输入搜索

亚太

中国,朝鲜爆炸国务卿庞培:他“失去了理智”

Mike Pompeo在华盛顿特区的2012 CPAC发表演讲
Mike Pompeo在华盛顿特区的2012 CPAC演讲(照片:Gage Skidmore)

“美国长期以来一直将拉丁美洲视为其后院,在那里它会故意使用压力,威胁甚至颠覆。 人们可以分辨是非。“

上周日,中国驻智利大使表示美国国务卿迈克·庞培“失去了理智“在庞培指责中国发生委内瑞拉危机之后,周四,朝鲜官方媒体称,该国希望庞培从未来的核谈判中解脱出来。

在该国测试了一种新的战术制导武器 - 该国自金正恩2月份与特朗普总统举行首脑会议以来的首次武器示威活动后一天,朝鲜发表声明。

“我担心,如果庞培再次参与谈判,那桌子将再次糟糕,谈判将陷入纠缠,”朝鲜官方媒体 说过引用外交部的金正军的话。

Pompeo批评中国参与委内瑞拉

在前任国务卿雷克斯·蒂勒森(Rex Tillerson)下台后,庞培(Pompeo)担任特朗普政府的中央情报局局长,之后被任命为国务卿。 Pompeo被一些人描述为傲慢,例如 外交政策的Ned价格他写道:“庞培在国会中为自己赢得了强硬派保守主义意识形态甚至阴谋理论的主要提供者。”

其它 形容庞培 作为一种控制总统孤立主义倾向的缓和力量:“特朗普试图通过推特来执行一些发夹政策转变,正是庞培旅行世界来清理残骸。”

“我花了很多时间来了解特朗普总统的使命宣言。 因此,我的使命是什么,“庞培告诉纽约时报” Mattathias Schwartz.

国务卿预计特朗普总统就中国,委内瑞拉和伊朗等问题发表强硬态度,并在早些时候与朝鲜进行核谈判时担任首席谈判代表。

在智利圣地亚哥演讲时,Pompeo批评中国参与委内瑞拉,并说:

“中国对马杜罗政权的资助帮助促成并延长了该国的危机,我认为有一个教训......要为我们所有人学习:中国和其他人正在虚伪地呼吁不干涉委内瑞拉的事务。 他们自己的金融干预有助于摧毁这个国家。“

中国是委内瑞拉最重要的债权人

中国是委内瑞拉最大的债权国,估计向该国提供了高达10亿至10亿美元的贷款。

Pompeo继续前进 警告他的听众: “当中国在拉丁美洲这样的地方开展业务时,它往往会在经济血液中注入腐蚀性资本,为腐败注入生命并侵蚀善治。”他使用了 厄瓜多尔大坝建设项目 举例来说,这笔贷款由中国贷款的19亿美元资助,但一直受到猖獗的腐败指控和危险的工作条件的困扰。 几乎所有参与该项目的Ecuadoran官员都因贿赂而被监禁或判刑。

厄瓜多尔对中国的巨额债务在很大程度上取决于石油,这是该国最有价值的出口产品。 债务也导致社会支出大幅削减,许多经济学家预计该国将陷入衰退。

“中国以折扣价格收到了厄瓜多尔80%的石油,然后转售该石油以获取利润。 这对我来说似乎不是一个可靠的合作伙伴。 我相信这对你来说似乎不是一个可靠的合作伙伴,“Pompeo秘书说。

中国外交部发言人卢康 生气地回应道 到Pompeo的陈述:

“美国长期以来一直将拉丁美洲视为其后院,在那里它会故意使用压力,威胁甚至颠覆。 人们可以分辨是非。 我相信拉丁美洲国家完全有能力告诉真正的朋友,他是一个无视规则和传播混乱的虚假朋友。“

美国对拉美事务的干预历史悠久。 在Pompeo秘书发言的智利,美国帮助推翻了民主选举的领导人萨尔瓦多·阿连德,并在1973安装了一个杀人的独裁者奥古斯托·皮诺切特。

