输入搜索

健康/ SCI / TECH

埃博拉受害者 - 幸存者现在正在与偏见和耻辱作斗争

卫生工作者参加埃博拉病人

自埃博拉病毒袭击西非大约四年以来,当地人和埃博拉病毒受害者至今仍受到创伤。 11,000人死于流行病,另有29,000感染。 虽然它被遏制,但埃博拉病毒后的生活对于幸存者和整个社区来说从来都不一样。

病人零

埃博拉病毒爆发的2014是 追溯到一个小男孩 在几内亚的一个村庄。 他被怀疑是在12月2013中感染了受感染蝙蝠的病毒。 在几内亚,儿童捕猎蝙蝠作为食物。 然后,他将其传染给他的母亲,母亲又感染了其他家庭成员,引发了埃博拉病毒受害者的多米诺骨牌效应。

埃博拉病毒受害者

CC:https://pixabay.com/en/african-child-malaria-ebola-abuse-malnut-1381557/

后来埃博拉病毒在几内亚,塞拉利昂和利比里亚爆发。 这三个国家在医疗保健方面并不是特别先进 由于他们已经很少有卫生设施人手不足,设备简陋,而且很少。

随着越来越多的人进入卫生机构受到感染,少数可用资源迅速紧张,埃博拉病毒爆发迅速达到流行病水平。 受灾最严重的是利比里亚,特别是在利比里亚首都蒙罗维亚的西点贫民窟。

埃博拉受害者:偏见和耻辱

幸运的是,来自世界各地的疾病专家,卫生工作者和危机应对小组都进来帮助遏制这种流行病,到了2015中期,利比里亚被宣布为无埃博拉病毒。 现在有成千上万的埃博拉幸存者在他们近乎死亡之后大喜过望。 对于他们中的一些人来说,这种快乐很快就会被打断。

即使在宣布无埃博拉病毒后,仍有新的感染报告继续记录。 虽然埃博拉病毒爆发通常很快被遏制,但是被认为仍然携带这种致命病毒的幸存者应该归咎于幸存者。 专家认为,在一个人宣布无埃博拉病毒后数月内,该病毒可以通过性传播,从而在病毒和任何埃博拉病毒感染者身上产生耻辱感。

威廉卡雷什作为EcoHealth联盟的新兴疾病专家和利比里亚世界卫生组织的顾问,他说,缺乏知识极大地推动了疫情的爆发。 他还警告说,由于先进的国际旅行能力,今天埃博拉病毒的爆发可能出现在世界任何地方,建议每个国家采取预防措施。

埃博拉病毒事实:

  • 该病毒是在中非的1976中发现的
  • 它是从动物传播给人类,现在通过人类传播到人类传播
  • 埃博拉病毒没有经过验证和许可的治疗方法
  • 所有埃博拉病例的50%都是致命的
  • 2014爆发使11,000人死亡,29,000其他人感染,引起全球恐慌
  • 迄今仍在报告新病例,特别是刚果民主共和国(刚果民主共和国)
  • 埃博拉的症状包括:发烧,严重头痛,肌肉疼痛,虚弱,疲劳,腹泻,呕吐和腹部(胃)疼痛。
  • 目前尚无批准的埃博拉病毒疫苗,但许多正在开发中 试验结果令人满意.

今天,当地人仍在努力重建他们的生活。 雷金纳德卡威 建立了一个保健中心,以帮助改善利比里亚卫生基础设施的状况。 她失去了父母双方的埃博拉病毒。 Kahweh说:“每个人都必须站出来建立一个更美好的社会......这个地方的形成是为了纪念那些死去的人。”

相关新闻:

突变的脊髓灰质炎疫苗病例数超过野生脊髓灰质炎病例

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
亚历克斯Muiruri

Alex是一位在肯尼亚出生并长大的热情作家。 他是一名受过专业训练的公共卫生官员,但是喜欢写作更多。 不写作时,他喜欢读书,做慈善工作,与朋友和家人共度时光。 他也是一个疯狂的钢琴家!

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

HEALTH/SCI/TECH

Ebola Victims – Survivors Now Fighting Prejudice and Stigma

Health workers attending an ebola patient

It is been roughly four years since the Ebola virus hit West Africa, locals and ebola victims are still traumatized to date. The epidemic left over 11,000 people dead, with another 29,000 infected. Though it was contained, life after Ebola has never been the same for both survivors and communities at large.

Patient Zero

The Ebola virus outbreak of 2014 was traced to a young boy in a village in the country of Guinea. He was suspected to have gotten the virus from touching an infected bat in December 2013. In Guinea, children hunt bats for food. He then transmitted it to his mother, who in turn infected other family members, triggering a domino effect of ebola victims.

Ebola victims

CC: https://pixabay.com/en/african-child-malaria-ebola-abuse-malnut-1381557/

The Ebola virus outbreak later continued across Guinea, Sierra Leone and Liberia. The three countries were not particularly advanced in healthcare, with most of their already few health facilities being understaffed, poorly equipped and few and far between.

With more and more people coming into the health facilities infected, the few available resources were quickly strained, and the Ebola virus outbreak quickly reached epidemic levels. The worst hit was Liberia, particularly in the West Point slum within Monrovia, Liberia’s capital.

Ebola Victims: Prejudice and Stigma

Luckily, disease experts, health workers and crisis response teams from across the world moved in to help contain the epidemic, and by mid-2015, Liberia was declared Ebola-free. There were thousands of Ebola survivors now overjoyed after their near brush with death. For some of them, this joy would soon be interrupted.

Even after being declared Ebola-free, reports of fresh infections continue to be recorded. Though Ebola flare-ups are often quickly contained, blame befalls survivors who are thought to still be carrying the deadly virus. Experts believe that the virus can be transmitted sexually many months after a person is declared Ebola-free, creating a stigma around the virus and any Ebola victims.

William Karesh, an emerging-disease specialist with EcoHealth Alliance and an adviser to the World Health Organization in Liberia, says that lack of knowledge has greatly propelled the outbreak. He also warns that today an Ebola virus outbreak could appear anywhere in the world thanks to advanced international travel capacities, advising every country to take precautionary measures.

Ebola Virus Facts:

  • The virus was discovered in 1976 in Central Africa
  • It was transmitted to humans from animals and now spreads via human to human transmission
  • There is no proven and licensed treatment for the Ebola virus
  • 50% of all Ebola cases are fatal
  • The 2014 outbreak left 11,000 people dead and 29,000 others infected, causing global panic
  • New cases are still being reported to date, especially in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)
  • Symptoms of ebola include: fever, severe headache, muscle pain, weakness, fatigue, diarrhea, vomiting, and abdominal (stomach) pain.
  • There is no approved ebola vaccine yet, but many are in development and trials show promising results.

Today, locals are still trying to rebuild their lives. Reginald Kahweh founded a health center to help improve the status of the health infrastructure in Liberia. She lost both of her parents to the Ebola virus. Kahweh says, “Everyone had to step up to create a better society…this place was formed to remember those who died.”

Related:

Mutated Polio Vaccine Cases Outnumber Wild Polio Cases

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Alex Muiruri

Alex is a passionate writer born and raised in Kenya. He is professionally trained as a public health officer but loves writing more. When not writing, he enjoys reading, doing charity work and spending time with friends and family. He is also a crazy pianist!

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.