اكتب للبحث

البيئة

توقف خط أنابيب أبالاشيا ماونتن فيو منتصف الإنشاء

صورة مظلمة داخل خط أنابيب
توقف خط أنابيب 330 - ميل عبر جبال الأبلاش. الصورة عبر Pixabay.

توقف بناء خط أنابيب ماونتن فيو (MVP) ، وهو مشروع مقترح بطول 330 يمتد عبر جبال الآبالاش ، هذا الشهر بعد تصاريح التصاريح التي تسمح للتطوير بالمرور عبر غابة جيفرسون الوطنية.

تم تصميم MVP لنقل 2 مليار قدم مكعب من الغاز يوميًا من أحواض الصخر الزيتي في ولاية بنسلفانيا وأوهايو وغرب فرجينيا إلى جنوب شرق الولايات المتحدة ووسط المحيط الأطلسي.

وقد حصل مطورو خط الأنابيب ، الذي بدأ تشييده في فبراير ، على تصاريح من كل من مكتب إدارة الأراضي التابع لوزارة الداخلية وإدارة الغابات التابعة لوزارة الزراعة لمسافة 3.5 على طريق ميل عبر الأراضي الفيدرالية.

مدخل طريق إلى الحدود البرية الفيدرالية لغابة جيفرسون الوطنية.

ومع ذلك ، أصدرت اللجنة الفيدرالية لتنظيم الطاقة (FERC) أمرًا بتوقيف 3 في أغسطس بعد أن وقفت محكمة الاستئناف بالدائرة الرابعة مع معارضي خط الأنابيب وأبطلت الإذن الممنوح من قبل BLM و US Forest Service (USFS).

وجدت المحكمة أن قوات الأمن الغذائي الأمريكية قد أسقطت فجأة مخاوفها بشأن التآكل والأضرار التي لحقت بالرواسب في غابة جيفرسون الوطنية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، تجاهلت BLM الإملاءات القياسية التي من شأنها أن تقيد بناء خطوط الأنابيب إلى الأداة المساعدة في الطريق الصحيح.

"المواطنون الأمريكيون يضعون ثقتهم في دائرة الغابات لحماية الغابات في هذا البلد والمحافظة عليها ، ويستحقون أكثر من مجرد قبول صامت لمبرر شركة خطوط الأنابيب لرفع مساحات شاسعة من الأراضي الحرجية الوطنية ،" القاضي ستيفاني ثاكر كتب في الحكم.

كان ثاكر أحد ثلاثة قضاة في لجنة محكمة الاستئناف بالدائرة الرابعة التي حكمت بالإجماع بإلغاء التصاريح.

"يثق المواطنون أيضًا في مكتب إدارة الأراضي لمنع التدهور غير المبرر إلى الأراضي العامة" ، تابع ثاكر.

تمثل الأراضي الفيدرالية نسبة واحد بالمائة فقط من الطول الكلي ، لكن القرار الصادر عن محكمة استئناف الدائرة الرابعة يثير قرارات وشفافية مكاتب الحكومة.

عند إصدار أمر التوقف ، حاولت FERC أن ترسمه بطريقة مختلفة.

"لا يوجد سبب للاعتقاد بأن دائرة الغابات أو فيلق مهندسي الجيش ، بصفتهم وكالات إدارة الأراضي ، أو BLM ، باعتبارها الحقوق الفيدرالية للمانح ، لن تكون قادرة على الامتثال لتعليمات المحكمة وإصدار جديد في نهاية المطاف منح الحق في الطريق التي تلبي متطلبات المحكمة "، وأشار FERC في أمر التوقف.

أعلنت شركة Mountain View Pipeline، LLC ، الأسبوع الماضي ، أن نصف القوة العاملة المستأجرة لشركة MVP قد عادت بالفعل إلى العمل لاستكمال امتدادات خطوط الأنابيب التي بدأت بالفعل.

سيستمر البناء على ما يقرب من 77 من خطوط الأنابيب ، والوصول إلى فرجينيا الغربية وبعيدًا عن غابة جيفرسون الوطنية. لقد تم بالفعل خفض نسبة 80 من الأشجار على امتداد هذا الجزء من الأرض ، ولم يتم بعد اتخاذ تدابير لمنع تآكل التربة في الوقت الذي تم فيه إصدار أمر التوقف.

