输入搜索

警察/监狱

伯尼桑德斯公布了改革刑事司法制度的计划

佛蒙特州的美国参议员伯尼桑德斯在亚利桑那州凤凰城凤凰城会议中心的一次城镇会议上发表讲话。 日期:18 July 2015,19:59。 作者:Gage Skidmore

惩教控制(监狱,监狱,缓刑或假释)的黑人现在比1850中的奴役人数多。

参议员伯尼桑德斯周日发布了一项彻底改革美国刑事司法系统的计划,试图禁止私人监狱,废除死刑,结束现金保释,使大麻合法化并通过结束过度判刑将被监禁的人口减半。

“由于这个国家的制度性种族主义的历史遗留问题,大规模监禁不成比例地落在美国黑人和棕色人的肩上,”桑德斯的网站上写道: 6,000计划的单词大纲。 “事实上,美国黑人的监禁率是白人美国人的五倍,即使人们在所有种族中使用大麻等毒品的比例大致相同,但黑人美国人因大麻占有而被捕的可能性几乎是白人的四倍。美国人。

“这些差异遍及刑事司法系统的各个方面。 黑人美国人,特别是年轻的黑人男子,更容易被警察拦截,受到过度武力,被逮捕,并且比白人入狱。“

美国监禁的人数远远超过其他任何国家,全国范围内有2.3百万人受到限制。 监狱政策倡议 (PPI)。 PPI描述了人们进出惩教设施的“巨大流失”,因为许多人太穷而无法保释。 根据PPI的数据,在460,000期间,人们在等待审判期间被关押在美国各地的监狱中。

“你能否相信,在2019当年,400,000人因为贫穷而在监狱等待审判?”桑德斯告诉记者 美联社。 “这是一种道德上的愤怒,这是一种法律上的愤慨。”

桑德斯的计划还将增加公设辩护人的数量,终止民事资产没收,禁止在成人法庭起诉18年龄的儿童,并限制当地警方使用军事装备等措施。

我们是怎么来到这里的?

量刑项目在过去的500年代,美国被监禁的人口增长了40%,因为毒品战争摧毁了全国各地的黑人和西班牙裔社区。

在她开创性的2010书中 新的吉姆乌鸦, 法律学者米歇尔·亚历山大(Michelle Alexander)认为,“毒品战争”是一个极为全面且设计精良的种族化社会控制体系,其运作方式与吉姆·克劳非常相似。

正如William Julius Wilson在他的1996书中所解释的那样 当工作消失时, 在1960s和1970s期间,市中心社区的犯罪率上升,因为成千上万的非洲裔美国人失去了制造业工作岗位以进行去工业化和全球化。 亚历山大解释了民权运动的强烈抵制是否与犯罪率上升同时发生,增加了公众对严厉犯罪立法的兴趣。

但在接受采访时 哈珀的丹鲍姆尼克松总统的国内政策顾问John Ehrlichman解释说,他的政府的“毒品战争”绝不是打击毒品犯罪:

“尼克松在1968的战役,以及尼克松白宫之后,有两个敌人:反战左派和黑人。 你明白我在说什么? 我们知道,无论是反对战争还是黑人,我们都不能违法,而是让公众将嬉皮士与大麻和黑人与海洛因联系起来。 然后将两者严重定罪,我们可以破坏这些社区。 我们可以逮捕他们的领导人,袭击他们的家园,破坏他们的会议,并在晚间新闻中扼杀他们。 我们是否知道我们在撒谎? 我们当然做到了。“

尽管非法为尼加拉瓜的反叛分子提供资金,尽管药物使用减少,里根总统承诺“动员我们所有部队阻止毒品流入这个国家”,否则里根总统在1982上加大了毒品战争的力度。 走私可卡因进入该国.

亚历山大争辩里根的镇压是“南方战略,“共和党通过种族主义战胜白人南方选民的政治战略。 最近 出土的录音 揭示里根在与尼克松的谈话中呼吁非洲代表“猴子”。

布什和克林顿后来扩大的非暴力毒品犯罪的强制性最低限度使美国被监禁的人口规模扩大。 如 Alexander解释道当时的民主党人想证明他们可能和共和党人一样严厉犯罪:

“正是克林顿政府支持联邦立法,拒绝向曾经被毒品逮捕的大学生提供经济援助。 正是克林顿政府通过法律歧视有犯罪记录的人,使他们几乎无法获得公共住房。 正是克林顿政府支持一项联邦法律,甚至否认食品券,向被判犯有毒品罪的人提供食品支持。

现在有更多的黑人受到惩教控制(监狱,监狱,缓刑或假释) 被1850奴役。 在1954中,只有大约98,000非洲裔美国人入狱。 现在有 近百万1 (913,800),被监禁的几率是白人的六倍。

量刑项目 估计1非裔美国男性的3将花费时间监禁在2013报告中。 亚历山大解释了前囚犯在试图重新融入社会时面临的巨大挑战,包括住房歧视,公共福利的无资格和就业歧视。

“当你看一下系统时,当你真正退后一步看看系统时,系统似乎打算做什么? 它似乎并不是为了方便人们重新进入而设计的,似乎并不是为人们寻找工作而设计的,而是稳定,富有成效的公民,“亚历山大告诉他们 PBS Frontline.

