输入搜索

亚太

50,000教师参与新西兰最大的教育罢工

数万名教师,校长在全国范围内罢工,以获得更多薪酬,更好的条件
数万名教师,校长在全国范围内罢工,以获得更多薪酬,更好的条件。 (图片:YouTube截图)

工会表示,低薪和缺乏公平是导致教师短缺和课堂规模不断扩大的重要原因。

(人民的派遣新西兰的50,000教师和5月29的罢工一起要求加薪和改善工作条件。 代表小学教师的教育工会会员NZEI Te Riu Roa和代表中学教师的后小学教师协会(PPTA)在本月早些时候与教育部的谈判陷入僵局时投票决定联合召开罢工。 这将是该国有史以来最大的教师罢工。

教师要求加薪高达15-16%。 除了增加工资外,他们还在寻求减少工作量和更多课堂资源。 教师们还呼吁政府制定长期解决方案,以解决教学部门日益增加的就业不足问题。 小学教师的平均工资大约是每年47,980美元,相当于每小时23美元(比最低工资高出5.30)。

联合罢工已经进行了近一年的工作。 去年,教师们分别组织了一些罢工,但在大多数情况下,他们都是无效的。 工会现在已经联合起来,因为他们相信这会让他们对政府施加更大的压力,特别是通过在罢工期间必须休息照顾子女的父母。

为了避免罢工,由克里斯·希普金斯领导的教育部向工会提供了一笔1.2亿的交易,这笔交易将在未来三年内提高9%的工资。 然而,教师们绝大多数拒绝了这一提议,指出它只是为就业不足问题提供了一个临时解决方案,未能解决他们飙升的工作量和需要额外资源的问题。

在罢工之前,来自奥克兰的老师Samantha McRae说:“这个提议还不够。是的,加薪对任何人来说都很好,但它仍然无法帮助我们满足减少工作量和更多资源的需求。 这不会让更多人参与工作 - 或者保留我们目前拥有的老师。“

由于缺乏教师和特殊教育工作者,新西兰的教育部门一直处于不利地位。 根据新西兰教育学院的一项调查显示,近52%的小学声称他们的空缺申请人数不足,而28%因此不得不增加班级人数。 这促使许多学校从国外招聘教师。 工会表示,低薪和缺乏公平是导致教师短缺不断升级的重要原因。 他们认为,薪酬的增加不仅会激励教育就业,还会确保目前就业教师的保留率更高。 然而,他们认为,加薪必须伴随着对培训和教育未来教育工作者的持续投资。

罢工发生在政府大肆吹嘘的“福利预算”之前,该预算旨在优先考虑福利政策,特别是在儿童贫困,无家可归,家庭暴力和心理健康方面。 在过去,年度预算忽视了教育,但在教师大规模动员之后,今年的预算将其作为首要任务。 在预算前一周,Hipkins宣布他的部门将在四年内投入近100万美元用于培训教师。 尽管工会对这一宣布感到满意,但他们认为仅仅投资培训教师并不能解决因低工资和高工作量而导致的教师短缺问题。 他们希望罢工能够推动政府在即将到来的预算中制定更全面的条款。

罢工得到了公众的大力支持,特别是父母,其中许多人打算加入老师。 “我认为老师应该得到的不仅仅是他们得到的东西。 对于父母不得不与孩子们一起在家里安排一段时间而感到不便,但我认为老师应该为他们想要的东西而战,“一位家长说。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

50,000 Teachers Take Part in New Zealand’s Largest Education Strike

Tens of thousands of teachers, principals strike nationwide for more pay, better conditions
Tens of thousands of teachers, principals strike nationwide for more pay, better conditions. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

Unions say that low pay and lack of equity are significant contributors to the escalating teacher shortage and increasing class sizes.

(People’s Dispatch) As many as 50,000 teachers across New Zealand went on strike on May 29 to demand a pay hike and better working conditions. Members of education unions NZEI Te Riu Roa, which represents primary school teachers, and the Post Primary Teachers Association (PPTA), which represents secondary school teachers, voted to jointly call the strike when negotiations with the Ministry of Education reached a deadlock earlier this month. This will be the largest teachers’ strike the country has ever seen.

The teachers are demanding a pay increase of up to 15-16%. Apart from increased wages, they are also seeking reduced workload, and more classroom resources. The teachers are also calling on the government to devise long-term solutions to address increasing underemployment in the teaching sector. The average wage for primary school teachers is about USD 47,980 a year, which equates to about USD 23 an hour (USD 5.30 above the minimum wage).

A joint strike has been in the works for almost a year now. The teachers have separately organized a few strikes over the last year but, for the most part, they have been ineffective. The unions have now joined forces because they believe this will allow them to put more pressure on the government, especially through parents who will have to take an off to look after their children during the strike.

In order to avoid the strike, the Ministry of Education, headed by Chris Hipkins, offered the unions a 1.2 billion deal which would have raised wages by 9% over the next three years. However, the teachers overwhelmingly rejected the offer, stating that it only provided a makeshift solution to the underemployment issue and failed to address their soaring workloads and the need for extra resources.

Ahead of the strike, a teacher from Auckland, Samantha McRae, said, “The offer is not enough.Yes, a pay rise would be great for anybody, but it’s still not going to help us address the need for decreased workloads and more resources. It’s not going to get more people into the job – or keep the teachers we currently have.”

New Zealand’s education sector has been reeling under a shortage of teachers and special educators. Nearly 52% of primary schools claim that they do not have enough applicants for their vacancies, and 28% have had to increase class sizes because of this, according to a survey by the NZ Educational Institute. This has pushed many schools to recruit teachers from abroad. Unions say that low pay and lack of equity are significant contributors to the escalating teacher shortage. They believe an increase in pay will not only incentivize employment in education but it will also ensure higher retention of presently employed teachers. However, a pay hike has to be accompanied by sustained investment in training and educating prospective educators, they argue.

The strike comes ahead of the government’s much-vaunted “Wellbeing Budget”, which is designed to prioritize welfare policies, especially in the areas of child poverty, homelessness, domestic violence and mental health. In the past, annual budgets have overlooked education but in the wake of widespread mass mobilizations by teachers, this year’s budget sees it as a top priority. In the week leading up to the budget, Hipkins announced that his ministry would invest nearly USD 95 million over four years in training teachers. Although the unions were pleased with this announcement, they believe that simply investing in training teachers will not resolve the teacher shortage, which is rooted in low wages and high workloads. They are hoping the strike will nudge the government to make more comprehensive provisions in the upcoming budget.

The strike has received sweeping support from the public, especially parents, many of whom intend to join the teachers. “I think teachers deserve more than what they’re getting. It is an inconvenience for parents having to organize staying at home with the kids but I think teachers deserve to fight for what they want,” said one parent.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.