庞培的评论反映了美国官员对中国的担忧 影响越来越大 在拉丁美洲,侵蚀了美国在该地区的历史影响力。

当华盛顿邮报记者约翰哈德森询问美国的制裁是否会加剧委内瑞拉的人道主义危机在Twitter交流中,庞培秘书 回应 嘲笑记者“令人难以置信的缺乏理解”,并说“你不应该问这样的问题。”

过去,经济制裁有 伤害人口 不只是政权,而且 许多分析师都表示担忧 关于委内瑞拉局势的人道主义后果。 前联合国记者Alfred de Zayas表示对委内瑞拉的制裁是“杀害公民,“并将美国的经济战略与”中世纪的围攻“进行了比较。

特朗普政府实施更多委内瑞拉制裁

特朗普政府实施了最新一轮政策 委内瑞拉制裁 星期三,哪个 路透社 据报道,马杜罗政权正在逃避通过俄罗斯的石油销售。 俄罗斯领导人弗拉基米尔普京 将会面 与本月晚些时候的朝鲜金正恩会谈。 在平壤对美国国务卿庞培的贬低言论获释后不久宣布会议。

中国官员的评论说,Pompeo局长已经“失去了理智”,这与朝鲜的评论相似,他称之为“鲁莽“。 Mattathias Schwartz在秘书上写了一篇简介,他总结道,“对于一位面对美国外交政策的高级官员来说,引发他脾气的门槛非常低。”

据英国广播公司首尔记者报道 劳拉比克金正恩最近的武器测试不是对特朗普总统的直接挑战,但“它可能被设计为引起白宫的一些想法,并警告他们如果不能很快达成协议会有什么后果。”委内瑞拉人反对派领导人胡安·吉亚多(JuanGuiadó)推动马杜罗政府停滞不前,朝鲜核计划的进展不确定,庞培局长将在未来几个月面临严峻挑战。


特色图片:Mike Pompeo在华盛顿特区的2012 CPAC发表演讲

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC

China, North Korea Blast Secretary of State Pompeo: He Has ‘Lost His Mind’

Mike Pompeo speaking at the 2012 CPAC in Washington, D.C.
Mike Pompeo speaking at the 2012 CPAC in Washington, D.C. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“The U.S. has long been treating Latin America as its backyard, where it would resort to willful use of pressure, threat or even subversion. People can tell right from wrong.”

Last Sunday, China’s ambassador to Chile said U.S. Secretary Mike Pompeo had “lost his mind” after Pompeo blamed China for the crisis in Venezuela, and on Thursday, North Korea state media said the country wants Pompeo removed from future nuclear talks.

North Korea’s statement came a day after the country tested a new tactical guided weapon – the country’s first weapons demonstration since Kim Jong-Un’s summit with President Trump in February.

“I am afraid that, if Pompeo engages in the talks again, the table will be lousy once again and the talks will become entangled,” North Korean state media said, quoting Kim Jong Gun of the foreign ministry.

Pompeo Criticized China’s Involvement in Venezuela

Secretary Pompeo served as the Trump administration’s CIA Director before being appointed Secretary of State after former secretary Rex Tillerson’s ouster. Pompeo has been described as brash by some, such as Foreign Policy’s Ned Price, who wrote, “Pompeo made a name for himself in Congress as a leading purveyor of hard-line conservative ideology and even conspiracy theories.”

Others describe Pompeo as a tempering force reining in the president’s isolationist tendencies: “As Trump tries to execute some hairpin policy turns, often by tweet, it is Pompeo who travels the world to clean up the wreckage.”

“I’ve spent a lot of time building an understanding of what President Trump’s mission statement is. And therefore, what my mission statement is,” Pompeo told the Times’ Mattathias Schwartz.

The Secretary has projected President Trump’s hardline views on issues like China, Venezuela and Iran, as well as serving as chief negotiator in earlier nuclear talks with North Korea.

