اكتب للبحث

حضاره

هل 2019 مجرد "إلغاء" ديف Chappelle أم أنه لا يزال عبقري فكاهي؟

يقف ديف تشابيل (يمين) ودونيل رولينغز ، الممثلون والكوميديون ، أمام C-17 Globemaster III فبراير. 2 ، 2017 ، في Joint Base Charleston ، SC
يقف ديف تشابيل (يمين) ودونيل رولينغز ، الممثلون والكوميديون ، أمام C-17 Globemaster III في فبراير. 2 ، 2017 ، في Joint Base Charleston ، كان SC Chappelle في البلدة لحضور عرضه الكوميدي زيارة لرؤية أعضاء الخدمة والمدنيين الفيدراليين في القاعدة. (الصورة: سلاح الجو الأمريكي ، طيار أول توم برادينج)

أحببته أو كرهه ، ديف تشابيل لا يزال موجودًا ، بينما ينفرد مشاهده في نتفلياكس الجديدون بما إذا كانت كوميديا ​​عفا عليها الزمن أو مستهدفة تمامًا.

منذ موقفه الجديد الخاص الكوميديا ​​، العصي والحجارة، الذي تم عرضه لأول مرة في الشهر الماضي على Netflix ، يبدو أن الممثل الكوميدي ديف شابيل قد كشف عن فجوة ثقافية بين النخبة الثقافية والجماهير.

لا يبدو أن أيقونة الكوميديا ​​، التي برزت في 2000s من خلال برنامجه التلفزيوني الشهير "The Chappelle Show" ، لم تفعل شيئًا عاديًا على وجه الخصوص: فقد أخبر بعض النكات المثيرة والاستفزازية والمضحكة. ومع ذلك ، هذا هو 2019 وفي أعقاب حركة #metoo ، وظهور LGBTQ ، وحقبة ترامب المثيرة للانقسام - يبدو أن الكوميديا ​​اتخذت المقعد الخلفي إلى الصواب السياسي.

لذلك كان من المحتم أن يستقطب تشابيل جمهور اليوم - ربما أكثر ما يكشف على الموقع الطماطم الفاسدة، حيث تتم مراجعة الأفلام والبرامج التلفزيونية من قبل النقاد والجماهير. السابق أعطى ستاندوب الخاصة نسبة موافقة 30 ٪ ، مقارنة مع الجماهير الذين أشادوا مع 99 ٪ هائلة.

المقالات نشأ هذا التشتيت بفارغ الصبر ، بقراءة المفهوم المذهل المتمثل في أن النخبة الثقافية بعيدة كل البعد عن الأميركيين العاديين بعد كل شيء ، مع الحقيقة والشك غير المبالين (السمة المميزة للكوميديا ​​، مثل تشابيل) كمقسم كبير.

النظرية الشائعة هي أن وسائل الإعلام ومنتقديها عمومًا يميلون إلى اليسار وليبرالية ، وبالتالي تحفظهم لاحتضان أي تنكر ضد الأمريكيين المتحولين جنسياً ، وحق المرأة في اختيار الإجهاض ، وادعاءات الاعتداء الجنسي - وكلها تشابيل على ما يبدو سيخ أو تحديات في كتاباته. خاص.

النقاد الذين يتعرضون للإهانة من قبل شابيل لديهم بطبيعة الحال رأى إنه بعيد عن الاتصال بهذه القضايا المذكورة أعلاه ، ومقارنته بـ "عم خشن" ويفتقر إلى التعاطف.

ومع ذلك ، أشاد الجمهور على الطماطم الفاسدة ، تشابيل بأنها "عبقرية" كوميدي ومجموعة له "الكمال" و "هستيري للغاية".

بغض النظر عن معتقداتك السياسية أو الاجتماعية ، فإن حقيقة وجود جمهور كبير من كوميديا ​​تشابيل تثبت أن القضايا الساخنة التي تجتاح أمتنا اليوم ليست بالتأكيد مقدسة للجميع. هذا ليس مستغربا ؛ لقد كان انتخاب دونالد ترامب بالفعل الرمز الأكثر وضوحا للثقافة المنقسمة على ما يبدو بين أيديولوجيتين منفصلتين وروايات.

