输入搜索

非洲

世卫组织称埃博拉疫情不是“全球紧急情况”,但病毒可能会蔓延

伊波拉病毒
仍然是埃博拉病毒的3D医疗动画。 (图片来自维基媒体,http://www.scientificanimations.com/wiki-images/)

世界卫生组织目前不认为刚果的埃博拉病毒是“全球性紧急情况”,但这种疾病可能会蔓延到邻国。

尽管埃博拉病毒再次在非洲刚果民主共和国爆发,但世界卫生组织官员表示,他们并不认为这次爆发是一次国际卫生突发事件。

尽管如此,卫生官员对刚刚与卢旺达和乌干达接壤的刚果北基伍省新爆发并可能传播疾病感到关切。 到目前为止,自8月份爆发以来,已有近150人死亡,并且已报告超过200病例。

这是世界上武装民兵和政府部队之间持续战斗的地区,这些战斗使遏制和对抗这种疾病变得更加困难。 医务人员不仅必须与传染性和致命的埃博拉病毒作斗争,而且还必须担心武装冲突。

九个面临埃博拉感染风险的非洲国家

在此 世界卫生组织 (卫生组织)于9月发表声明,提高了埃博拉病毒从刚果蔓延到邻国边境国家的“非常高”的可能性。 总的来说,世界卫生组织表示,九个非洲国家处于感染的高风险中,并将武装冲突和边境安全松懈作为疾病传播的原因。

武装冲突与新爆发之间存在直接联系。 在刚果东北部的贝尼市,过去八周内发生了八起重大战斗事件。 在同一时间,还有35新的埃博拉病例。 小冲突破坏了卫生工作者接种和治疗人的能力,因此疾病迅速蔓延。

卫生工作者还必须应对文化和社区的抵制。 必须安全地埋葬死亡埃博拉病毒的受害者以防止疾病蔓延,但当地对国际埋葬队的抵抗。 刚果社区认为这些团队干涉他们传统的埋葬习俗。 来自红十字会和其他组织的卫生队 被岩石击中并以其他方式受到攻击 因为他们试图正确埋葬受害者。 一些卫生工作者受了重伤,由于暴力事件,各机构经常不得不暂停在该地区的工作。

即使刚果情况严重,世卫组织也很快指出,疫情尚未达到全球爆发的程度。 世卫组织发言人Robert Steffen博士向记者保证,国际合作已到位,以确保病毒不会进一步传播。 Steffen表示,该团队相信他们可以在合理的时间内控制病毒。

埃博拉全球流行病标签暂停

世界卫生组织表示,过早宣布全球流行病可能会产生深远的影响。 一些国家实行旅行限制,而另一些国家则切断了国际贸易,从而影响了某些国家获得其本地区抗击艾滋病所需的物资和人员的能力。 世界卫生组织已经游说联合国安理会提供更多的维和部队,因此他们不想采取任何措施来限制这些努力。 简而言之,这种性质的声明可能会使整个局势更加危险,因此世卫组织在这些情况下非常谨慎。

世卫组织侧重于流行病数据,以便就宣布全球流行病作出决定。 他们关注的是刚果的大量新疾病,但他们说这些新的疫情与已经感染埃博拉病毒的人没有联系。

几十年来,埃博拉一直是刚果的一个问题。 科学家在1976中发现了这种疾病,促使埃博拉疫苗的开发和广泛使用。 从那时起,刚果就爆发了10爆发。

该疫苗也被广泛用于最近的疫情。 自8月以来,卫生官员已接种了近20,000人,这无疑有助于减缓该地区疾病的进展。

世卫组织制定了新的疫苗接种战略。 该组织不仅为卫生工作者接种疫苗,而且世卫组织正在使用一种称为环疫苗接种的技术,这意味着每个已知感染者的所有接触者都接种疫苗。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
杰奎琳哈维卡

杰奎琳是一名火箭科学家。 她为公民真理报道了健康,科学和科技新闻。 在她的第一职业生涯中,她管理了空间站和航天飞机的实验和数据。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

The World Health Organization is not considering Ebola in the Congo a ‘global emergency’ at this time, but the likelihood is high the disease will spread to neighboring countries.

Although the Ebola virus is once again breaking out in the African Democratic Republic of Congo, World Health officials have stated they do not deem the outbreak an international health emergency.

Nonetheless, health officials are concerned over the new outbreak and possible spread of the disease in the Congo’s North Kivu province, which borders both Rwanda and Uganda. So far, nearly 150 people have died and more than 200 cases have been reported since the outbreak in August.

This is a region of the world that has continued fighting between armed militias and government forces, and those battles make it all the more difficult to contain and combat the disease. Not only do medical workers have to fight the infectious and lethal Ebola, but they also have to worry about armed conflicts.

Nine African Countries at Risk of Ebola Infection

The World Health Organization (WHO) issued a statement in September, raising the likelihood to “very high” that the Ebola virus will spread from the Congo to its neighboring border countries. In all, the WHO says nine African countries are at high risk of infection and cited armed conflict and lax border security as reasons why the disease might spread.

There is a direct link between the armed conflicts and new outbreaks. In Beni, a city in northeastern Congo, there have been eight major fighting incidents in the past eight weeks. There have also been 35 new cases of Ebola during that same time. The skirmishes disrupt health workers’ ability to vaccinate and treat people, so the disease spreads rapidly.

Health workers also have to deal with cultural and community resistance. Dead Ebola victims must be safely buried to keep the disease at bay, but there is local resistance to international burial teams. The Congo community feels that these teams interfere with their traditional burial customs. Health teams from the Red Cross and other organizations have been pelted by rocks and otherwise attacked as they try to properly bury victims. Some health workers have been seriously injured, and agencies often have to suspend their work in the area due to the violence.

Even with the seriousness of the Congo situation, WHO was quick to point out that the outbreak is not yet at the proportions of a global outbreak. WHO spokesman Dr. Robert Steffen assured reporters that international cooperation is in place to ensure the virus does not spread further. Steffen said the team is confident they can bring the virus under control in a reasonable amount of time.

Ebola Global Epidemic Label on Hold

WHO says that prematurely declaring a global epidemic can have far-reaching implications. Some countries impose travel restrictions, while others cut off international trade, thus affecting the ability of certain countries to get the supplies and people they need to fight the epidemic in their region. The WHO has already lobbied the United Nations Security Council to provide more peacekeeping troops, so they don’t want to do anything to curtail those efforts. In short, a declaration of this nature can make the entire situation more dangerous, so WHO proceeds with great caution in these instances.

The WHO focuses on epidemic data to make their decisions regarding the declaration of a global epidemic. They are focused on the large number of new illnesses in the Congo but say these new outbreaks have no link to people who are already infected with Ebola.

Ebola has been an issue in the Congo for decades. Scientists discovered the disease in 1976, prompting development and widespread use of the Ebola vaccine. Since then, there have been 10 outbreaks in the Congo.

The vaccine is being widely used for the most recent outbreak as well. Since August health officials have vaccinated nearly 20,000 people, which has definitely helped to slow the progression of the disease in the region.

The WHO has developed a new vaccination strategy. Not only is the organization vaccinating health workers, but WHO is using a technique called ring vaccination, meaning that all contacts of every known infected person receive vaccinations.

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.