输入搜索

国家

国防部将投入数十亿美元建造南部边境墙的175里程

10月3,2006,美国空军飞行员在亚利桑那州圣路易斯以东的美墨边境安装围栏。 作为Jump Jump Start行动的一部分,卫兵队正在与美国边境巡逻队合作。 这些飞行员​​被分配到188th Fighter Wing Arkansas Air National Guard。 (照片:国防部,美国空军丹·希顿的工作人员)
10月3,2006,美国空军飞行员在亚利桑那州圣路易斯以东的美墨边境安装围栏。 作为Jump Jump Start行动的一部分,卫兵队正在与美国边境巡逻队合作。 这些飞行员​​被分配到188th Fighter Wing Arkansas Air National Guard。 (照片:国防部,美国空军丹·希顿的工作人员)

由于最近最高法院取得了军事资金用于南部边界墙建设的胜利,国防部宣布计划将军事资金转入边境墙项目。

五角大楼周三宣布,127在海外和美国的军事建设项目将被推迟释放1000亿美元的资金用于“在美国南部边境的3.6英里建造或增加障碍”。

美国国防部(DOD)官员没有列出哪些项目被推迟,但确实说家庭住房,宿舍和营房项目没有被推迟,项目已经被授予或预计将在2019中颁发。

公共事务国防部长助理乔纳森霍夫曼告诉记者,国土安全部的数据显示,在完成边境障碍的地区巡逻所需的资源数量急剧下降。

根据国防部的说法,边境障碍的资金将分两期进行。 第一笔1.8十亿美元将来自延期的海外项目,并将用于11边境建设项目,这将涉及加强现有障碍或建立不存在障碍的新障碍。

国防部没有说明隔离墙项目的建设地点,但确实声称这些项目是在国防部或其他联邦机构拥有的土地上建造的。 国防部拥有的土地上的障碍可能会在130到145天内开始。

只有在需要时,才会提供第二批来自延期国内军事项目的1.8十亿美元。

根据军事时报关于3,000现役和2,000国民警卫队部队已部署到南部边境,帮助国土事务部监视,拘留移民和处理庇护申请。

边境墙资金战

在美国和墨西哥之间建立边界墙是特朗普总统的核心竞选承诺之一,但他遭到了有关活动家,权利组织和拒绝批准边界墙建设资金的民选政客的强烈反对。

对于建设边界墙的资金存在分歧导致政府历史上最长时间停工,从35到1月2018,2019日政府关闭。 这一分歧源于特朗普提出的以5十亿美元资助民主党拒绝资助的边界墙的请求,考虑到要求浪费纳税人资金和解决南部边境问题的无效手段。

在国会向他提供了数十亿美元的边境基金后,停工结束了,远远低于他要求的1.4亿美元。

2月,在政府关闭后,特朗普在美国南部边境宣布全国性紧急状态,试图获得南部边境地区的8亿美元资金。

作为回应,国会成功通过了一项决议,推翻了特朗普的紧急声明,特朗普通过否决国会决议作出回应。 为了推翻特朗普的否决权,国会需要再次通过该决议以终止特朗普的紧急声明,但需要更高的投票率,但国会未达到所需的三分之二的绝对多数。

针对特朗普的紧急声明,至少提起了六起不同的诉讼。 其中一起诉讼是由一个由二十个州组成的联盟提起的,该联盟挑战特朗普使用紧急声明来资助边界墙,称该行为“违宪”,并且是未经检查的总统权力的危险延伸。

“加利福尼亚团结一致反对特朗普总统的资金攫取,以资助他昂贵而无效的隔离墙,他承诺将由墨西哥支付,” California Gavin Newsom当时在一份声明中说。 “这笔资金应该按照预期用于:支持当地执法机构和打击毒品贩运。”

特朗普的最高法院规则

美国国防部周三宣布将军事资金推迟到边境墙项目之后,特朗普政府去年7月取得了巨大胜利,当时最高法院的一项裁决授予特朗普政府的绿灯,继续使用军事资金进行边境建设。

“哇! 墙上的大胜利。 美国最高法院推翻了下级法院的禁令,允许南方边境墙继续进行。 边境安全和法治大赢!“ 啾啾 特朗普宣布判决后。

美国公民自由联盟代表塞拉俱乐部和南方边境社区联盟提起诉讼,该联盟曾对边境项目使用军事资金提出质疑。 包括上诉法院在内的两个下级法院冻结了100亿美元的国防部拨款用于边界墙,同时提起诉讼,但最高法院的判决推翻了下级法院,释放了资金。

