输入搜索

环境

207环境卫士在2017中被谋杀以保护环境

全球见证人环境保护者
由于袭击维权者的肇事者在墨西哥很少受到惩罚,像Alianza Sierra Madre主席Isela Gonzalez Diaz这样的活动家发现他们的工作受到攻击威胁的限制。 信誉Thom Pierce | 卫报| 全球见证人| 联合国环境

据报道,对抗全球变暖和气候变化的斗争从未如此致命 Global Witness的一份新报告 发现捍卫环境的积极分子正以创纪录的数量被谋杀。 至少207环境维护者仅在2017中被杀,这是迄今为止Global Witness记录的最高总数。 许多其他人仍然面临着反复的死亡威胁和骚扰。

谁是环保人士?

Maria do Socorro与社区一起开展针对水力铝工厂的活动,据称这些工厂负责Barcarena镇的水中毒事件。 图片来源:Thom Pierce | 卫报| 全球见证人| 联合国环境

联合国环境规划署 定义 一个环境捍卫者,“任何捍卫环境权利的人,包括宪法对清洁和健康环境的权利,当这些权利的行使受到威胁时。”世界各地都有这样的人对环境保护充满热情。 但是,今天的时代被证明对他们来说是最危险的,因为他们必须应对越来越多的死亡威胁和暴力。

“当然,我的生命处于危险之中,我每天都会受到24的死亡威胁,因为面对这种暴行,我不会闭嘴。” 来自巴西的活动家玛丽亚达席尔瓦不止一次地感受到她额头上的枪管。

根据Global Witness发布的报告,2017记录了这些活动人士的最多杀人事件。 特别危险的是那些抗议农业企业部门的人,那里强大的力量试图平整森林以建立种植园。 该报告还显示,抗议非法采矿和保护野生动物的人被谋杀的事件有所增加。

各地区环境保护者死亡人数

拉丁美洲目睹了该地区发生的60谋杀事件中杀人率最高的一半。 2017捍卫者的57在巴西被谋杀,描绘了该国反对环境恶化的悲惨画面。 据报道,巴西武装农民在抵抗登陆他们的土地之后,残酷地袭击了亚马逊土着社区Gamela。 超过2017 Gamelans受伤严重,有些人被切断了手。

全球见证

图:全球见证

从71记录的统计数据来看,亚洲的谋杀案数量惊人地增加了2016%。 仅在菲律宾,48环境维护者就被杀害,因为他们抗议该国的有害采矿活动。 居住在菲律宾湖泊附近的一个社区也遭到了军队的攻击,因为他们发起了反对将咖啡种植园扩展到他们的土地上的抗议活动。 这次袭击导致8人死亡,其他人超过200。

该报告还记录了至少19在非洲的捍卫者死亡人数,其中大多数人在试图保护野生动物免受偷猎者和非法采矿者袭击时丧生。 其中的17仅在刚果民主共和国(刚果民主共和国)被杀害。

谁在杀死环境保卫者?

Global Witness的报告指出,大型企业,准军事团体和政府是环保活动家的主要凶手。 动机是相同的 - 安静的持不同政见者的声音和最大化利润,同时忽视环境影响。

他在12月2017被谋杀的遗址上的HernánBedoya纪念馆的照片。 图片来源:Thom Pierce | 卫报| 全球见证人| 联合国环境

该报告进一步揭示了腐败和疏忽的政府与无良投资者勾结,削弱法律,为环境剥削创造一条简单的途径。 这使得对谋杀案的起诉具有挑战性,被告在92的百分比时间内被解雇。

一些环保人士在2017中失利

  1. Isidro Baldenegro

1月2017射杀, 圣伊西德罗 他是一位屡获殊荣的活动家,以阻止毒贩,伐木工和当地强人摧毁墨西哥的Sierra Tarahumara山脉而闻名。 他获得了2005高盛环境奖,因为他的努力使他成为威胁的目标。 由于害怕自己的生命,他逃离了他的社区一段时间,只有在他返回时被杀害。 可悲的是,Isidro的父亲多年前因为抵制同一地区的伐木而被30谋杀。

  1. HérnanBedoya

Hernan Bedoya

HernánBedoya在12月2017被谋杀的地方的照片。 图片来源:Thom Pierce | 卫报| 全球见证人| 联合国环境

2017十二月被谋杀, 埃尔南 是一名驻哥伦比亚的环境保护者。 在1966中,Hérnan被一个准军事组织从他的土地上驱逐出去,但后来又回来了几年。 在2015,他开始因为反对环境恶化而采取多种威胁。 他强烈反对清理森林,建立牛场,香蕉和棕榈油种植园,侵入他的社区的祖传土地。 他被射杀他14次的准军事士兵残忍杀害。 24其他维护者在哥伦比亚2017被杀。

  1. Berta Caceres

在洪都拉斯被谋杀, 伯莎 是洪都拉斯西部Lenca人的土着领袖。 她积极反对在Gualcarque河上修建一座大坝,这对社区来说是神圣的。 在收到许多死亡威胁后,她被冷血谋杀,洪都拉斯当局撤销了她的谋杀案。

Global Witness报道洪都拉斯仍然是“在这个星球上保卫最致命的地方”。 马丁费尔南德斯这个国家的另一位环保主义者在他的房子上喷了子弹后说“我们不想要,但如果你不在三天内消失,我们会杀了你。”他正在调查该国水力发电计划造成的环境破坏。

至少48土地和环境维护者在2017在菲律宾被谋杀 - 这是亚洲有史以来最高记录,自71以来该国增加了2016%。 图片来源:Thom Pierce | 卫报| 全球见证人| 联合国环境

令人担心的是,全球有更多的环境维护者被杀害,而不是记录在案的207。 根据Global Witness的报告,可能发生了更多的谋杀案,但细节往往被隐藏或没有记录。 非洲的情况尤其如此,其中发生了许多反对环境保护主义者的暴行,但由于缺乏文件证明,对案件的核查证明是困难的。

约翰诺克斯,联合国人权与环境特别报告员, ,“为了他们在赋权社区和保护生态系统方面的不懈努力,环境保护者在令人吃惊的数字中丧生。 谋杀不是环境维护者遭受迫害的唯一方式; 对于每一个被杀害的人,有20对100其他人进行骚扰,非法和合法逮捕,起诉诽谤,以及其他恐吓。“

呼吁采取行动

那些应该得到最大支持和认可的人,他们为保护环境所做的英勇努力,却被谋杀了,但其他人可以有所作为。 每个人都可以通过发誓以任何可能的能力保护环境来纪念被谋杀的环境保护者的记忆。

消费者与远程环境问题的直接联系并不总是很清楚,但它们的存在是因为全球见证报告提醒我们和全球见证活动高级人员Ben Leather在一份声明中说。

“地方活动家正在被谋杀,因为政府和企业重视人类生活的快速利润。 这次流血事件中出现的许多产品都在我们超市的货架上。 然而,随着勇敢的社区对抗腐败的官员,破坏性的行业和环境破坏,他们正在遭受残酷的沉默。 适可而止。

“政府,公司和投资者有责任和权力支持和保护面临风险的维权者,并保证在发生攻击的地方追究责任。 但更重要的是,他们可以通过倾听当地社区,尊重他们的权利以及确保负责任地开展业务来防止这些威胁首先出现。

“尽管他们面临的可能性很大,但全球土地和环境保护者群体并没有消失 - 它只会越来越强大。 我们邀请消费者加入我们与维权者的竞选活动,将他们的斗争带到权力的走廊和公司的董事会。 我们将确保听到他们的声音。 我们将密切关注,以确保我们所依赖的防御者,他们的土地和环境得到妥善保护,“皮革说。

你可以阅读 Global Witness的完整报告 并了解更多关于勇敢的环境保护者,他们的生命是为了保护我们的星球。

在世界新闻自由日,纪念追求真相的记者和活动家

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

8评论

  1. LuvBizr 八月2,2018

    什么!?

