اكتب للبحث

ASIA / PACIFIC

بومباو ، وزير خارجية كوريا الشمالية: الصين "فقد عقله"

مايك بومبو يتحدث في 2012 CPAC في واشنطن العاصمة
مايك بومبو يتحدث في 2012 CPAC في واشنطن العاصمة (الصورة: غيج سكيدمور)

"تعامل الولايات المتحدة منذ فترة طويلة أمريكا اللاتينية باعتبارها فناءها الخلفي ، حيث ستلجأ إلى الاستخدام المتعمد للضغط أو التهديد أو حتى التخريب. يمكن للناس أن يقولوا الصواب من الخطأ ".

يوم الأحد الماضي ، قال سفير الصين لدى تشيلي إن وزير الخارجية الأمريكي مايك بومبو "فقد عقله"بعد أن ألقت بومبيو باللوم على الصين في الأزمة في فنزويلا ، وقالت وسائل الإعلام الحكومية في كوريا الشمالية يوم الخميس إن البلاد تريد إبعاد بومبيو من المحادثات النووية المستقبلية.

جاء بيان كوريا الشمالية بعد يوم من اختبار البلاد لسلاح موجه تكتيكي جديد - وهو أول عرض أسلحة في البلاد منذ قمة كيم جونغ أون مع الرئيس ترامب في فبراير.

"أخشى أنه إذا انخرط بومبو في المحادثات مرة أخرى ، فإن الطاولة ستكون رديئة مرة أخرى وستصبح المحادثات متشابكة ،" وسائل الإعلام الحكومية في كوريا الشمالية قال، نقلا عن كيم جونج جون من وزارة الخارجية.

انتقد بومبيو تورط الصين في فنزويلا

شغل الوزير بومبيو منصب مدير وكالة المخابرات المركزية في إدارة ترامب قبل تعيينه وزيراً للخارجية بعد إقالة وزير الخارجية السابق ريكس تيلرسون. وقد وصف بومبيو بأنه صراخ من قبل البعض ، مثل نيد السياسة الخارجية، الذي كتب ، "صنع بومبيو لنفسه اسمًا في الكونجرس كمزود رائد للأيديولوجية المحافظة المتشددة وحتى نظريات المؤامرة".

اشياء اخرى وصف بومبو كقوة هدأ كبح جماح النزعات الانعزالية للرئيس: "بينما يحاول ترامب تنفيذ بعض المنعطفات في سياسة منعطف الشعر ، غالبًا عن طريق تغريدة ، فإن بومبو هي التي تسافر حول العالم لتنظيف الحطام"

"لقد قضيت الكثير من الوقت لبناء فهم ما هو بيان مهمة الرئيس ترامب. لذلك ، ما هو بيان مهمتي ، "قال بومبو للتايمز" ماتياس شوارتز.

وقد توقع وزير الخارجية وجهات نظر الرئيس ترامب المتشددة بشأن قضايا مثل الصين وفنزويلا وإيران ، فضلاً عن كونه كبير المفاوضين في المحادثات النووية السابقة مع كوريا الشمالية.

عند التحدث في سانتياغو ، تشيلي ، انتقد بومبيو تورط الصين في فنزويلا ، قائلاً:

"لقد ساعد تمويل الصين لنظام مادورو على التعجيل بالأزمة وإطالة أمدها في ذلك البلد ، وأعتقد أن هناك درسًا ... يجب تعلمه لنا جميعًا: الصين وغيرها ينادون بالنفاق على عدم التدخل في شؤون فنزويلا. ساعدت تدخلاتهم المالية على تدمير هذا البلد ".

الصين هي الدائن الأكبر في فنزويلا

تعتبر الصين أكبر دائن لفنزويلا ، حيث قدّمت ما يصل إلى 62 مليار دولار كقروض للبلاد.

بومبيو شرع في تحذير جمهوره: "عندما تتعامل الصين في أماكن مثل أمريكا اللاتينية ، فإنها غالباً ما تضخ رأس المال المتآكل في مجرى الدم الاقتصادي ، مما يعطي الحياة للفساد ويضعف الحكم الرشيد". مشروع بناء السدود في الاكوادور لتوضيح ذلك ، الذي تم تمويله من 19 مليار دولار في القروض الصينية ولكن ابتليت بها اتهامات متفشية من الفساد وظروف العمل الخطيرة. لقد تم سجن أو الحكم على كل مسؤول إكوادوري مشارك في المشروع تقريبًا أو بتهمة الرشوة.

يتم سداد ديون الإكوادور المستحقة للصين إلى حد كبير بالنفط ، وهو أكثر صادرات البلاد قيمة. كما أسفر الدين عن تخفيضات شديدة في الإنفاق الاجتماعي ، ويتوقع العديد من الاقتصاديين أن تقع البلاد في حالة ركود.

"حصلت الصين في المقابل على 80٪ من نفط الإكوادور بخصم ثم أعادت بيع هذا الزيت لتحقيق ربح. هذا لا يبدو وكأنه شريك موثوق لي. "أنا واثق من أن هذا لا يبدو شريكًا موثوقًا به لك ،" جادل الوزير بومبو.

