输入搜索

亚太

亚洲对特朗普 - 金峰会的回应

特朗普金正恩峰会

6月12,2018,世界各地的人们将注意力转向了许多被认为是近代历史上最令人难忘的会议。 美国总统唐纳德特朗普和他的朝鲜同行金正恩在新加坡圣淘沙岛的卡佩拉酒店会面,签署协议,希望能够结束朝鲜半岛的核边缘政权。

新加坡主办特朗普 - 金峰会

自1953朝鲜战争非正式结束以来,这是两国领导人第一次见面。 新加坡充满了兴奋和希望看到Jong-un和特朗普真实的人。

在预期的首脑会议之前,特朗普和Jong-un在一个单独的场合会见了东道国的总理李显龙。 龙 称赞 Jong-un作为一个充满自信和渴望创造的自信的年轻领导者 面向朝鲜的“新路”。

尽管预算巨大,但Loong表示新加坡愿意为在韩国建立和平而支付峰会费用。

“我们希望通过提供一个中立的,双方都同意的场所,我们能够举行一次富有成效的峰会,这将在过去几个月里扭转韩国的负面趋势,并将韩国推向新的领域。和积极的轨迹 - 为他们和为世界,“ 龙说.

市场收盘高位

亚洲市场 把更高的一天包裹起来 尽管两位领导人参加了峰会,但峰会反应不一。 CNBC报道,Hang Send指数在周二下午上涨了0.2%,而日本的Nikkei 225上涨了0.33%,或者74.31点,收于22,878.35,但是在早上达到了23,011.57的会话高点。 美元兑日元也升值近0.3百分点,并以110.33交易。

世界对东盟的认可

作为峰会的东道主,新加坡在准备和主持会议上花费了近100万新加坡元。 这个小岛国近年来在推动世界上最重要的会议之一方面取得的成功,对东盟成员国(东南亚国家联盟)来说是一个积极的表现,并促进了东盟在创造和平与稳定方面的作用。

根据Sugeng Rahardjo的说法作为前印度尼西亚驻华大使和蒙古大使,这次会议可以为整个东盟地区的对话与和平提供一个火花。

拉哈霍是前东盟外交官和前驻南非大使 添加 印度尼西亚作为新的联合国安理会非常任理事国,可以帮助进一步开展外交努力,以建立朝鲜半岛的和平。 此外,印度尼西亚与朝鲜和美国的关系历史悠久。

拉哈德霍说:“我们可以利用这种势头促进与朝鲜和韩国的贸易,即使与美国也是如此。” 说过.

在与朝鲜同行会晤之前,特朗普宣布了他今年致力于与东南亚合作并支持新加坡东盟主席的承诺。

“特朗普总统[...]表示美国继续致力于让该地区参与并支持新加坡担任东盟主席,” 声明 来自新加坡外交部说。

“就此而言,特朗普总统接受了哈利马亚科总统的邀请,将于11月2018与新加坡第十三届东盟 - 美国峰会和第十三届东亚峰会一起对新加坡进行国事访问,”声明补充道。

该协议将如何影响该地区的安全?

无论会议结果如何,峰会都可能对东盟地区的安全与稳定产生重大影响。

一些专家怀疑朝鲜是否真的愿意停止其核计划,尽管与特朗普总统签署了一份联合声明。 他们认为,平壤只是试图提高其对美国的谈判地位

“除非我们遇到危机点,否则朝鲜不会改变,也不会解除武装,”塔夫斯大学弗莱彻法律与外交学院助理教授Sung-Yoon Lee说。 说过 上个月。

朝鲜一再要求美国从邻国韩国撤军。 特朗普宣布,在朝鲜谈判继续进行的同时,美国将暂停与韩国进行的军事演习。 然而,美国国防部长詹姆斯·马蒂斯证实,他曾因冻结军事演习而被征求意见,但他宣称没有任何军队被指示从半岛撤军。

“现在美国和韩国没有参与[撤军],我们是唯一一个决定这一点的人,” 马蒂斯说。 “我们没有参与减少美军的谈判,我想我们都要等到这个结束后我们才能继续前进。”

任何美军撤军都会影响美国的盟国日本和韩国。 两国都可能希望保证朝鲜不会成为日本和韩国的安全问题。

朝鲜的制裁怎么样?

