输入搜索

非洲

津巴布韦自2017军事政变以来的第一次选举现在全力以赴

津巴布韦选举2018正在非洲政界内引起轰动,因为兴奋,焦虑和不确定在津巴布韦引发了不同的意见。 定于7月举行的选举30将是第一个没有罗伯特穆加贝作为1987以来候选人的选举。

被视为三十多年来该国最重要的选举,今年的选举可以证明津巴布韦是一个民主失败的国家,或者是民主和经济增长复兴的咒语。

“这是我们一生中最重要的选举,因为它有合法性问题的答案,” Tendai Biti说,前财政部长和津巴布韦反对派成员。 “选举的质量,选举的实质内容和结果将成为关键,”比蒂进一步补充说。

在津巴布韦军事政变2017之后,Emmerson Mnangagwa宣誓就任总统

津巴布韦选举2018仅仅一年后,前总统罗伯特穆加贝被赶下台 11月2017的军事政变。 Emmerson Mnangagwa随后当选总统并完成了穆加贝总统任期的剩余部分,根据津巴布韦宪法于8月结束2018。

津巴布韦在穆加贝之下

在罗伯特穆加贝政权统治下,津巴布韦从一个经济繁荣的国家转移到一个贫穷的,依赖援助的国家,许多公民别无选择,只能迁移到其他国家,或在经济形势恶化的情况下继续奋斗。 对此,关于 4万元 津巴布韦人口占总人口的近四分之一,居住在南非其他国家。 在该国的烟草种植区, 即使像11一样年轻的孩子也可以在危险的环境中工作 为基本需求赚取一点收入。

正是这种绝望的状态,再加上穆加贝的独裁倾向,拒绝通过领导指挥棒,这推动了2017军事政变和穆加贝最终辞去总统职务。 由于政变的影响,选举是否会举行仍然令人焦虑,但政府已经保证会发生选举。

随着津巴布韦选举的临近,反对党联手组成了一个名为民主变革运动联盟的联盟。 MDC候选人是Nelson Chamisa,一位39岁的律师。 Chamisa将与现任执政的Emmerson Mnangagwa展开激战,他与执政的津巴布韦非洲民族联盟 - 爱国阵线(ZANU-PF)党一起参选。 这两位是比赛的主要参赛者。

军队能否计划干涉津巴布韦选举?

Tendai Biti评论说,60登记选民的年龄在18-40年之间,他认为这意味着年轻的Chamisa会与选民产生共鸣。 然而,他表示担心军方可能会干涉选举,以使姆南加瓦占上风。 “我们要求的一件事是,军方必须公开声明他们将尊重津巴布韦的宪法,他们将尊重选举产生的选举结果,” 比蒂说。

纳尔逊夏米萨

许多人担心,由于现任副总统康斯坦丁诺·奇万加也是津巴布韦国防军的前任将军,军队对现任总统政府的忠诚可能会干扰即将举行的选举。 到目前为止,这种担忧只是推测性的,而且在很大程

对英国“金融时报”发表讲话 1月,Mnangagwa邀请联合国,欧洲联盟和英联邦派遣选举观察员,以促进津巴布韦2018选举期间的透明度。

阿德波拉威廉姆斯 - 非洲的选举天才每个政治家都喜欢

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

The Zimbabwe elections of 2018 are generating buzz within the political circles of Africa as excitement, anxiety and uncertainty elicit mixed opinion across Zimbabwe. The elections slated for July 30 will be the first without Robert Mugabe as a candidate since 1987.

Seen as the most important elections for the country in more than three decades, this year’s elections could justify Zimbabwe as either a democratically failed state or spell hope for a revival of democracy and economic growth.

“It is the most important election of our lifetime because it has the answer to the question of legitimacy,” said Tendai Biti, a former finance minister and member of the opposition in Zimbabwe. “The quality of this election, the substantive content and outcome of the election are going to be key,” further added Biti.

Emmerson Mnangagwa, sworn in as president after the Zimbabwe military coup of 2017

The Zimbabwe elections of 2018 come barely a year after the former president, Robert Mugabe was ousted from power through a military coup in November 2017. Emmerson Mnangagwa was subsequently elected president and completed the remainder of Mugabe’s presidential term which according to the constitution of Zimbabwe ends in August 2018.

Zimbabwe under Mugabe

Under the regime of Robert Mugabe, Zimbabwe moved from an economically prospering country to a poor, aid-dependent country with many citizens left with no choice but to relocate to other countries or stay put and struggle under the worsening economic situation. True to this, about 4 million Zimbabweans, which is almost a quarter of the total population, live in other countries with the most in South Africa. In the country’s tobacco-growing regions, children even as young as 11 can be found working in the hazardous environment to earn a little income for basic needs.

It was this desperate state of affairs, coupled with Mugabe’s dictatorial tendencies and refusal to pass the leadership baton, which fueled the 2017 military coup and the ultimate resignation of Mugabe as president. There remains anxiety as to whether the elections will take place due to the effects of the coup, but the government has assured they will occur.

With the Zimbabwe elections now nearing, opposition parties have joined hands to form one coalition named the Movement for Democratic Change (M.D.C.) Alliance. The M.D.C. candidate is Nelson Chamisa, a 39-year old lawyer. Chamisa will battle it out with the incumbent Emmerson Mnangagwa who is running with the ruling Zimbabwe African National Union-Patriotic Front (ZANU-PF) party. These two are the main contestants in the race.

Could the army be planning to interfere with the Zimbabwe elections?

Tendai Biti remarked that 60 percent of registered voters are aged between 18-40 years which he believes means the youthful Chamisa will resonate with voters. He, however, expressed concern that the military may interfere with the elections to give Mnangagwa the upper hand. “One of the things we are demanding is that the military must publicly declare they will respect the constitution of Zimbabwe and they will respect the electoral outcome that is pursuant to the election,” said Biti.

Nelson Chamisa

Many fear since the current vice president, Constantino Chiwenga, is also the immediate former general of the Zimbabwe Defence Forces, the army’s loyalty to the current presidential administration could interfere with the upcoming elections. Such concern so far is only speculative and largely hypothetical.

Speaking to the Financial Times in January, Mnangagwa invited the United Nations, the European Union and the Commonwealth to send election observers to promote transparency during the Zimbabwe elections of 2018.

 

Adebola Williams – The Election Genius in Africa Every Politician Covets

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.