输入搜索

国家

芝加哥教师联盟准备迎接九月罢工

芝加哥教师联盟成员和盟军纠察队芝加哥公立学校总部以外芝加哥市中心伊利诺伊州9-26-18
芝加哥教师联盟会员和盟军纠察队在芝加哥公立学校总部外。 伊利诺伊州芝加哥市区 日期:9-26-18(照片:Charles Edward Miller)

“作为一名前CPS老师,我知道我们敬业的教育工作者如何努力确保芝加哥的孩子们能够发挥他们的巨大潜力。”

周一,8月26,芝加哥教师联盟(CTU)公开宣布,它拒绝了事实发现者或独立政党的拟议合同条款。 如果市长和学区未达成可接受的协议,工会正准备在9月底进行潜在的罢工。

芝加哥教师联盟拒绝合同

在罢工发生之前,教师必须经历30天的冷却期。 如果学区未能达成提高工资和增加福利的协议,工会成员很可能会在9月26之前召集罢工。

“作为一名前CPS老师,我知道我们敬业的教育工作者如何努力确保芝加哥的孩子们能够发挥他们的巨大潜力,”CPS首席执行官Janice Jackson说道。 新闻稿。 “我们的老师应该得到一个公平的待遇,奖励他们的服务,我们独立的事实调查员提出的建议会让这种情况发生。”

CTU主席Jesse Sharkey强调需要提高芝加哥学校员工的工资和福利。 “虽然市长和CPS团队将说工资和福利是慷慨的,但他们是在近十年的紧缩和削减芝加哥教师和其他学校工作人员的背景下进行的,”夏基上周一早上告诉记者。 “我们经历了三次冻结......以及裁员和其他削减,包括削减我们的福利,这使芝加哥公立学校的条件,对那些在这些学校工作的人来说非常困难。”

市长莱特富特解决了芝加哥的预算赤字问题

作为罢工的中立事实调查员,Steven Bierig律师建议签订一份为期五年的合同,每年增加3%三年,而市长Lori Lightfoot建议每年提高2.5%三年。

Bierig还建议在合同的剩余两年内每年增加3.5%,与市长提出的3%相反。

“这将是CTU历史上规模最大,最强大的薪资和福利待遇,”芝加哥市长Lori Lightfoot说 在一个地址中说 星期一早上。

然而,夏基明确表示他不同意市长的推理。 “在过去的几年里,我们所谈论的学校仅在特殊教育中削减了30至40百万美元,” 夏基解释道。 “所以市长可以通过在接下来的五年甚至10年中预测这个预算来大量投入,但这些数字并不会欺骗我们。 我们希望看到立即改善的形式是增加关键职位的支出。“

CTU主席夏基对市长致辞的回应

在市长Lightfoot的公开演讲之后,Sharkey回应了一个 周四新闻发布:

CTU长期以来一直认识到芝加哥市面临的挑战。 八年来,我们详细列出了前任市长对我市和学校的管理策略的不足之处。 然而,就像昨天通过的CPS预算一样,这一遗产也已成为当前政府在城市方面的政策。 做Lightor市长对芝加哥工人阶级社区的建议的唯一方法是从那些已经获得芝加哥新经济所有好处的人那里获得收入。 这里声称的赤字低于纽约市经济的0.2%。 钱在那里,政府应该选择将它用于共同利益。

夏基对芝加哥市的建议

夏基在周四的新闻发布会上继续说道:

明天,纽约市应该:

  • 申报XZUMX万美元的TIF盈余:CPS为100万新西兰元(预算金额的两倍)和城市纳税人没有多一美元的400百万美元。 TIF政策也应该进行修订,以便对高失业率社区的雇佣提出严格保障,并对未达到的目标进行严厉的追回。
  • 正在从特朗普巨额联邦税收减免中获益的公司征收的100百万美元企业所得税。 从各方面来看,芝加哥企业总体上比八年前好得多。

“成长城市的最佳方式,”夏基继续说,“是为了确保人们拥有他们所需要的东西:现在是高薪工作,而不是两年后; 拥有适当支持的稳定,资源充足的学校; 无障碍和经济适用房; 适当的身心保健; 公共安全不包括滥用警务的持续威胁。“

据工会称,正在进行谈判,并且正在取得进展。 谈判的最终结果还有待观察。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna毕业于彭萨科拉基督教学院,获得英语学位。 在教授高中英语五年后,她决定追求写作和编辑的梦想。 不工作时,她喜欢和丈夫一起旅行,与狗共度时光,喝太多咖啡。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Chicago Teachers Union Prepares for September Strike

Chicago Teachers Union Members and Allies Picket Outside Chicago Public Schools Headquarters Downtown Chicago Illinois 9-26-18
Chicago Teachers Union Members and Allies Picket Outside Chicago Public Schools Headquarters. Downtown Chicago, Illinois. Date: 9-26-18 (Photo: Charles Edward Miller)

“As a former CPS teacher, I know how hard our dedicated educators work to ensure the children of Chicago can live up their vast potential.”

