输入搜索

中东

抗议第四天冲击伊拉克,死亡人数上升

伊拉克示威者
反对腐败和高失业率的抗议席卷了伊拉克。 (照片:YouTube,《卫报》)

在伊拉克进行了四天的抗议活动后,数十名抗议者丧生,更多人受伤,引发了呼吁伊拉克政府下台的呼吁。

国际媒体周五报道说,过去几天在全国各地发生的一系列抗议活动中,伊拉克人的死亡人数在过去24小时内有所上升。 上周五,在伊拉克首都巴格达的抗议活动中,包括两名平民和两名安全人员在内的四人丧生。

游行示威活动主要由伊拉克年轻男性公民组织,于周二开始,抗议整个石油资源丰富的阿拉伯国家的腐败以及高水平的贫困和失业。

据路透社报道,过去几天被杀的人数为65,而美联社援引医疗和安全消息来源估计为53。 据报道,在抗议活动震撼了伊拉克不同地区,包括南部迪瓦尼亚省的数百人中,有数百人受伤。

伊拉克总理阿德尔·阿卜杜勒·马赫迪(Adel Abdul Mahdi)成立了一年,新的伊拉克政府已作出反应,对整个伊拉克地区实行宵禁,主要是在巴格达。 它还通过切断互联网访问来实施停电措施,以防止抗议活动的组织者通过社交媒体相互交流。

伊拉克抗议期间的死亡和伤害

半岛电视台报道 巴格达安全消息来源说,“身份不明的狙击手”在抗议活动的第四天星期五发射了实弹,夺走了两名平民和另外两名安全人员的生命。

但是,据报道,在抗议期间,伊拉克安全部队还向抗议者开枪,炸伤和杀死了数十名抗议者。

联合国周五发表声明,敦促抗议者与伊拉克政府进行对话,并警告不要使用过度武力。

“有报道称,安全部队在某些地区使用了实弹和橡皮子弹,并直接向示威者发射催泪弹罐,我们对此感到担忧,” 联合国声明如下.

“我们呼吁伊拉克政府允许人民自由行使其言论自由和和平集会的权利。 武力应是例外,一般应对集会进行管理而不得诉诸武力。”

有人援引红十字会驻伊拉克代表团国际委员会负责人卡塔琳娜·里兹(Katharina Ritz)的话说,只有在迫在眉睫的生命威胁时,才应使用枪支。 她呼吁安全部队保持克制。

对伊拉克抗议活动的回应

半岛电视台的伊姆兰·汗报道 伊拉克议会议长穆罕默德·哈尔布西(Mohamad al-Halbousi)表达了对示威者的支持,并呼吁总理马赫迪(Mahdi)政府听取示威者的要求,他将其视为合法。

汗说:“他(al-Halbousi)站在了抗议者的一边,他说政府已经失败,需要立即进行改革。”

汗补充说:“似乎对政府充满了愤怒,但它不仅来自抗议者,而且来自议会本身。” “但是这个政府只有一岁,而这些问题要比那年长得多。”

半岛电视台还报道说,伊拉克最高什叶派教士大阿亚图拉·阿里·西斯塔尼(Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani)站在抗议者的一边,敦促伊拉克政府注意抗议者的要求。 西斯塔尼敦促安全部队和抗议者不要使用暴力,并批评伊拉克领导人未能铲除腐败

在星期五的隔夜地址中, 据路透社报道 总理马赫迪(Mahdi)承诺进行改革,但表示没有“神奇的解决方案”解决伊拉克的问题。 他坚持说,政客们意识到群众的苦难,他说:“我们不住在象牙塔里,我们在巴格达的街道上走在你们中间。”马赫迪还保证在星期六5之前解除巴格达政府施加的宵禁。

马赫迪还面临民粹主义什叶派领导人穆克塔达·萨德尔的呼吁,要求大选迅速进行,他敦促他的议会同议员抵制政府,直到举行选举。

“通过政府辞职来尊重伊拉克的鲜血,并为国际监测员监督的大选做准备,” 他办公室的一份声明说.

同时,库尔德领导人和半自治的库尔德-伊拉克地区总统内希尔万·巴尔扎尼(Nechirvan Barzani)向抗议者和政府致辞。 声明 说抗议是合法的,不应导致混乱。

在伊拉克目前的动荡之中,包括科威特,卡塔尔和巴林在内的附近阿拉伯国家向其公民发布了旅行警告,建议他们暂时不要前往伊拉克。 他们还建议居住在伊拉克的人出于安全考虑立即离开该国。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari是加沙地带的自由撰稿人,记者和讲师。 拉米为全球多家媒体提供英语服务,包括印刷,广播和电视。 他可以在Facebook上作为Rami Munir Almeghari和电子邮件联系 [EMAIL PROTECTED]

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

MIDDLE EAST

Death Toll Rises as Fourth Day of Protests Rock Iraq

Iraq protesters
Protests against corruption and high levels of unemployment have swept across Iraq. (Photo: YouTube, The Guardian)

After four days of protests in Iraq, dozens of protesters are dead and many more wounded sparking calls for the Iraqi government to step down.

