اكتب للبحث

حضاره

ناشطون يحثون نيكي ميناج على إلغاء مظهر الحفل

أداء نيكي ميناج في HMV Hammersmith Apollo في يونيو 25 ، 2012 في لندن ، إنجلترا في جولة الجمعة الوردي.
أداء نيكي ميناج في HMV Hammersmith Apollo في يونيو 25 ، 2012 في لندن ، إنجلترا في جولة الجمعة الوردي. (الصورة: روري)

من المقرر أن يشارك نيكي ميناج في المملكة العربية السعودية ، وهي الدولة التي قطعت رأس خمسة رجال في أبريل بسبب اعترافها بعلاقات جنسية مع رجال آخرين.

تنصح مؤسسة حقوق الإنسان نيكي ميناج بإلغاء أدائها في مهرجان موسيقي في المملكة العربية السعودية لأنه يتم تمويله من قبل ولي العهد الأمير محمد بن سلمان المثير للجدل ، والذي يعد جزءًا من نظام البلاد القمعي الذي يشمل التمييز الجنسي والجنسية المثلية.

تأسست في 2005 ، غير ربحية منظمة تصف نفسها بأنها تعزز وتحمي حقوق الإنسان على الصعيد العالمي ، مع التركيز على المجتمعات المغلقة. أرسلوا خمس صفحات خطاب إلى مغني الراب الحائز على جائزة ، مطالبة لها بالانسحاب من مهرجان جدة العالمي القادم في يوليو 18.

وجاء في الرسالة "النظام السعودي [هو] واحد من أسوأ منتهكي حقوق الإنسان في العالم". "وبشكل خاص الحق في حرية الرأي والتعبير".

وصفت الرسالة أن الأمة تحكمها "ملكية مطلقة" تفرض الرقابة على وسائل الإعلام ، وتقوض أي محاولات لإصلاح انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان ، مثل القضايا التي تؤثر على المرأة. على سبيل المثال ، المظاهرات والاحتجاجات العامة غير قانونية رغم عدم وجود قوانين صريحة تنظمها أو تحظرها.

كما تمت مناقشة إساءة معاملة مواطني LGBTQ ، بما في ذلك قطع رأس خمسة رجال في أبريل بسبب اعترافهم بعلاقات جنسية مع رجال آخرين. أشارت مؤسسة حقوق الإنسان إلى مشاركة منج في وورلد برايد في مسقط رأسها في مدينة نيويورك الشهر الماضي ، وكيف تتناقض مع ظهورها في مهرجان جدة العالمي.

لقد تم بالفعل تخفيف بعض القواعد الصارمة في المملكة العربية السعودية في ظل ولي العهد الحالي الأمير محمد بن سلمان ، مثل السماح للنساء بقيادة وحضور الأحداث الرياضية في الملاعب. في مدينة 2018 ، افتتحت مدينة الرياض العاصمة أولى دور السينما بعد حظر 35 لمدة عام.

سبق أن اتصلت مؤسسة حقوق الإنسان بمنج دون جدوى في 2015 ، وطلبت منها الانسحاب من مظهرها في أنغولانقلا عن انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان في الدولة الأفريقية الغنية بالنفط.

على الرغم من أن المؤسسة قد أبلغت Minaj أسابيع قبل الحفل في المملكة العربية السعودية هذا العام ، فإن المغني لم يصدر حتى الآن تعليق علني.

يعد مهرجان جدة العالمي أكبر مهرجان موسيقي من نوعه في المنطقة ، والذي يقام في استاد الملك عبد الله الرياضي في مدينة البحر الأحمر. يجب أن يكون الحاضرون 16 وأكبر سناً للحضور ، ويحظر تعاطي الكحول أو المخدرات. ومن المقرر أيضًا ظهور DJ Steve Aoki ونجم One Direction السابق ليام باين ، ولكن لم يتم الاتصال به من قبل مجموعة حقوق الإنسان.

كان هناك فنانين آخرين أدوا مؤخرًا في المملكة العربية السعودية ، بما في ذلك ماريا كاري وإنريكي إغليسياس و Black Eyed Peas و David Guetta. وقد قوبل البعض باعتراض ليس لأسباب مماثلة مثل منج.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. جون تشارلز يوليو 10، 2019

    هل حقا لا تهتم بالإبادة الجماعية التي تنفذ في اليمن؟

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

Activists Urge Nicki Minaj to Cancel Concert Appearance

Nicki Minaj performing at the HMV Hammersmith Apollo on June 25, 2012 in London, England on the Pink Friday Tour.
Nicki Minaj performing at the HMV Hammersmith Apollo on June 25, 2012 in London, England on the Pink Friday Tour. (Photo: Rory)

Nicki Minaj is scheduled to perform in Saudi Arabia, a nation that beheaded five men in April for admitting to sexual relations with other men.

The Human Rights Foundation is advising Nicki Minaj to cancel her performance at a Saudi Arabia music festival because it is being funded by controversial Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman (MBS), who is part of the nation’s oppressive regime that includes sexism and homophobia.

Founded in 2005, the nonprofit organization describes itself as promoting and protecting human rights globally, with a focus on closed societies. They sent a five-page letter to the award-winning rapper, imploring her to pull out of the upcoming Jeddah World Fest on July 18.

“The Saudi regime [is] one of the world’s worst human rights violators,” the letter read. “And in particular the right to freedom of opinion and expression.”

The letter described that the nation is ruled by an “absolute monarchy” that censors the media, and undermines any attempts to fix human rights violations, such as issues affecting women. For example, public demonstrations and protests are illegal even though there are no express laws regulating or prohibiting them.

Also discussed was the country’s abuse of its LGBTQ citizens, including the beheading of five men in April for admitting to sexual relations with other men. The Human Rights Foundation cited Minaj’s own participation in World Pride in her hometown of New York City last month, and how she would contradict that with an appearance at the Jeddah World Fest.

Some of Saudi Arabia’s strict rules have actually loosened under the current Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, such as women being allowed to drive and attend sporting events in stadiums. In 2018, the capitol city of Riyadh opened its first movie theaters after a 35-year ban.

The Human Rights Foundation previously contacted Minaj to no avail in 2015, requesting her to pull out of an appearance in Angola, citing humans rights violations in the oil-rich African nation.

Although the foundation has notified Minaj weeks ahead of the concert in Saudi Arabia this year, the singer has not yet made a public comment.

The Jeddah World Fest is the largest musical festival of its kind in the region, held at the King Abdullah Sports Stadium event in the Red Sea city. Attendees must be 16 and older to attend, and alcohol or drug use is prohibited. DJ Steve Aoki and former One Direction star Liam Payne are also scheduled to appear, but were not contacted by the human rights group.

There have been other artists who’ve performed recently in Saudi Arabia, including Mariah Carey, Enrique Iglesias, the Black Eyed Peas, and David Guetta. Some have been met with objection not to for similar reasons as Minaj.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. John Charles July 10, 2019

    Do you really not care about the genocide being carried out in Yemen?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.