On Monday, August 26, the Chicago Teachers Union (CTU) announced publicly that it rejected the proposed contract terms from a fact finder, or an independent party. The union is preparing for a potential strike at the end of September if the mayor and the school district fail to make an acceptable deal.

Chicago Teachers Union Rejects Contract

Before a strike can occur, the teachers must undergo a 30-day cooling off period. If the school district fails to make a deal to raise wages and increase benefits, union members will likely call for a strike as early as Sept. 26.

“As a former CPS teacher, I know how hard our dedicated educators work to ensure the children of Chicago can live up their vast potential,” CPS CEO Janice Jackson said in a press release. “Our teachers deserve a fair deal that rewards them for their service and the proposal recommendation by our independent fact finder would make that happen.”

CTU President Jesse Sharkey emphasized the need for increased wages and better benefits for Chicago’s school staff. “Though the wage and benefits will be said to be generous by the mayor and CPS team, they come in the context of nearly a decade of austerity and cuts for Chicago’s teachers and other school staff,” Sharkey told reporters Monday morning. “We have endured three freezes … and layoffs and other cuts, including cuts to our benefits, which makes conditions in the Chicago Public Schools, for the people who do the work in those schools, extremely difficult.”

Mayor Lightfoot Addresses Chicago’s Budget Deficit

Attorney Steven Bierig, acting as the strike’s neutral fact-finder, recommended a five-year contract with a 3% raise each year for three years compared to Mayor Lori Lightfoot’s suggested 2.5% per year for three years.

Bierig also suggested a 3.5% raise each year in the remaining two years of the contract in contrast with the mayor’s proposed 3%.

“This would represent the largest and most robust salary and benefit package in CTU history,” Chicago Mayor Lori Lightfoot said in an address Monday morning.

Sharkey, however, made it clear that he disagreed with the mayor’s reasoning. “We are talking about schools that saw $30 to $40 million in cuts to special education alone over the last couple of years,” Sharkey explained. “So the mayor can put a big number on it by projecting this budget out over the next five or even 10 years, but those numbers don’t fool us. We want to see immediate improvements coming in the form of increased spending on critical positions.”

CTU President Sharkey’s Response to the Mayor’s Address

After Mayor Lightfoot’s public address, Sharkey responded in a news release on Thursday:

CTU has long recognized the challenges that the City of Chicago faces. For eight years, we laid out in extensive detail the shortcomings in the previous mayor’s management strategy for our city and our schools. Like the CPS budget passed yesterday, however, that legacy has become the current administration’s policy on the City side, as well. The only way to do what Mayor Lightfoot proposes for Chicago’s working class neighborhoods is to raise revenue from those who have reaped all of the benefits of Chicago’s new economy. The deficit claimed here is less than 0.2% of the City’s economy. The money is there, and the administration should choose to use it for the common good.

Sharkey’s Proposal to the City of Chicago

Sharkey continued in Thursday’s news release:

Tomorrow, the City should:

  • Declare a $400 million TIF surplus: $200 million to CPS (double the budgeted amount) and $100 million to the city without one more dollar from the City’s taxpayers. TIF policy should also be revised to impose hard guarantees on hiring from high unemployment neighborhoods and stiff claw-backs for goals not met.
  • $100 million corporate head tax from companies that are reaping the benefits of Trump’s gigantic federal tax breaks. Corporate Chicago is, by every measure, vastly better off than it was eight years ago.

“The best way to grow the City,” Sharkey continued, “is to ensure that people have what they need: good paying jobs now, not two years from now; stable, well-resourced schools with appropriate supports; accessible and affordable housing; appropriate physical and mental healthcare; and public safety that doesn’t include the constant threat of abusive policing.”

According to the union, negotiations are underway, and progress is being made. The final outcome of the negotiations remains to be seen.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Leighanna Shirey

Leighanna graduated with a degree in English from Pensacola Christian College. After teaching high school English for five years, she decided to pursue her dream of writing and editing. When not working, she enjoys traveling with her husband, spending time with her dogs, and drinking way too much coffee.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.