اكتب للبحث

البيئة

مرسى يلغي الألعاب النارية بسبب موجة الحرارة التاريخية

مرسى، ألاسكا
أنكوراج ، ألاسكا (الصورة: ديدييه مويس)

"ما يحدث في ألاسكا الساحلية هو ما يأتي بمعنى آخر للجميع. التغييرات تحدث ، وسيتم تكبير التغييرات. "

وصلت Anchorage ، ألاسكا ، إلى درجة 90 يوم الخميس ، مما أدى إلى تحطيم سجلات درجات الحرارة طوال الوقت ودفع قسم الإطفاء بالمدينة إلى إلغاء الألعاب النارية 4th لشهر يوليو بسبب الطقس الجاف القاسي. موجة الحرارة التاريخية في أنكوراج تأتي بعد أيام من تقرير دعمته الأمم المتحدة الشهر الماضي سخونة يونيو مسجل.

"بحر بيرينغ الشمالي بالقرب من ألاسكا خلال شهري مايو ويونيو لم يكن أكثر دفئًا من هذا العام. كانت ستة من العشرة الأكثر دفئًا في مايو-يونيو في السنوات 120 الماضية في السنوات الست الماضية. تستمر تأثيرات المجتمع والنظام الإيكولوجي " تويتد ريك ثومان ، أخصائي المناخ في مركز ألاسكا لتقييم المناخ والسياسة.

ألاسكا هي أسرع الولايات الأمريكية ارتفاعًا في درجات الحرارة ، حيث ترتفع درجات الحرارة بمعدل ضعفي متوسط ​​المعدل العالمي ، وفقًا لما ذكره موقع التقييم الوطني الرابع للمناخ. إن ذوبان الجليد هو أحد أكثر الجوانب إثارة للانزعاج في حرارة ألاسكا الزائدة ، والتي تنحرف عن أشعة الشمس ، بينما يمتصها الماء المفتوح ويزيد عن درجة حرارة السطح.

"بالنسبة لدرجات حرارة سطح البحر ، هذا مجرد فلكي" ، أخبر ثومان مرات، في إشارة إلى درجات حرارة السطح تصل إلى متوسط ​​أربع درجات فوق المعدل الطبيعي في بحار ألاسكا. ذاب الجليد الذي يستمر عادة حتى نهاية شهر مايو في شهر مارس من هذا العام ، والذي كان الأكثر سخونة في الولاية على الإطلاق. حذر ثومان من أن ذوبان الجليد السريع قد يضر بالمجتمعات التي تعتمد على الصيد وصيد الأسماك ، قول"مجتمعاتنا مرنة ، لكن الأمور تحدث بسرعة كبيرة."

على الرغم من حظر مشعل حرائق ولاية ألاسكا بيع واستخدام الألعاب النارية في مساحات شاسعة من الولاية ، إلا أن المسؤولين يخشون أن يؤدي الطقس الجاف والحار إلى تمكين حرائق الغابات من الإشعال.

وقالت بيث إيبسن ، المتحدثة باسم مكتب إدارة الأراضي ، لـ "قد نشعر بالركض والحرائق هنا في الأيام القليلة القادمة". نيويورك تايمز.

يقول عالم المناخ برايان بريتشنايدر إن وضع ألاسكا يعكس ما يحدث على نطاق عالمي. يؤدي ذوبان الجليد في المنطقة القطبية الشمالية وغيرها من المناطق إلى خلق حلقة تغذية مرتدة سلبية من المياه الدافئة وارتفاع منسوب مياه البحر ، والتي من المتوقع أن تكلف ما يصل إلى 70 تريليون دولار إلى الاقتصاد العالمي.

شهدت غرينلاند في الآونة الأخيرة ذوبان تاريخي مع درجات حرارة 40 أعلى من المعتاد ، مثل واشنطن بوست وذكرت: "تظهر بيانات المركز الوطني لبيانات الثلوج والجليد أن الغطاء الجليدي في جرينلاند يبدو أنه شهد أكبر حدث ذوبان في وقت مبكر من هذا الموسم مسجلاً هذا الأسبوع (على الرغم من أن بضع سنوات أخرى أظهرت ذوبانًا مماثلًا في منتصف يونيو)."

