输入搜索

亚太

所有澳大利亚州都将堕胎合法化

2018,澳大利亚布里斯班的专业人士。
2018,澳大利亚布里斯班的专业人士。 (照片:卢克·安斯科姆(Luke Anscombe)

使堕胎合法化的法案已由新南威尔士州立法机关通过,这是澳大利亚最后一个将其定为刑事犯罪的州。

(通过 人民派遣)在经过70个小时的辩论和许多戏剧性之后,澳大利亚人口最多的州新南威尔士州议会通过了备受争议的《堕胎法改革法案》 2019,从根本上推翻了119年前的刑法。 该立法将使堕胎合法化,允许在22头几周内无条件终止妊娠,甚至在后来由两名医生或医院咨询委员会建议的情况下也可以。

根据82的《犯罪法》的83,84和1900部分,新南威尔士州是澳大利亚最后一个将堕胎列为犯罪的州,在过去的一个多世纪中,该州几乎没有任何变化。 尽管澳大利亚其他州在过去的几十年中将堕胎行为定为非刑事犯罪,但在新南威尔士州的1971和1995上,仅对此问题进行了两次司法干预。

如果医生认为终止妊娠对妇女有害,则可以批准终止妊娠。 施加了各种条件,限制了选择堕胎的范围,而堕胎通常仍然是犯罪活动。 妇女合法堕胎的唯一途径是进行昂贵的前往邻国的旅行。 但是,他们也经常被迫进行不安全的秘密堕胎。

这项新法案最初被称为《生殖健康改革法案》,由悉尼的一名独立立法者亚历克斯·格林威治(Alex Greenwich)提出。 它得到了几个反对党的支持,甚至得到了执政集团内部许多人的支持,包括现任卫生部长。 该法案吸引了各种攻击,为期数周的抗议和反抗议使公众对此问题的辩论两极化。 较小党派和政府的几位立法者也不愿意支持它。

数百名反堕胎抗议者,包括某些基督教宗教领袖在内,在悉尼国会大厦前排队抗议该法案。 数千个支持选择和女权主义的组织和政治组织与他们会面,其中包括绿党,新南威尔士州专业人士选择联盟,新南威尔士州的公平议程和新南威尔士州的计划生育。 主要反对党内部的主要焦点是“争取选择的劳工”,也是支持选择的抗议者之一。

Fair Agenda通过其创始人Renee Carr发表了一项庆祝该法案获得通过的声明,其中说:“今天的历史性变化证明了拥护更多同情法律的支持选择的倡导者的倡导和领导力。他们几十年了。”

该法案是过去几年女权主义者和支持选择团体大规模动员的结果,这些动员有助于建立意识,从根本上改变了公众舆论。 现在,对于堕胎法改革的普遍犹豫已被压倒了。 根据“卫报”本月初进行的全国性调查,新南威尔士州接近71%的选民对该法案进行了积极投票。

这种压倒性的公众支持可能是为什么即使是历史上反对堕胎的政党,例如保守党国民党,也试图通过对该法案的医疗相关影响进行猜测来拖延该法案,而不是基于“赞成生命”的立场而反对该法案。 。 即使是规模较小的右翼政党,在政治上也无法反对该法案,除非煽动偏执狂并担心宗教和少数族裔,并将其作为可能进行性别选择堕胎的工具。

然而,尽管公众舆论赞成,但州总理格拉迪斯·贝雷吉克利安(Bladys Berejiklian)差点被她的自由党的高级成员抛弃,原因是她对法案的处理不当,导致她的领导层受到挑战。 在对该法案进行投票的那天,贝雷吉克利安仍然缺席。 执政集团国会议员仅在提议的100中包括四项主要和三项次要修正后才允许该法案通过。 这些涉及与姓名变更,知情同意和医疗建议有关的问题。

数位立法者声称,这些修正案并未从根本上改变法案的目的或性质,法案正在等待州长的皇家同意。

虽然新南威尔士州可能是最后一个将堕胎合法化的州,但它现在可能会颁布,这是该国最先进的生殖权利改革之一,它将确保即使是最边缘化的妇女也能获得堕胎。

卡尔在声明中说:“我们需要一个确保妇女在需要时和需要的地方能够获得流产护理的系统,”她指的是南澳大利亚州的情况,那里仍然存在流产和管理方面的限制。 她强调说:“没有一种方法会给寻求时间敏感程序的患者带来不必要的延误。”

激进主义者在庆祝胜利的同时指出战斗尚未结束。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
游客发表

Citizen Truth在各种新闻网站,倡导组织和监督组织的许可下重新发布文章。 我们选择我们认为会提供信息并且我们的读者感兴趣的文章。 选择的文章有时包含意见和新闻的混合,任何此类意见都是作者的意见,并不反映公民真理的观点。

    1

你可能还喜欢

1评论

  1. 布赖恩 5-2019-XNUMX

    2月24,2016堕胎程序:1st,2nd和3rd妊娠

    安东尼·莱瓦蒂诺(Anthony Levatino)博士介绍了四种堕胎程序,涵盖怀孕的1st,2nd和3rd三个月。

    https://youtu.be/CFZDhM5Gwhk

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Abortion Legalized in All Australian States

A pro-choice activist in Brisbane, Australia 2018.
A pro-choice activist in Brisbane, Australia 2018. (Photo: Luke Anscombe)

The bill legalizing abortion was passed by state legislature in New South Wales, the last remaining Australian state where it was criminalized.