ما يثير الدهشة هو أنه منذ 2016 ، مع ظهور "إلغاء الثقافة" - حيث يمكن تشويه شخصية عامة ونبذها من قبل المشجعين استنادًا إلى قضايا أخلاقية مزعومة فقط - لم يستسلم Chappelle لهذا المصير من خلال موقفه الخاص. حتى أنه سخر من العقلية المشكوك فيها لهذه الظاهرة الثقافية في كتابه الخاص ، قائلاً: "إذا ارتكبت أي شيء خاطئ في حياتك واكتشفت ذلك ، سأحاول إخراج كل شيء منك. لقد انتهيت من الملك. "

على الرغم من أنها مجرد كوميديا ​​مميزة ، مثلها مثل جميع الأعمال الفنية ، فإن كوميديا ​​Chappelle هي انعكاس لجمهورها اليوم - ولن يكون الجميع سعداء بما يرونه.

إذا كنت قد استمتعت بهذا المقال ، فالرجاء التفكير في دعم الأخبار المستقلة والحصول على نشرتنا الإخبارية ثلاث مرات في الأسبوع.

العلامات:

قد يعجبك ايضا

اترك تعليق

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني. الحقول الإلزامية مشار إليها *

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Type to search

CULTURE

Did 2019 Just ‘Cancel’ Dave Chappelle or is He a Still Relevant Comic Genius?

Dave Chappelle (right) and Donnell Rawlings, actors and comedians, stand in front of a C-17 Globemaster III Feb. 2, 2017, at Joint Base Charleston, S.C.
Dave Chappelle (right) and Donnell Rawlings, actors and comedians, stand in front of a C-17 Globemaster III Feb. 2, 2017, at Joint Base Charleston, S.C. Chappelle was in town for his stand-up comedy show when he made the visit to see service members and federal civilians at the base. (Photo: U.S. Air Force, Senior Airman Tom Brading)

Love him or hate him, Dave Chappelle is still here and his new Netflix special has viewers split over whether his comedy is outdated or perfectly on target.

Since his new stand-up comedy special, Sticks and Stones, premiered last month on Netflix, comedian Dave Chappelle seems to have exposed a cultural divide between the cultural elite and the masses.

The comedy icon, who rose to prominence in the 2000s with his acclaimed sketch TV program, “The Chappelle Show”, didn’t seem to do anything out of the ordinary on his special: he told some edgy, provocative, and funny jokes. However, this is 2019 and in the wake of the #metoo movement, LGBTQ visibility, and the divisive Trump era— comedy has seemingly taken a backseat to political correctness.

So it was inevitable that Chappelle has polarized today’s audience — perhaps most revealing on the website Rotten Tomatoes, where films and TV shows are reviewed by critics and audiences. The former gave the standup special a 30% approval rating, compared to audiences who lauded it with a whopping 99%.

Articles have sprung up, eagerly dissecting this disparity — reading into the tantalizing concept that the cultural elite is out of touch with everyday Americans after all, with unvarnished truth and skepticism (the hallmark of comedy, such as Chapelle’s) as the great divider.

The common theory is that the media and its critics are generally left-leaning and liberal, hence their reticence to embrace any repudiation against transgender Americans, women’s right to choose abortion, and sexual abuse allegations — all of which Chappelle seemingly skewers or challenges in his special.

Critics who are offended by Chappelle have naturally opined that he’s out of touch with these aforementioned issues, comparing him to a “rascally uncle” and lacking empathy.

Audiences on Rotten Tomatoes, however, praised Chappelle as a comic “genius” and his set as “perfection” and “absolutely hysterical.”

Regardless of your political or social beliefs, the fact that there is a large audience for Chappelle’s comedy proves that the hot-button issues sweeping our nation today are certainly not sacred to everyone. This isn’t surprising; the election of Donald Trump has already been the most blatant symbol of a culture seemingly split between two separate ideologies and narratives.

What is surprising is that since 2016, with the rise of “cancel culture” — where a public figure can be vilified and ostracized by fans based solely on alleged moral issues — Chappelle isn’t succumbing to that fate with his stand-up special. He even mocked the dubious mindset of this cultural phenomenon in his special, saying: “If you do anything wrong in your life and I find out about it, I’m gonna try to take everything away from you. You’re f–king finished.”

Although it’s just a stand-up comedy special, like all works of art, Chappelle’s comedy is a reflection of its audience today — and not everyone is going to be happy with what they see.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.