输入搜索

国家

交易达成了! 政府关闭至少结束现在......

唐纳德特朗普总统于6月27,2018在华盛顿白宫南草坪上登上海军陆战队一号。 (Samira Bouaou /大纪元时报)
唐纳德特朗普总统于6月27,2018在华盛顿白宫南草坪上登上海军陆战队一号。 (Samira Bouaou /大纪元时报)

我们有一笔交易,但会持续吗?

特朗普周五宣布,总统与美国立法者达成协议,通过2月15向政府提供资金和开放。 该公告是在政府关闭的第35日发布的,这是历史上最长的一次,并且在关闭的负面影响面临越来越大的压力。

“我很自豪地宣布,我们已达成协议,终止关闭并重新开放联邦政府,”特朗普在记者和内阁成员之前在白宫玫瑰园发表讲话。

临时权宜之计资金的交易仍需要众议院和参议院通过,然后需要特朗普的签名。 国会两院都可能通过这项协议,因为两个立法机构都在呼吁暂时开放政府,同时继续就边境墙资金进行谈判。

据CNN周四特朗普表示,如果它在边境墙上包括“按比例分配的首付款”,他只会接受临时的权宜融资协议,但周五没有提到这样的存款。

虽然这笔交易对于因停业而无薪支付的800,000联邦工人来说是一种宽慰,但并不能保证政府在临时资助措施到期后不会再次关闭。 特朗普仍然要求实体墙,民主党人一再表示这是一个坚定的要求。

“我们别无选择,只能建造一个强大的墙壁或钢筋屏障。 如果我们没有得到国会的公平协议,政府将再次关闭2月15 - 或者我会根据法律和美国宪法赋予我的权力来解决这一紧急情况,“特朗普说。

这笔交易的作用是允许政府重新开放,双方承诺继续就边界墙资金进行谈判。

航空业迫在眉睫的危机以及在关闭期间努力维持生计的联邦工作人员的宣传日益增加,这增加了特朗普和共和党最近几天的压力。 就在昨天,代表飞行员,空乘人员和空中交通管制员的协会发布了一份声明,警告该行业安全状况恶化,以及他们对FAA维持安全协议的能力缺乏信心。

此外,由于政府关闭开始冲击东海岸的机场,周五延误归咎于缺乏人员配置。 离开纽约市拉瓜迪亚机场的航班平均延误了一个半小时。 据波士顿,华盛顿和佛罗里达州的机场报告还有其他延误 “纽约时报”.

越来越多的宣传无偿工人将食物放在桌面上的困境可能也增加了特朗普达成协议的压力。 根据民意调查,大多数美国人都指责特朗普和共和党关闭和关闭 联邦工作人员转向GoFundMe 为了支持自己,绝望的政府工作人员可能会进一步拉低特朗普的民意调查数字。

虽然不能保证不会有第二次政府关闭,但至少有一些失业的工人将有机会获得报酬。

“我会确保所有员工尽快或尽快收到他们的退款。 它会很快发生,“特朗普周五表示。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Deal Reached! Government Shutdown Ends At Least For Now…

President Donald Trump before boarding Marine One on the South Lawn of the White House in Washington on June 27, 2018. (Samira Bouaou/The Epoch Times)
President Donald Trump before boarding Marine One on the South Lawn of the White House in Washington on June 27, 2018. (Samira Bouaou/The Epoch Times)

We have a deal, but will it last?

Trump announced Friday that a deal had been reached between the President and U.S. lawmakers to fund and open the government through February 15. The announcement came on the 35th day of the government shutdown, making it the longest in history and amid mounting pressure over the negative consequences of the shutdown.

“I am very proud to announce today that we have reached a deal to end the shutdown and reopen the federal government,” Trump said in the White House Rose Garden before reporters and members of his cabinet.

The deal for temporary stopgap funding still needs to be passed by both the House and Senate and would then require Trump’s signature. Both chambers of Congress are likely to pass the deal as both legislative bodies have been clamoring to temporarily open the government while negotiations over border wall funding continue.

According to CNN, on Thursday Trump said that he would only accept a temporary stopgap funding deal if it included a “prorated down payment” on the border wall, but on Friday there was no mention of such a deposit.

While the deal will be a relief for the 800,000 federal workers who have gone without pay as a result of the shutdown, there’s no guarantee the government won’t shut down again once the temporary funding measure expires. Trump is still demanding a physical wall, a demand Democrats have repeatedly said is a firm no.

“We really have no choice but to build a powerful wall or steel barrier. If we don’t get a fair deal from Congress, the government will either shut down on Feb. 15 – again – or I would use the powers afforded to me under the laws and the Constitution of the United States to address this emergency,” Trump said.

What the deal does is allow the government to reopen with both sides committed to continuing negotiations over border wall funding.

Looming crises in the aviation industry and increased publicity on federal workers struggling to make ends meet during the shutdown have increased the pressure on Trump and the GOP party in recent days. Just yesterday associations representing pilots, flight attendants and air traffic controllers released a statement warning of the deteriorating safety conditions in the industry and their lack of confidence in the FAA’s ability to maintain safety protocol.

Additionally, on Friday delays blamed on a lack of staffing as a result of the government shutdown started to ripple through airports on the East Coast. Flights leaving New York City’s LaGuardia airport were averaging an hour and a half delay. Other delays were seen at Boston, Washington and Florida airports according to the New York Times.

The increasing publicity on the plight of unpaid workers to put food on the table likely also increased the pressure on Trump to reach a deal. According to polls, most Americans blame Trump and the GOP for the shutdown and with federal workers turning to GoFundMe to support themselves, desperate furloughed government workers would likely pull Trump’s polling numbers down further.

While there is no guarantee there won’t be a second government shutdown, at least furloughed workers will get a chance to be paid.

“I will make sure that all employees receive their back pay very quickly or as soon as possible. It’ll happen fast,” Trump said on Friday.

 

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *