输入搜索

欧洲

历史上最大的教师罢工继续在英国,西弗吉尼亚州教师得到提升

英国罢工西弗吉尼亚教师罢工
作者:Eric Bourgeois - 自己的作品,CC BY-SA 4.0,https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid = 67030590

来自61不同大学的大学教师正在罢工,以防止严重的退休金削减。 这次罢工影响了整个英国的1百万学生

英国教师罢工是现代教育史上规模最大的一次,全国各地的61不同大学的工作人员都采取了行动。 大学工作人员,讲师和学生组织了全国所有主要城市的纠察集会,职业和抗议活动,旨在制止严重的养老金罢工,并将大学管理纳入谈判桌。

争议发生在代表英国大学的英国大学(UUK)提议改变教师退休后的收入金额之后。 这些变化将消除教师退休后获得的保证收入。 这些变化实际上使教学人员和讲师平均每年退休后的10 000更差,总损失为200,000。

根据教师何时入学,提出额外的退休福利削减。 UUK解释说,裁员背后的原因是试图解决现有的超过XZXX亿的财政赤字。 大学债务的规模和估值受到UCU和个别学者的质疑,他们注意到UUK声称的一些违规行为。 UUK养老金的首席执行官今年加薪了6.1,进一步激怒了抗议教师。

全国学生联合会支持教师罢工,并呼吁学生支持教师,并加入纠察队和抗议活动。 在令人惊讶的发展中,许多个别大学管理层已经与UUK分道扬and,并表示支持进一步谈判。

教师工会和UUK之间的Twitter交流促成了一次会议,以便进行新一轮的会谈。


在类似的消息中,西弗吉尼亚州的教师连续九天上学罢工,要求增加工资。 西弗吉尼亚州的教师工资排名为48th 全国教育协会.

西弗吉尼亚州的罢工于周二晚些时候结束,当时教师得到他们希望加薪5%的费用。 西弗吉尼亚州州长签署了授权加薪的法案,并表示值得庆祝。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

EUROPE

Biggest Teachers’ Strike In History Continues In Britain, West Virginia Teachers Get Raise

Uk Strike West Virginia Teachers Strike
By Eric Bourgeois - Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=67030590

University teachers from 61 different universities are on strike in an effort to prevent severe pension cuts. The strikes effect an estimated 1 million students across the U.K.

The U.K. teachers’ strike has been the largest in the history of modern education with staff from up to 61 different universities across the country taking action. University staff, lecturers and students have organized picket rallies, occupations and protests across all major cities in the country as they aim to halt severe pensions strikes and bring university administration to the negotiation table.

The dispute started after the Universities UK (UUK), which represents Universities across the U.K., proposed to changes to the income amount that teachers would receive after retirement. The changes would eliminate the guaranteed income that teachers would receive post-retirement. The changes effectively leave the teaching staff and lecturers on average £10 000 worse off each year post retirement with a total potential loss at £200,000.

Additional cuts to retirement benefits are proposed based on when teachers first started. The UUK has explained that the reasoning behind the cuts is to attempt to tackle the existing financial deficit which is over £6.1 billion.  The size and the valuation of the universities’ debt is disputed by the UCU and individual academics who noted a number of irregularities in the UUK’s claims. The chief executive of the UUK’s pension received a raise of £82,000 this year, further angering protesting teachers.

The National Union of Students backed the teachers strike and called upon its students to support the teachers and join them in picket lines and protests. In a surprising development numerous individual university administration’s have broken ranks with the UUK and expressed support for further negotiation.

A Twitter exchange between the teachers union and the UUK resulted in an agreement to meet for a new round of talks.


In similar news, teachers in West Virginia went on a strike for nine consecutive school days to demand an increase in wages. West Virginia ranks 48th in teachers’ salaries according to the National Education Association.

The West Virginia strike ended late Tuesday when teachers got what they wanted a five percent pay raise. The West Virginia Governor signed the bill authorizing the raise and said it was cause to celebrate.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.