输入搜索

亚太

在印度和巴基斯坦交火后,俄罗斯迈出了帮助

自杀式炸弹爆发促使印度和巴基斯坦之间的军事交流交换后,南亚地区的紧张局势处于危险的低谷。

俄罗斯提出帮助调解印度和巴基斯坦之间的对话,因为印度北部查谟和克什米尔2月14发生炸弹袭击,造成40印度准军事人员死亡,邻国之间的紧张关系恶化。

俄罗斯正在为印度和巴基斯坦提供一个平台,以便在轰炸后会见并讨论各国的关系。 俄罗斯外交部长谢尔盖拉夫罗夫说,如果印度和巴基斯坦需要调解,克里姆林宫愿意提供帮助。

巴基斯坦上周三击落了两架印度军用喷气式飞机,这是印度在巴基斯坦境内发动空袭的第二天,这是自印度与巴基斯坦1971战争以来的首次此类军事交流。

2月40在印度控制的克什米尔地区,一名自杀式炸弹袭击者在14印度准军事和警察周围丧生,紧张局势首次升级。 尽管巴基斯坦否认,一个名为Jaish e-Mohammad的巴基斯坦反叛组织声称应对此次袭击事件负责。

为什么印度和巴基斯坦在战斗?

印度和巴基斯坦之间的争端源于他们对位于喜马拉雅山脉的查谟和克什米尔的共同要求。 中国也控制着克什米尔的一小部分。

印度和巴基斯坦在1947分离后,两国都参与了三场战争,以1948,1965和1971的形式宣称有争议的克什米尔地区。

在查谟和克什米尔的一些克什米尔反叛派别争取完全独立,而其他人主张加入巴基斯坦。

周六,巴基斯坦外交部长Shan Mehmood Qureshi表示,伊斯兰堡接受了俄罗斯提出的解决与印度冲突的调解建议。 然而,库雷希不确定印度对俄罗斯提议的回应。

正如巴基斯坦黎明报道的那样,库雷希说,巴基斯坦愿意与印度一起坐下来,以弥合紧张局势。

“我不知道印度,但我想对俄罗斯这样说:巴基斯坦已准备好上台并缓和紧张局势,” 库雷希说.

虽然印度驻俄罗斯大使Venkatesh Varma表示,没有一个国家提供贷款来解决印巴争端。 沙特阿拉伯和土耳其也是提供调解印度和巴基斯坦之间谈判的国家之一。 然而,Varma补充说,新德里不会接受调解提议。

“我想强调,我们没有收到正式的调解提议。 即使我们这样做,我们也不会接受它。 到目前为止,还没有国家提出过调解解决冲突的问题,“ 瓦玛说 正如土耳其通讯社阿纳多卢报道的那样。

俄罗斯在克什米尔的角色以及作为世界各地的调解者

几十年前,前苏联总理阿列克谢柯西金 帮助调解印度和巴基斯坦结束了1965战争。 在接下来的几年和冷战期间,苏联被视为反巴基斯坦和亲印度。

现在,莫斯科与两国关系良好,但“调解”这个词是新德里想要避免的。 印度拒绝克什米尔的所有国际干预,因为克什米尔的最后一个大君哈里辛格在1940晚期签署了加入印度的文书,这导致了第一次印巴战争的1947-1948。

近年来,自苏联解体以来,莫斯科一直试图重塑其作为国际事务中的世界角色和问题解决者的形象。 在冷战期间,克里姆林宫调解国际关系的努力更多地被推动共产主义的传播所驱动。

外交政策解释说自2015以来,俄罗斯在叙利亚的作用最清楚地说明了俄罗斯成为中东问题解决者的努力。 在叙利亚,莫斯科加快了在谈判进程中的努力,并与土耳其和伊朗建立了强大的联盟,从而促成了阿斯塔纳的谈判。 俄罗斯还介入了一个涉及叙利亚霍姆斯和哈马省新西兰国家武装叛乱组织的和解进程。

俄罗斯也试图调解其他冲突,但外交政策声称它没有解决冲突本身的根源,而只是沉默它们。 冲突可能会受到抑制,但它将再次爆发,正如乌克兰,克里米亚,车臣和格鲁吉亚过去的俄罗斯调解努力所示。

美国是否参与了印巴事务?

