信中写道。

正如赫芬顿邮报的Mary Papenfuss 报道美国农业部正在支付62.4百万美元从JBS USA购买猪肉,JBS USA是世界上最大的肉类加工公司的子公司,总部位于巴西的JBS SA司法与安全和交换委员会(SEC)正在调查JBS因“可能违反”反海外腐败法“,该公司的创始人在巴西因腐败而入狱。 由于未能向美国农民提供准确的会计信息,美国农业部去年对JBS USA $ 50,000处以罚款。

“农民援助 为大型外国公司提供支付更加侮辱受伤,“鲍德温写道,特朗普说。 “向有腐败历史的外国公司提供援助,并且正在由你自己的政府进行调查,这简直太过分了。”

2020总统候选人Beto O'Rourke 与CBS交谈 关于周日的贸易战,称特朗普总统,“首先是造成这个问题的纵火犯和想要解决问题的消防员。”

“通过倾听我在这个国家遇到的农民,特别是在爱荷华州,他们并不是在寻求救助。 他们想要 联接 与那些他们一生都在努力建立的市场一样,由于这场贸易战,现在市场已经关闭了。 ......在短期内,我们必须确保它们没问题。 但我们应该永远不会在这个地方,“ 说过 奥罗克。

贸易,而非援助

参议员查克格拉斯利,支持总统的贸易战,并且是 亲自申请 为了帮助他与儿子共同拥有的750英亩农场,他同意从长远来看,“农民希望贸易不需要援助。”

“高兴的特朗普总统/美国农业部Scty Perdue正在帮助农民受到中国关税的影响。 从长远来看,农民希望贸易不是援助。 中国需要醒悟并意识到美国对他们的虐待行为是认真的。 PresTrump继续打击中国并履行承诺自由贸易是2way st,“参议员格拉斯利 啾啾.

分析师 虽然最近的贸易方案应该足以让农民在短期内维持下去,但如果贸易战继续通过2020,那将是不够的。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Will Trump’s $16 Billion Farm Aid Be Enough to Offset US-China Trade War?

Kate Edwards has been managing Wild Woods Farm, a 7-acre vegetable farm in Johnson County, Iowa for seven years full-time. Along with these peppers, she grows 30 types of vegetables with 150 varieties. (USDA Photo: Preston Keres)
Kate Edwards has been managing Wild Woods Farm, a 7-acre vegetable farm in Johnson County, Iowa for seven years full-time. Along with these peppers, she grows 30 types of vegetables with 150 varieties. (USDA Photo: Preston Keres)

“Will it cover the losses? No. But it makes enough of a difference to keep a lot of farmers so they can survive.”

President Trump announced a $16 billion farm aid package to compensate for losses caused by the U.S. trade war with China on Thursday. Critics are concerned the financial aid will not be enough to help ailing agricultural workers, as last year’s $12 billion package failed to prevent bankruptcies and alleviate the hardship of US farmers.

US-China Trade War

After President Trump imposed 25 percent tariffs on $250 billion of Chinese goods, Beijing responded with tariffs on U.S. agricultural commodities like soybeans. Farmers had already been struggling before the trade war began, suffering from historic flooding, debt, and falling commodity prices. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue spoke before Trump’s announcement, acknowledging the hardship the trade war has imposed on US farmers while praising the president’s response.

“All of us are hopeful of a renewed or signing of fair trade deal,” Perdue said. “I can’t recall a president more concerned about farmer well-being. We are working hard to assess trade damages and this package ensures farmers will not bear the brunt.”

The new package is different from last year’s $12 billion financial aid, which was criticized for giving disproportional rates to different crops, such as $1.65 in aid per bushel of soybeans but only a penny per bushel of corn. Instead, this package will be distributed at a set rate dependent on acres, regardless of crop.

“This support for farmers will be paid for by the billions of dollars the Treasury takes in” from China, Trump said. But despite the president’s claim, China does not pay the U.S. tariffs on their imports, importers do, and those costs carry over to consumers in higher prices for products.

“Will it cover the losses? No. But it makes enough of a difference to keep a lot of farmers so they can survive,” Randy Spronk, a hog farmer and former president of the National Pork Producers Council, told the Washington Post.

American Farmers Frustrated

Speaking with Vox’s Alexia Fernández Campbell, Minnesota pork and soybean farmer Shayne Isane said, “The patience of American farmers has worn very thin. If a trade deal can be reached then it was all worth it, but if it doesn’t get settled soon, it will be disastrous for American farmers. People don’t realize that once you lose a market, it’s hard to get it back.”

Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) is one of the most strident critics of Trump’s trade war, alleging that it has contributed to 1500 bankruptcies in her state of Wisconsin’s dairy sector. Sen. Baldwin expressed outrage in a letter to President Trump, asking why $62 million in farm aid funds was paid to a subsidiary of a Brazilian company under investigation by the Department of Justice.

“Allowing taxpayer funds to support foreign agricultural companies, particularly corrupt foreign companies, at a time when farmers in Wisconsin and across the country are suffering from pain caused by your trade wars is outrageous and I’m calling on you to explain how you allowed this to happen,” Baldwin wrote in her letter to Trump Thursday.

As Mary Papenfuss of the Huffington Post reported, the U.S. Department of Agriculture is paying $62.4 million to buy pork from JBS USA, a subsidiary of the biggest meatpacking company in the world, the Brazil-based JBS S.A. The Department of Justice and Security and Exchange Commission (SEC) are currently investigating JBS for “potential violations of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act,” and both the company’s founders have served jail time in Brazil for corruption. The USDA fined JBS USA $50,000 last year for failing to provide US farmers with accurate accounting information.

“Farmer aid packages that provide payments to huge foreign companies add insult to injury,” Baldwin wrote Trump. “Providing aid to foreign companies that have a history of corruption and are under investigation by your own Administration is simply outrageous.”

2020 presidential candidate Beto O’Rourke spoke with CBS about the trade war on Sunday, calling President Trump, “both the arsonist who created this problem in the first place and the firefighter who wants the credit for addressing it.”

“From listening to farmers that I’ve met all over this country, and especially in Iowa, they’re not looking for bailouts. They want to connect with those markets that they have worked a lifetime to establish, markets that are now closed to them because of this trade war. … In the short term, we absolutely have to make sure that they’re OK. But we should never have been in this place in the first place,” said O’Rourke.

Trade, Not Aid

Sen. Chuck Grassley, who supports the president’s trade war and is personally applying for aid for the 750-acre farm he co-owns with his son, agrees that in the long term, “farmers want trade not aid.”

“Glad Pres Trump/USDA Scty Perdue are helping farmers hurting from China tariffs. In the long run farmers want trade not aid. China needs to wake up & realize US is serious about their abuses. PresTrump ran on cracking down on China & is keeping his promise Free trade is a 2way st,” Sen. Grassley tweeted.

Analysts say that while the most recent trade package should be enough to keep farmers afloat in the short term, it will be insufficient if the trade war continues through 2020.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.