输入搜索

亚太 国家 TRENDING国

中美关税战可能对汽车工业产生巨大影响

副总统迈克彭斯访问密歇根州底特律的福特工厂4月24,2019(白宫官方摄影:D。Myles Cullen
副总统迈克彭斯访问密歇根州底特律的福特工厂4月24,2019(白宫官方摄影:D。Myles Cullen)

如果国内汽车制造商无法开发出引人注目的环保车型,他们可能会失去市场份额,导致美国的出口和失业减少。

根据一个 研究 在消费者技术协会和全国零售联合会的委托下,大约455,000的工作岗位面临着美国和中国之间贸易战最近升级的风险。 最近中国针对总统唐纳德特朗普提高对国家关税的报复关税达到了新西兰元十亿美元,这加剧了紧张局势。

“美国商界敦促政府和中国政府迅速,真诚地推进达成高标准,全面,可执行的协议,并终止现有的关税。 延长贸易紧张局势和关税升级符合两国的利益,“执行副总裁兼国际事务负责人Myron Brilliant说道, 美国商会 关于目前的情况。

CNBC 报道 周一早些时候关于两国之间持续的贸易战:

中国财政部周一表示,“中国将提高对美国商品的XMUMX亿美元的关税,以报复美国对中国商品征收关税的决定。” “北京将增加超过60产品的关税,高达5,000%。 其他一些商品的关税将增加到25%。 这些费率将从之前的20%或10%上升。“

此前,唐纳德特朗普总统决定将200%的25%的中国产品关税增加至10%。 世界上两个最大的经济体一直在努力签署贸易协议,并结束可能破坏全球经济的日益扩大的冲突。

持续不断的对峙使中国和美国陷入困境。 然而,中国可能会更好地应对汽车行业转向绿色能源的不断变化的景观。

中国远离化石燃料汽车

在各国之间的关税战开始展开之前,中国开始尝试将自己定位为电子汽车生产的领导者。 今年9月,中国工业和信息化部副部长辛国斌宣布,监管机构将准备一项禁止销售和生产仅限化石燃料的车辆的时间表。 三月2017, 海南省 成为第一个宣布2030禁止使用化石燃料的车辆。 如果公告在整个中国开始形成,那么仅化石燃料车辆的销售将在大约十年内结束。

目前,中国人 汽车市场 是世界上最大的,28的销量超过2018百万辆,而美国的销量超过17百万辆。 然而,市场一直受到影响。

该国最大的汽车行业协会周一表示,4月份全球最大汽车市场中国汽车销量较去年同期同比下降14.6%,标志着10连续第二个月下滑。 报告 路透社英国。 CAAM表示,“...新能源汽车(NEV)的销售一直是一个亮点,4月18.1%上升至97,000车辆。” 去年新能源汽车市场收缩时,新能源汽车销售额去年增长了近62%,“该出口商后来解释了”中国VI“排放标准,该标准是为应对气候变化而制定的。

通过禁止销售超过500,该国已经限制了化石燃料汽车的销售 模型 来自梅赛德斯奔驰和通用汽车等制造商的2018。 一些城市通过年度车牌彩票限制了此类车辆的销售。 此外,政府还要求汽车制造商满足大约的电动汽车生产配额 3,4% 在2019。

如果国内汽车制造商无法开发出引人注目的环保车型,他们可能会失去市场份额,导致美国的出口和失业减少。 通过谈论用可再生能源替代化石燃料的前景,特别是与车辆相关的问题,与美国制造商一道,必须跟上中国制造商的步伐。

美国制造商面临的挑战

传统汽车制造商面临着存在的挑战,因为他们失去了竞争优势,并且由于缺乏新兴技术的专业知识而处于竞争劣势。 如果对发展绿色汽车技术产生抵制,美国汽车业可能会再次发生灾难。

从中国进口的高质量和低成本可能对国内汽车制造商构成挑战,就像日本进口的1980s一样。 克服不断变化的技术转换,失去竞争力和增加外国竞争将是一个巨大的挑战,特别是在2009救助之后。

然而,如果国内汽车制造商愿意改变,那么希望仍然存在。 向新汽车技术的过渡为有利于改变景观的公司提供了获得两位数市场份额的机会。

联邦和州政府应在此过渡期提供必要的援助,以提高新技术的竞争力,确保出口,就业和贸易的积极平衡。 如果这些变化可以成为绿色新政提案的一部分,国内制造商将能够与采用绿色技术的国际竞争对手竞争。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
沃尔特耶茨

沃尔特·耶茨(Walter Yeates)是一名记者,小说家和编剧,他在12月的2016中与军队退伍军人和第一人民一起登上了Standing Rock。 他介绍了Citizen Truth的一系列主题,并提供建议和建议。 Twitter:www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall或www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack:https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ASIA/PACIFIC NATIONAL

China-US Tariff War Could Have Drastic Effects on Automotive Industry

Vice President Mike Pence visits a Ford Factory in Detroit, MI Wednesday April 24, 2019 (Official White House Photo by D. Myles Cullen
Vice President Mike Pence visits a Ford Factory in Detroit, MI Wednesday April 24, 2019 (Official White House Photo by D. Myles Cullen)

If domestic automakers are unable to develop compelling environmentally friendly models, they are likely to lose market share, resulting in decreased exports and job losses in the United States.