“不,如果你仔细看看,我认为唯一可以得出的结论是,目前设计的系统旨在让人们重新回到监狱,这实际上是绝大多数人所发生的事情。时间。”

桑德斯在比赛中的地位

桑德斯受到了批评 一些进步评论员 在他的国家新闻秘书中,他在2016中没有强调他在美国社会中的剥削和不公正叙事中的种族层面,但是他的2020总统竞选试图弥补这种弱点。 Briahna Joy Grey.

进步活动家和Intercept专栏作家Shaun King,曾有 批评桑德斯对种族的立场 在过去,赞扬了佛蒙特州参议员的提议 鸣叫:

“骄傲。 @BernieSanders 亲自组建了有史以来最好的团队之一,提出并回答这个基本问题:我们如何从根本上改变司法系统? 所有的。 他研究了这个计划的每个部分,使其成为自己的计划。 它有1000页面的来源。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

2评论

  1. 拉里N斯托特 八月20,2019

    私有化且利润丰厚的美国监狱行业 - 一个更强大的特殊利益,一心想打败桑德斯。 特殊利益赢了,其他人都输了。 植物学家熟悉这种现象:寄生虫杀死宿主生物。

    回复
  2. 拉里N斯托特 八月21,2019

    “这位政治家的第一个也是最后一个目标是获得选票,所有获得选票最安全的方式就是让普通人看起来像一个像他一样的普通人,也就是说,他看起来很开心。从任何异端的叛国罪中解脱出来的陈词滥调 - 充满了松散,平庸,幼稚的观念,不挑战任何偏见,不对思想负责。

    “面对这种对整合的独特热情,这种对新奇和原创性的恐惧,显而易见的是,有活力的思想和坚定信念的人逐渐摆脱了公共生活。

    “......当公职人员面对选民时,他不会面对有意义的人; 他面对的是一群人,他们的主要区别在于他们无法权衡思想,甚至无法理解任何拯救最基本的人 - 他们的整体思维是在情感方面完成的,他们的主导情绪是恐惧的。他们无法理解......“

    __ HL Mencken

    回复

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

POLICE/PRISON

Bernie Sanders Unveils Plan To Overhaul Criminal Justice System

U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders of Vermont speaking at a town meeting at the Phoenix Convention Center in Phoenix, Arizona. Date: 18 July 2015, 19:59. Author: Gage Skidmore

There are now more black people in correctional control (prison, jail, probation, or parole) than there were enslaved in 1850.

Sen. Bernie Sanders released a sweeping plan to overhaul America’s criminal justice system on Sunday, seeking to ban private prisons, abolish the death penalty, end cash bail, legalize marijuana and halve the incarcerated population by ending excessive sentencing.

“Due to the historical legacy of institutional racism in this country, mass incarceration disproportionately falls on the shoulders of black and brown people in America,” Sanders’ website reads in a 6,000 word outline of the plan. “In fact, black Americans are incarcerated at five times the rate of white Americans, and even though people use drugs like marijuana at roughly the same rates across all races, black Americans are nearly four times more likely to be arrested for marijuana possession than white Americans.

“These disparities pervade every aspect of the criminal justice system. Black Americans, and especially young black men, are more likely to be stopped by the police, subjected to excessive force, arrested, and jailed than whites.”

The United States incarcerates far more people than any other nation, with 2.3 million people confined nationwide, according to the Prison Policy Initiative (PPI). The PPI describes the “enormous churn” of people in and out of correctional facilities, in large because many are too poor to make bail. Over 460,000 people are being held in jails around the US while they await trial, according to the PPI.

“Can you believe that, in the year 2019, 400,000 people are in jail awaiting a trial because they are poor?” Sanders told the Associated Press. “That is a moral outrage, it is a legal outrage.”

Sanders’ plan will also boost the number of public defenders, end civil-asset forfeiture, ban the prosecution of children under the age of 18 in adult courts, and curtail the use of military equipment by local police, among other measures.

How Did We Get Here?

According to the Sentencing Project, America’s incarcerated population has grown by 500% in the last 40 years, as the War on Drugs has ravaged black and hispanic communities throughout the country.