    回复
  2. Leigh Coto 八月2,2018

    我的天啊!! 那太疯狂了! 对不起您的损失。 RIP

    回复
  3. Spaulding Smails法官 八月6,2018

    大家都在关注!!! 美国环保主义者的种族灭绝程度达到了什么程度?

    ??

    这是谎言????

    回复
  4. 匿名 八月7,2018

    5

    回复
  5. 安科森 17-2018-XNUMX

    杀? 通过谁?

    回复
  6. 雪莉霍金斯 17-2018-XNUMX

    我想知道是谁,杀死了保护我们国家的人。

    回复
  7. 苏珊道 17-2018-XNUMX

    207环保主义者在2017全球遭到杀害

    回复
  8. 珍妮麦克唐纳 17-2018-XNUMX

    可怕。 将是贪婪的求职者。

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

The fight against global warming and climate change has never been deadlier according to a new report by Global Witness found activists defending the environment are being murdered in record numbers. At least 207 environmental defenders were killed in 2017 alone, the highest total so far recorded by Global Witness. Many others still face repeated death threats and harassment.

Who are environmental defenders?

Maria do Socorro campaigns with communities against hydro aluminum factories which are allegedly responsible for water poisoning in the town of Barcarena. Credit: Thom Pierce | Guardian | Global Witness | UN Environment

The United Nations Environmental Program defines an environmental defender as “anyone who is defending environmental rights, including constitutional rights to a clean and healthy environment, when the exercise of those rights is being threatened.” There are such people all over the world who are passionate about environmental conservation. But today’s times are proving to be the most dangerous for them as they have to deal with increasing amounts of death threats and violence.

“Of course my life is at risk, I receive death threats 24 hours a day because I’m not going to keep my mouth shut in the face of this atrocity,” says Maria da Silva, an activist from Brazil who has felt the barrel of a gun on her forehead more than once.

According to the report released by Global Witness, 2017 recorded the most killings of these activists on record. Especially at risk were those protesting against the agribusiness sector where powerful forces try to level down forests in a bid to establish plantations. The report also revealed a rise in the murder of defenders protesting against illegal mining and those protecting wildlife.

Deaths of Environmental Defenders by Region

Latin America witnessed the most killings with about 60 percent of the 2017 murders occurring in the region. 57 of the 2017 defenders were murdered in Brazil alone painting a gloomy picture of the fight against environmental degradation in the country. According to the report, armed Brazilian farmers brutally attacked the Gamela – a community indigenous to the Amazon, after they resisted logging in their land. More than 22 Gamelans were left severely injured with some having their hands cut off.

Global Witness

Graphic: Global Witness

Asia witnessed an alarming 71 percent rise in murders from the statistics recorded in 2016. In the Philippines alone, 48 environmental defenders were killed as they protested against detrimental mining activities in the country. A community living near a lake in the Philippines was also attacked by military forces after they staged protests against the expansion of a coffee plantation into their land which would have displaced them. The attack left eight people dead, and more than 200 others were displaced.

The report also recorded at least 19 deaths of defenders in Africa, most of them were killed as they tried to protect the wildlife from poachers and illegal miners. 17 of these were killed in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) alone.

Who is killing environmental defenders?

The report by Global Witness pointed to large corporations, paramilitary groups and governments as being the leading murderers of environmental activists. The motive is the same – to quiet dissident voices and to maximize profit while disregarding environmental impact.

A photograph from the memorial to Hernán Bedoya at the site where he was murdered in December 2017. Credit: Thom Pierce | Guardian | Global Witness | UN Environment

The report further revealed corrupt and negligent governments colluding with unscrupulous investors to weaken laws and create an easy route for environmental exploitation. This has made prosecuting the murders challenging with defendants being absolved 92 percent of the time.