正如Peter Castagno先前为Citizen Truth写的那样法院判决5-4沿党派界线,由金斯堡法官,司徒索托马约尔和卡根法官拒绝裁决,而布雷耶大法官部分反对。 五位保守派法官没有为他们的决定提供广泛的法律推理,但是 “政府在现阶段已经充分表明原告没有理由采取行动来审查代理秘书的遵守情况。”

ACLU谴责了这项裁决,并发誓要与最高法院的裁决作斗争。

美国公民自由联盟的一名律师Dror Ladin说:“如果特朗普逃脱掠夺性军事资金,国会拒绝接受仇外边界墙,那么边境社区,环境以及宪法权力的分离将永久受到损害。”

在7月最高法院的裁决之后,边界墙的XMUMX十亿美元被释放,此外还有延期国防部军事建设项目的2.5亿美元。

环境问题

环保组织也提起了诉讼,并试图根据在整个土地上建立物理障碍所造成的生态破坏来制止边界墙建设。

去年2月,倡导组织Public Citizen代表德克萨斯州的三位土地所有者提起诉讼,他们被告知如果资金到位,政府将在他们的土地上建造隔离墙,而Frontera Audubon协会则响应特朗普的紧急声明。

由两名科学家在2018支持下发表于BioScience的7月3000论文更多地警告说,通过美墨边境地区等生态互联和多样化的区域,对动物和地形构建物理障碍的可怕后果。

“任何实质性建筑通常都会通过彻底破坏其栖息地或通过减少人口规模或限制进入季节性所需的关键区域来迫使人口直接灭绝。 每当你看到正在建造一个带状商场,机场或住房开发时,你就可以确定生物多样性正在遭受痛苦。 数百英里的边界墙和随附的建筑和维护基础设施将成为对生物多样性的犯罪,“ 研究作者Paul Ehrlich对斯坦福报告说.

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
劳伦冯伯纳斯

Lauren是Citizen Truth的联合创始人之一。 她毕业于杜兰大学,获得政治经济学学位。 接下来的几年里,她一直在世界各地背包旅行,并开始在健康和保健行业开展绿色业务。 她找到了回归政治的道路,发现了一种致力于寻找真相的新闻热情。

    1

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

NATIONAL

DOD to Divert Billions to Build 175 Miles of Southern Border Wall

U.S. Air Force airmen install a fence along the U.S.-Mexico border east of San Luis, Ariz., on Oct. 3, 2006. The Guardsmen are working in partnership with the U.S. Border Patrol as part of Operation Jump Start. The airmen are assigned to the 188th Fighter Wing Arkansas Air National Guard. (Photo: DoD, Staff Sgt. Dan Heaton, U.S. Air Force)
U.S. Air Force airmen install a fence along the U.S.-Mexico border east of San Luis, Ariz., on Oct. 3, 2006. The Guardsmen are working in partnership with the U.S. Border Patrol as part of Operation Jump Start. The airmen are assigned to the 188th Fighter Wing Arkansas Air National Guard. (Photo: DoD, Staff Sgt. Dan Heaton, U.S. Air Force)

Coming off a recent Supreme Court victory over the use of military funds for southern border wall construction, the Defense Department announced plans to divert military funds into border wall projects.

The Pentagon announced Wednesday that 127 military construction projects, both overseas and in the U.S., will be deferred to free up $3.6 billion in funds for “construction or augmentation of barriers along 175 miles of the southern U.S. border.”

Defense Department (DOD) officials did not list which projects were being deferred but did state that family housing, dormitory and barracks projects were not being deferred, nor were projects already awarded or expected to be awarded in 2019.

Jonathan Hoffman, assistant to the secretary of defense for public affairs, told reporters that Homeland Security data shows that there is a dramatic drop in the number of resources needed to patrol an area where border barriers are completed.

Funds for the border barriers will come in two installments according to the DOD. The first $1.8 billion will come from deferred overseas projects and will be used in 11 border construction projects which will involve either strengthening existing barriers or building new ones where barriers don’t exist.

The DOD did not specify where the barrier projects were being built but did claim that the projects were being built on land owned by the DOD or another federal agency. Construction of barriers on DOD-owned land will likely begin within 130 to 145 days.

The second installment of $1.8 billion from deferred domestic military projects will only be made available if needed.

According to the Military Times, about 3,000 active duty and 2,000 National Guard troops are already deployed to the southern border helping the Department of Homeland Service with surveillance, detention of migrants and processing asylum requests.

