输入搜索

环境 TRENDING环境

美国环保署监管机构建议代理商为前任主管的“过度”旅行费用收回$ 124K

环境保护局局长Scott Pruitt在马里兰州国家港口举行的2017保守政治行动大会(CPAC)上发言。
环境保护局局长Scott Pruitt在马里兰州国家港口举行的2017保守政治行动大会(CPAC)上发言。 (照片:Gage Skidmore)

“让我们希望联邦政府向Scott Pruitt发送他无法自我放纵的法案。”

美国环保署总检察长建议该机构收回前美国环保局局长斯科特·普鲁特(Scott Pruitt)过度机票花费的近124,000。 检查长的新报告是困扰环境保护局的一系列道德规范和利益冲突指控中的最新报告。

检察长的调查检查了40的Pruitt在3月1和12月31,2017之间的旅行,其中纳税人的总费用为985,037。 超过四分之三的前EPA负责人的飞行都是头等舱,检察长发现Pruitt在整个有关期间都没有遵守机构政策和联邦旅行规定。

“前任行政长官及其随行的[安全]代理人通过飞行头等舱/商务舱所产生的旅行费用超过了必要或适当的费用。 如果该机构对旅行的内部控制没有得到加强,可能会滥用 继续 美国环保局计划和纳税人付出巨大代价,“检查员办公室 通常的 在说 声明.

普鲁特 辞职 有问题的时期过去七个月之后 多重道德丑闻 涉及滥用代理资源。 虽然民主党立法者呼吁前行政长官负责偿还他不必要的旅行费用,但环保署表示没有重新获得资金的计划。

“Pruitt必须立即偿还美国纳税人。 在这种无耻浪费和不道德的任期之后,这是他对美国人民的最小欠款,“众议员弗兰克帕隆 在一份声明中说。

该机构表示,额外的费用是保护Pruitt免受其他旅行者的需要,他们经常责怪管理员 言论喜欢“Scott Pruitt,你正在改善环境。”检察长的报告拒绝了这个借口,称EPA“没有足够的理由支持危及前任行政长官的生命 - 机构的断言基础 为了安全例外。“

尽管Pruitt的豪华旅行费用,但他的工作人员“偶尔需要支付他们自己的旅行费用” 爱可信.

“让我们希望联邦政府向Scott Pruitt发送他无法自我放纵的法案。 Pruitt先生享受豪华旅行,同时提议消除EPA近三分之一的劳动力,“环境诚信项目主任Eric Sc​​haeffer告诉他们 NBC.

检查长的调查结果反映了环境保护局正在进行的道德问题。 在Pruitt辞职后,他被律师和前煤炭行业说客Andrew Wheeler取代。 批评者担心Wheeler长期参与化石燃料行业会影响他对环境监管的决策。

直到8月的2017,Wheeler 游说 为美国最大的私营煤炭公司Murray Energy。 Murray Energy是气候行动和行业监管方面最有影响力的反对者之一,当他担任俄克拉荷马州的司法部长时,它是Pruitt超级PAC的最大捐赠者。 默里的首席执行官是其中八人的共同原告 14官司 普鲁特 提交给EPA 在他担任俄克拉荷马州的AG期间。

在4月的一次采访中 路透社惠勒表示,他认为人类活动对气候变化有影响,但与清洁水的获取并不重要。 在与两党政策中心的问答环节中,惠勒参加了一次 自描述的“potshot” 在绿色新政中他所描述的限制清洁水供应的潜力。

“我将借此机会在绿色新政中拍摄一秒钟。 如果电网没有恢复运行,如果我们没有电,我们就无法运行社区的饮用水系统,而且我们长时间提供瓶装水。

可再生能源支持者对Wheeler的观点提出异议,即太阳能和风能等间歇性能源会降低电网稳定性。 德国是欧洲的一个 最稳定的网格尽管从可再生能源中获取了28的能源百分比。 如 Vox的Umair Irfan 他指出,虽然飓风玛丽亚关闭了波多黎各的大部分化石燃料供电电网,但多个光伏供电的医疗设施证明具有弹性。

An 在线发布 来自能源部的风能技术办公室也与惠勒的说法相矛盾,他说,“电网运营商一直不得不应对变化。 研究表明,电网可以容纳可变可再生电力的大量穿透,而不会牺牲可靠性,也不需要“备用”发电。

批评者还怀疑美国环保署负责人所谓的保护清洁用水的承诺。 在惠勒作为说客的时候,默里能源公司支付了数百万美元的罚款 污染水 用煤浆。 2月,惠勒宣布了一项新的计划,以70万亿分之一的比例对水中的PFAS化学品进行管理,该税率是有毒物质和疾病登记处认为安全的7至10倍。

参议员马基,绿色新政的共同赞助者, 批评 惠勒的评论和他在煤炭行业的历史:
“网格在#GreenNewDeal,第7页,第D小节。但Andrew Wheeler确实知道可靠性。 他在整个职业生涯中都可靠地参与煤炭行业的竞标。 如果Wheeler想谈论公共卫生,他应该参加国家气候评估 - 他在听证会上告​​诉我他甚至没有阅读 - 并了解气候变化是如何公开的 健康 紧急情况“。

如果您喜欢这篇文章,请考虑支持独立新闻并每周三次获取我们的新闻通讯。

标签:
彼得卡斯塔尼奥

Peter Castagno是一名自由撰稿人,拥有国际冲突解决硕士学位。 他曾在中东和拉丁美洲各地旅行,以获得世界上一些最困难地区的第一手见解,并计划在2019出版他的第一本书。

    1

你可能还喜欢

发表评论

您的电子邮件地址将不会被发表。 必填字段标*

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

Type to search

ENVIRONMENT

EPA Watchdog Recommends Agency Recover $124K For Former Head’s “Excessive” Travel Costs

Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency Scott Pruitt speaking at the 2017 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland.
Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency Scott Pruitt speaking at the 2017 Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC) in National Harbor, Maryland. (Photo: Gage Skidmore)

“Let’s hope the federal government sends Scott Pruitt the bill for his clueless self-indulgence.”