International media reports said on Friday that the death toll among Iraqis participating in a series of protests that have transpired across the country for the past few days has risen in the last 24 hours. The reports came after four people including two civilians and two security personnel were killed during protests in the Iraqi capital of Baghdad on Friday

The demonstrations, organized largely by young male Iraqi citizens, began on Tuesday in protest of corruption and high levels of poverty and unemployment across the oil-rich Arab country.

According to Reuters, the number of people killed over the past few days stands at 65, while the Associated Press estimated it at 53, citing medical and security sources. Hundreds of others have been reportedly injured during the protests that rocked different parts of Iraq, including the southern Diwaniya province.

The one-year-old new Iraqi government of Iraqi Prime Minister Adel Abdul Mahdi has reacted by imposing curfews throughout Iraqi regions, mainly in Baghdad. It has also imposed a blackout by cutting off internet access to prevent organizers of the protests from communicating with each other via social media outlets.

Fatalities and Injuries During Iraqi Protests

Al Jazeera reported that security sources in Baghdad said that “unidentified snipers” fired live ammunition on Friday, the fourth such day of protests, claiming the lives of two civilians and two other security personnel.

However, Iraqi security forces have also reportedly fired on protesters during the protests wounding and killing dozens of protesters.

The United Nations issued a statement on Friday urging for a dialogue between protesters and the Iraqi government and cautioned against the use of excessive force.

“We are worried by reports that security forces have used live ammunition and rubber bullets in some areas, and have also fired tear gas cannisters directly at protestors,” the U.N. statement read.

“We call on the Iraqi Government to allow people to freely exercise their rights to freedom of expression and peaceful assembly. The use of force should be exceptional, and assemblies should ordinarily be managed without resort to force.”

The head of the International Committee of the Red Cross’ delegation in Iraq, Katharina Ritz, was also quoted as saying that the use of firearms should be a last resort and only when there is an imminent threat against life. She called on security forces to show restraint.

Response to the Iraqi Protests

Al Jazeera’s Imran Khan reported that Iraqi parliament speaker Mohamad al-Halbousi had expressed support for the protesters and called on the government of Prime Minister Mahdi to listen to protesters’ demands, which he described as legitimate.

“He [al-Halbousi] has taken the side of the protesters, he’s saying the government has failed and needs to put in reforms right now,” Khan said.

“There seems to be a lot of anger towards the government, but it’s also coming not just from the protesters but from the parliament itself,” Khan added. “But this government is only a year old and these problems are a lot older than that.”

Al Jazeera also reported that Iraq’s top Shia cleric, Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani, sided with the protesters urging the Iraqi government to heed protesters’ demands. Sistani urged security forces and protesters not to use violence, and criticized Iraqi leaders for failing to eradicate corruption

In an overnight address on Friday, Reuters reported that Prime Minister Mahdi pledged reform but said there was no “magic solution” to Iraq’s problems. He insisted politicians were aware of the suffering of the masses saying, “We do not live in ivory towers – we walk among you in the streets of Baghdad.” Mahdi also pledged to lift the government-imposed curfew in Baghdad by 5 a.m. Saturday.

Mahdi is also facing calls for a snap election lead by the populist Shia leader Muqtada al-Sadr who urged his fellow parliamentary legislators to boycott the government until an election was held.

“Respect the blood of Iraq through the resignation of the government and prepare for early elections overseen by international monitors,” a statement from his office said.

Meanwhile, the Kurdish leader and president of the semi-autonomous Kurdish-Iraqi region, Nechirvan Barzani, addressed both protesters and the government in a statement saying that the protests are legitimate and should not lead to chaos.

Amidst the current unrest in Iraq, nearby Arab countries including Kuwait, Qatar and Bahrain issued travel warnings to their citizens advising them not to travel to Iraq for the time being. They also advised those residing in Iraq to leave the country immediately for security considerations.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Rami Almeghari

Rami Almeghari is a freelance independent writer, journalist and lecturer, based in the Gaza Strip. Rami has contributed in English to several media outlets worldwide, including print, radio and TV. He can be reached on facebook as Rami Munir Almeghari and on email as [email protected]

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.