According to a study commissioned by the Consumer Technology Association and the National Retail Federation, approximately 455,000 jobs are at risk from the latest escalation in the trade war between the United States and China. The recent $150 billion dollar retaliation tariffs by China in response to President Donald Trump’s raising of tariffs against the nation has increased tension.

“The American business community urges the Administration and the Chinese government to move forward expeditiously and in good faith to strike a high-standard, comprehensive, enforceable agreement, and end the tariffs now in place. Prolonging trade tensions and the escalation of tariffs are in neither country’s interest,” stated Myron Brilliant, Executive Vice President and Head of International Affairs, U.S. Chamber of Commerce regarding the current situation.

CNBC reported early on Monday concerning the ongoing trade war between the two nations:

“China will raise tariffs on $60 billion in U.S. goods in retaliation for the U.S. decision to hike duties on Chinese goods,” the Chinese Finance Ministry said Monday. “Beijing will increase tariffs on more than 5,000 products to as high as 25%. Duties on some other goods will increase to 20%. Those rates will rise from either 10% or 5% previously.”

The move follows President Donald Trump’s decision to raise duties on $200 billion in Chinese products to 25% from 10%. The world’s two largest economies have struggled to sign a trade deal and end a widening conflict that threatens to damage the global economy.

The continued standoff positions both China and the United States in a difficult situation. Yet, China may be better equipped to handle the evolving landscape regarding the automotive industries move to green energy.

China’s Move Away From Fossil Fuel Only Vehicles

Prior to the tariff war between the countries began to unfold, China began attempts to situate itself as a leader in electronic vehicle production. In September of 2017, Xin Guobin, China’s Vice Minister of Industry and Information Technology, announced regulators would be preparing a timeline to ban the sale and production of fossil fuel only vehicles. In March 2019, the Hainan province became the first to announce 2030 as the ban on fossil fuel only vehicles. If the announcement begins a pattern throughout China, the sale of fossil fuel only vehicles would end in approximately a decade.

Currently, the Chinese automotive market is the largest in the world, with sales of over 28 million vehicles in 2018 compared to 17 million in the United States. However, the market has been suffering as of late.

“Vehicles sales in China, the world’s largest auto market, fell 14.6% in April from the same month a year earlier, the country’s biggest auto industry association said on Monday, marking the 10th consecutive month of decline,” reports Reuters UK. “…Sales of new energy vehicles (NEV) have been a bright spot, rising 18.1% in April to 97,000 vehicles, CAAM said. NEV sales jumped almost 62 percent last year even as the broader auto market contracted,” the outlet later explained in relation to the “China VI” emission standards, which were enacted to combat climate change.

The nation has already restricted the sales of fossil fuel vehicles by banning the sale of over 500 models in 2018 from manufacturers including Mercedes Benz and General Motors. Several cities limit the sale of such vehicles through a yearly license plate lottery. Additionally, the government has required automakers to meet EV production quotas of approximately 3-4% in 2019.

If domestic automakers are unable to develop compelling environmentally friendly models, they are likely to lose market share, resulting in decreased exports and job losses in the United States. With conversations about the prospects of replacing fossil fuels with renewable energy, especially in relation to vehicles, keeping pace with Chinese manufacturers will be necessary for American manufacturers.

Challenges US Manufacturers Face

Legacy automakers face existential challenges as they lose their competitive advantage and are at a competitive disadvantage due to their lack of expertise in emerging technology. If there is a resistance to developing green vehicle technology, the United States car industry could see another disaster.

Possible high-quality and low-cost imports from China could pose a challenge to domestic automakers, much like the Japanese imports of the 1980s. Overcoming the conversion of changing technologies, loss of competitiveness and increased foreign competition will be a great challenge, especially in the aftermath of the 2009 bailout.

However, hope remains if domestic automakers are open to change. The transition into new automobile technologies offers the opportunity to obtain double-digit market share to companies that position themselves to take advantage of the altering landscape.

Federal and State governments should provide the necessary assistance during this transition period to increase competitiveness in the new technology and ensure exports, jobs and positive balances of trade. If these changes can be a part of Green New Deal proposals, domestic manufacturers will be able to compete with international competitors who are embracing green technology.

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Walter Yeates

Walter Yeates is a journalist, novelist, and screenwriter who embedded at Standing Rock with military Veterans and First People in December 2016. He covers a range of topics at Citizen Truth and is open for tips and suggestions. Twitter: www.twitter.com/GentlemansHall or www.twitter.com/SmoothJourno Muckrack: https://muckrack.com/walteryeates

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.