美国在巴基斯坦 - 印度争端中有多重利益,其中最重要的是防止使用核武器,两国都被认为含有核武器。

印度,巴基斯坦和南亚外交关系委员会高级研究员Alyssa Ayres告诉NPR,美国对两国之间紧张局势的缓和感兴趣。

“显然,我们在该地区有很多利益。 但在危机即将来临之际,美国对试图阻止使用核武器具有浓厚的兴趣。 第二,印度是美国的主要防务伙伴。 第三个利益是巴基斯坦,它是美国的长期合作伙伴。 我们有一段艰难的关系,但这是一个美国正在与之合作的国家,包括阿富汗的挑战性问题,“艾尔斯在接受采访时说。

然而,在2017,印度拒绝了白宫提出的帮助调解印巴事务的提议。 印度的声明是对Nikki Haley所作的回应,他当时是美国驻联合国大使,也是印度人。

“这届政府关注印度与巴基斯坦之间的关系,非常希望看到我们如何缓和任何形式的冲突,” 海利在新闻发布会上说.

“我希望政府能够进行谈判,并试图找到自己的位置参与这个过程,”这位前南卡罗来纳州州长说道,并补充说:“如果总统参与,也不会感到惊讶好。”

印度外交部发言人Gopal Baglay表示,印度拒绝了这一提议,“政府在没有恐怖和暴力的环境中对所有印巴问题进行双边补救的立场没有改变。

“我们当然希望国际社会和组织能够执行有关巴基斯坦恐怖主义的国际机制和任务,这仍然是我们地区内外和平与稳定的最大威胁,”他补充说。

据报道,在最近的轰炸和战斗机事件之后,美国正在调查巴基斯坦可能滥用美国制造的战斗机,这将违反美国制定的使用条款。

在9 / 11之后,美国开始与巴基斯坦合作,成为美国“反恐战争”的盟友。这种关系的一部分意味着美国对其出售给巴基斯坦的军事设备设定了使用条款。 但是,巴基斯坦现在也从中国购买军事装备。

特色图片:在Wagha的国际边境举行的“击败撤退”仪式。 每天晚上,当太阳下山时,印度边境安全部队和巴基斯坦巴基斯坦游骑兵队将完全协调地降低旗帜并关闭门仪式。 (图片来自Koshy Koshy)

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

After India and Pakistan Exchange Fire, Russia Steps in to Help

After a suicide bomb prompted an exchange of military engagements between India and Pakistan, tensions are at a dangerous low in the South Asian region.

Russia is offering to help mediate dialogue between India and Pakistan as tension between the neighboring countries has worsened following a bomb attack in the northern India state of Jammu and Kashmir on February 14 that killed 40 Indian paramilitary personnel.

Russia is offering a platform for India and Pakistan to meet and discuss the countries’ relationship after the bombing. Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said that the Kremlin is ready to help if India and Pakistan need a mediation.

Pakistan downed two Indian military jets last Wednesday, a day after India launched airstrikes in Pakistan territory, the first such military exchange since the India-Pakistan war of 1971.

The tension first escalated when a suicide bomber killed around 40 Indian paramilitary and police officers on February 14 in the India-controlled region of Kashmir. A Pakistan-based rebel group called Jaish e-Mohammad claimed to be responsible for the attack, despite denial from Pakistan.

Why are India and Pakistan Fighting?

The dispute between India and Pakistan stems from their mutual claim to Jammu and Kashmir, located in the Himalaya mountains. China also controls a small portion of Kashmir.

After India and Pakistan separated in 1947, both countries were engaged in three wars to claim the disputed Kashmir region in 1948, 1965, and 1971.

Some of Kashmir’s rebel factions in Jammu and Kashmir have fought for full independence, while others advocate for accession to Pakistan.

On Saturday, Pakistan Foreign Minister Shan Mehmood Qureshi said Islamabad had accepted Russia’s mediation offer to solve the conflict with India. However, Qureshi was unsure about India’s response to Russia’s offer.

As Pakistani newspaper Dawn reported, Qureshi said that Pakistan is ready to sit down together with India to diffuse the tension.

“I don’t know about India but I want to say this to Russia: Pakistan is ready to come to the table and de-escalate tensions,” Qureshi said.

