输入搜索

公司文化

2019刚刚“取消”Dave Chappelle还是他仍然是一个相关的漫画天才?

演员和喜剧演员Dave Chappelle(右)和Donnell Rawlings站在南卡罗来纳州查尔斯顿联合基地的C-17 Globemaster III 2月2 2017前面
Dave Chappelle(右)和Donnell Rawlings,演员和喜剧演员,站在C-17 Globemaster III 2月2,2017,在查尔斯顿联合基地,SC Chappelle在他的单口秀喜剧节目中出演参观基地的服务人员和联邦平民。 (图片:美国空军,高级飞行员Tom Brading)

爱他或恨他,戴夫Chappelle仍然在这里,他的新Netflix特别观众分享他的喜剧是否过时或完美的目标。

自从他的新单口喜剧特别, 棍棒和石头上个月在Netflix首映,喜剧演员Dave Chappelle似乎暴露了文化精英与群众之间的文化鸿沟。

这部喜剧图标凭借着名的素描电视节目“Chappelle Show”在2000中崭露头角,似乎并没有做出与众不同的任何事情:他讲了一些前卫,挑衅和有趣的笑话。 然而,这是2019,在#metoo运动之后,LGBTQ的知名度和分裂的特朗普时代喜剧似乎已经落后于政治正确性。

因此Chappelle不可避免地使今天的观众两极分化 - 也许在网站上最具启示性 烂番茄电影和电视节目由评论家和观众评论。 前者给予站立特别30%支持率,与那些以高达99%称赞它的观众相比。

文章 我们如雨后春笋般涌现,急切地剖析这种差异 - 阅读一个诱人的概念,即文化精英毕竟与日常的美国人脱节,带着无瑕的真理和怀疑(喜剧的标志,如Chapelle's)作为伟大的分裂者。

共同的理论是,媒体及其批评者通常是左倾和自由的,因此他们不愿意接受任何对变性美国人的拒绝,妇女选择堕胎的权利以及性虐待指控 - 所有这些都是Chappelle在他的看来串起或挑战的特别。

被Chappelle冒犯的批评者自然而然 opined 他与上述问题脱节,将他与“愚蠢的叔叔”相提并论,缺乏同理心。

然而,腐烂的西红柿的观众称赞Chappelle是一个喜剧的“天才”,他的作品是“完美”和“绝对歇斯底里”。

无论你的政治或社会信仰如何,Chappelle的喜剧都有大量观众的事实证明,今天席卷我们国家的热门话题对每个人来说都不是神圣的。 这并不奇怪; 唐纳德特朗普的选举已经成为一种文化中最明显的象征,似乎在两种不同的意识形态和叙事之间分裂。

令人惊讶的是,自从2016随着“取消文化”的兴起 - 一个公众人物可能被粉丝完全依据所谓的道德问题而受到诽谤和排斥 - Chappelle并没有因为他的站立特殊而屈服于那种命运。 他甚至在他的特殊情况中嘲笑这种文化现象的可疑心态,他说:“如果你在生活中做错了什么我会发现它,我会试着把一切都从你身边带走。 你完成了f-king。“

虽然像所有艺术作品一样只是一部脱口秀喜剧,Chappelle的喜剧是今天观众的反映 - 并不是每个人都会对他们看到的东西感到满意。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

CULTURE

Did 2019 Just ‘Cancel’ Dave Chappelle or is He a Still Relevant Comic Genius?

Dave Chappelle (right) and Donnell Rawlings, actors and comedians, stand in front of a C-17 Globemaster III Feb. 2, 2017, at Joint Base Charleston, S.C.
Dave Chappelle (right) and Donnell Rawlings, actors and comedians, stand in front of a C-17 Globemaster III Feb. 2, 2017, at Joint Base Charleston, S.C. Chappelle was in town for his stand-up comedy show when he made the visit to see service members and federal civilians at the base. (Photo: U.S. Air Force, Senior Airman Tom Brading)

Love him or hate him, Dave Chappelle is still here and his new Netflix special has viewers split over whether his comedy is outdated or perfectly on target.

Since his new stand-up comedy special, Sticks and Stones, premiered last month on Netflix, comedian Dave Chappelle seems to have exposed a cultural divide between the cultural elite and the masses.

The comedy icon, who rose to prominence in the 2000s with his acclaimed sketch TV program, “The Chappelle Show”, didn’t seem to do anything out of the ordinary on his special: he told some edgy, provocative, and funny jokes. However, this is 2019 and in the wake of the #metoo movement, LGBTQ visibility, and the divisive Trump era— comedy has seemingly taken a backseat to political correctness.

So it was inevitable that Chappelle has polarized today’s audience — perhaps most revealing on the website Rotten Tomatoes, where films and TV shows are reviewed by critics and audiences. The former gave the standup special a 30% approval rating, compared to audiences who lauded it with a whopping 99%.

Articles have sprung up, eagerly dissecting this disparity — reading into the tantalizing concept that the cultural elite is out of touch with everyday Americans after all, with unvarnished truth and skepticism (the hallmark of comedy, such as Chapelle’s) as the great divider.

The common theory is that the media and its critics are generally left-leaning and liberal, hence their reticence to embrace any repudiation against transgender Americans, women’s right to choose abortion, and sexual abuse allegations — all of which Chappelle seemingly skewers or challenges in his special.

Critics who are offended by Chappelle have naturally opined that he’s out of touch with these aforementioned issues, comparing him to a “rascally uncle” and lacking empathy.

Audiences on Rotten Tomatoes, however, praised Chappelle as a comic “genius” and his set as “perfection” and “absolutely hysterical.”

Regardless of your political or social beliefs, the fact that there is a large audience for Chappelle’s comedy proves that the hot-button issues sweeping our nation today are certainly not sacred to everyone. This isn’t surprising; the election of Donald Trump has already been the most blatant symbol of a culture seemingly split between two separate ideologies and narratives.

What is surprising is that since 2016, with the rise of “cancel culture” — where a public figure can be vilified and ostracized by fans based solely on alleged moral issues — Chappelle isn’t succumbing to that fate with his stand-up special. He even mocked the dubious mindset of this cultural phenomenon in his special, saying: “If you do anything wrong in your life and I find out about it, I’m gonna try to take everything away from you. You’re f–king finished.”

Although it’s just a stand-up comedy special, like all works of art, Chappelle’s comedy is a reflection of its audience today — and not everyone is going to be happy with what they see.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.