وفقًا لـ FERC ، فإن الابتعاد عن المشروع في مرحلته الحالية "سيؤدي إلى تعرض مناطق كبيرة للتآكل وحركة التربة لفترة غير محددة ، مما قد يؤثر سلبًا على موائل النباتات والحياة البرية والمسطحات المائية المجاورة".

على الرغم من تسرب كندا تشتري خط أنابيب ترانس مايندر في كيندر مورغان

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

3 تعليقات

  1. JanieP أغسطس 22، 2018

    لكنهم مستمرون في المنطقة التي دنسوا فيها؟

    رد
  2. جون ليتريل أغسطس 28، 2018

    إنه يسمى التقدم يا أحمق الجاهل الجاهل !! سيء للغاية أكثر الليبراليين لا تتعرض للضرب من الصواعق للحفاظ على الحمار مجنون في الداخل وخارج الشوارع! تسيطر وسائل الإعلام الإخبارية الكاذبة على الناس ، ولا تدع وسائل الإعلام تتحكم فيك !!!

    رد
  3. كارولين سيريبريني أغسطس 29، 2018

    العلم والحقائق هي المسؤولة ، وليس أرباحك الدامية.

    رد

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Construction of the Mountain View Pipeline (MVP), a proposed 330-mile project stretching through the Appalachian mountains, was halted this month after the permits allowing the development to cross through the Jefferson National Forest were called into question.

The MVP is designed to transport 2 billion cubic feet of gas per day from shale basins in Pennsylvania, Ohio, and West Virginia to the U.S. Southeast and Mid-Atlantic.

Developers of the pipeline, which began construction in February, had acquired permits from both the Department of the Interior’s Bureau of Land Management (BLM) and the Agriculture Department’s Forest Service for the 3.5 mile right of way through federal land.

A road entrance into the federal land boundaries of Jefferson National Forest.

However, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) issued an August 3 stop order after the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals sided with opponents of the pipeline and invalidated the clearance given by the BLM and US Forest Service (USFS).

The court had found that the USFS had abruptly dropped their concerns about erosion and sediment damage inflicted in Jefferson National Forest. Additionally, the BLM had ignored the standard dictates which would restrict pipeline construction to the utility right-of-way.

“American citizens understandably place their trust in the Forest Service to protect and preserve this country’s forests, and they deserve more than silent acquiescence to a pipeline company’s justification for upending large swaths of national forestland,” Judge Stephanie Thacker wrote in the ruling.

Thacker was one of three judges on a panel of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals who ruled unanimously to vacate the permits.

“Citizens also trust the Bureau of Land Management to prevent undue degradation to public lands,” Thacker continued.

The federal land accounts for only one percent of the total length, but the decision made by the Fourth Circuit Appellate Court calls the decisions and transparency of the government bureaus into question.

When issuing its stop order, FERC tried to paint it differently.

“There is no reason to believe that the Forest Service or the Army Corps of Engineers, as the land managing agencies, or the BLM, as the federal rights of grantor, will not be able to comply with the Court’s instructions and to ultimately issue new right-of-way grants that satisfy the Court’s requirements,” FERC noted in its stop order.

Half of the hired labor force for the MVP has already returned to work to complete the stretches of pipeline that have already broken ground, Mountain View Pipeline, LLC announced last week.

The construction will continue on roughly 77 miles of pipeline, reaching into West Virginia and away from the Jefferson National Forest. 80 percent of trees along this stretch of land had already been cut down, and measures to prevent soil erosion had not yet been taken at the time that the stop order was enacted.

According to FERC, to walk away from the project at its current stage would “result in significant areas being subject to erosion and soil movement for an indeterminate period, possibly negatively affecting plant and wildlife habitat and adjacent water bodies.”

 

Despite Leak Canada Buys Kinder Morgan’s Trans Mountain Pipeline

Please Consider Helping Us Grow! There's lots of news we want to cover for you but we need a bigger staff and better equipment... maybe even a desk for our YouTube Shows! Just a $5/month contribution will help us tremendously. Thank you for the consideration.
*Please note this is not a tax deductible donation.