When speaking in Santiago, Chile, Pompeo criticized China’s involvement in Venezuela, saying:

“China’s bankrolling of the Maduro regime helped precipitate and prolong the crisis in that country, I think there’s a lesson … to be learned for all of us: China and others are being hypocritical calling for non-intervention in Venezuela’s affairs. Their own financial interventions have helped destroy that country.”

China Is Venezuela’s Most Substantial Creditor

China is Venezuela’s biggest creditor, estimated to have provided up to $62 billion in loans to the country.

Pompeo proceeded to warn his audience: “when China does business in places like Latin America, it often injects corrosive capital into the economic bloodstream, giving life to corruption and eroding good governance.” He used a dam construction project in Ecuador to illustrate, which was funded by $19 billion in Chinese loans but has been plagued by rampant charges of corruption and dangerous working conditions. Nearly every Ecuadoran official involved in the project has been imprisoned or sentenced for bribery.

Ecuador’s outstanding debt to China is largely being paid off in oil, the country’s most valuable export. The debt has also resulted in severe cuts to social spending, and many economists expect the country to fall into recession.

“China in exchange received 80% of Ecuador’s oil at a discount and then resold that oil to make a profit. This does not seem like a reliable partner to me. I am confident this does not seem like a reliable partner to you, either,” Secretary Pompeo argued.

Chinese Foreign Ministry spokesman Lu Kang responded angrily to Pompeo’s statements:

“The U.S. has long been treating Latin America as its backyard, where it would resort to willful use of pressure, threat or even subversion. People can tell right from wrong. I am sure Latin American countries are fully capable of telling a true friend from a false one who is ignoring rules and spreading chaos.”

The U.S. has a long history of intervention in Latin American affairs. In Chile, where Secretary Pompeo was speaking, the U.S. helped overthrow a democratically elected leader, Salvador Allende, and installed a murderous dictator, Augusto Pinochet, in 1973.

Pompeo’s comments reflect concern among U.S. officials about China’s growing influence in Latin America, encroaching on the U.S.’s historic influence in the region.

When Washington Post journalist John Hudson asked if U.S. sanctions were exacerbating the humanitarian crisis in Venezuela in a Twitter exchange, Secretary Pompeo responded by ridiculing the “incredible lack of understanding,” of the journalist, and said “you shouldn’t ask questions like that.”

In the past, economic sanctions have hurt populations more than regimes, and many analysts have expressed concern regarding the humanitarian consequences of the situation in Venezuela. Former U.N. reporter Alfred de Zayas says sanctions on Venezuela are “killing citizens,” and compared the economic strategy of the U.S. to a “medieval siege.”

Trump Administration Enacts More Venezuela Sanctions

The Trump administration imposed its newest round of Venezuela sanctions Wednesday, which Reuters reports the Maduro regime is evading by funneling oil sales through Russia. Russia’s leader Vladimir Putin will be meeting with North Korea’s Kim Jong-Un later this month. The meeting was announced shortly after Pyongyang’s disparaging remarks on U.S. Secretary Pompeo were released.

Comments from Chinese officials saying Secretary Pompeo has “lost his mind” are similar to comments from North Korea describing him as “reckless.” Mattathias Schwartz, who wrote a profile on the secretary, concluded, “for a senior official who is the face of United States foreign policy, the threshold for triggering his temper is unusually low.”

According to BBC’s Seoul correspondent Laura Bicker, Kim Jong-Un’s recent weapons test was not a direct challenge to President Trump, but “it could be designed to provoke some thought in the White House and warn them of what could follow if a deal isn’t done soon.” With Venezuelan opposition leader Juan Guiadó’s push to topple Maduro’s government stalling, and progress on North Korea nuclear program uncertain, Secretary Pompeo will face serious challenges in the coming months.


Featured Image: Mike Pompeo speaking at the 2012 CPAC in Washington, D.C.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.