(By Peoples Dispatch) After over 70 hours of debate and much drama, the parliament of Australia’s most populous state, New South Wales, passed the controversial Abortion Law Reform Act 2019, radically overturning a 119-years-old criminal law. The legislation will decriminalize abortion, allowing unconditional termination of pregnancy within the first 22 weeks, and even later if it is medically advised by two doctors or the hospital advisory committee.

New South Wales was the last state jurisdiction in Australia where abortion was listed as a crime, according to sections 82, 83 and 84 of the Crimes Act of 1900, which remained virtually unchanged for over a century. While other states in Australia decriminalized the practice of abortion over the decades, only two judicial interventions were made on the subject in New South Wales, in 1971 and 1995.

It was allowed for doctors to sanction the termination of pregnancy if, in their opinion, it would be harmful to the woman. Various conditions were imposed that limited the scope for opting for an abortion, which generally remained a criminal activity. The only recourse left for women to undergo abortion legally was to undertake expensive travels to neighboring states. However, they were also often forced to undergo unsafe, clandestine abortions.

The new legislation, originally called the Reproductive Healthcare Reform Bill, was introduced by an independent lawmaker from Sydney, Alex Greenwich. It was supported by several opposition parties and by many even from within the ruling bloc, including the sitting health minister. The bill attracted various attacks, with weeks of protests and counter-protests polarizing the public debate on the issue. Several legislators from smaller parties and those from the government were reluctant to support it, as well.

Hundreds of anti-abortion protesters, including certain Christian religious leaders, had lined up in front of the Parliament House in Sydney to protest the bill. They were met by thousands of pro-choice and feminist organizations and political formations, including the Green Party, the NSW Pro-Choice Alliance, Fair Agenda NSW and Family Planning NSW. The Labor for Choice, a major caucus within the main opposition party, was also among the pro-choice protesters.

A statement to celebrate the passing of the bill was released by Fair Agenda, through their founder Renee Carr, which said, “today’s historic change is a testament to the advocacy and leadership of pro-choice advocates who have championed more compassionate laws, many of them for decades.”

The bill was an outcome of large-scale mobilizations by feminists and pro-choice groups over the past few years, who helped create awareness that radically changed the public opinion. The prevalent hesitation towards abortion law reforms has now been overwhelmingly overturned. According to a nationwide survey conducted by Guardian Essential earlier this month, close to 71% of New South Wales voters polled positively in favor of the bill.

Such overwhelming public support was possibly the reason why even the historically anti-abortion parties, such as the conservative National Party, attempted to stall the bill with speculations about its healthcare-related implications, instead of grounding their disapproval on ‘pro-life’ stance. Even the smaller right-wing parties were politically not in a position to oppose the bill, other than by fanning paranoia and fear about religious and ethnic minorities, presenting it as a tool for possible sex-selective abortions.

However, despite favorable public opinion, the state premier Gladys Berejiklian was almost deserted by senior members of her Liberal Party, for her apparent mishandling of the bill, leading to her leadership being challenged. Berejiklian had remained absent on the day of voting on the bill. The ruling bloc MPs allowed for the passage of the bill only after four major, and three minor amendments, out of the proposed 100, were included. These dealt with issues related to name change, informed consent and medical advice.

Several legislators have claimed that the amendments do not radically change the purpose or nature of the bill, which now awaits the Royal Assent from the state governor.

While NSW might be the last state to decriminalize abortion, it may now enact, among the most progressive reproductive rights reforms in the country, that will ensure access to abortions for even the most marginalized women.

“We need a system that ensures women can access abortion care when they need it and where they need it,” Carr said in her statement, referring to the situation in South Australia, where physical and regulatory limits to access still persists. “Not one that causes unnecessary delays to patients seeking a time sensitive procedure,” she emphasized.

Activists, while celebrating the victory, nevertheless pointed out that the fight is not over.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Guest Post

Citizen Truth republishes articles with permission from a variety of news sites, advocacy organizations and watchdog groups. We choose articles we think will be informative and of interest to our readers. Chosen articles sometimes contain a mixture of opinion and news, any such opinions are those of the authors and do not reflect the views of Citizen Truth.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Brian October 5, 2019

    Feb 24, 2016 Abortion Procedures: 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Trimesters

    Dr. Anthony Levatino describes four abortion procedures, covering the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd trimesters of pregnancy.

    https://youtu.be/CFZDhM5Gwhk

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.