Border Wall Funding Battles

Construction of a border wall between the U.S. and Mexico was one of President Trump’s central campaign promises but he has been met with fierce opposition from concerned activists, rights organizations and from elected politicians who have refused to authorize funding for border wall construction.

Disagreement over funds for the construction of a border wall led to the longest government shutdown in history, a 35-day government shutdown from December 2018 to January 2019. The disagreement stemmed from Trump’s request for $5 billion to fund a border wall which House Democrats refused to fund, considering the request a waste of taxpayer money and an ineffective means to address issues at the southern border.

The shutdown ended after Congress granted him $1.4 billion in border funds, far less than $5.7 billion he was demanding.

In February, following the government shutdown, Trump declared a national emergency at the U.S. southern border in an attempt to access $8 billion in funds for the southern border wall.

In response, Congress successfully passed a resolution overturning Trump’s emergency declaration to which Trump responded by vetoing the congressional resolution. To overturn Trump’s veto, Congress needed to again pass the resolution to terminate Trump’s emergency declaration but by a higher voting margin, but Congress fell short of the two-thirds supermajority needed.

At least six separate lawsuits were filed in response to Trump’s emergency declaration. One of the lawsuits was filed by a coalition of twenty states challenging Trump’s use of an emergency declaration to fund the border wall, calling the act “unconstitutional” and a dangerous extension of unchecked presidential powers.

“California stands united against President Trump’s money-grab to fund his expensive and ineffective wall, which he promised would be paid for by Mexico,” California Gavin Newsom said in a statement at the time. “This funding should be spent as it was intended: to support local law enforcement agencies and to fight drug trafficking.”

Supreme Court Rules in Trump’s Favor

The DOD’s announcement on Wednesday to defer military funds into border wall projects comes after a big win for the Trump administration last July when a Supreme Court ruling granted the Trump administration the green light to go ahead and use military funds for border construction.

“Wow! Big VICTORY on the Wall. The United States Supreme Court overturns lower court injunction, allows Southern Border Wall to proceed. Big WIN for Border Security and the Rule of Law!” tweeted Trump after the verdict was announced.

The ACLU had brought the lawsuit on behalf of the Sierra Club and the Southern Border Communities Coalition who had challenged the use of military funds for border projects. Two lower courts, including an appeals court, had frozen $2.5 billion in DOD funds earmarked for the border wall while lawsuits pended, but the Supreme Court’s decision overruled the lower courts, freeing up the funds.

As Peter Castagno previously wrote for Citizen Truth, the Court ruled 5-4 along partisan lines, with Justice Ginsburg, Justice Sotomayor, and Justice Kagan rejecting the ruling, and Justice Breyer dissenting in part. The five conservative judges did not offer extensive legal reasoning for their decision, but wrote “the Government has made a sufficient showing at this stage that the plaintiffs have no cause of action to obtain review of the Acting Secretary’s compliance.”

The ACLU condemned the ruling and vowed to fight the Supreme Court decision.

“Border communities, the environment, and our Constitution’s separation of powers will be permanently harmed should Trump get away with pillaging military funds for a xenophobic border wall Congress denied,” said Dror Ladin, a staff attorney with the ACLU.

The $2.5 billion for the border wall freed up after the July Supreme Court ruling is in addition to the $3.6 billion from deferred DOD military construction projects.

Environmental Concerns

Environmentalist groups have also filed lawsuits and sought to stop the border wall construction based on the ecological damage caused by erecting physical barriers across the land.

The advocacy group Public Citizen filed a lawsuit last February on behalf of three Texas landowners who were told the government would build the wall on their land if funds became available and the Frontera Audubon Society in response to Trump’s emergency declaration.

A July 2018 paper published in BioScience authored by two scientists and backed by 3000 more warned of the dire consequences to animals and terrain of building physical barriers through such ecologically interconnected and diverse areas as the U.S.-Mexico border region.

“Any substantial construction ordinarily forces populations to extinction directly by outright destruction of their habitat or by reducing population size or restricting access to critical areas required seasonally. Every time you see a strip mall, airport or housing development being constructed, you can be sure biodiversity is suffering. Many hundreds of miles of border wall and the accompanying construction and maintenance infrastructure would be a crime against biodiversity,” study author Paul Ehrlich said to the Stanford Report.

If you enjoyed this article, please consider supporting independent news and getting our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Lauren von Bernuth

Lauren is one of the co-founders of Citizen Truth. She graduated with a degree in Political Economy from Tulane University. She spent the following years backpacking around the world and starting a green business in the health and wellness industry. She found her way back to politics and discovered a passion for journalism dedicated to finding the truth.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.