In her groundbreaking 2010 book The New Jim Crowlegal scholar Michelle Alexander made the case that the War on Drugs “emerged as a stunningly comprehensive and well-designed system of racialized social control that functions in a manner strikingly similar to Jim Crow.”

As William Julius Wilson explained in his 1996 book When Work Disappearscrime rates rose in inner-city communities during the 1960s and 1970s as hundreds of thousands of African Americans lost manufacturing jobs to deindustrialization and globalization. Alexander explains how backlash to the Civil Rights Movement coincided with the rising crime rates, increasing public appetite for tough-on-crime legislation.

But in an interview with Harper’s Dan Baum, President Nixon’s domestic policy advisor John Ehrlichman explained that his administration’s “war on drugs” was never about fighting drug crime:

“The Nixon campaign in 1968, and the Nixon White House after that, had two enemies: the antiwar left and black people. You understand what I’m saying? We knew we couldn’t make it illegal to be either against the war or black, but by getting the public to associate the hippies with marijuana and blacks with heroin. And then criminalizing both heavily, we could disrupt those communities. We could arrest their leaders, raid their homes, break up their meetings, and vilify them night after night on the evening news. Did we know we were lying about the drugs? Of course we did.”

President Reagan ramped up the War on Drugs in 1982 despite declining drug use, pledging to “mobilize all our forces to stop the flow of drugs into this country,” despite illegally funding the Contra rebels of Nicaragua who smuggled cocaine into the country.

Alexander argues Reagan’s crackdown was part of the “Southern Strategy,” a Republican political strategy to win over white southern voters through racism. Recently unearthed recordings reveal Reagan calling African delegates “monkeys” in conversation with Nixon.

Mandatory minimums for non-violent drug offenses, later expanded by Bush and Clinton, exploded the size of America’s incarcerated population. As Alexander explains, Democrats at the time wanted to prove they could be just as tough on crime as Republicans:

“It was the Clinton administration that supported federal legislation denying financial aid to college students who had once been caught with drugs. It was the Clinton administration that passed laws discriminating against people with criminal records, making it nearly impossible for them to have access to public housing. And it was the Clinton administration that championed a federal law denying even food stamps, food support to people convicted of drug felonies.

There are now more black people in correctional control (prison, jail, probation, or parole) than there were enslaved in 1850. In 1954, there were only about 98,000 African Americans in jail. There are now nearly 1 million (913,800), imprisoned at almost six times the rate of whites.

The Sentencing Project estimated that 1 in 3 African American males will spend time incarcerated in a 2013 report. Alexander explains how ex-convicts face tremendous challenges when trying to reintegrate into society, including housing discrimination, ineligibility for public benefits, and employment discrimination.

“When you take a look at the system, when you really step back and take a look at the system, what does the system seem designed to do? It doesn’t seem designed to facilitate people’s re-entry, doesn’t seem designed for people to find work and be stable, productive citizens,” Alexander told PBS Frontline.

“No, if you take a hard look at it, I think the only conclusion that can be reached is that the system as it’s presently designed is designed to send people right back to prison, and that is in fact what happens the vast majority of the time.”

Sanders’ Position On Race

Sanders was criticized by some progressive commentators in 2016 for failing to emphasize the racial dimension in his narrative of exploitation and injustice in American society, but his 2020 presidential campaign seeks to remedy that weakness, according to his national press secretary Briahna Joy Gray.

Progressive activist and Intercept columnist Shaun King, who has criticized Sanders’ stance on race in the past, praised the Vermont senator’s proposal in a tweet:

“Proud. @BernieSanders personally assembled one of the best teams ever formed to ask and answer this fundamental question: How do we radically change the justice system? All of it. And he studied every part of this plan to make it his own. It has 1000s of pages of sources.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

2 Comments

  1. Larry N Stout August 20, 2019

    The privitized and very profitable U.S. prison industry — one more powerful special interest bent on defeating Sanders. Special interests win, everyone else loses. Botanists are familiar with the phenomenon: parasites killing the host organism.

    Reply
  2. Larry N Stout August 21, 2019

    “The first and last aim of the politician is to get votes, and the safest of all ways to get votes is to appear to the plain man to be a plain man like himself, which is to say, to appear to him to be happily free from any heretical treason to the body of accepted platitudes — to be filled to the brim with the flabby, banal, childish notions that challenge no prejudice and lay no burden of examination upon the mind.

    “In the face of this singular passion for conformity, this dread of novelty and originality, it is obvious that the man of vigorous mind and stout convictions is gradually shouldered out of public life.

    “…when a candidate for public office faces the voters he does not face men of sense; he faces a mob of men whose chief distinguishing mark is the fact that they are quite incapable of weighing ideas, or even of comprehending any save the most elemental — men whose whole thinking is done in terms of emotion, and whose dominant emotion is dread of what they cannot understand…”

    __ HL Mencken

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.