输入搜索

国家

共和党赢得北卡罗来纳州的特别选举 - 它对2020意味着什么

唐纳德·特朗普总统和丹·毕晓普在9 / 9 / 2019日期在北卡罗来纳州费耶特维尔举行的Keep America Great集会上
唐纳德特朗普总统和丹·毕晓普出席在北卡罗来纳州费耶特维尔举行的Keep America Great集会上的9 / 9 / 2019。 (照片:Jackson A. Lanier)

共和党在北卡罗来纳州的胜利是特朗普对2020希望的一个积极信号,还是特朗普在一个历史性的共和党地区失去支持的胜利?

共和党人丹·毕晓普在周二晚上在北卡罗来纳州举行的一次特别选举中击败了民主党人丹·麦克哈德,在许多分析家认为对2020选举产生全国影响的竞选中。 特朗普总统在周二前往毕晓普前往北卡罗来纳州费耶特维尔参加选举前夕的集会。

“Dan Bishop在几周前的17分数下降了3。 然后他向我求助,我们一起改变了他的策略,他参加了一场伟大的比赛,“特朗普周二发了推文。 “昨晚的大拉力赛。 现在看起来他会赢。 @美国有线电视新闻网@MSNBC 正在将他们的大工作室设备和人才搬出去。 敬请关注!”

虽然一些分析师怀疑特朗普在确保自1963以来共和党人所拥有的地区的重要性,但毕晓普认为总统帮助他取得了胜利。 特朗普认为北卡罗来纳州是一个 “顶级优先级” 在2020选举中,共和党全国代表大会将于明年8月在夏洛特举行。

“[特朗普]是一个巨大的帮助,”毕晓普说 福克斯和朋友 在星期三。 “我们真的只有六周的资金竞争力。 因此,总统和副总统踩踏并承诺他们对这场比赛采取的方式是巨大的。 总统给了很多信任。“

毕晓普是一位州议员,以赞助有争议的北卡罗来纳州法律而闻名,该法律规定跨性别者可以使用哪些公共浴室。 据法新社报道,这项法律被废除,以应对抵制和公众强烈抗议,这使得该州损失了数十亿美元 美联社.

McCready是一位温和的民主党人,哈佛大学毕业生,也是海洋资深人士,他创办了太阳能融资业务。 Bishop的竞选活动试图将McCready的可再生能源业务与Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez的“绿色新政”联系起来,并试图将他与“小队”的左翼阵地联系起来。

投票如何影响2020

很多分析师 相信这次特别选举是对特朗普的公投,他主教以一个建立隔离墙并突出总统减税的平台为自己所束缚。

McCready在郊区取得了不错的成绩,而Bishop在农村地区取得了胜利,证明特朗普的基地保持强势,尽管总统的工作支持率下降到 43.1% 在周三的RealClearPolitics平均值,从7月中旬开始下降约两个点。 主教说 福克斯和朋友 他调整了自己的策略来解释北卡罗来纳州最近变蓝的部分原因。

“我居住的夏洛特变得越来越蓝,但坦率地说,我们知道我们有一个非传统的策略,”毕晓普说。 “我们知道这个地区的东部地区......很重要,总统 - 这就是他去的地方......而且它产生了很大的不同。”

一些分析师认为Bishop的成功是特朗普连任机会的积极预兆,而另一些人则认为他对McCready的轻微胜利表明民主党人正在摆脱对摆动状态的影响。 Bishop略高于2百分点的幅度明显低于特朗普在11区赢得的2016百分点。

2018选举北卡罗来纳州选票欺诈

在他的让步演讲中,麦克雷德提到了首次导致特别选举的选票欺诈调查。

“当当权者试图沉默选民的声音,偷走他们的选票,伪造他们的签名,为他们填写投票选择,”麦克雷登说,“我们反击,我们赢了。”

在该地区的前共和党候选人马克·哈里斯(Mark Harris)在对选票篡改进行调查后放弃竞选时,2018中期选举被视为无效。 哈里斯的执行官Leslie McCrae Dowless因过去的1990欺诈而入狱,并因过去的政治篡改被批评,据信在去年的中期选举中篡改了缺席选票:

