输入搜索

非洲

世界上第一个疟疾疫苗在马拉维启动

社区卫生工作者通过适当的LLIN悬挂和在想象无疟疾运动的LLIN分发活动中使用社区成员来预防疟疾。 Chancy Nthowela,联合卫理公会教会马拉维卫生委员会协调员
社区卫生工作者通过适当的LLIN悬挂和在想象无疟疾运动的LLIN分发活动中使用社区成员来预防疟疾。 Chancy Nthowela,联合卫理公会教会马拉维卫生委员会协调员

疟疾仍然是全世界儿童最大的杀手之一,每年夺走200,000儿童的生命。 -Dr。 赛斯伯克利

上周世界卫生组织(WHO)发表了一篇文章 新闻稿 并召开新闻发布会,欢迎推出具有里程碑意义的疟疾疫苗。 从发布:

世卫组织欢迎马拉维政府今天在一项具有里程碑意义的试点计划中推出世界上第一种疟疾疫苗。 该国是非洲三个国家中的第一个,其中称为RTS,S的疫苗将提供给2岁以下的儿童; 加纳和肯尼亚将在未来几周内推出这种疫苗。

疟疾仍然是世界上最主要的杀手之一,每两分钟夺走一个孩子的生命。 这些死亡大多数发生在非洲,每年有超过250,000儿童死于这种疾病。 5下的儿童面临危及生命的并发症的风险最大。 在世界范围内,疟疾每年导致435,000人死亡,其中大多数是儿童。

疟疾疫苗的重要性

在新闻发布会上,世卫组织非洲区域家庭和生殖健康主任Felicitas Zawaira强调了该方案的重要性。 她详细介绍了疫苗试点每年如何在加纳,肯尼亚和马拉维接触360,000儿童。

在4月23rd活动之前,世界卫生组织非洲区域主任Matshidiso Moeti博士就GlaxoSmithKline(GSK)开发的疫苗试点项目发表了以下讲话,“疟疾在非洲社区将是一个持续威胁的地方。 最贫穷的儿童受害最多,死亡风险最高。“Moeti将继续解释免疫接种的重要性。 “我们知道疫苗能够预防致命疾病和接触儿童的能力,包括那些可能无法立即接触医生,护士和医疗设施的人,他们需要在严重疾病发生时拯救他们。”

WHO,PATH和GSK正与加纳,肯尼亚和马拉维的卫生部合作,分发GSK在这三个国家捐赠的10万剂疫苗剂量。

它是如何结合在一起的

该计划的资金来自合作努力,其中包括疫苗联盟Gavi; 全球抗击艾滋病,结核和疟疾基金; 和Unitaid。 此外,WHO,PATH和GSK正在提供实物捐助。

“提供世界上第一种疟疾疫苗将有助于减轻全球最紧迫的健康挑战之一的负担。 这种新颖的工具是GSK员工与其合作伙伴合作的结果,应用最新的疫苗科学为抗击疟疾作出贡献,“GSK Vaccines首席医疗官Thomas Breuer博士说。

Gavi首席执行官Seth Berkley博士也将对此情况发表评论。 “疟疾仍然是全世界儿童最大的杀手之一,每年夺走200,000儿童的生命。 这些试点对于确定这种疫苗可以减轻这种疾病继续对世界上最贫穷国家造成的负担至关重要。“

疫苗的递送将通过4剂量 - 在3和5月龄之间的9剂量和在2nd生日周围提供的第四剂量。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

AFRICA

World’s First Malaria Vaccine Launches in Malawi

Community health workers educate community members on malaria prevention through appropriate LLIN hanging and use during a LLIN distribution campaign for the Imagine No Malaria campaign. Chancy Nthowela, United Methodist Church Malawi Health Board Coordinator
Community health workers educate community members on malaria prevention through appropriate LLIN hanging and use during a LLIN distribution campaign for the Imagine No Malaria campaign. Chancy Nthowela, United Methodist Church Malawi Health Board Coordinator

Malaria is still one of the biggest killers of children worldwide, taking the lives of over 200,000 children every year. -Dr. Seth Berkley

Last week the World Health Organization (WHO) published a press release and held a press conference welcoming the rollout of a landmark pilot malaria vaccine. From the release:

WHO welcomes the Government of Malawi’s launch of the world’s first malaria vaccine today in a landmark pilot programme. The country is the first of three in Africa in which the vaccine, known as RTS,S, will be made available to children up to 2 years of age; Ghana and Kenya will introduce the vaccine in the coming weeks.

Malaria remains one of the world’s leading killers, claiming the life of one child every two minutes. Most of these deaths are in Africa, where more than 250,000 children die from the disease every year. Children under 5 are at greatest risk of its life-threatening complications. Worldwide, malaria kills 435,000 people a year, most of them children.

Importance Of The Malaria Vaccine

During the press conference, Felicitas Zawaira, Director of Family and Reproductive Health in the WHO African region highlighted the importance of the program. She detailed how the vaccine pilot will reach about 360,000 children per year across Ghana, Kenya, and Malawi.

Prior to the April 23rd event, Dr. Matshidiso Moeti, WHO Regional Director for Africa said the following about the vaccine pilot developed by GlaxoSmithKline (GSK), “Malaria is a constant threat in the African communities where this vaccine will be given. The poorest children suffer the most and are at highest risk of death.” Moeti would go on to explain the importance of immunization. “We know the power of vaccines to prevent killer diseases and reach children, including those who may not have immediate access to the doctors, nurses and health facilities they need to save them when severe illness comes.”

WHO, PATH, and GSK are working together with the ministries of health in Ghana, Kenya, and Malawi to distribute the 10 million vaccine doses, donated by GSK throughout the three countries.

How It All Came Together

Financing for the program came through a cooperative effort that included Gavi, the Vaccine Alliance; the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria; and Unitaid. Additionally, WHO, PATH and GSK are providing in-kind contributions.

“Delivering the world’s first malaria vaccine will help reduce the burden of one of the most pressing health challenges globally. This novel tool is the result of GSK employees collaborating with their partners, applying the latest in vaccine science to contribute to the fight against malaria,” said Dr. Thomas Breuer, Chief Medical Officer of GSK Vaccines.

CEO of Gavi, Dr. Seth Berkley would also comment on the situation. “Malaria is still one of the biggest killers of children worldwide, taking the lives of over 200,000 children every year. These pilots will be crucial to determine the part this vaccine could play in reducing the burden this disease continues to place on the world’s poorest countries.”

Delivery of the vaccine will be via 4 doses – 3 doses between 5 and 9 months of age and the fourth dose provided around the 2nd birthday.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.