While the Indian ambassador to Russia, Venkatesh Varma, said no country has offered a lending hand to solve the India-Pakistan dispute. Saudi Arabia and Turkey are also among the countries offering to mediate talks between India and Pakistan. However, Varma added that New Delhi will not accept a mediation offer.

“I want to emphasize that we did not receive a formal offer of mediation. And even if we do, we will not accept it. So far, no country has offered to mediate in resolving the conflict,” Varma stated as the Turkish news agency Anadolu reported.

Russia’s Role in Kashmir and as a Mediator Around the World

Decades ago, the former Soviet Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin helped to mediate India and Pakistan into an end to the 1965 war. During the following years and the Cold War, the Soviet Union was seen as anti-Pakistan and pro-India.

Now, Moscow enjoys a good relationship with both countries but the word ’mediation’ is something New Delhi wants to avoid. India has rejected all international intervention in Kashmir since Hari Singh, the last Maharajah of Kashmir, inked the Instrument of Accession to India in the late 1940s which lead to the first Indo-Pakistani war of 1947-1948.

In recent years, Moscow has tried itself to rebrand its image as a world player and problem solver in international affairs since the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. While during the Cold War, the Kremlin’s effort to mediate international relations was seen as more driven by the desire to spread communism.

As Foreign Policy explains, Russia’s efforts to become a Middle East problem solver is most clearly illustrated by its role in Syria since 2015. In Syria, Moscow sped up its efforts in the negotiation process and formed a strong alliance with Turkey and Iran, which lead to the Astana talks. Russia also mediated a reconciliation process involving armed rebel groups in Syria’s Homs and Hama’s provinces in 2016.

Russia has attempted to mediate other conflicts as well, but Foreign Policy claims it does not address the roots of the conflict itself but rather merely silences them. The conflict may be suppressed, but it will erupt again, as seen in past Russian mediation efforts in Ukraine, Crimea, Chechnya, and Georgia.

Is the US Involved in India-Pakistani Affairs?

The U.S. has multiple interests in the Pakistan-India dispute not least of which is preventing the use of nuclear weapons, both countries are believed to contain nuclear weapons.

Alyssa Ayres, a senior fellow for India, Pakistan and South Asia at the Council on Foreign Relations, told NPR the U.S. has a vested interest in the de-escalation of tensions between the two countries.

“We have many interests in the region, obviously. But in this immediate moment of crisis, the United States has a strong interest in trying to prevent the use of nuclear weapons. The second is that India is a major defense partner of the United States. And the third interest is Pakistan, a longtime partner of the United States. We have a difficult relationship, but it is a country that the United States is working with, including on the challenging problems in Afghanistan,” Ayres said in the interview.

However, in 2017, India refused the White House’s offer to help mediate India-Pakistani affairs. India’s statement was in response to statements made by Nikki Haley who was at the time the U.S. ambassador to the U.N. and who is Indian herself.

“This administration is concerned about the relationship between India and Pakistan and very much wants to see how we de-escalate any sort of conflict going forward,” said Haley during a news conference.

“I would expect that the administration is going to be in talks and try and find its place to be part of that process,” the former Governor of South Carolina said, adding: “And also wouldn’t be surprised if the President participates as well.”

India rejected the offer, with India’s Ministry of External Affairs spokesperson Gopal Baglay saying, “Government’s position for bilateral redressal of all India-Pakistan issues in an environment free of terror and violence hasn’t changed.

“We, of course, expect the international community and organizations to enforce international mechanisms and mandates concerning terrorism emanating from Pakistan, which continues to be the single biggest threat to peace and stability in our region and beyond,” he added.

After the recent bombing and fighter jet engagements, the U.S. is reportedly now looking into possible misuse of American made fighter jets by Pakistan, which would be in violation of the terms of use set by the U.S.

After 9/11 the U.S. began working with Pakistan as an ally in the U.S.’ “War on Terror.” Part of that relationship meant the U.S. set terms of use on its military equipment sold to Pakistan. However, Pakistan now also buys military equipment from China.

 

Featured Image: ‘Beating of Retreat’ Ceremony at International Border at Wagha. Every evening as the sun sets, the Border Security Force of India and the Pakistan Rangers of Pakistan perform a perfectly coordinated lowering of flag and closing of door ceremony. (Photo via Koshy Koshy)

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.