المتحدث باسم وزارة الخارجية الصينية لو كانغ استجاب بغضب إلى تصريحات بومبو:

"تعامل الولايات المتحدة منذ فترة طويلة أمريكا اللاتينية باعتبارها فناءها الخلفي ، حيث ستلجأ إلى الاستخدام المتعمد للضغط أو التهديد أو حتى التخريب. يمكن للناس أن يقولوا الصواب من الخطأ. أنا متأكد من أن دول أمريكا اللاتينية قادرة تمامًا على إخبار صديق حقيقي من صديق زائف يتجاهل القواعد وينشر الفوضى ".

للولايات المتحدة تاريخ طويل من التدخل في شؤون أمريكا اللاتينية. في شيلي ، حيث كانت وزيرة الخارجية بومبيو تتحدث ، ساعدت الولايات المتحدة في الإطاحة بزعيم منتخب ديمقراطياً ، سلفادور أليندي ، ونصبت ديكتاتور قاتل ، أوغستو بينوشيه ، في 1973.

تعكس تعليقات بومبيو قلق المسؤولين الأميركيين بشأن الصين تأثير متزايد في أمريكا اللاتينية ، التعدي على النفوذ التاريخي للولايات المتحدة في المنطقة.

عندما سأل جون هدسون ، الصحفي في الواشنطن بوست ، عما إذا كانت العقوبات الأمريكية تزيد الأزمة الإنسانية في فنزويلا في تبادل على تويتر ، الوزير بومبو رد بواسطة والسخرية من "عدم فهم لا يصدق ،" للصحفي ، وقال "يجب أن لا تسأل أسئلة من هذا القبيل."

في الماضي ، العقوبات الاقتصادية لها يضر السكان أكثر من الأنظمة ، و وقد أعرب العديد من المحللين عن قلقهم بشأن العواقب الإنسانية للوضع في فنزويلا. مراسل الأمم المتحدة السابق ألفريد دي زاياس يقول إن العقوبات على فنزويلا "قتل المواطنين، ومقارنة الاستراتيجية الاقتصادية للولايات المتحدة بـ "حصار القرون الوسطى".

ترامب الإدارة يسن المزيد من العقوبات فنزويلا

فرضت إدارة ترامب أحدث جولة لها عقوبات فنزويلا الأربعاء ، الذي رويترز تشير إلى أن نظام مادورو يتهرب من نقل مبيعات النفط عبر روسيا. الزعيم الروسي فلاديمير بوتين سوف يكون الاجتماع مع كوريا الشمالية كيم جونغ أون في وقت لاحق من هذا الشهر. تم الإعلان عن الاجتماع بعد فترة وجيزة من نشر تصريحات بيونج يانج بشأن وزير الخارجية الأمريكي بومبو.

تعليقات المسؤولين الصينيين الذين يقولون إن وزير الخارجية بومبيو "فقد رأيه" تشبه تعليقات من كوريا الشمالية تصفه بأنه "متهور". ماتياس شوارتز، الذي كتب نبذة عن الوزير ، خلص إلى أنه "بالنسبة لمسؤول كبير هو وجه السياسة الخارجية للولايات المتحدة ، فإن عتبة إطلاق أعصابه منخفضة بشكل غير عادي".

وفقا لمراسل بي بي سي سيول لورا بيكرلم يكن اختبار الأسلحة الذي أجراه كيم جونج أون مؤخرًا تحديا مباشرا للرئيس ترامب ، ولكن "يمكن تصميمه لإثارة بعض الأفكار في البيت الأبيض وتحذيرهم مما يمكن أن يتبع إذا لم يتم التوصل إلى اتفاق قريبًا" سعي زعيم المعارضة خوان غيادو للإطاحة بحكومة مادورو المتوقفة ، والتقدم في البرنامج النووي لكوريا الشمالية غير مؤكد ، سيواجه الوزير بومبيو تحديات خطيرة في الأشهر المقبلة.


صورة مميزة: مايك بومبو يتحدث في 2012 CPAC في واشنطن العاصمة

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:
بيتر كاستانيو

بيتر كاستانيو كاتب مستقل حاصل على درجة الماجستير في حل النزاعات الدولية. سافر في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط وأمريكا اللاتينية لاكتساب رؤية مباشرة في بعض المناطق الأكثر اضطرابا في العالم ، ويعتزم نشر كتابه الأول في 2019.

    1

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

China, North Korea Blast Secretary of State Pompeo: He Has ‘Lost His Mind’

Mike Pompeo speaking at the 2012 CPAC in Washington, D.C.
Mike Pompeo speaking at the 2012 CPAC in Washington, D.C. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“The U.S. has long been treating Latin America as its backyard, where it would resort to willful use of pressure, threat or even subversion. People can tell right from wrong.”

Last Sunday, China’s ambassador to Chile said U.S. Secretary Mike Pompeo had “lost his mind” after Pompeo blamed China for the crisis in Venezuela, and on Thursday, North Korea state media said the country wants Pompeo removed from future nuclear talks.

