اكتب للبحث

البيئة

تظهر دراسات جديدة تكلفة تغير المناخ بقيمة تريليون دولار

مركب من ثماني صور تم التقاطها بالتسلسل عندما شكل إعصار في كانساس في 2016
مركب من ثماني صور تم التقاطها بالتسلسل عندما شكل إعصار في كانساس في 2016. (الصورة: جيسون وينغارت)

وفقًا للدراسة ، خسرت البرازيل 25٪ من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للفرد ، وخسرت نيجيريا 29٪ ، وفقدت الهند 31٪ بسبب تغير المناخ.

توصلت أول دراستين جديدتين حول المناخ إلى أن تغير المناخ يزيد من فجوة الثروة العالمية ، بينما تظهر الدراسة الثانية أن ذوبان التربة الصقيعية في القطب الشمالي سيكلف 70 تريليون دولار من الأضرار التي لحقت بالاقتصاد العالمي ، ومعظمها سيحدث على الدول الفقيرة في العالم. جنوب.

الـ الدراسة الأولى، نشرت في وقائع الاكاديمية الوطنية للعلوم في يوم الاثنين ، استخدم أكثر من عشرة نماذج مناخية لقياس كيف كان يمكن أن يتطور اقتصاد كل دولة دون تغير المناخ الذي يسببه الإنسان.

دراسة: تكلفة تغير المناخ تضرب البلدان الحارة بقوة

"لدينا ثقة كبيرة للغاية في أن مجموعة فرعية كبيرة من البلدان في خطوط العرض المنخفضة حيث يكون الجو دافئًا قد تأثرت سلبًا بالاحترار العالمي التاريخي ، وبالتالي أصبح نصيب الفرد من إجمالي الناتج المحلي اليوم أقل مما كان يمكن أن يحدث لظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري". قال أحد أستاذي ستانفورد الذين عملوا في الدراسة أكسيوس.

الأستاذ الآخر ، مارشال بيرك ، كان وجدت سابقا يعاني هذا الناتج الاقتصادي من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة بشدة منذ انخفاض الإنتاج الزراعي والعمالي.

وفقًا للدراسة ، خسرت البرازيل 25٪ من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للفرد ، وفقدت نيجيريا 29٪ ، وفقدت الهند 31٪ ، مقارنةً بسيناريو لم يؤثر فيه الاحترار البشري على المناخ. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن نماذج الكمبيوتر أظهرت أن بعض البلدان ، مثل كندا والنرويج ، استفادت بالفعل من ارتفاع درجات الحرارة.

انتقد سليمان هسيانج ، خبير المناخ الذي سبق له العمل مع ديفينبو وبورك ، جوانب الورقة الجديدة. وافق هسيانج على الاستنتاج الذي خلصت إليه الدراسة حول التأثير السلبي لتغير المناخ على الاقتصادات المدارية ، لكنه عارض فكرة أن الدول الشمالية الغنية قد تستفيد من تغير أنماط الطقس.

"لكن الاستنتاج القائل بأن الدول الغنية كان يجب أن تستفيد من الاحترار هو أقل وضوحًا مع وجود دعم محدود في هذه الدراسة ... عندما ينظر المرء في إمكانية أن الاحترار في السنة الحالية قد يؤثر على النمو في السنوات المقبلة ، فإن الطريقة التي تستخدمها الدراسة تشير إلى أن معظم أو جميع الدول الغنية ربما فقدت أيضًا دخلها " وقال هسيانج أكسيوس.

دراسة ثانية تقول إن تكلفة التغير المناخي هي 10 Times أي فائدة

بحسب ال الدراسة الثانية، نشرت في طبيعة الاتصالات أبريل 23 ، تكلفة ذوبان القطب الشمالي ستكون أكبر بنسبة 10 من الفوائد المحتملة ، والتي تشمل سهولة التنقل للسفن والوصول إلى المعادن. استخدمت الدراسة أكثر برامج المحاكاة تقدماً في الولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة ، واستغرق الأمر أسابيع لاستكمالها حيث مرت بمجموعة هائلة ومتنوعة من المتغيرات.