في العام المقبل ، يمكن أن تتحول الرياح إلى الشمال. هذا يميل إلى إخفاء إشارة ارتفاع درجات الحرارة ، وقال Brettschneider سي ان ان. "ما يحدث في ألاسكا الساحلية هو ما يأتي بمعنى آخر للجميع. التغييرات تحدث ، وسيتم تكبير التغييرات. "

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

1 تعليق

  1. لاري ستاوت يوليو 7، 2019

    رائعة حقا! كنت في مرسى لعدة أيام لامتحانات ما قبل التعريفي لحرب فيتنام خلال شتاء 1965. قمت أنا وزملائي المجندين بالتجول في الليل في الشوارع المتجمدة بوسط مدينة أنكوراج ، حيث كان أصحاب متاجر النفط الرخيصة بشكل لا يصدق في تلك الأيام ينفخون الهواء الساخن من الأفران عبر حواجز شبكية على الرصيف خارج نوافذ العرض ، كحافز للمارة على التوقف أنفسهم أثناء فحص الأواني المعروضة. العاصفة الثلجية المستعرة على طول ألاسكا بانهاندل نفت مرارًا وتكرارًا الهبوط في رحلة العودة الخاصة بي إلى جونو ، حيث عشت ، لذا جاءت الطائرة وذهبت إلى أنكوراج إلى كيتشيكان وعادت لعدة أيام على التوالي. في هذه الرحلات ، تعاملت مع المناظر الجوية المذهلة (الصافية) لنهر Malaspina piedmont الجليدي الرائع ، والذي تغذيته العديد من الأنهار الجليدية في الوادي الكبير التي خرجت من الجبال باتجاه مياه المد. اليوم ، كان نهر مالاسبينا الجليدي الذي كان في يوم من الأيام ظلاً مثيرًا للشفقة وانكمشًا لذاته السابقة. (لا ، لم أذهب إلى فيتنام ، ولم أندم أبدًا على ذلك).

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

Anchorage Cancels Fireworks Due To Historic Heat Wave

Anchorage, Alaska
Anchorage, Alaska (Photo: Didier Moïse)

“What is happening in coastal Alaska is what is coming in one sense for everybody else. Changes are happening, and changes will be magnified.”

Anchorage, Alaska, reached 90 degrees on Thursday, shattering all-time temperature records and prompting the city’s fire department to cancel July 4th fireworks due to extreme dry weather. Anchorage’s historic heat wave comes days after a U.N.-backed report showed last month was the hottest June on record.

“The northern Bering Sea near Alaska during May & June has never been warmer than this year. Six of the ten warmest May-Junes in the past 120 years have been the past six years. Community and ecosystem impacts continue,” tweeted Rick Thoman, a climate specialist with the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy.

Alaska is the fastest warming U.S. state with temperatures rising at twice the average global rate, according to the Fourth National Climate Assessment. One of the most alarming aspects of Alaska’s increased heat is melting ice, which deflects sunlight, whereas open water absorbs it and increases above surface temperatures.

“For sea surface temperatures, that’s just astronomical,” Thoman told the Times, in reference to surface temperatures reaching an average of four degrees above normal on Alaskan seas. Ice which normally lasts through the end of May melted in March this year, which was the state’s hottest March on record. Thoman warned the rapidly melting ice could hurt communities that rely on hunting and fishing, saying, “our communities are resilient, but things are happening so fast.”

Even though the Alaska State Fire Marshal banned the sale and use of fireworks in large swathes of the state, officials fear the dry and hot weather could enable wildfires to ignite.

“We could be up and running with fires here in the next couple days,” Beth Ipsen, a spokeswoman with the Bureau of Land Management, told the New York Times.

Climatologist Brian Brettschneider says Alaska’s situation mirrors what is coming on a global scale. Melting ice in the arctic and other regions creates a negative feedback loop of warmer water and rising sea levels, which is projected to cost as much as $70 trillion to the global economy.

Greenland recently experienced historic melting with temperatures 40 degrees above normal, as the Washington Post reported: “Data from the National Snow and Ice Data Center show that the Greenland ice sheet appears to have witnessed its biggest melt event so early in the season on record this week (although a few other years showed similar mid-June melting).”

“Next year, the winds could turn northerly. That tends to mask a warming signal,” Brettschneider told CNN. “What is happening in coastal Alaska is what is coming in one sense for everybody else. Changes are happening, and changes will be magnified.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

1 Comment

  1. Larry Stout July 7, 2019

    Amazing! I was in Anchorage for several days for my Vietnam War pre-induction examinations during the winter of 1965. My fellow inductees and I strolled at night on the frigid streets of downtown Anchorage, where in those days of incredibly cheap oil shop owners blew hot air from furnaces through gratings on the sidewalk outside their show windows, as an inducement for passersby to pause and warm themselves while examining the wares on display. Blizzards raging along the Alaska Panhandle repeatedly denied landing to my return flight to Juneau, where I lived, so the plane came and went Anchorage to Ketchikan and back for several days running. On these flights I was treated to amazing (cloudless) aerial views of the magnificent Malaspina piedmont glacier, which was fed by several big valley glaciers coming down out of the mountains toward tidewater. Today, the once-grand Malaspina glacier is a pathetic, shrunken shadow of its former self. (No, I didn’t go to Vietnam, and I’ve never regretted that.)

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.