会谈结束后,中国建议美国和国际社会考虑取消对朝鲜实施的制裁。

“制裁是一种手段,而不是目的。 [联合国]安理会的行动应该支持并符合当前外交谈判为实现朝鲜半岛无核化所做的努力,“ 说过 耿爽,中国外交部发言人。

中国增添了对会议的乐观态度 ,“今天,两国最高领导人能够坐在一起,平等对话具有重要而积极的意义,正在创造一个新的历史。”

不是所有人都快乐

卫报报道 在首尔的一个火车站,当人们看到特朗普和Jong-Un握手时,人们欢呼和鼓掌。

其他反对Jong-un政权的​​人告诉“卫报”,他们对峰会感到沮丧,因为它只重申了Jong-un对朝鲜的控制。

“金正日政权的有希望的安全意味着他可以继续执政,并将继续压迫朝鲜人民,”朝鲜难民 Jung Gwang-il说。 “如果在朝鲜人民死亡时发生无核化,那就毫无意义了。”

Choi Jung-hoon,他是朝鲜网络黑客部队的一名军官,他在20逃跑前几乎是2006年, 告诉卫报 他很生气,因为峰会导致“金正恩只有好事”。

“特朗普完全失去了金,他被金被拖了,”崔说。 “这一切都是特朗普的政治表演,朝鲜侥幸逃脱了他们想要的一切。 他们表示他们将“无核化”,没有详细说明。“

“绝对地球震动”:据报道,朝鲜和韩国正式结束朝鲜战争

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen是雅加达国立大学的作家和政治学毕业生。 她涵盖了公民真相的各种主题,包括亚太地区,国际冲突和新闻自由问题。 Yasmeen之前曾在新华社印尼和GeoStrategist工作过。 她在印度尼西亚雅加达写道。

    1

你可能还喜欢

0评论

  1. 皮特C. 六月14,2018

    亚洲>?

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

Asia’s Response to the Trump-Kim Summit

Trump Kim Jong-un summit

On June 12, 2018, people around the world turned their attention to a meeting many considered one of the most memorable in recent history. U.S. President Donald Trump and his North Korean counterpart Kim Jong-un met at the Capella Hotel, Sentosa Island, Singapore to sign an agreement that will hopefully bring an end to nuclear brinkmanship on the Korean Peninsula.

Singapore Hosts Trump-Kim Summit

It is the first time for both countries’ leaders to meet since the unofficial end of the Korean War in 1953. Singapore was abuzz with excitement and hopes of seeing Jong-un and Trump in real person.

Both Trump and Jong-un met the host country’s prime minister Lee Hsien Loong in a separate occasion ahead of the anticipated summit. Loong praised Jong-un as a confident young leader with the goodwill and desire to create ”a new path” forward for North Korea.

Despite the tremendous budget, Loong said that Singapore was willing to pay and contribute to the summit for the sake of establishing peace in Korea.

“We hope that by providing a venue which is neutral, which is agreeable to both sides, we enable a productive summit to take place which will turn around the negative trend of events in Korea over the last few months and set Korea on to a new and positive trajectory – for them and for the world,” Loong said.

Markets Close On Highs

Asian markets wrapped up the day higher as the two leaders met for the summit, despite mixed responses to the summit. CNBC reported that the Hang Send index gained 0.2 percent by Tuesday afternoon and Japan’s Nikkei 225 went up 0.33 percent, or 74.31 points, to close at 22,878.35 but was off a session high of 23,011.57 reached in the morning. The U.S. dollar also strengthened nearly 0.3 percent against the Japanese Yen and traded at 110.33.

World Recognition For ASEAN

As the host of the summit, Singapore spent almost 20 million Singaporean dollars on preparations and hosting the meeting. The tiny island nation’s success in facilitating one of the world’s most important meetings in recent years is a positive showing for member nations of ASEAN (The Association of Southeast Asian Nations) and boosts ASEAN’s role in creating peace and stability.

According to Sugeng Rahardjo, former Indonesian ambassador to China and Mongolia, the meeting could provide a spark for greater dialogue and peace throughout the ASEAN region.

