输入搜索

非洲

乌干达的女孩正在学习为明亮的未来做准备

一场技术革命席卷非洲,乌干达决心不让女孩落后。 虽然许多非洲妇女由于治理不善,失业和早婚而面临经济挑战,但现在,由于乌干达妇女技术(WITU)倡议,年轻女孩和妇女正在通过编码获得另一个为自己谋生的机会。

到目前为止,500女孩已经完成了培训和培训 一百多人找到了工作 在科技领域。 通过WITU Tech Kids计划,年仅六岁的乌干达女孩正在获得基础计算机科学课程,这有助于他们为技术领域的未来发展做好准备。 但是这个WITU计划到底是什么?它的使命是什么?

WITU在培训课程中教孩子们。 照片:WITU

什么是乌干达技术女性

WITU由女性2012岁的科技和社会企业家Barbara Birungi在31创立,旨在帮助乌干达女孩接受技术并在该领域建立自己的职业生涯。 它还力求通过将这些妇女的能力建设到一个能够使她们与该部门的男性同行竞争的水平来解决技术性别差距。

几十年来,乌干达一直受到治理不善和独裁统治的困扰。 现任总统约韦里·穆塞韦尼(Yoweri Museveni)自1986以来一直执政,并没有很快就有退出计划。 腐败指控一直对乌干达政府征收裙带关系,不公正待遇和有罪不罚现象,但正如你所希望的那样,没有做任何事情。

随着权力和财富越来越集中在乌干达的少数人中,许多其他人处于极度绝望和贫困之中。 卫生,基础设施,教育和其他基本需求系统在很大程度上都是功能失调,并使局势进一步恶化。 它是 这些情况促使未成年女孩选择结婚 作为逃生路线,或者由于没有别的事情可做。

看到当地的情况,妇女和儿童(大多数是女孩)受害最深的地方,芭芭拉受到启发,启动乌干达妇女技术倡议,帮助这些女孩从小就有能力从事科技事业并看到更多期货选择。

WITU CLSP计划的受益者展示了她自制的液体肥皂。 照片:WITU

乌干达技术女性如何帮助女孩

WITU将谷歌作为合作伙伴之一,有几个针对不同年龄段女孩的计划。 一个受欢迎的计划是 职业领导和生活技能计划(CLSP) 针对辍学的女孩。 通过该计划,WITU向他们伸出援助之手,为他们提供创业技能,然后挑战他们创新并创造可持续的自营职业。 然后女孩们 组建小组并确定创收活动,制定业务计划,测试其可行性,然后将其推出。 最好的想法通常由小额贷款支持,以启动它们。 这些女孩还配备了就业技能,以帮助那些不从事商业活动的人寻求就业。

Witu Code Girls。 照片:WITU

WITU还通过教他们如何通过一个叫做的程序来教他们如何使用13的女孩到18年 代码女孩。 目的是将他们置于创新之路,他们拥有开发创新应用,游戏或网站的专业知识,可以帮助解决乌干达人面临的许多问题。 这些女孩学习编码技巧和编程语言,包括应用程序发明者,ruby on rails,python和以用户为中心的设计。

WITU不仅仅是教授技术技能。 WITU还设立实习计划,指导导师,教授团队合作和生活技能,并实践整体变革理论。 WITU“以360角度审视女孩或年轻女性的生活,关注个人发展,领导力,生活技能,健康,计算机科学,创业,商业技能和工作联系或智能贷款。”

要了解有关WITU的更多信息,您可以访问他们的网站 witug.org。 去女孩去吧!

在乌干达的儿童婚姻:太年轻,但不能选择

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 28-2018-XNUMX

    哇这对乌干达人来说是一个很大的优势......我已经可以看到从乌干达开始并在非洲蔓延的技术进步的演变。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

Girls in Uganda are Learning To Code Their Way to Bright Futures

A technological revolution is sweeping across Africa, and Uganda is determined not to leave girls behind. While many African women face economic challenges due to poor governance, unemployment, and early marriage, but now young girls and women are getting another chance to earn a living for themselves by coding, thanks to the Women In Technology Uganda (WITU) initiative.

More than 500 girls have so far completed the training and over a hundred have secured jobs in the tech field. Through the WITU Tech Kids program, Ugandan girls as young as six are getting basic computer science lessons which helps prepare them for future advancement in the technology field. But what exactly is this WITU initiative and what is its mission?

WITU Teach Kids in a training session. Photo: WITU

What is Women In Technology Uganda

Founded in 2012 by Barbara Birungi, a female 31-year-old tech and social entrepreneur, WITU is an initiative aiming at empowering Ugandan girls to embrace technology and to build their careers in the field. It also seeks to address the technological gender gap by building the capacities of these women to a level that makes them competitive with their male counterparts in the sector.

Uganda as a country has for decades been plagued by poor governance and dictatorship. The current president, Yoweri Museveni has been in power since 1986 and does not harbor plans of quitting any time soon. Accusations of corruption, nepotism, injustices and impunity have been consistently levied against the Ugandan government, but as you would have it, nothing is done.

As power and wealth become increasingly more concentrated among fewer individuals in Uganda, many others are left in extreme hopelessness and poverty. Health, infrastructure, education and other systems of basic needs are largely dysfunctional and further worsening the situation. It is situations such as these that push underage girls to choose marriage as an escape route, or due to just having nothing else to do.

Having seen the situation on the ground, where it is always women and children (girls mostly) who suffer most, Barbara was inspired to start the Women In Technology Uganda initiative to help empower these girls at an early age to pursue tech careers and to see more options for their futures.

A beneficiary of WITU CLSP program showcasing her homemade liquid soap. Photo: WITU

How Women In Technology Uganda Helps Girls

WITU, which has Google as a partner among others, has several programs targeting girls of various age groups. One popular program is the Career Leadership and Life Skills Program (CLSP) which targets girls who have dropped out of school. Through this program, WITU reaches out to them, equips them with entrepreneurial skills and then challenges them to be innovative and create sustainable self-employment. The girls then form groups and identify an income generating activity, create a business plan, test its viability and then roll it out. The best ideas are usually supported by small loans to kick start them. The girls are also equipped with employability skills to help those who do not venture into business seek employment.

Witu Code Girls. Photo: WITU

WITU has also been engaging girls aged 13 to 18 years by teaching them how to code through a program called Code Girls. The aim is to put them on an innovation path where they have the expertise to develop innovative apps, games or websites that could help solve the many problems Ugandans face. The girls learn coding skills and programming languages including app inventor, ruby on rails, python and user-centered design.

WITU does much more than just teach the technical skills though. WITU also sets up internships programs, assigns mentors, teaches teamwork and life skills and practices a holistic theory of change. WITU “looks at a girl or young woman’s life in a 360 angle, looking at personal development, leadership, life skills, health, computer science, entrepreneurship, business skills and job linkages or smart loans.”

To learn more about WITU, you can visit their website at witug.org. Go girls go!

Child Marriage In Uganda: Too Young to Wed, But Not to Choose

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Alex Muiruri

Alex is a passionate writer born and raised in Kenya. He is professionally trained as a public health officer but loves writing more. When not writing, he enjoys reading, doing charity work and spending time with friends and family. He is also a crazy pianist!

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. kelvin May 28, 2018

    Wow this is a great plus to Ugandans..I can already see an evolution of technologiCal advancement starting from Uganda and spreading across Africa.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.