输入搜索

环境

新研究:海洋塑料废物比我们想象的要糟糕

塑料三明治宽松漂浮在水柱。 以各种鲑鱼,果冻鱼等为食的鱼将这些垃圾误认为是食物,可以摄取致命的后果。 与images2130,reef0859和reef0556相比。
塑料三明治宽松漂浮在水柱。 以各种鲑鱼,果冻鱼等为食的鱼将这些垃圾误认为是食物,可以摄取致命的后果。 与images2130,reef0859和reef0556相比。 (照片:Ben Mierement,NOAA NOS)

盖耶博士告诉卫报,塑料污染通常最终会被填埋或海洋污染,将导致地球“近乎永久性的污染”。

最近的两项研究发现塑料污染比以前预期的要糟糕。 一 研究 自1950s以来,海洋中的塑料污染急剧增加 研究 发现微小的塑料或微塑料颗粒被空气运输到遥远的生态系统。

以前的研究发现了各种动物的微塑料, 包括 底栖海洋生物。 在塑料被小生物摄取后,微塑料在食物链中向上移动并且可以影响人类。 一项研究在英国海岸的一种50海洋动物身上发现了微塑料。

科学家并不完全确定塑料消费对人类健康的影响,但研究塑料消费对2017海洋动物影响的七位海洋科学家警告说,生殖功能受损以及其他严重的健康问题。 科学家敦促联合国制定一项关于塑料污染的新条约,该条约导致不具约束力 清洁海洋契约 那年晚些时候。

美国雄鹿塑料污染的全球方法

3月2019,联合国国家会晤 肯尼亚内罗毕,制定解决塑料污染的计划。 参加会议的环保团体谴责美国他们认为试图淡化决议目标的行为。 而 其他国家 美国想要“逐步淘汰”塑料的创造和使用,试图“减少”塑料生产,并将问题视为废物管理问题而不是生产问题。

国际环境法中心的律师大卫阿苏莱对美国削弱条约的努力表示失望:

“绝大多数国家齐心协力,共同制定全球塑料治理未来的愿景。 看到美国,在水力压裂和石化行业的利益的指导下,破坏这一愿景的主要努力令人沮丧。“

据专家称,美国大型石油公司,如埃克森美孚化工和壳牌化学,将在未来十年内推动塑料增长40%。 这些公司的投入超过了 塑料生产中的180十亿美元 由于页岩气的繁荣推动了2010。

“近永久性”塑料污染地球的警告

根据一项研究的作者Roland Geyer博士表示,自8.3以来,人类已生产1950亿吨塑料,最近塑料生产的增加将产生严重影响:

“我现在几乎都相信,如果没有严肃的减少源头的努力,塑料废物/污染问题将无法控制。 建设生产能力显然与减少来源相反。“

盖耶博士告诉卫报,塑料污染通常最终会被填埋或海洋污染,将导致地球“近乎永久性的污染”。

一些国家,如 肯尼亚 冰岛,已采取强有力的措施来减少塑料的使用。 经过分析显示,世界上主要瓶装水品牌90%含有微塑料,世界卫生组织对饮用水中塑料的潜在风险进行了审查。 英国在2019早期禁止在个人护理产品中使用塑料微珠,欧盟已宣布采取措施。

权力的游戏和Aquaman演员Jason Momoa 刮胡子 周四提高塑料污染意识。 随着David Attenborough的受欢迎程度 蓝色行星II 在电视连续剧中,人们似乎认识到塑料污染在流行文化中越来越受到关注。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

New Studies: Ocean Plastic Waste Is Worse Than We Thought

Plastic sandwich baggy floating in the water column. Fish that feed on various salps, jelly-fish, etc. mistake such trash for food and can ingest this with fatal consequences. Compare to images reef2130, reef0859, and reef0556.
Plastic sandwich baggy floating in the water column. Fish that feed on various salps, jelly-fish, etc. mistake such trash for food and can ingest this with fatal consequences. Compare to images reef2130, reef0859, and reef0556. (Photo: Ben Mierement, NOAA NOS)

Dr. Geyer told the Guardian that plastic pollution, which usually ends up in landfills or oceans, will result in a “near-permanent contamination” of the earth.

Two recent studies found plastic pollution to be worse than previously expected. One study found a sharp increase in plastic pollution in the ocean since the 1950s, and the other study found tiny particles of plastic, or microplastics, being transported by air to far-away ecosystems.

Previous studies have found microplastics in a diverse range of animals, including bottom-living sea creatures. After the plastic is ingested by small creatures, microplastics move up the food chain and can affect humans. One study found microplastics in one of 50 marine animals on U.K. shores.

Scientists are not completely sure of the effects plastic consumption could have on human health, but a group of seven marine scientists studying the impact of plastic consumption on marine animals in 2017 warned of impaired reproductive function among other serious health issues. The scientists urged the U.N. to form a new treaty on plastic pollution, which led to the non-binding Clean Seas Pact later that year.

US Bucks Global Approach to Plastic Pollution

In March 2019, U.N. nations met in Nairobi, Kenya, to craft a plan to tackle plastic pollution. Environmental groups attending the conference condemned the United States for what they perceived to be attempts to water down the goals of the resolution. While other nations wanted to “phase out” the creation and use of plastics completely, the U.S. sought to “reduce” plastic production, and framed the problem as a problem with waste management issue rather than production.

David Azoulay, an attorney with the Center for International Environmental Law, expressed disappointment with the U.S.’s efforts to weaken the treaty:

“The vast majority of countries came together to develop a vision for the future of global plastic governance. Seeing the US, guided by the interests of the fracking and petrochemical industry, leading efforts to sabotage that vision is disheartening.”

Large U.S.-based oil firms, such as ExxonMobil Chemical and Shell Chemical, will help fuel a 40% rise in plastics over the next decade, according to experts. These companies have invested more than $180 billion in plastic production since 2010, boosted by the boom in shale gas.

Warnings of “Near-Permanent” Plastic Contamination of Earth

According to Dr. Roland Geyer, the author of a study showing humans to have produced 8.3 billion tons of plastic since the 1950’s, the recent increase in plastic production will have grave effects:

“I am now all but convinced that the plastic waste/pollution problem will remain unmanageable without serious source reduction efforts. Building out production capacity is obviously the opposite of source reduction.”

Dr. Geyer told the Guardian that plastic pollution, which usually ends up in landfills or oceans, will result in a “near-permanent contamination” of the earth.

Some countries, such as Kenya and Iceland, have taken strong action to curtail the use of plastics. After an analysis showed 90% of the world’s major bottled water brands contain microplastics, the World Health Organization launched a review into the potential risks of plastic in drinking water. The U.K. banned plastic microbeads in personal care products in early 2019, and the E.U. has announced measures to follow suit.

Game of Thrones and Aquaman actor Jason Momoa shaved his beard to raise awareness for plastic pollution on Thursday. Along with the popularity of David Attenborough’s Blue Planet II television series, it appears awareness of plastic pollution is gaining traction in popular culture.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.