输入搜索

环境

亚马逊森林砍伐激增,因为Bolsonaro减弱了环境保护

图片来自Neil Palmer(CIAT)。 亚马逊雨林的鸟瞰图,在马瑙斯附近,巴西亚马逊州的首都。
亚马逊雨林的鸟瞰图,在马瑙斯附近,巴西亚马逊州的首都。 (照片:尼尔帕尔默,CIAT)

“通过Bolsonaro,摧毁森林的人们感到安全,而那些保护森林的人会感到受到威胁。”

根据巴西空间研究所INPE的卫星图像,巴西亚马逊热带雨林的毁林达到了上个月十年来的最快速度。 分析人士指责Jair Bolsonaro总统根据环境法规的减少,导致森林砍伐迅速增加导致非法采伐活动激增。

图像显示了 毁林 285的2019平方里程数为212,是2018亚马逊雨林XNUMX平方英里数量急剧下降的。 5月是森林雨季后伐木趋于增加的三个月中的第一个月。

“如果这种向上的曲线继续下去,亚马逊森林可能会有糟糕的一年。”INPE卫星监测负责人Claudio Almeida告诉记者 路透社。 “这将取决于未来两个关键月份的警务工作量。”

环保主义者担心Bolsonaro正在摧毁巴西的森林

在Bolsonaro于1月份上台后,林业委员会从环境部转移到农业部,该部由该国强大的农业综合企业游说团体管理。 Bolsonaro也 转移 从土着事务机构到农业部确定新的土着土地的权力,并表示他不会允许“再多一厘米”的土地作为土着保护区。

“对于Bolsonaro来说,摧毁森林的人会感到安全 保护 森林感到受到威胁,“巴西绿色和平组织的Marcio Astrini说 路透社.

前政府部长 警告新总统正试图系统地破坏巴西的环保政策。

Bolsonaro政府 已发出 11年度环境处罚数量最少,政府检查数量自去年以来下降了70%。 Bolsonaro的环境部长Ricardo Salles将气候变化称为“次要问题,“解雇了经验丰富的检查员,并且是 被定罪 在担任圣保罗州环境机构负责人时改变环境地图,使矿工受益。 根据 Folha,Salles正在将政府机构私有化,该机构提供亚马逊森林砍伐的卫星图像。

福布斯作家肯尼斯·拉波扎 认为以前的政府迅速砍伐亚马逊和Bolsonaro只是代表了持续趋势的加剧。 Rapoza写道,为了拯救亚马逊,环保主义者应该关注中国,这是世界上最大的森林风险商品进口国,如大豆,纸张和纸浆。

在中国削减与美国大豆出口国的关系以反击特朗普政府关税后,巴西成为世界上最大的大豆出口国。 CDP中国发布报告称,国内对大豆需求的增长“可能会引发更严重的森林砍伐。”

Rapoza指出绿色和平组织如何成功说服麦当劳停止购买来自亚马逊地区的大豆。 欧洲作为中国之后的第二大大豆进口国,已经对森林风险商品变得更加严格 挪威政府养老基金已从参与砍伐森林的公司中剥离出来。 这些发展导致Rapoza得出结论,向中国施压,要求砍伐森林将是一个比关注Bolsonaro更有效的战略。

尽管受到巴西环境保护机构Bolsonaro政府的削弱 IBAMA 正在开展大规模行动,打击非法采伐,以响应惊人的卫星图像。

青年气候活动家格雷塔·图恩伯格(Greta Thunberg)谴责世界上最大的热带雨林的快速砍伐,这是一个碳封存和氧气的主要来源,就像“锯掉我们所居住的树枝”。

“像这样的灾难性砍伐必须走到尽头。 而不只是在亚马逊......我们真的在锯掉我们所居住的分支,“图恩伯格 啾啾.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Amazon Deforestation Surges As Bolsonaro Weakens Environmental Protections

Pic by Neil Palmer (CIAT). Aerial view of the Amazon Rainforest, near Manaus, the capital of the Brazilian state of Amazonas.
Aerial view of the Amazon Rainforest, near Manaus, the capital of the Brazilian state of Amazonas. (Photo: Neil Palmer, CIAT)

“With Bolsonaro, people who destroy forests feel safe and those who protect forests feel threatened.”

Deforestation of Brazil’s Amazon rainforest reached its fastest rate in a decade last month, according to satellite images from Brazilian space research institute INPE. Analysts blame a surge in illegal logging, enabled by diminished environmental regulations under President Jair Bolsonaro, for the rapid increase in deforestation.

The images show the deforestation of 285 square miles in May 2019, a sharp uptake from the 212 square miles of Amazon rainforest deforested in May 2018. May marks the first of three months where logging tends to increase after the forest’s rainy season.

“If this upward curve continues, we could have a bad year for the Amazon forest.” Claudio Almeida, INPE satellite monitoring head, told Reuters. “It will depend on how much policing there is in the next two critical months.”

Environmentalists Fear Bolsonaro is Destroying Brazil’s Forests

After Bolsonaro took power in January, the forestry commission was moved from the environmental ministry to the agriculture ministry, which is run by the country’s powerful agribusiness lobby. Bolsonaro also transferred the authority to determine new indigenous lands from the indigenous affairs agency to the agriculture ministry, and has said he would not allow “one more centimeter” of land for indigenous reserves.

“With Bolsonaro, people who destroy forests feel safe and those who protect forests feel threatened,” Marcio Astrini of Greenpeace Brazil told Reuters.

Former government ministers warn the new president is seeking to systematically destroy Brazil’s environmental protection policies.

The Bolsonaro administration has issued the least amount of environmental penalties in 11 years, and the number of government inspections has decreased 70% since last year. Bolsonaro’s environmental minister, Ricardo Salles, has referred to climate change as a “secondary issue,” fired veteran inspectors, and was convicted of altering environmental maps to benefit miners when serving as head of Sao Paulo’s state environmental agency. According to Folha, Salles is moving to privatize the government agency that provided satellite imagery of the Amazon’s deforestation.

Forbes writer Kenneth Rapoza argued previous administrations rapidly deforested the Amazon and Bolsonaro merely represents the intensification of an ongoing trend. Rapoza writes that to save the Amazon, environmentalists should be focusing on China, the world’s greatest importer of forest-risk commodities like soy, paper, and pulp.

Brazil became the world’s biggest exporter of soy after China cut ties with U.S. soy exporters in retaliation to Trump administration tariffs. CDP China released a report stating growing domestic demand for soybeans “could potentially trigger further and faster deforestation.”

Rapoza points out how Greenpeace successfully persuaded McDonald’s to stop buying soy sourced from the Amazon region. Europe, the second largest importer of soy after China, has become more strict about forest-risk commodities, as has Norway‘s government pension fund, which has divested from companies involved in deforestation. These developments lead Rapoza to conclude that pressuring China on deforestation would be a more efficient strategy than focusing on Bolsonaro.

Despite being weakened by the Bolsonaro administration, Brazil’s environmental protection agency IBAMA is launching a large-scale operation to fight illegal logging in response to the alarming satellite images.

Youth climate activist Greta Thunberg condemned the rapid deforestation of the world’s greatest rainforest, a major source of carbon sequestration and oxygen, as like “sawing off the branch we all live on.”

“Disastrous deforestation like this must come to an end. And not just in the Amazon… We are literally sawing off the branch we all live on,” Thunberg tweeted.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.