North Korea’s statement came a day after the country tested a new tactical guided weapon – the country’s first weapons demonstration since Kim Jong-Un’s summit with President Trump in February.

“I am afraid that, if Pompeo engages in the talks again, the table will be lousy once again and the talks will become entangled,” North Korean state media said, quoting Kim Jong Gun of the foreign ministry.

Pompeo Criticized China’s Involvement in Venezuela

Secretary Pompeo served as the Trump administration’s CIA Director before being appointed Secretary of State after former secretary Rex Tillerson’s ouster. Pompeo has been described as brash by some, such as Foreign Policy’s Ned Price, who wrote, “Pompeo made a name for himself in Congress as a leading purveyor of hard-line conservative ideology and even conspiracy theories.”

Others describe Pompeo as a tempering force reining in the president’s isolationist tendencies: “As Trump tries to execute some hairpin policy turns, often by tweet, it is Pompeo who travels the world to clean up the wreckage.”

“I’ve spent a lot of time building an understanding of what President Trump’s mission statement is. And therefore, what my mission statement is,” Pompeo told the Times’ Mattathias Schwartz.

The Secretary has projected President Trump’s hardline views on issues like China, Venezuela and Iran, as well as serving as chief negotiator in earlier nuclear talks with North Korea.

When speaking in Santiago, Chile, Pompeo criticized China’s involvement in Venezuela, saying:

“China’s bankrolling of the Maduro regime helped precipitate and prolong the crisis in that country, I think there’s a lesson … to be learned for all of us: China and others are being hypocritical calling for non-intervention in Venezuela’s affairs. Their own financial interventions have helped destroy that country.”

China Is Venezuela’s Most Substantial Creditor

China is Venezuela’s biggest creditor, estimated to have provided up to $62 billion in loans to the country.

Pompeo proceeded to warn his audience: “when China does business in places like Latin America, it often injects corrosive capital into the economic bloodstream, giving life to corruption and eroding good governance.” He used a dam construction project in Ecuador to illustrate, which was funded by $19 billion in Chinese loans but has been plagued by rampant charges of corruption and dangerous working conditions. Nearly every Ecuadoran official involved in the project has been imprisoned or sentenced for bribery.

Ecuador’s outstanding debt to China is largely being paid off in oil, the country’s most valuable export. The debt has also resulted in severe cuts to social spending, and many economists expect the country to fall into recession.

“China in exchange received 80% of Ecuador’s oil at a discount and then resold that oil to make a profit. This does not seem like a reliable partner to me. I am confident this does not seem like a reliable partner to you, either,” Secretary Pompeo argued.

Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Lu Kang responded angrily to Pompeo’s statements:

“The U.S. has long been treating Latin America as its backyard, where it would resort to willful use of pressure, threat or even subversion. People can tell right from wrong. I am sure Latin American countries are fully capable of telling a true friend from a false one who is ignoring rules and spreading chaos.”

The U.S. has a long history of intervention in Latin American affairs. In Chile, where Secretary Pompeo was speaking, the U.S. helped overthrow a democratically elected leader, Salvador Allende, and installed a murderous dictator, Augusto Pinochet, in 1973.

Pompeo’s comments reflect concern among U.S. officials about China’s growing influence in Latin America, encroaching on the U.S.’s historic influence in the region.

When Washington Post journalist John Hudson asked if U.S. sanctions were exacerbating the humanitarian crisis in Venezuela in a Twitter exchange, Secretary Pompeo responded by ridiculing the “incredible lack of understanding,” of the journalist, and said “you shouldn’t ask questions like that.”

In the past, economic sanctions have hurt populations more than regimes, and many analysts have expressed concern regarding the humanitarian consequences of the situation in Venezuela. Former U.N. reporter Alfred de Zayas says sanctions on Venezuela are “killing citizens,” and compared the economic strategy of the U.S. to a “medieval siege.”

Trump Administration Enacts More Venezuela Sanctions

The Trump administration imposed its newest round of Venezuela sanctions Wednesday, which Reuters reports the Maduro regime is evading by funneling oil sales through Russia. Russia’s leader Vladimir Putin will be meeting with North Korea’s Kim Jong-Un later this month. The meeting was announced shortly after Pyongyang’s disparaging remarks on U.S. Secretary Pompeo were released.

Comments from Chinese officials saying Secretary Pompeo has “lost his mind” are similar to comments from North Korea describing him as “reckless.” Mattathias Schwartz, who wrote a profile on the secretary, concluded, “for a senior official who is the face of United States foreign policy, the threshold for triggering his temper is unusually low.”

According to BBC’s Seoul correspondent Laura Bicker, Kim Jong-Un’s recent weapons test was not a direct challenge to President Trump, but “it could be designed to provoke some thought in the White House and warn them of what could follow if a deal isn’t done soon.” With Venezuelan opposition leader Juan Guiadó’s push to topple Maduro’s government stalling, and progress on North Korea nuclear program uncertain, Secretary Pompeo will face serious challenges in the coming months.


Featured Image: Mike Pompeo speaking at the 2012 CPAC in Washington, D.C.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.