Some Environmental Defenders Lost in 2017

  1. Isidro Baldenegro

Shot and killed in January 2017, Isidro was an award-winning activist who was known for resisting drug traffickers, loggers and local strongmen from destroying the Sierra Tarahumara ranges in Mexico. He received the 2005 Goldman Environment Prize for his efforts which made him a target for threats. Fearing for his life, he fled from his community for a time only to be killed upon his return. Sadly, Isidro’s father had been murdered 30 years earlier for resisting logging in the same region.

  1. Hérnan Bedoya

Hernan Bedoya

A photograph from the memorial to Hernán Bedoya at the sight where he was murdered in December 2017. Credit: Thom Pierce | Guardian | Global Witness | UN Environment

Murdered in December 2017, Hérnan was an environmental defender based in Colombia. In 1966, Hérnan had been evicted from his land by a paramilitary group but then returned years later. In 2015 he started receiving multiple threats for his activism against environmental degradation. He had fiercely opposed the clearing of forests to establish cattle ranches, banana and palm oil plantations which invaded his community’s ancestral land. He was brutally murdered by paramilitary soldiers who shot him 14 times. 24 other defenders were killed in Colombia in 2017.

  1. Berta Caceres

Murdered in Honduras, Berta was an indigenous leader of the Lenca people of western Honduras. She actively opposed the construction of a dam across the Gualcarque River which is sacred to the community. After receiving many death threats she was murdered in cold blood, and her murder case was dropped by the Honduran authorities.

Global Witness reports that Honduras remains the “deadliest place to defend on the planet.” Martin Fernandez, another environmentalist in the country, received a note on his door after his house was sprayed with bullets saying “we don’t want to, but if you don’t disappear in three days, we will kill you.” He was investigating the environmental damage that a hydroelectric scheme in the country was causing.

At least 48 land and environmental defenders were murdered in the Philippines in 2017 – the highest total ever recorded in Asia, and a 71% increase in the country since 2016. Credit: Thom Pierce | Guardian | Global Witness | UN Environment

It is feared that more environmental defenders were murdered across the globe than the 207 that were recorded. According to the report by Global Witness, many more murders could have occurred, but details are often hidden or go undocumented. This is especially the case in Africa where many atrocities against environmentalists are committed, but verification of the cases prove to be difficult due to the lack of documentation.

John Knox, The UN Human Rights and Environment special rapporteur, says, “For their tireless work in empowering communities and protecting ecosystems, environmental defenders are killed in startling numbers. Murder is not the only way environmental defenders are persecuted; for every one killed, there are 20 to 100 others harassed, unlawfully and lawfully arrested, and sued for defamation, amongst other intimidations.”

A Call to Action

The people who should be getting the most support and recognition for their valiant efforts to conserve the environment are instead being murdered, but others can make a difference. Everyone can honor the memories of murdered environmental defenders by vowing to protect the environment in whatever capacity possible.

Consumers direct connections to distant environmental problems are not always clear, but they exist as the Global Witness report reminds us and senior Global Witness campaigner Ben Leather said in a statement.

“Local activists are being murdered as governments and businesses value quick profit over human life. Many of the products emerging from this bloodshed are on the shelves of our supermarkets. Yet as brave communities stand up to corrupt officials, destructive industries and environmental devastation, they are being brutally silenced. Enough is enough.

“Governments, companies and investors have the duty and the power to support and protect defenders at risk, and to guarantee accountability wherever attacks occur. But more importantly, they can prevent these threats from emerging in the first place, by listening to local communities, respecting their rights, and ensuring that business is conducted responsibly.

“Despite the odds they face, the global community of land and environmental defenders is not going away – it’s only getting stronger. We invite consumers to join us in campaigning alongside defenders, taking their fight to the corridors of power and the boardrooms of corporations. We will make sure their voices are heard. And we will be watching to ensure that defenders, their land, and the environment we all depend on are properly protected,” Leather said.

You can read the full report from Global Witness here and learn more about the brave environmental defenders that gave their lives to protecting our planet.

 

On World Press Freedom Day, Honoring Journalists & Activists Lost in the Pursuit of Truth

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.