Rahardjo, who is a former diplomat for ASEAN and former ambassador to South Africa, also added that Indonesia, as a new United Nations Security Council non-permanent member, could help further diplomatic efforts to establish peace on the Korean Peninsula. Additionally, Indonesia has historically good relations with both North Korea and the United States.

“We could use this momentum to promote trade with both North and South Korea even with the United States,” Rahardjo said.

Ahead of the meeting with his North Korean counterpart, Trump announced his commitment to engaging Southeast Asia and supporting Singapore’s ASEAN Chairmanship this year.

“President Trump […] expressed the US’ continued commitment to engaging the region and his support for Singapore’s Chairmanship of ASEAN,” the statement from the Singaporean Foreign Ministry said.

“In this regard, President Trump accepted the invitation from President Halimah Yacob to make a state visit to Singapore in November 2018, in conjunction with the 6th ASEAN-US Summit and 13th East Asia Summit,” the statement added.

How will the agreement impact security in the region?

Regardless of the meeting’s outcome, the summit will likely have a significant impact on security and stability in the ASEAN region.

Some experts cast doubt that North Korea is really willing to halt its nuclear program, despite signing a joint statement with President Trump suggesting so. They argue Pyongyang is merely trying to boost its bargaining position to the U.S.

“Unless we come to a crisis point, North Korea will not change, it will not disarm,” Sung-Yoon Lee, assistant professor at the Fletcher School of Law and Diplomacy at Tufts University, said last month.

North Korea has repeatedly requested that the U.S. withdraw its troops from neighboring South Korea. Trump id announce that the U.S. will put on hold military exercises conducted with South Korea while the North Korea negotiations continue. However, U.S. Defense Secretary James Mattis confirmed that he had been consulted on freezing the military exercises, but he declared that no troops have been instructed to withdraw from the peninsula.

“Right now the U.S. and South Korea are not engaged [on troop withdrawal] and we’re the only ones who make up our mind on this,” Mattis said. “We’re not engaged in any reduction of U.S. forces talks, and I think we all wait until after this settles and we go forward.”

Any U.S. troop withdrawal will impact U.S. allies Japan and South Korea. Both countries would likely want assurance that North Korea will not be a security concern for Japan and South Korea.

What about North Korean sanctions?

Following the meeting, China suggested that the U.S. and the international community should consider lifting the sanctions imposed on North Korea.

“Sanctions are a means, not an end. The [UN] security council’s actions should support and conform to the efforts of current diplomatic talks towards denuclearising the Korean peninsula,” said Geng Shuang, a spokesman for China’s ministry of foreign affairs.

China added to the optimism of the meeting saying, “Today, that the two countries’ highest leaders can sit together and have equal talks has important and positive meaning and is creating a new history.”

Not All Are Happy

The Guardian reported that at a train station in Seoul, people cheered and applauded as they watched Trump and Jong-Un shake hands.

Others who oppose the Jong-un regime told the Guardian that they were dismayed by the summit as it only reconfirmed Jong-un’s hold on North Korea.

“Promising security for Kim’s regime will mean he can stay in power and will just keep on oppressing the North Korean people,” North Korean refugee Jung Gwang-il said. “If denuclearisation happens while people in North Korea are dying, it’s pointless.”

Choi Jung-hoon, who was an army officer in North Korea’s cyber-hacking unit for almost 20 years before he escaped in 2006, told the Guardian he was furious because the summit led to “only good things for Kim Jong-un”.

“Trump completely lost to Kim, he was dragged around by Kim,” Choi said. “This has all been a political show by Trump, North Korea got away with everything they wanted. They said they will ‘denuclearise’, nothing has been said in detail.”

‘Absolutely Earth-Shaking’: North and South Korea Reportedly in Talks to Officially End Korean War

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Yasmeen Rasidi

Yasmeen is a writer and political science graduate of the National University, Jakarta. She covers a variety of topics for Citizen Truth including the Asia and Pacific region, international conflicts and press freedom issues. Yasmeen had worked for Xinhua Indonesia and GeoStrategist previously. She writes from Jakarta, Indonesia.

    1

You Might also Like

0 Comment

  1. Pete C June 14, 2018

    Asia> ?

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.