ذوبان الجليد الدائم هو خاصة فيما يتعلق لأن الكربون والميثان المخزن تحت الجليد يتم إطلاقهما عند ذوبان الجليد. يعتقد العلماء أن التربة الصقيعية ستذوب بسرعة أكبر عندما تصل درجات الحرارة إلى ما فوق الهدف 1.5 مئوية، والتي سوف تسبب حلقة ردود الفعل السلبية كما يتم إطلاق الكربون في الغلاف الجوي.

إن فقدان الجليد الأبيض في القطب الشمالي ، والذي يعمل على تشتيت بعض حرارة الشمس ، قد أُخذ في الحسبان في التكلفة الاقتصادية البالغة 10 تريليون دولار من دولارات الولايات المتحدة. وفقًا لكتاب الحقائق العالمي الصادر عن وكالة المخابرات المركزية ، فإن الاقتصاد العالمي بأكمله كان بقيمة 70 تريليون دولار في 78.28.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

New Studies Show Trillion Dollar Cost of Climate Change

Composite of eight images shot in sequence as a tornado formed in Kansas in 2016
Composite of eight images shot in sequence as a tornado formed in Kansas in 2016. (Photo: Jason Weingart)

According to the study, Brazil lost 25% of per capita GDP, Nigeria lost 29%, and India lost 31% because of climate change.

The first of two new climate studies finds that climate change intensifies the global wealth gap, while the second shows melting permafrost in the Arctic will cost $70 trillion in damage to the global economy, most of which will be inflicted on poor countries in the global south.

The first study, published in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences on Monday, used more than a dozen climate models to measure how each nation’s economy would have developed without human-caused climate change.

Study Says Cost of Climate Change Hits Warm Countries Harder

“We have very high confidence that a large subset of countries in the low latitudes where it is warm have been negatively impacted by historical global warming, so they have lower per capita GDP today than they would have had global warming not occurred,” Noah Diffenbaugh, one of the two Stanford professors who worked on the study, told Axios.

The other professor, Marshall Burke, had previously found that economic output suffers when temperatures grow too hot since agricultural and labor productivity decline.

According to the study, Brazil lost 25% of per capita GDP, Nigeria lost 29%, and India lost 31%, compared to a scenario where human-caused warming hadn’t impacted the climate. Interestingly, computer models showed some countries, such as Canada and Norway, actually benefited from warming temperatures.

Solomon Hsiang, a climate expert who has previously worked with Diffenbaugh and Burke, criticized aspects of the new paper. Hsiang agreed with the study’s conclusion on the negative impact of climate change on tropical economies but disputed the idea that wealthy northern countries may be benefiting from changing weather patterns.

“But the conclusion that rich countries should have benefited from warming is far less clear with limited support in this study… When one considers the possibility that warming in the current year might affect growth in future years, then the method employed by the study would suggest that most or all rich countries probably have also lost income,” Hsiang told Axios.

Second Study Says Cost of Climate Change is 10 Times Any Benefit

According to the second study, published in Nature Communications April 23, the cost of the melting Arctic will be 10 times greater than potential benefits, which include easier navigation for ships and access to minerals. The study used the most advanced simulation software in the U.S. and U.K., taking weeks to complete as it ran through an enormous and complex range of variables.

Thawing permafrost is particularly concerning because carbon and methane stored underneath the ice is released when the ice is melted. Scientists believe permafrost will melt more rapidly when temperatures reach above the 1.5 Celsius target, which will cause a negative feedback loop as carbon is released into the atmosphere.

The loss of the Arctic’s white ice, which serves to deflect some of the sun’s heat, was also factored into the $70 trillion in economic costs. According to the CIA’s World Factbook, the entire global economy was worth $78.28 trillion in 2014.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.