The EPA’s inspector general is recommending the agency recoup nearly $124,000 spent on excessive airfare by former EPA head Scott Pruitt. The inspector general’s new report is the latest in a series of ethics and conflict-of-interest allegations besetting the Environmental Protection Agency.

The inspector general’s investigation examined 40 of Pruitt’s trips between March 1 and Dec. 31, 2017, which cost taxpayers $985,037 in total. More than three-quarters of the former EPA head’s flights were in first class, and the inspector general found Pruitt failed to comply with agency policies and federal travel regulations throughout the period in question.

“The former Administrator and his accompanying [security] agents incurred more travel costs than necessary or appropriate by flying first/business class. If the agency’s internal controls over travel aren’t strengthened, abuses may continue to occur at great cost to EPA programs and taxpayers,” the Office of Inspector General said in a statement.

Pruitt resigned seven months after the period in question, amid multiple ethics scandals involving abuse of agency resources. While Democratic lawmakers are calling for the former administrator to be held responsible for repaying his unnecessary travel costs, the EPA said it has no plans to regain the funds.

“Pruitt must reimburse the American taxpayers immediately. It is the least he owes the American people after such a shamelessly wasteful and unethical tenure,” Rep. Frank Pallone said in a statement.

The agency said the extra costs were necessary to protect Pruitt from other travelers, who frequently chastised the administrator with remarks like, “Scott Pruitt, you’re f—ing up the environment.” The inspector general’s report rejected this excuse, saying the EPA “lacked sufficient justification to support endangerment of the former Administrator’s life — the agency’s asserted basis for the security exception.”

Despite Pruitt’s luxury travel expenses, his staff was “occasionally required to cover their own travel expenses,” according to Axios.

“Let’s hope the federal government sends Scott Pruitt the bill for his clueless self-indulgence. Mr. Pruitt enjoyed luxury travel while proposing to eliminate nearly a third of EPA’s workforce,” Eric Schaeffer, Director of the Environmental Integrity Project, told NBC.

The inspector general’s findings reflect ongoing ethics concerns at the Environmental Protection Agency. After Pruitt’s resignation he was replaced by Andrew Wheeler, a lawyer and former coal industry lobbyist. Critics are concerned Wheeler’s longtime involvement in the fossil fuel industry influences his decision making on environmental regulation.

Until August of 2017, Wheeler lobbied for Murray Energy, America’s largest privately owned coal company. Murray Energy is among the most influential opponents to climate action and industry regulation, and it was a top donor to Pruitt’s super PAC when he served as Oklahoma’s attorney general. Murray’s CEO was a co-plaintiff in eight of the 14 lawsuits Pruitt filed against the EPA during his time as Oklahoma’s AG.

In an April interview with Reuters, Wheeler said he believes human activity has an impact on climate change, but it is not as important an issue as clean water access. In a question and answer session with the Bipartisan Policy Center, Wheeler took a self-described “potshot” at the Green New Deal for what he described as its potential to limit clean water availability.

“I’m going to take the opportunity to just take a potshot at the Green New Deal for a second. If the grid isn’t back up and running, if we don’t have the electricity, we can’t run the drinking water system in the community and we’re providing bottled water for a long time.”

Renewable energy supporters dispute Wheeler’s argument that intermittent energy sources like solar and wind reduce grid stability. Germany has one of Europe’s most stable grids, despite getting around 28 percent of its energy from renewables. As Vox’s Umair Irfan points out, while Hurricane Maria shut down most of Puerto Rico’s fossil fuel powered grid, multiple photovoltaic-powered medical facilities proved resilient.

An online posting from the Energy Department’s Wind Energy Technologies Office also contradicts Wheeler’s claim, saying, “power grid operators have always had to deal with variability. Studies have shown that the grid can accommodate large penetrations of variable renewable power without sacrificing reliability, and without the need for “backup” generation.”

Critics also doubt the EPA head’s alleged commitment to preserving clean water access. During Wheeler’s time as a lobbyist, Murray Energy paid millions in fines for contaminating water with coal slurry. In February, Wheeler announced a new plan to regulate PFAS chemicals in water at 70 parts per trillion, a rate that is 7 to 10 times higher than considered safe by the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Sen. Markey, a cosponsor of the Green New Deal, criticized Wheeler’s comments and his history in the coal industry:
“The grid is in the #GreenNewDeal, page 7, subsection D. But Andrew Wheeler does know about reliability. He’s reliably been doing the bidding of the coal industry his entire career. If Wheeler wants to talk about public health, he should pick up the National Climate Assessment—which he told me in a hearing that he hadn’t even read—and learn about how climate change is public health emergency.”

Support independent news, get our newsletter three times a week.

Tags:
Peter Castagno

Peter Castagno is a freelance writer with a Master’s degree in International Conflict Resolution. He has traveled throughout the Middle East and Latin America to gain firsthand insight in some of the world’s most troubled areas, and he plans on publishing his first book in 2019.

    1

You Might also Like

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.