输入搜索

国家

企业PAC在120 Midterms期间向政客捐赠超过$ 2018百万美元

自1月120以来,参议员和国会代表已从公司政治行动委员会(PAC)获得超过100万新西兰元的资金。 根据 MapLight众议院共和党人平均收到263,00 67,这比158,000众议院民主党平均收到的企业PAC收入高出XNUMX%。

在参议院,财务差异不太明显。 参议院共和党人平均从公司PAC筹集了263,000,而参议院民主党人平均筹集了260,000。

在14中期选举周期中,参议员和代表迄今为止筹集的2018资金的百分比来自公司PAC。

据MapLight称,在许多情况下,雇主经常要求在公司工作的员工向公司的PAC捐款。 响应政治中心强调以下公司是2018选举中国会议员的最大PAC捐助者:

  • Northrop Grumman($ 2.3百万)
  • AT&T($ 2百万)
  • 国家啤酒批发商协会($ 2百万)

根据联邦法律,个人只能向PAC捐赠最多$ 5,000。 PAC也受到联邦法律的限制,不会给候选人提供超过$ 10,000的费用 - 即主要的5,000和大选的$ 5,000。 此外,政治候选人和PAC不能直接从公司接受捐款; 但2010最高法院公民联合裁决为企业向超级PAC或黑钱组织捐赠无限量资金打开了大门。

随着美国人越来越对金钱对政治的影响感到沮丧,一些政治候选人承诺拒绝公司PAC的资金。 End Citizens United是一个在政治上争夺特殊利益的团体,他表示,到目前为止,70候选人已经宣誓拒绝公司PAC的资金。

就在三周前 民主党全国委员会承诺 拒绝化石燃料行业PAC的任何捐赠。

在2018中期选举中,对参议员和代表的公司PAC资金的完整细分可以是 在MapLight上看到这里.

公司正在签署“为民主而聚会”,让选举日成为一个假期

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Corporate PACs Donate over $120 Million to Politicians During 2018 Midterms

Senators and representatives in Congress have received over $120 million from corporate political action committees (PACs) since January 2017. According to MapLight, House Republicans received $263,00 on average which is 67 percent more than the $158,000 House Democrats received on average from corporate PACs.

In the Senate, the financial differences were less noticeable. Senate Republicans raised  $263,000 from corporate PACs on average, whereas Senate Democrats raised $260,000 on average.

About 14 percent of the money raised so far by senators and representatives during the 2018 midterm election cycle was raised from corporate PACs.

According to MapLight, in many cases, employees working in corporations are often asked by their employers to donate to their corporate PACs. The Center for Responsive Politics highlights the following corporations as the largest PAC donors to Congress members for the 2018 election:

  • Northrop Grumman ($2.3 million)
  • AT&T ($2 million)
  • National Beer Wholesalers Association ($2 million)

Individuals are only permitted to donate a maximum of $5,000 to PACs under federal law. PACs are also limited by federal law to give no more than $10,000 to a candidate – that is, $5,000 for a primary and $5,000 for a general election. Furthermore, political candidates and PACs cannot receive donations directly from corporations; but the 2010 Supreme Court Citizens United ruling opened the door for corporations to donate unlimited amounts of funds to super PACs or dark money organizations.

As Americans have grown increasingly frustrated by the influence of money in politics, some political candidates have pledged to turn down funding from corporate PACs. End Citizens United, a group that fights special interest money in politics, stated that 70 candidates so far have sworn to refuse money from corporate PACs.

Just three weeks ago the Democratic National Committee pledged to refuse any donations from fossil fuel industry PACs.

A complete breakdown of corporate PAC funding to senators and representatives in the 2018 midterm election can be seen here on MapLight.

 

Companies are Signing Up to ‘Party Down For Democracy’ & Make Election Day a Holiday

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.