“根据在听证会上详细说明的证词和其他调查结果,Dowless进行了非法的”选票收获“行动:他和他的助手通过提出将他们放入邮件中收集了选民的缺席选票,” 美联社。 布拉登县农村的“道琼斯”工人作证说,他们被指示收集空白或不完整的选票,在他们身上签名,甚至为当地候选人填写选票。“

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

Republican Wins North Carolina’s Special Election – What it Could Mean for 2020

President Donald Trump and Dan Bishop at the Keep America Great rally in Fayetteville, NC on 9/9/2019 Date
President Donald Trump and Dan Bishop at the Keep America Great rally in Fayetteville, NC on 9/9/2019. (Photo: Jackson A. Lanier)

Was the Republican win in North Carolina a positive sign for Trump’s 2020 hopes, or was the slim margin of victory a sign Trump is losing support in a historically Republican area?

Republican Dan Bishop defeated Democrat Dan McCready in a special election for an open House seat in North Carolina Tuesday night, in a contest many analysts believe has national implications for the 2020 elections. President Trump threw his weight behind Bishop, traveling to Fayetteville, NC, on Tuesday for an election-eve rally.

“Dan Bishop was down 17 points 3 weeks ago. He then asked me for help, we changed his strategy together, and he ran a great race,” Trump tweeted on Tuesday. “Big Rally last night. Now it looks like he is going to win. @CNN & @MSNBC are moving their big studio equipment and talent out. Stay tuned!”

While some analysts doubt Trump’s significance in securing the district, which has been held by Republicans since 1963, Bishop believes the president helped him deliver the victory. Trump views North Carolina as a “top-tier priority” in the 2020 election, and the Republican National Convention will take place in Charlotte next August.

“[Trump] was a tremendous help,” Bishop told Fox & Friends on Wednesday. “We really only were competitive in terms of funding for about six weeks. So the president and the vice president stepping in and committing the way they did to this race was tremendous. And a lot of credit goes to the president.”

Bishop is a state senator best known for sponsoring the controversial North Carolina law that mandated which public bathrooms could be used by transgender people. The law was repealed in response to boycotts and public outcry which cost the state $3.7 billion, according to the Associated Press.

McCready is a moderate Democrat, Harvard graduate, and Marine veteran who started a business involved with financing solar energy. Bishop’s campaign sought to link McCready’s renewable energy business to Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez’ Green New Deal, and tried to tie him to the leftist positions of “the Squad.”

How the Vote Could Impact 2020

Many analysts believe the special election served as a referendum on Trump, who Bishop bound himself to with a platform based on building the Wall and highlighting the president’s tax cuts.

McCready did well in suburban areas while Bishop won over rural areas, proving that Trump’s base is holding strong despite the president’s job approval rating dipping to 43.1 percent in Wednesday’s RealClearPolitics average, around two points down from mid-July. Bishop told Fox & Friends that he adjusted his strategy to account for parts of North Carolina recently shifting blue.

“Charlotte, where I live, is becoming bluer but we knew we had an unconventional strategy, frankly,” said Bishop. “We knew that the eastern part of this district… [was] important and the president — that’s where he went… and it made a big difference.”

Some analysts interpreted Bishop’s success as a positive omen for Trump’s reelection chances, while others believe the slight margin of victory he wedged over McCready indicates that Democrats are gaining influence in the swing state. Bishop’s margin of slightly more than 2 percentage points was significantly less than the 11 percentage points by which Trump won in the district in 2016.

2018 Election North Carolina Ballot Fraud

In his concession speech, McCready mentioned the ballot fraud investigation that first led to the special election.

“When the people in power sought to silence the voices of the voters, stole their ballots, forged signatures from them, filled in vote choices for them,” McCready said, “We fought back and we won.”

The 2018 midterm election was deemed invalid after the district’s former GOP candidate Mark Harris dropped his bid amid investigations for ballot-tampering. Harris’ operative Leslie McCrae Dowless, who went to prison for fraud in the 1990s and has been criticized for political tampering in the past, is believed to have tampered with absentee ballots in last year’s midterm election:

“According to testimony and other findings detailed at the hearing, Dowless conducted an illegal “ballot harvesting” operation: He and his assistants gathered up absentee ballots from voters by offering to put them in the mail,” wrote the Associated Press. “Dowless’ workers in rural Bladen County testified that they were directed to collect blank or incomplete ballots, forge signatures on them and even fill in votes for local candidates.”

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.